(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi steph, can add me? kaylakiong.multiply.com

erm email add is [email protected]

pinkstars,

In my company, they also block access to multiply (and facebook and many other websites). That's why I started my blog at blogspot. Can blog at work when I am bored with my work :)

Multiply users

Can you please invite me as your contact? My multiply user id is geneseng. Thanks! I access to multiply frequently while at home.

explore ah...haha.....think there are a few big shopping area there

this time round wanna go ocean park too. Its our second visit with no 1 along liao.

hope to go different places...even tot of going yuen lang (lau po bing???) but must do research first

multiply...

a lot of pics icon cant be viewed in office

and i really dunno how to use multiply

like not very friendly leh

eRnMum,
i am a fan of lau po bing but so disappointed with Yuen Lang one. I even ordered 3boxes (6pcs/box)to bring back SIN w/o even trying out cos the tour guide say it's very popular & nice but turn out so so only

One thing u must try is the Xiu Lu Shan Mango desserts, yummy & very nice

Jade, I wanted to book from Farmosa too, wa your package sounds cheap leh, slightly over $1000 5D4N, plus 1 day stay at Disneyland Hollywood. Wonder why mine is so exp. When I asked about my dates of travel, they could only offer me the Dorset hotels (still 3 stars) but only $10 cheaper but must fly on 4pm flight on Sat. :p When are you flying?

Steph, last time my tour guide also said the lau po bing from yuen lang and asked us to order from him. But I suspect it's not the authentic one, that's why not nice cos the 'bing' so soft and machiam want to disintegrate when we bite and the box so plain. If it's the real thing, the packaging should be different and shout about it right? Maybe I must ask Mylife to recommend which shop to buy lau po bing from.

WendyG, ya I remember you said Metropark Mongkok better than dorsett seaview so I decided to go with Chan Bros since only $10 more cos Farmosa don't do Metropark Mongkok.

there are many different 'brands' of lau po bing. think the better one is the one in red box.

the last time we bought one also so so.

i tried that mango dessert the other time near ladies market. In singapore, i also tried...beside orchard isetan.

Kitsune, me travelling on 17 Sep...(so happen to be my ROM anniversary. Depart singapore at 8.05am on 17 (wed) and departing HK at 8pm on 22 Sep (Monday).

Dec period sure more ex...but think the difference is abt $100 per adult

kitsune, i dun really like chan bro

that time i stayed in mayfair...small la...but good enough and very convenient

anyway, booked liao, then dun think too much lor

Kam,
that FREE "Baby Shower Gift Set" worth over $100 - from Similac term and condition is Baby must be smaller than 1 mth or mummy is pregnant only.. seemed like we cant apply.

kitsune
i stayed dorset olympic in dec 06. but i guess all the dorset brands are the same. If i were without kids, i wouldn't mind cramped room, but my #1 needs space to jump around la. That time, he jumped on the bed & hit his head & fell off..
and the room was so cramped we couldn't shift the beds together & i had to share a single bed with my then 17m son, so i didn't get good sleep for several nights & had a fantastic migraine & threw up on the day we went to Disneyland. It was terrible!!

steph, I try give my ger papaya and banana puree but she rejected. Just like me n hubby, we both dun like papaya and banana..hehee

steph
yeah my baby tried blended/ mashed papaya. dunno how my mum prepared it. It was very sweet, but he prefers pear jar food any day.

eRnMum, kitsune,

The lau po bing i bought is in yellow box packaging not red one
Inside there are 6pcs, individually packed. Cost HK$40/box.
Orchard Isetan also have Xiu Liu Shan ?? My frd told me close down liao

HK KFC also not bad...hee

can i check with u?
I am giving my gal formula milk for the first time today. Should I or should I not mix it with breasmilk? she has been on total BM all these while. I called enfapro, they say dont mix. but similac consultant told me to mix. I am so confused nw.

Yen, wendyg,
I seldom hear pple say they feed bb with papaya. Only when MIL try to mashed papaya & banana for my boy cos he suffered mild constipation but now okay liao. I supposed papaya & banana don't have to add FM ? Just the fruit itself ? I have not try pear. Tried Jap sweet potato, pumpkin & apple only.

steph, ya lor...closed down liao

but before that i went there twice. =)

shannonbaby, see whether your baby drink formula milk....usually they wont and will scream their heads off

my number 1 that time, we mix...cos no choice....then slowly reduce the bm amount

must do it step by step

eRnMum, oic you travelling in Sept and flying on Wed. Chan bros did tell me flying on Wed is cheaper but I didn't want cos want to make use of the weekend and Hari Raya Haji lar. Our leave can encash one mah so must be thrifty with it.

Steph, the one I bought also yellow box, can't remember the brand but it was very forgetable packaging lor.

eRnMum,

oh no. I jus pack the formula milk powder and bring it to sch and ask the teacher to feed. I forget to bring an extra bottle of breast milk in case she dont want FM.
Think I better call up the sch n check later in case she doesnt want to drink formula milk.

steph
for fruit we dun add milk. at most will be some water for better texture. If your boy constipate, dun give him starchy food like potato, banana. Give him more water water water.

Shannonbaby,
I think shld be ok. I mix formula milk with frozen breastmilk. If not, my ger will reject the frozen breastmilk.

steph,
Yes, din add milk. I tried pear also but I dun like because after mashed the pear, got a lots of bubbles. My ger taking apple puree (half apple) everyday as snack.

my baby loves banana. Can finish 1 big banana at 1 time :)

Amy, don't give up. You should try giving your baby the banana and papaya like 1-2 week later.

wendyg & Yen,
thanks for sharing. Aiyo me so blur, still add FM to banana, must be super sweet loh but my son like it very much. He likes to drink water too

Each day, MIL will introduce 2 kinds of variety (say 1pm feed porridge wif veg & dinner time is brown rice wif FM/fruit) to my boy & his poo stinks

remb some of u joined the MumCentre Baby contest & won the top 3 category. After that, any news from MumCentre? Today i rec'd an email from them saying my son won a special prize as the winner for MumCentre Pic Of The Week, Contest 86 Baby Category. Anyone rec'd this b4? The prize will be delivered to my home.

Thanks kam and yen.

I am giving her Enfapro. Jus called the enfa hotline. they say dont mix. Hope that my gal will drink it later.

Btw, when should we start with 2 meals a day? Care to share yr schedule?
my gal's schedule is like this:

7am - 150ml of BM
10am - 150ml of BM + fruit puree (avocado, papaya or banana)
1pm - lunch (brown rice cereal with sweet potato or pumpkin) then half an hr later 150ml of BM
4pm - 150ml of BM
7pm - 150ml of BM
11pm - 150ml of BM

wondering should i give her rice cereal at 7pm feed also?

shannonbaby,

when you mix the milk, you should still stick to the amount to be given.

example: 180ml total
100ml of BM and 80ml of formula....so the number of scoops of formual, you just give based on the 80ml.

you get what i mean?

there is no strict rule of mixing. its ok...if you do sudden switch, sure baby wont accept one (unless you have a super kuai baby)...they are like us...suddenly want us to accept a total new thing, we also wont one right?

Kam,

Got a question here. Did u use a blender to do ur purees? Wondering if i should invest in a hand held blender or just use the steam and sieve method (which is quite tedious) ehheh:p

So far i fed my son, carrot, avocado, sweet potatoes and going to try apple next. He likes avocados but think he does not really like sweet potatoes. Di u add milk into the puree or just plan puree for your babies?? Think the sweet potatoes may be a bit too dry :p

Anyone knows if there is a thing which can link 2 blogs together?? I wish to link both my son, Jayden and my own blog together.

steph,
think u bought the wrong brand of lo po bing. Think what u bought was from "Weng Wah". They specialise in chinese sauages. THe correct one comes in a red box. They do sell it in Singapore too during Chinese New Year at Great World City. It is called "Heng Heung". Very nice.

Can anyone advise if the mango dessert is still available at orchard isetan?

Mummies, if your babies are constipated, can try giving yogurt? Think it should help.

I finally managed to get the Yoplait baby yogurt from Carrefour...have been searching high and low for it in NTUC and Cold Storage but don't have. Let my boy try the banana flavoured yogurt yesterday, he gave me a "face" after the first spoonful...haha...maybe becos it's cold. But he still finished about 2/3 of it before he decided to poo poo...

my son walking?... no lah...

B4 everyone starts to think my son is a super baby, I better clarify. He has NOT started to walk yet. *malu*

He is now crawling about and will try to stand on his own. If we were to hold onto him, he will walk a few steps. Not definately not walk on his own. *LOL* I only feed him breast milk, not popeye spinach la *wink wink*

Anyway, my mum kept on saying if my son learns to walk early, he will not talk so early. So right now, he still can't really mumble any proper sounds like ma-ma or pa-pa. Looking forward to that day ah. =)

Chewing on furniture

Ok, my son has chewed on my wooden TV console. So I thought I should remind all mummies not to under estimate your darling. ;) My poor wooden TV console suffered teeth marks down the length of it. *sigh* My hubby was quite worried about the chemical he swallowed in after chewing. =S

swimming

I was refering to what should I let him son wear when he goes to swimming. =) How about diaper? Do I have to worry about poo poo?

Steph

Thanks for asking your aunty. I intend to get 1 part time help after my business trip. My house is in a big fat mess! *malu*

I fed my son papapya. Those small papaya from Thailand I think. He loves it. =)

Kam

thank u for the green peas info! =)

porridge

Sorry but can i ask when can I intro porridge for my son? N I remember someone use brown rice to make porridge. Can I ask where to get this kind of brown rice?

Taka baby fair

I read it's now on. I will go check it out. Will update if I find any good deals. =)

janbb

Thank u for the pic of the playyard. =) My colleague did told me about it. My living room is slowly turning into a playground. hehheeh...

Yvonne

I only make puree once every 3 days. =P Not every day. No strength man. hehehehe.. But like u, I make batch and freeze the rest. I love my hand-held blender. ;)

Actually, I kicked off sold food with baby jar food. I thought it was ok till I read so many mummies making home cooked food. That's when I kicked myself in the butt and cook. But I will still give him jar food when I go out or travel. My colleague told me her darling is so used to home cooked food that she rejected all baby jar food. So every time she goes out, have to make home cooked food along. Quite tiring.

Shannonbaby

My take on mixing EBM with FM. I wrote about my experience some time back. My son rejected full FM! =( He was totally not willing to drink 1 full feed FM. So in the end I mix (something like 30ml of FM + 150ml of EBM).

But my son couldn't really digest enfalac. So I switched over to Similac. Yes, Similac said it's ok to mix. So I continue to mix till the amount of EBM in each feed drops to zero. He is now taking full FM in the day. My EBM is only for mixing cerals as I am still weaning him off right now.

Some mummies are against mixing. So if your darling is ok with drinking 1 full feed of FM, then don't mix. If your darling hates the taste, then maybe u want to mix.

I think there is no right or wrong. Some mummies said it's no good for the babies. Some mummies said don't mix bc it will waste your EBM. But for me, i think it's just personal preferance. =) I was desperate when my son doesn't take 1 full feed of FM, so I mix.

2 of my friends also have to mix. My colleague's 1.5yr son hates Friso. He has been drinking BM since birth Even when mix, he will reject the bottle if the amount of FM in the mixture of EBM and FM is more than 30ml. But once she switched over to GainIQ, her son is ok. Perhaps the brand of the FM also makes a difference in her case.

yen
no need to buy many toys. during birthday, normally people won't give diapers or wet wipes. They will either give clothes or toys. Or ang pow. haha.

Mandy,

Yes, I use a hand-held blender. I also started to give my baby lumpy puree, so he can try different texture. I do this because I think he can swallow food very well already