(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendy and ah capp, is enfa good? Heard quite a few mommies using it. My #1 drank similac but hospital gave me some enfa as backup earlier on in case bm not enough. Might try on him later.

Mylife, ur gal so big!!! Mine think juz past 5kg mark...but he's still as happy a baby so far with his big smiles every time u talk to him. Wonder y he gaining so slowly....

babe

Think have to ask wendy. =) My son only ate Enfalac once or twice when he was 1 week old. Now he ate twice, also vomitted twice. *sigh*

My 2 colleagues told me should be good as it seem to be most expensive FM in the market. =P $33+ per tin I think?

mylife

I was hanging around at www.baby-kingdom.com for all the baby info in HK. Looks like a lot of mummies in HK give their babies FM, especially those FM from Japan. My mum was telling me my cousin's daughter in HK is growing pretty well on the japanese FM. Makes me feel a bit worried as my son has been taking EBM since birth, but not very chubby like that. Like my effort in pumping going to nowhere like that. *sigh*

Anyway, that website not bad. A lot of info about baby stuff in HK. =)

similac is most ex FM coz they gotto pay Zoe.
I dunno whether it's good or not.. i tried with Nan1, but i think it's not as tasty (ie sweet) as Enfa.

hey, no branded most expensive FM can compare to BM ok. Do the Japanese dare to make that claim....

*LOL* yes, I agree, wendyg. =P

Just wanted to reassure myself that all my effort is worth it that's all.

Babe, Ah Capp, my BB took Enfalac A+ too, then never poo for 3 days. Brought her to see polyclinic dr say wait, pooed 2 days later. Thought should be ok liao, continue giving, then never poo for another 5 days, bring to PD, insert babylac to let her poo. In the end, I give up, go back to TBF. :p

LC came for home visit today. Good news, she said what I have on the left breast is not a breast lump but where the milk is being produced (think it's called a lobe). Bad news is she said my left side does have fewer milk ducts, so BB not happy with slow flow after a while. Finally, someone else see how my BB scream, shake head and come off nipple. She had to calm BB down 3 times during the short BF session. Told LC, that's why I prefer to express. Latch on, must fight with my gal, somemore never empty my breasts, end up I got to pump some more. Waste time and effort. :p Anyway, this LC ask me to start following my work schedule to pump liao cos I'm only left with 2 weeks before going back to work. Trying out now, hope my SS won't be affected. :p

kitsune

Can i ask u.. I am now pumping every 4 to 5hrs. But does it mean that I must stick with 4 to 5hrs regularly when I return to work?

Can i like do 4 to 5hrs in the day time and every 3hrs at night? Will it affect my supply?

Me going back to work in 1.5 week time. Getting ready all my barang barang very soon. =)

ahcapp,
i have a softfit breastshield came with my Harmony. I don't think it helps to improve let-down for my case, but it makes pumping more comfortable. just my $0.02

Ah Capp, what are your timings for pumping? The LC said must match the timing which you can pump while at work. She asked me to pump once before going to work, once close to lunch time and another time at 4pm, when go home in evening, latch bb on. As for sleeping time, she said no need to latch every 4 hrs, can sleep until my breasts 'wake' me up.

Ah Capp, I was thinking of getting Softfit too but after buying the Pumping pal handsfree, it comes with the angled flanges. So I think no point to buy softfit then because if I buy, I still need to insert the angled flanges into softfit, like no point leh.

But I do wonder if it's useful to have another set of funnels and connector when pumping at work cos cannot sterilise at work anymore. Can any experienced mummies advise?

I have not really decided what is my pumping time at work wor.. whenever i can make it to the nursing room?? *blur look*

I was thinking of getting another set of funnels and connectors too. Very KS right? Oh yea hor, I have not got the handsfree pumping pal yet! Dear me.... I am soo slow...

mylife, now i got to note down everything single thing on my notepad or have to write a quick note to remind myself again.
Oh i love HongKong so much, so many bb stuffs and clothings and so cheap too. So looking forward to visit HK again. Hopefully can go end of the year and to attend a friend's bb full month at the same time.

Expressing while at work
No chance to express at all, so what i did was wake up at 7am and let my girl latch every hour until 10am then i go work, and will go back at 8pm plus and let her latch again, then will express out all the milk after she is done.

Ah Capp, think you can definitely pump at lunch time so maybe the next session can be between 4-5pm. For me, LC said better go by 4pm cos my breast will get lumpy when engorged. :p

Ya lor, I wonder whether worth it to get or not. The PIS is not even mine, buy so many accessories like a bit 'yi xiang qing yuan' hee.

Mylife
How I know ah?
He uses his tongue to push the teats to the side of his mouth / spit the teats out / bite the teat to stop the milk flow/

During the day, when he can see the bottle, he will drink only 40 ml (last 2 days, slight improvement). Otherwise, he would "starve" himself from 8pm onwards and go to sleep till 2 am. Those 2 am feeds, he will drink 100ml cos very hungry and very blur. Finish drinking, just go to sleep.

Like what Valencia said, heng heng put on quite a fair bit of weight earlier on. Now, so skinny until no more double chin and tummy.

Ahcapp
Super Blur ah..
Where did you get your emoticons? Very cute..

Kitsune
If you order from spree now, takes 3 to 4 weeks to come. By then, you would be used it.

AhCapp,
How to navigate through the baby kingdom website? I want to go straight to buying baby stuff. Too many fan ti zhi, giving me the headache.

Kitsune,
Buying from spree is definitely cheaper. Can still use for a while. I bought my funnel without the valve and membrane already cost $30. Valve and Membrane set is $26.00. All from Mums and Babes.

I see, okie then maybe can buy after all. Actually, someone can sell me the softfit funnel for $10 but just funnel, no connector also no point, don't want to go Mums & Babes just to buy connector. :p

blackbatz

I copy all the cute emoticons from the baby-kingdom forum. *LOL* very cute right? I just copy and save the emoticons. =)

So it's worth getting another set of funnels for use at work? Actually quite a good idea. Can save time in washing and sterilising.

Can show u the link which u want to buy things from? I can take a look for u. I tot the site is all forums. =P

kitsune

My PIS also not mine, borrowed from a very nice colleague. My PIS is old old one, from more than 5 yrs ago I think. But still very good man!

I was thinking that buying all the accessories will still be cheaper than buying FM =P

I don't know how many spare valve I have leh. I bought my orig set at Isetan. let me go check check...

Ah Capp, my PIS also old old one cos my colleague's 3 daughters are already 5, 3 and 1 liao. ;) How come you got spare valve? You bought?

Btw, Is there a need to change membrane ah? I just realised my colleague left a pack of membranes for me in the PIS backpack, never used the backpack so now then found it. But I never change membranes before leh.

Ahcapp & Kitsune,
There are some mothers who are very particular about hygiene, so they changed the membrane every month. Normally, can use until you see a tear on the membrane.

Haha.. my PIS even older! My colleague's first child is already in pri school! Can u imagine!

Aiya, don't have spare valves. Only have spare membranes! =(

Thanks, blackbatz for explaining. Guess I'm a dirty mummy, second hand pump also don't bother to change membrane. :p

Ah Capp, me too, used the same membrane because thought got no spare, but had spare all along, even more blur than you man...

hi all!
wah so many posts for the past few days, took me quite some time to read leh.
no internet access at my mil place, i was bored to tears.
all the babies veryyyyyyyyyy cuteeee

re: J&J cream
i found ready stock at a pharmacy at tanjong pagar plaza, its near the post office

ahCapp;
RE: going back to work
i am also preparing to go back to work and pump during work too like you.
what i did was i bought a 2nd hand avent microwave sterilizer from a mummy (for $15), just add water, throw into the microwave, set temp and let it spin lor.
tablets can but my sis who have used it says that it will leave a whitish film on the pump parts.
as to put sterilizer at my house or my mil house, i pek chek, source another cheap pre-loved sterlizer and put at my mil house so that i can sterilize my pump parts anywhere i want it - office, mil home, my home.

Enfalac;
like wendyg, my boy also takes enfalac while in hosp for jaundice, he takes it well leh
i tot enfalac cheaper than similac?!

pixie
yes enfa is a bit cheaper than similac. I always like to think Similac & Drypers charge a premium due to Zoe. hee hee.

i used all sorts of sterilising tablets when i was bfg #1. No white film. In the offc in between pumps, i will wash and soak all pump parts. Then at home will steam it.

I got a can of 900gm Friso1(unopen) and 47pc of Drypers(S) to let go. Selling both together for $30. Any takers? Can deal at Sengkang, Woodlands or Simei.

blackbatz,
Never bring my #1 to see one cos his PD said its normal. She went thru that before. She said she dare to say her #1 was a very gd girl and when she had #2, her #1 got very rebellious. Exactly, that was what happened to my #1. Things will settle down. But such behaviour can last for ONE year. Perhaps, my #1 has been such a darling. In a way that he very close to me and always listen to me, accepting my explaination as y he cant do this and that. When he went against me, I couldnt take it + handling a NB + a stupid/idiotic maid. Thus, lead me to have the thought. It was so bad that I actually went to shop and got a cane. Luckily, I still have some sanity and nv use on him So, u know how jia lat ah??!! hehe.... Well, he is more settled now. At least he has not been crying for the past 1 wk+ when I sent him to school, showing more interest in school, telling me what he does in school, willing to go out with my mil when my mil wanna bring him out. Before that he cried like hell and 24/7 with me. He totally shut himself during the past 2 mths. Hai~ before that I thought wait my #1 to be older then have #2 so its easier to handle #1. But who knows, the older they are, the more they know and things r even tougher. Before that I was so proud to annouce that I manage to train him to sleep on his own cos when my #2 is out, I can attend to my #2. ALL RUBBISH!!! Now I am back to square one. I complained to his PD and she laughed at me. Saying "Aiya...its like that one. You never tell me, if I know, I would tell u dont bother to go thru that. Waste time only. Can only start all these again after he is settled down".

mylife,
Yeah, SAHM now but wanna go back to work. Firstly, I got help now and secondly, with 2 kids if wanna have more comfy life, sending them to those enrichment classes, dual income is essential. And thirdly, my CPF has been depleted long ago. My hb is self employed. Housing loan is paid by cash, find it really silly. Hehe.... And I feel bad cos hb one peson gotta support so many "mouth". Juz trying to do my part and take away some of such burden.

Babe, the black thing could be the food you take. Like kiwi fruits, the seeds.

Ah Capp, so far I am expressing about 3/4hrly in the office. 10am, 1pm and 3.30pm.

Blackbatz, is it your menses coming?

Recently my boy refused to finish his milk too. Also don't know what happened. Force him to drink.

maureen
how could the black dots be babe's kiwi intake... i dun think the seeds would travel fr her stomach/ intestines into her milk ducts....?

yes when my elder boy eats kiwi, his poo is specked with black seeds. But that's thru his own digestive system, not thru breastmilk ley.. ?

wendy;
dunno why my sis kena the while film. was using avent pump.
yup, got celebrity surely the brand will cost more $

ahcapp;
right now i have 2 sets of pump parts, so i sterilize after every 2 sessions of pumping. when i go to work, i will leave 1 set in the office, 1 set at home. easier.
which means i need 4 bottles. i might even get 4 bottles at home, 2 bottles in office. aiyah, chor leh but no choice, very convenient ;-)

expressing:
i am now expressing every 6 hours, i.e. 11am, 5pm, 11pm, 5am. trying to stretch to 8 hours. who is expressing every 8 hours now?

weak knees:
who is having weak knees now? i cannot squat or sit on the floor or get up, must wear knee guard. am thinking should i take glucosamine/chondroitin but dunno whether if it will affect my bm...
doc says that it is the cartilage rubbing against each other, it has nothing to do with calcium loss

kitsune

Decided to get a 2nd set of pumping kits. Spare also good. I went isetan just now. The 2 valves + 6 membranes is about S$30+! Now I remember how come I was soo reluctant to get the kits in the beginning!

pixel

My mum has confirmed that she will come over to my house for first few weeks so that she can adapt to looking after my baby alone. Good also as I will not need to get extra set of stuff for now. But will definately source around for a 2nd hand steriliser if required. Very convienent mah. =P

Oh, i will be getting a 2nd set of pump kits for use at work. I still can't finish pumping within 15min like u all said. Not enough milk to close shop. So will really need to make full use of my 1/2hr slot to pump as much as I can. 2 sets for 2 pumping sessions in office will be easier for me.

Today I pump after 6 to 7hrs after going out. Don't know leh. Like not can't pump as much like that. =( Is it because my body is used to pumping every 4 to 5hrs instead of 6 to 7hrs?

maureen

I will slot in min 2 pumping sessions at work. I am running a project, so really difficult to tell my contractors to 'stop, let me go pump first ah' =P hehehehe Will try to be hardworking like u though. =)

tolerant of FM

This morning, my son's poo poo extra smelly! With BM, not so smelly wor. Don't know is it because of the 1 feed of FM (Enfalac) I gave him yesterday afternoon or not. Is it FM's poo poo very smelly? Or is he having 'lau-sai'?

ahcapp
why ru suddenly switching to FM when u have been feeding your boy EBM all these times??? Yes, i have heard FM's poo poo more smelly.

Thanks for the vote!

valencia
yah, very sweet of u.
Tot i have a kindred spirit in you for SAHM and direct latch :p Jiayou!

blackbatz
ay...then now u doing total 100% bottle feed ebm ar? I tot u still doing direct latch and have problems feeding via bottle, dats why wondering how come u know how much ur bb drinks if direct latch ma. Me still no luck with the bottle. Even worse, today Rylee seems to reject my breasts as well, dont think it's my diet leh, cos i ate the same thing, but for the one feed in the afternoon, she suddenly fussed and cry at my breasts, refuse to eat, sit her up and she's fine, in the end, put her to sleep, and she slept until the next feed! By then, it has been more than 6hours since her last feed liao! Dunno wats wrong.

ahcapp;
sometimes i pump after 7 hours, i get a little bit more. wait again, then i got let down again. press press massage massage then force out a bit more nia ;-)

wendy;
maybe so? she sterlize end of the day.

mcfluffy;
i have got like 20boxes from my sis who is doing spree, i can sell to you, PM me? no jackup from my sis. she dont dare to heehee

mylife

Oh, it's more like for backup plan. ;) Yes, my son has been taking EBM since birth. Only ate FM like twice since birth.

But today's poo poo really really smelly! *LOL*

pixel

I always press and press during my pumping. But this evening's yield a bit disappointing. ;P Maybe i didn't drink enough water today, i guess.

my gal having very bad reflux, keeps vomitting out her milk the whole day. is there any soln other than feeding less and burping more? my MIL says must be cos i sometimes feed her until the milk tuned cold and never warm up the milk again. is it true?