(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

jacelyn
when u go swimming, if u feel cold, the key is to warm up. same for baby. and when emerging fr pool, quickly dry up with towel o'wise wind blow will b cold right? Same for bb.

U scared bb catch cold, what abt skin cancer in the hot sun? Normally people like to swim late afternoon abt 4pm coz by then the pool has time to absorb heat, and also avoid direct pm sun. But that's also the time that Sgp rains...

I brought Gisele for swimming thrice. Never once she wants the float on her neck. So i'm always carrying her n swim around like the angmo pic just. How come she dun like e float huh? Too loose? I usually bring her for swim ard 4pm.

violetlce
baby going? u may wanna check out natas fair 1st till 3rd of aug
unless u wanna go F&E, my SQ tickets is $2036 for 2 person. I will be staying at this cheap hotel called Toyoko Inn. I am leaving my baby behind cos hubby said this will be our last couple trip till our kids grow up...
I been to Osaka & Tokyo. but i know now is flower season at Hokkaido if u like. if not will be those meusem tours like beer, chocolate meuseum. Hokkaido should go in Dec for ski.

JanBB,
the rice cereal taste yucky i agree. The wheat cereal taste nicer but maybe he lost interest with the same type of food for 2wks. So me & hubby added 1 drop of vitamin drops that PD gave when Zander was only 1mth old into his wheat cereal & bravo he managed to finish all from spoon yesterday! Don't know if MIL is successful today feeding him from spoon?will chk later aft work. Will start intro porridge when he turn 7mth

cooked porridge with lotus root today. bb loved it. tastes sweet.

yen
didn't use bumbo seat but have heard feedback that the room for bb's thighs are rather narrow so outgrow pretty soon. bring bb try seating at the hypermart showroom and try =)

Jacelyn,

i haven't started cooking porridge yet, but the infant care does. Usually it's fish + carrot, spanish + carrot, etc. Actually the centre cooks for those toddler and kids, only if the recipes can be taken by baby, the teacher will blend the porridge further and give to baby. She said baby will very fast refuse cereal if don't change to something else.

Jacelyn,
So far, my mum has added potato, pumpkin, vege individually into the porridge. If got cook carrot soup or boil chicken soup, also can add the soup (Not the meat huh)to the porridge.

But frankly, I dunno how to cook.. porridge always prepared by my mum or MIL...heehee ;)

steph: my bb using Avent no.3 since 2mths ago..

Yen: my bb cant fit into e bumbo seat, he only used it for 1mth wen he was 4mths old.. he can only sit for 5mins in it.

dat time i bring my bb for a swim was early in e morning ard 10plus... i tink itz too cold for him, my hb was sleepin so i bring him to e pool alone and even i myself also tink e water a bit cold we swim for 20mins only.. Thks God! he didnt catch any cold..

Baby Hao Re is using Avent teat for 6 months+ (teat no. ??) a couple of weeks ago. He drinks very fast, can finish 210ml in 5 minutes.

Re:How to cook porridge
I've learnt it thru trial and error and some suggestions from the mummies here.
Use stock (either veg/meat or combi) to cook porridge - nutritious and tasty. I usually cook a big batch and then freeze it for later use. I bought a small slow cooker and usually will cook 1 1/2 chinese spoon of rice with the stock. Takes about 1-2hours. In addition, you add in spinach, carrots, pumpkin etc...up to you
After cooking in the slow cooker - i don't blend the porridge any further.

wow..many babies start taking porridge ah..my baby shayne still having her brown rice cereals. so far she has only try banana and avocado.
this mummy is taking her own sweet time to intro her to new food as i am too busy to go marketing..hehe.
intend to cook her blended brown rice and millet next week..

janbb> the wheat and honey is the product by nestle suitable for 6months and above. but i dun give much , jus to give the plain rice cereal some taste..

during the weekend, i cooked 'ABC'soup for the family. Main ingredients is potato, corn and carrot with meat. so i use the soup to cook porridge, baby aston loves it too.

re: huggies swim diaper (disposable)
Mandy - 5 (still want? 11-15kg) pickup Pg
Evening - 2 - rcvd your addy
Yen - 3 - pls PM me your addy
Godsent - 2 - pickup/ post?
Ernmum - 1 - pls PM me your addy
amy - 1 - pls PM me your addy

Pls PM me your address so that i dun hv to go PO so many times. This week my timing v tight, only go PO tmr & Thurs lunchtime.

wildchillies> thats a very good idea to cook the stock in bigger portion and freeze it, then use it to cook porridge. but not sure whether my mum will be against the idea, cos she very tradition thinking, she thinks that refreezed soup is overnight food=not fresh.. sigh.. difficult to convince her.

steph> my baby using #2 teat , but i punched a bigger hole cos i realised that he also sucked until very tiring.

i used the Farlin teat hole puncher to punch the holes.

<font color="0000ff">Yen,</font>

Yup, he has the Bumbo seat. He can sit for around half an hour when he was about 4 months plus, nowadays, when feeding him cereal or puree, can also sit but now that he's bigger, he has the strength to raise his butt up from the seat. As for thighs, it really depends on individual babies. If baby is chubby, maybe thighs will be a little tight. I suggest, you try your baby on the bumbo before buying?

<font color="0000ff">JanBB,</font>

The float is bought by my sis's boyfriend at Punggol Plaza. That day when we lunch, I thought I told you? Haha quite cute hor.

<font color="0000ff">Steph,</font>

For cereal and puree, I have been feeding using spoon. As what JanBB has mentioned, it is better as they have to learn to feed from spoon. Sometimes they might be reluctant to try but I think still have to train them. Slowly lor or try different spoons.

<font color="0000ff">Beanie,</font>

$2,036 for 2 persons is rather a good deal! When are you leaving? Do you think it's hard to go Free and Easy? My sis said language is a barrier thus she thinks package is better but I heard if going in package will have tight timing too.

Steph, Amy, fed my gal the yucky Heinz white rice cereal on Saturday, but she loves it leh. Even want to grab the spoon from me. Haha. Started with 1 teaspoon but MIL already feeding 2 teaspoon cos she said RaeAnne can't get enough of it.
Here's a video of RaeAnne's first solids. http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

RaeAnne is turning 6 months tomorrow. I must also take note of her milestones and weight.

kitsune, tks for the info.....hmm...can just talk to the LC over the phone without going down? i tried fish soup, mother's milk tea, pumping more liow...*sigh* think time to stop liow. think mentally cannot let go yet. the medicine u mentioned must be prescribed right?

oh i also started feeding my twins with the Heinz white rice cereal on Saturday. Boy loves it....gobbled down every spoonful n cried when it was finished, so we had to make another tablespoon. gal could barely finish it her small portion....think she can't swallow well yet, the tongue keeps pushing out whatever that is placed in her mouth.

Dawn, can, the LC will usually call back then you can talk to her. Yup, the medicine needs to be prescribed, but maybe GP also can prescribe? Maybe can call your regular GP and ask first.

Godsent,
Your plumber is good ah? Both the pipes attaching to my 2 toilets are leaking...we always have to turn off the water flow after flushing to stop the leak. Any idea if your plumber can fix this? Or do I need to replace the whole toilet bowl?? Sorry ah, I'm asking you as if you are the plumber...hehe, or if you don't mind can I also have Nelson's contact?

amy
When i told my MIL that i can actually freeze it...she somemore say oh yes..can can..like that easier. Maybe you ask your MIL to try-try 1st and test whether can or not.

So many of you have introduced porridge. I'm still trying to figure out the "logistics" issues...haha. How can I find time to cook porridge when we are only home at about 7pm?? Hmmm...has anyone heard/tried the thermal cooker? I saw a BP on it, not sure if it's really as good as it sounds and wondering if the food taste good.

Aiya, maybe I just let my boy have porridge for lunch at my in-laws place and I'll continue with vege/fruit/meat puree for him for dinner. I saw from some websites that we can also give them chopped pasta when they are older. More ang moh style of diet also not bad right?

Hi Lynn, Can keep for me 1 neckfloat huh? Blue for me also can. -)) Thanks

Wendyg, is your swim diaper still available? Can sell to me 2pcs? Will TT to your bank, let me know how much it cost?

Porridge: mummies, i ever read mummies sharing can cook baby porridge with chicken soup or spare pork rib (IF I DONT READ IT WRONG), how abt the fat huh? Can anyone share with me how to cook porridge with chicken/pork rib??? Intending to cook for my bb this weekend.

Hi Yvonne,

I suggest u can use those double boiler or electric cooker to cook the porridge. I prefer my double boiler as it has at timer and would not dry up the porridge. Can just leave to cook for say 2 hrs and it will keep it warm for the rest of the time till u eat it. it used to cook soups by my mum previously.

violetlce
we booked directly from SQ website. there is a lot of tourist information counters and the staff are all english speaking and very helpful. the JR station staff speaks minimal english and their train timetable is as thick as our telephone directory. but the train are very fast and very punctual. we survived using the lonely planet book the last time round to navigate. no exception this time. we going there for the fire work festival as well as the mount fuji climb cos last yr we went during winter so cannot trek the mountain. we leaving tmr night

Blessedbaby,
i use lean cuts of meat. When i freeze the soup, the fat with solidify, so i scoop it out of the stock before adding it into the porridge.

Any mummies here put ur baby in infant care? Cos i am having a big problem of mil and maid issue! So tot of putting Javin to infant care.

Only ask my frz to get 10pcs, 4 sold left 6pcs..
dis is e so called "flower shape neckfloat" but dont really looks like. i tink someone mentioned hwa xia selling $4+ so dont dare to get a lot.

violetice: e float so nice.. i never been to Punggol plaza b4, gg there to check out one day.. hehehee!

Yvonne: i used slow cooker to cook porridge. juz put everyting into e cooker in e morning then afternoon or (3hrs lata) can feed him wif it.. mi lazy mummy.. hahahaa!

i think i have a opened tin of similac at home. currently my boi is on enfalac. i let him try similac once when he plainly refuses all milk. but he also rejects similac.

but im not sure whether its the follow on, or what. do you need it? i can pass it to you if you wan if you dun mind..

kitsune,

yup, hubby say nee soon camp. he say a major exercise this time and most prob sure call one. I also very sian.

wendyg,
i have PM you. Thanks very much for your kind assistance

eRnMum, sama sama, my hubby also say sure call one. Just hoping can just sign and go. If not, whole Sat burn. I super sian, will be alone with baby, maybe will bring over to MIL place, let them look after while I jalan jalan. MIL place no internet, I'll be very sian there. :p

Yen, Kam,

Does the incare really put in alot of care to ur baby? Wad happened if the baby is cranky and dun wan to drink milk wen feeding time will they coax them and make sure they drink the milk? This is the main concern for me as my son have to be coaxed before he drinks milk! How is the charges like for the infant care tat u put? Am staying at yew tee area du you have any recommendation?