(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

sassy,
it's for my hubby cos he don't want to use the sling cos feel so niang.

windy,
oh it's your birthday today? HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

sassy/windy
think babies prefer ppl talking to them then playing by themselves..haha

Happy Birthday Windy.

Finally my baby poo last nite.

Maids, I think all are the same trying to avoid looking after baby. Yesterday I went out to buy things. My baby was crying in the room, the maid never went into the room just peek from outside. My mil told her go in and talked to him if not he sure make noise.

Maureen,

glad that your baby pooed, don't have to bring him see doc. Perhaps he digested all the milk..hehe

i think so but isn't baby easier to look after then toddlers? can't understand them.

Ya loh. I told my hubby and mil that they digested the milk that why less poo.

Toddlers are much easier. Cos they know to say what they want. While baby is cry and cry. And they are still very young, they scared anything goes wrong they kana scolding.

hi..\
can i check if warm up ebm how long can put at room temp?...

if i have some freezed ebm which is not enough for a feed, can i pour the fresh ebm to top it

tx

windy,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!

Luvv,
Yeah I agree with you that the bumper playmat and the Combi Rashule bouncer are expensive. That's why I am thinking whether to buy anot.

Windy, yup mine is the same as yous, yet to try yet le, I actually have this black/white/red story board , which I place next to her, but she dont like to look at it, I also have the music mobile, but she also dont like. She like to look at the TV and look at us talk. Until, my mum off the tv when she realised she looking at the Tv and told her no tv for bb. kekeke.

At least your babies dont mind just talking to them, the minute I walk in and look at her over the cot, she will "gek" her face and cry if we dont carry her, she cannot just talk, she must talk, carry, and walk ard the house. Jialat. This habit, cannot change already right? Leave her to cry also cant, coz dont know if she will eat wind.

wendyg,
hw u know Windy & babe's birthday? secret agent ah?keke:p

Windy, happy bird-day to u! late 20s still consider young la. Then 30s, lau kok kok ah?keke

<font color="0000ff">mylife,

Bon Voyage &amp; keep in touch
Will be looking out on yr blog &amp; do update Rylee's cutie pix wor

angelsky &amp; mcfluffy,

What is dream feed ? u mean when baby in la la land aka deep sleep then we feed them ah? But how if they dun wan to open their mouth to suckle?

I read u mommies trying out Gina Ford's method of schedule feeds so started trying out on my boy since these few days. Yesterday nite, aft his 11.45pm feed (took 110ml), he is able to sleep thru till 3.45am! Break record liao &amp; i hope this will continue throughout but at 6am, he cry for milk again (less than 2hrs), he drank 100ml &amp; again at 8am, drank another 90ml...milk intake getting lesser, i wonder why &amp; if he is drinking enuff. Sometimes it's so hard to gauge the amount of milk he drinks.

Verene &amp; mommies who delivered via natural,

How soon can we resume intimate moments with hubby ? Must chk with gynae izit ? Sometimes, i still feel sore down below, wonder if it is due to the wound healing or too much friction due to walking??
Verene,
my gynae appoint on coming Monday &amp; due for pap smear...dunno whether will be uncomfortable &amp; painful. Me &amp; hubby also no intention of planning #2 so soon. Any side effects by taking the contraceptive pills ? Previously, me &amp; hubby had a hard time trying to conceive #1 so i was thinking if i take pills option, will it permanently make me infertile for long period.

steph77
Same feeling here. sometimes i also feel sore below- i also donno the wound heal already. I delivered about 3+ weeks ago.

The rest of the mummies, how long did it take for your wound to heal? How do we know the wound has healed? Cannot see leh.. unless I use mirror!!??!! :p

i seriously need help. my girl refused to sleep, unless we pat and carry her. when put her down, she will cry. i now trying to pat her without looking at her, atfer a while, she will fall asleep. but put her down, she will wake up and i got to pat her again withbout looking at her. she will always root for my breast, but i know she not hungry. how? does that mean i really need to give her pacifier?

itok, steph77, i also sometimes feel weird, its not sore, but the feeling is weird. i still got slight bleeding. intimate, i dont even dare think.

angelsky
I also have bleeding, at least urs is slight. mine sometimes slight, sometimes more.

I think you gotta carry your girl until she falls into deeper sleep then put her down. If not, you try pacifier. I am not against pacifier coz I gave my boy the day we dicharged from hospital liao. But he dont like, he will spit it out.

deeper sleep? ok, bo bian. i already put her down like 4 times, now carry her as i type. sigh. i worry she get addicted, i bought, now hesitating. she usually suck quite hard one when drinking.

sometimes, I think it's becoz of the way we carry the baby. I also experienced times when my boy is asleep liao then the moment i put him down, he wakes up. I don't really know how to put him down gently so as not to "shuffle" him too much. But i see my CL handle him, every time she puts him down, he wont fidget and will still continue to sleep

itok, when i put her down, she will not cry, she will sleep, she will only cry after about 5 minutes and then the whole cycle starts again, she does not like us to swaddle her anymore, she does not like her arms to be tied down, so now I put her in her sleeping bag to sleep.

Itok, mine already 6 weeks liao still having it. My hb already can't tanhan liao.

Steph, why not use condom but hor used liao no shiok :p

My baby has been ultra active today. Don't know why. Don't want to sleep. Mdm Rokiah came for my massage and helped me checked on my baby. She said he has wind. So she used Tulong oil to give him a massage to help remove the wind.

My breast engorgement...

Thanks ladies for your feedback. I finally managed to hand massage like Wendyg said and got ride of the huge block. What a relief! When Mdm Rokiah came, she continues to remove more blockage and make my breasts even softer by massaging them and applying hot stone. Now I feel so much better. But I was told that even with pumping or even latch on, engorgement can happen again. =(

I also told Mdm R about the aches and pains I experience in my breasts in between pumping sessions. She feedback that it's normal. =( Both my breasts have been feeling "or chay" for past few days. A bit sian leh.

Steph

Tmrw is Mdm R's last day to do massage. After that, only her staff will be sent for assignment. But she reassures me that her staff are trained by her and she welcomes all feedback to her.

I told her about my aching left hip today. I found that I have difficulty in lifting my left leg up after sitting down or when I walk up the stairs. She told me that some ladies do experiences achy joints, can't lift finger/ hand/ leg after delivery. She then helped me massage my left leg and also my right leg. She said I can try massages as they can help. I will consider taking 2 sessions of massage once a month with her staff as I really enjoy the massage sessions.

I always can't help that she has been great help to me. During the session, we will also chat about baby and BFing stuff. She is actually a lactation consultant too. =) Today, we were talking about Gina Ford's book. She told me that I need to get my baby a schedule so that he can follow.

I told her honestly that I am not sure if I can continue to pump milk for my baby once I return to work. This is because my workplace is very very stressful. She encourages me to continue to BF as long as I have milk. I will consider again when the time comes. =) Now, if I have spare milk, I will freeze and store for rainy days.

wind in baby tummy

Do u feed your baby woodgrip water to get ride of the wind? How often to feed? Every day? I didn't know my baby has wind in his tummy until Mdm R pat pat his tummy to let me listen to the wind. Poor baby, his mummy is soo lousy. =(

wound below

During my last checkup with my gynae abou 2 weeks ago, she helped me check my wound. She told me that ithas been fully healed.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY windy!

Bon Voyage Mylife! =) We look forward to seeing your msgs here again once u have settled down

Sassy,

I consider for quite sometime to decide whether to get the carrier. i cant handle the stroller alone when hubby not along. even with my mum, we seems to be kinda clumsy. so I bought the expensive carrier. thinking of planning for #2 1 yr later in an event I did not kena preggie nw. (ML the day b4 gynae appt...before he told me that we are fertile during this period....oops) I can keep th e carrier for #2. more economies of scale. Ha Ha I paid $289 for the carrier. for the patch, need to get from gynae bah, the brand is Evra. If u haf regular intercourse, need to stick on 1 pc per week monthly.

Wendy,
my hubby doesnt like to use condoms. actually I dont like it as well. :p

Steph,
gynae mentioned that we can resume ML after 6 months of delivery (assume is natural delivery case cos I din ask abt c-sect case). Pills have their side effects like weight gain, morning sickness, sore boobs etc. but depends on individual. I took the mildest pill that give the least side effects, cheaper also. but cant take pills if u r BF. considering ur hard time to conceive, do not knw the reason behind it, so cant advise on whether it will affect the fertility level. but will sure affect fertility if consume for long, say 5 yrs and above for normal women bah, heard from my previous lady gynae.

Frankly, my hubby has the conditions that hinders high chances to get me preggie. and as mentioned this condition will deteriorate his fertility when he gets older. basically, his sperm quality not good lor. Hence, gynae advise to get preggie soon if we really wants more kids. if not, hubby may haf to go on medication/treatment if we really wants another kid yrs down the road when his condition worsens.

Re: soreness down there.
sometimes I will still feel it...mayb the stitches made it feel tighter. when ML, I feel that the V area is tight (to my surprise, not loose after delivery). felt dry down there for the 1st time ML after delivery. Ah ya...no time to foul play/hanky panky liao...wait bb cry...then got to stop action. HA HA. during my check up, gynae says my wound heals very well
but it is the piles that I am worried. It is a nuisance to me when I cleared my bowels. so he gave me some cream and inserts tablets to shrink it. Any one had enlarged piles?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO WINDY.

ML with hb

I know i sounded silly but tiredness and sore breast currently put me off ML with my hb. =( I will check with my gynae when can we ML again. But knowing her, she will say anytime also can ;P

AhCapp,

I feed the gripe water daily. mix 5ml with a bit of water. I fed it after his milk time, say 20-30 mins apart. but I dont feed it regularly, not everytime after feed. as and when he is fussy..then i give. sometimes he fell asleep after milk...tat's the time i skip the gripe water. but, think it is better to bring bb to PD if the colic is getting on ur nerves...can observe it when bb fuss alot, or bb moves abt alot during milk time. and also crys alot. Gripe water as mentioned by PD is only a remedy for mild colicky conditions.

Thanks Verene for your feedback.

My baby was just unusually crankly and won't sleep in the day time. Even for his usual noon nap, he slept very little. So that's why i worry about colic or wind. I only knew he has wind when my massage lady pat pat his tummy to show me the presence of wind.

Will specialy note of baby fussing a lot.

verene
ahem... 6 months after delivery?!?! no way ho-say... i'm a c-sect and we din even wait 6 days...

yeah, so dry, no preparation time, so i quickly went to buy KY. The Watsons sales asst so helpful, see me carry bb no free hands, so offer to help. First time i said "it's ok". Then she persistent wor.. so i told her loudly "LUBRICANT". Then she looked a bit paiseh.. hahaha.

re: condom
my preferred contraceptive! After the deed i dun hv to put up with dripping mess.. everything's contained easy to discard.

but hor.. expensive...
husband not crazy abt it, but he dowan me to interfere with hormones esp when i'm bfg, ie no pill/ patch/ insert. When i was bfg #1, i took pill few days &amp; i think the bm taste changed or smthg.. #1 din want to drink. Immed stopped pill &amp; reverted to condom.

IUD is out of the qstn coz in our minds, a fertilised egg is life already. Just coz it has nowhere to implant then bo pian hv to be expelled.. it's like an abortion. So we make sure the egg &amp; sperm dun meet in the first place.

steph
>>> facebook

mylife,
Have a safe and good trip to HK! Bye bye little Rylee!

My boy's reflux and colic has improved after taking the medication and ridwind for the past few days. But I brought him to PD again this morning becos he was having some yellowish discharge from his head and it really scared us. Turns out it's due to some heat rash plus he has cradle cap and alot of hair and pespiration...aiyo, we already spend close to $200 on his medical bills this week.

Anyway, PD said normally boys and first borns are more prone to colic. She told me not to stress myself too much and continue giving my boy Ridwind since it's perfectly safe. She also said baby boys have a higher metabolism rate so they tend to drink more and more frequently as well. This lady PD at Paediatric Centre @ Hougang was really nice and very detailed as well. She really spends time talking and explaining things to us. Have decided to go back to her for my baby's jabs since it's nearer to my place as compared to going back to TMC.

I remembered someone asking about when our menses will start again right? My lochia just ended a few days ago (it lasted for about 6 weeks) and my menses started immediately thereafter.

miraclebaby said "my boy also air air air in th middle of the nite but my cl said it is very common amg babies"

Based on 'Dunstan Baby Language', eAIRh eAIRh eAIRH means baby is feeling pain due to wind. May want to make him burp?

hi hi, how's everyone? so long never come in and I'm reading abt ML. We have a problem here. No room for ML! hb feels too stressful to do it in #1's room. #2 sleeps with us and he's a super light sleeper. hb suggested living room and it's a strict NO to me. What happen if maid comes out??? so cham right...

my boy is colicky too and I'm also giving him ridwind. He's been so fussy for many nights that we take turns to carry him around the house from 7pm - 12mn. very draining.

Yvonne,
How do you feed your bb ridwind? My boy hates it and will scream if I feed him directly. I find it so troublesome to add it into milk bottle cos i usually latch him on.

anyone giving other brand and bb ok with it? thinking of trying out something else...

Mylife,
you flying off already? Hope to see you online soon!

hi fishia
saw that u found it..

re: dreem feed
>> doesn't work for my bb ley. When he's sleepy, all he's interested to do is to sleep. When he's AWAKE and hungry, then he'll drink. So i gotto disturb him until he CRIES for few mins.. then let him drink. Like that not considered dream feed liao.. and he'll drink his regular amt, which is 100ml plus minus. how to guan4 180ml?!

miracle
what teat u using for your baby... ?

oh, hahaha... let me try.. your boy slept? mine doze off after feeding. then i remembered haven't change diaper. don't dare to wake him up already.

he not happy from 7pm to 8pm.. head haven't touch pillow already scream. then daddy came in to take over.. within 10min he zzzzzzzzzzzzz
hope nxt time daddy can help in this aspect!

daddy says the swaddleme was causing him discomfort.. changed to the nappy cloth swaddle. I say daddy dun hv milk smell to confuse bb... want to eat? want to sleep?

Kelly, glad to hear that you managed to pump out more.
Phew, RaeAnne finally poo poo today when me and hubby were out for dinner. CL said there was so much poo, she didn't know how to clean her. The poo was a bit greenish cos we fed her Enfa A+ on Wed, Thurs-Sat then tried to TBF.

Itok, I have a LG bumper mat. Haven't tried it for my bb yet but the other day when my cousin's 2 year old kid was here. She saw it and automatically lie down on it and hug her soft toy, looks like kids do like it.

RaeAnne fussing tonight, latch on at 10pm, drink a bit, sleepy &amp; keep losing latch then cry, cry again at 11pm, latch on, same thing happened. 11:45pm same thing again. So tiring. :/

Steph, same concern as you. Not young anymore, and not very fertile, don't know when to start planning for no. 2. :p But no time and mood to ML esp with leaking breasts every 2 hours. Pek chek. :p

Fishia, RaeAnne hates Ridwind too cos hubby tasted it, it's bitter and minty (hot). Try infacol (yellow box), she likes that, I got it from PD so don't know how much.

kitsune,
my hb also tasted it and told me it's sweet!!?? then i must taste it myself liao. In anycase, i'll go get infacol tmr..

wow, your supply so good ah. leak every 2 hours? wear breast pads. that's what i do now cos hate milk leaking everywhere too.

sometimes i find bf so troublesome. milk flow too fast, bb chokes. no milk bb cries. worse still milk sprays on bb's face and he screams!

fishia, my breast leak every 2 hours but my SS still no good leh. If I pump every 2 hours, sometimes only get 60ml so I rather wait till 3 hrs then can get about 80-90ml combined. If early morning with engorgement, then got 100ml. :p My CL said leaking breasts means that the breast "tong1" already, no blockage. I agree, BF so mafan, but as long as I still have, give lor no matter how little. Don't want to deprive BB, can save some $$$ on FM also. Hee.

Yvonne, how did you know that lochia ended and menses started again? I'm wondering if my menses started on Wed night cos I had back ache and fresh red spotting that day.

do you latch or bottle feed? i seldom pump so don't really know how much milk i have. too lazy. you're still in confinement? your ss will increase according to your bb's demand so no worries. Yeah, BF is good for bb. They are healthier that's for sure!

Fishia, me not on confinement anymore. <font color="ff0000"> YEAH!!!</font> But, extended CL to work 40 days back then cos worried about looking after BB alone plus my cousin strongly advised me to extend. Good decision, at least got a chance to go out with hubby and leave BB behind with CL. Hee.
But must be back within 3 hours lar if I want to latch on, if not then CL will feed EBM when BB's hungry. Trying to latch on more cos when BB was on soy milk, I build up some surplus EBM. Trying not to deplete my EBM reserve so have to keep latching on except the night feeds.