(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

babe

I am only half swaddle my baby now, only swaddle his legs. His arms are free to move about now. He sleeps like a traffic police i.e. he wants to direct traffic when he sleeps by moving his arms about up, down, left, right, centre. =P

I also want to know when can we remove the swaddle.

AhCapp, I thought only my girl sleeps like that. She is coming 4 weeks soon, she also dont like us to swaddle her arms anymore, she will keep wiggling her hands and make lots of constipated sounds, and she will always manage to pull out her hands from the swaddle. She also sleep like she is directing traffic, or going to surrender.
. Quite funny.

wendyg

With regards to dream feed... my boy same like yours. If he is sleepy, he can only drinks his normal amount or even slightly less. No way I can feed him more to stuff his tummy up.

My massage lady yesterday suggested to give him more at the feed before the dream feed, i.e. that 7pm+ feed for my case. I have not tried it yet though.

angelsky

My baby also make those kind of "ah pek"'s constipated noises too! *LOL* When I look at the way my baby sleeps, I also laugh sometimes too =)

I realised my girl has this bad habit, she will pass motion mid way through her feedings, you can see her trying to gek to pass motion while she is also trying to suck. Then after she passes, must change her diapers then resume feed.

u r supposed to swaddle bb till they r 3 mths old. os b4 that they dunno that their hands belong to them n when they move it, will startle themselves hence they dont sleep as soundly. it may seem they wanna hv their hands free but i dont think its the case cos they r still too young to know that!

so am i the only one here with a bb who's rejecting the bottle? she's coming 2 mths old next wk... wendy, i remember u said your #1 had this prob too is it? how u mng it ah?

btw, for those of u hving fussy bb who cry when u put them down to sleep in their cot, can consider using sarong cos i think wat they want is the "motion". my girl i now in sarong n i can rest my arms a bit more! altho still hv to keep pulling the sarong to make it bounce lah cos once stop she will eh eh again...

morning ladies.

i m so happy! my girl at 6 weeks 5 day old finally sleep through the nite from 10pm last feed till 615am this morning. hope she will continue like this every nite. hehe

Hi shannonbaby,

I r'ber that u r feeding your baby EBM with bottles, is it correct?

How much do u feed her during her last feed to make her last so long?

Me green with envy. I have to feed my baby total 3 times from midnight till this morning. =( Nightmare!

angelsky,
my gal also like that. otherwise, she'll need to take a rest in between one feed. sometimes can spend up to 1 hr feeding her. and the next feed is 1 hr later.

re:swaddling
I find that swaddling the baby is better too though they may keep kicking and kicking and waving their hands about. Coz I've seen my gal startle herself with her own hands. haha..

shannonbaby,
aiyoh so envious. I'm happy enough if my gal can sleep for 3-4hours.

re:ridwind
some of you giving ridwind. what is the dosage like? My gal hates ridwind when given directly too. See her face contort up and she'll want to spit it out. So nowadays, I add it in her EBM and she doesn't know.

re:ML
Aiyoh... have no interest in ML nowadays. Breast so sore, though not leaking. But Hubby cannot tahan liao. Everyday asking me for it. And everytime I'll tell him... "Tonight.. tonight.." But tonight never comes. Keke!

I think my menses come already. Why so fast one?!!
I'm sick of wearing pads and pantyliners for the past month!

Ahcapp,

her last feed was 730pm, then 10pm. both i feed her 100ml. She is abt 4.5kg, quite a small eater. i just increase her feed from 90ml to 100ml. i am also surprise that she can last so long without milk. 2 days ago, she managed to sleep from 930pm to 430am too. hope she can continue to be like this cos i will be back at work in march, dont think i have the energy to wake up so many times at nite.

Shannonbaby
You lucky mummy leh! your girl so fast can sleep thru the nite le ! that's very good. Mine still waking up every 4 hours at nite for feeds !

Re: Infacol & Gripewater
I've been giving Tate gripewater every day. 5ml with 20ml of water once a day. I've been giving Tate infacol too. Just a few drops into the milk on every feed. It helps to remove wind wor. I din give Ridwind, is it the same as Infacol ?

Re : ML
I've resumed ML immediately after my lochia ended which is ard 6 wks after delivery cos I'm a c-section mum ! :p

Swaddling baby
we're suppose to swaddle baby until 3 months old?

I stopped swaddling the moment we reach home from hospital. Yah can se sometimes that she get startled with her hands moving ard when sleeping. hmm..but most of the time, she can sleep soundly even with her hands moving abt.

question: say for today, i pump out milk, can i pour the milk into a bottle that has already some frozen milk to store, say in the chiller? The frozen milk I trying to thaw so that later usage today. Or I cant mix the two different temperature together?

If I also thaw the milk today for tomo, by tomo must finish and throw right, cant refreeze, but can I keep in the chiller/normal fridge section for another day?

shannonbaby

Me soo green with envy! =) your feeding time is roughly same as mine. For past few nights, my son wakes up 2 or 3 times from midnight to 6am, demanding for milk. This is despite I have fed him 1 last feed at about 11pm+.

My son is drinking about 125ml in the day (I have just increased his milk intake from 100ml since week 4). He is now 5.5 week old.

Re: Infacol & Gripewater & ridwind

Can I find all these from NTUC? Are they the same, i.e. to get rid of wind in tummy? Aiya, I really lost leh.

Today, I continue to use the Telon oil to massage my baby. His tummy sounds less 'hollow' than yesterday. N when I apply telon oil to his tummy, he doesn't cry as compared to when I apply other massage oil or body lotion.

angelsky,
you can't mix diff temp EBM. So you need to pour into a different bottle, not those which are already in the fridge.

AhCapp
Gripewater can be found in supermarkets, guardian, watsons, infacol i saw it at watsons/guardian, not too sure about ridwind.

Mcfluffy, if you are still regularly bf, normally menses won't come so early. For my 2nd boy, it came 4 months later. Hope this time round will be long. I am also sick of wearing panty liner.

maureen, i'm expressing out.. so shd not come so early?
last few days i took lochia finish already coz spotting only, so i thought finish already. suddenly got red blood.. so its not menses?

AhCapp

Wow ! your boy 5.5 wks already drinking 125ml ? wat is the interval ? My son coming 2 mths old still drinking 100 to 120 ml 3 -4 hourly leh.

Re : POO
My son is on Friso Gold and his poo is bad ! 2 days once or sometimes 3 days once leh !!! any remedy to recommend ?

Maureen

My 'old man' snores at night sometimes! *LOL*

chaye

Every 2.5hr to 3hr, more accurate than an alarm clock. =S But it's EBM wor. Yours on forumla is it, so that's why drinking less is normal. Anyway, every baby drinks different amount. As long as poo poo and wee wee regularly, that's the most important. =)

i m helping my friend to look for baby to daytime babysit..

she is staying near yishun chong pang. actually she is looking after my gal now but i will sent her to childcare soon.

she is 43yrs old and has taken care of 3 babies so far.. experienced, friendly, carring and easy going. i m very happy to have her to take care of my girl.

please consider her if u or your friend are looking for yishun baby sitter. thanks

can pm me for her infomation.

Hi babe, windy, icy & mcfluffy,
Pls refer to the following from babybreeze:

"As per our conversation today, we have setup Mum & Baby Yoga for you on 4th Mar (Tue) from 3-4pm on . Pls adv by return if you are comfortable with it.

Pls note that we need at least 4 confirm mum before we can go ahead with the workshop. For your kind support, we would like to offer a 10% discount for those who sign up for this workshop (instead of $260, everyone will be paying only $234) and for trial session the fee will be S$35.00.

The name of our instructor is Garilyn. She is a certified instructor and was trained in India. Garilyn had 10 years experience as a Yoga instructor and have been teaching in TTS (training of doctor and nurses) , country club, fitness centre'school and etc. She is also a mother of a lovely child.

Once again, thank you for your support and hope to hear from you soon and have a good evening.

Rgds
Ellen
Customer Service Executive

* Pls contact me should you need more details about Garilyn.
* Pls see attached also the benefit of Mum & Baby Yoga

BabyBreeze Pte. Ltd.

10 Sinaran Drive
#03-85/86/87 Square 2
Singapore 307506

Tel: (65) 6397 6716
Fax: (65) 6397 6718
Email: [email protected]

Info
Mums & Baby Yoga brings mother & child together, ensuring the health and happiness of both and a chance for mum restore shape and physical well being. Mums will also have this opportunity to meet other mums with baby.

The class concentrates on specific areas such as pelvic floor, abdominal etc. Your baby can enjoy posture along your side or be part of the posture. It also helps your baby to regain strength, vitality, relax, relieve discomforts associated with digestion, sleep in balances and calm the mind. This practice also gives babies time to increase independence."

so is the timing alrite with u?
any other mummies interested?

babe,
u may ask the owners abt yr bb's feeding issue cos they are recently retired midwife & lactation consultant fr mt. e. btw, they hv a bb weighing scale so we can weigh our bb whenever we r there, u stay so near can pop by everyday to weigh yr bb!! hehe!!

Maureen, I also still latching, but I pump too.

Miracle, count me and my girl in too :, when do we start? But, I must say my girl can get really attention seeking and cranky, please bear with us

wendy & ahcapp,
my bb will only drink more than 150ml during dream-feed. During normal feed,he usually take ard an hour to finish 120-150ml but during dream-feed, he finishes in less than 30min.
my dream-feed is successful only if he is in deep sleep not when he is sleepy.i will carry him from his cot, put the teat near his mouth then he will open his mouth and start sucking and he actually drink with his eyes close.he is sleeping throughout the 30min. when my fren tld me abt this , i also find it unbelievable but aft trying, i find it amazing! but not everytime successful lah! still fine-tuning!

Hi babe, windy, icy & mcfluffy,
Pls refer to the following from babybreeze:

"As per our conversation today, we have setup Mum & Baby Yoga for you on 4th Mar (Tue) from 3-4pm on . Pls adv by return if you are comfortable with it.

Pls note that we need at least 4 confirm mum before we can go ahead with the workshop. For your kind support, we would like to offer a 10% discount for those who sign up for this workshop (instead of $260, everyone will be paying only $234) and for trial session the fee will be S$35.00.

The name of our instructor is Garilyn. She is a certified instructor and was trained in India. Garilyn had 10 years experience as a Yoga instructor and have been teaching in TTS (training of doctor and nurses) , country club, fitness centre'school and etc. She is also a mother of a lovely child.

Once again, thank you for your support and hope to hear from you soon and have a good evening.

Rgds
Ellen
Customer Service Executive

* Pls contact me should you need more details about Garilyn.
* Pls see attached also the benefit of Mum & Baby Yoga

BabyBreeze Pte. Ltd.

10 Sinaran Drive
#03-85/86/87 Square 2
Singapore 307506

Tel: (65) 6397 6716
Fax: (65) 6397 6718
Email: [email protected]

Info
Mums & Baby Yoga brings mother & child together, ensuring the health and happiness of both and a chance for mum restore shape and physical well being. Mums will also have this opportunity to meet other mums with baby.

The class concentrates on specific areas such as pelvic floor, abdominal etc. Your baby can enjoy posture along your side or be part of the posture. It also helps your baby to regain strength, vitality, relax, relieve discomforts associated with digestion, sleep in balances and calm the mind. This practice also gives babies time to increase independence."

so is the timing alrite with u?
any other mummies interested?

babe,
u may ask the owners abt yr bb's feeding issue cos they are recently retired midwife & lactation consultant fr mt. e. btw, they hv a bb weighing scale so we can weigh our bb whenever we r there, u stay so near can pop by everyday to weigh yr bb!! hehe!!

Confirm Attending
1) Miracle
2)Angelsky

miracle,
i'm interested! but can i check whether c-sect mum can start doing yoga already?

Thanks for organising!

angelsky,
my girl can be very clingy and cranky too ^5

angelsky,
must have 4 mummies to start the class, now only u n me cfm so still short of 2 mummies.babe, icy n mcfluffy indicated their interest so now waiting for their confirmation.

miracle
I am ok with the date and timing. But I need my mil to come with me, if she comes with me and attend the class, is it ok? I would be driving but then can't leave my BB alone at the car seat. :p

Miracle,

since it is on a weekday and 8 sessions will mean that I will be at work half way through the workshop. cant join liao.

Ah Capp, I think the other mummies have answered your query.
My BB hates RidWind so I've changed to Infacol, both available at pharmacies.

Bought the Avent ISIS pump and breast shell from Metro today. Thanks, WendyG. But yet to try it cos BB cluster feeding again, end up I can't pump at all cos scared she wants to drink again. She keeps shaking head and crying too.

maureen
i'm a lazy mom.. i latch on. But i pump either morning/ evening/ both due to engorged. Freeze 1 lot a day, took much space in freezer. But found someone who wanted the febm & just cleared stock gave everything away

fishia
when i 1st saw the swaddleme i thought to myself that it's overpriced. But then hor, i had some shopping vchrs expiring soon, i was walking the miserable baby section round & round trying to find smthg to buy. Dat's why i bought lor. Then husband used it on bb & commented how easy it was & it stayed put! ie tobey's arms CANNOT squirm out. So i bought a larger sized one with yet more vouchers! The silly thing abt the vchrs.. my colleagues gave me Robinsons vchrs instd of supermkt vchrs. So when i make the trip down to Robinsons (which is seldom considering ERP, distance etc), i just buy as much as i can within reasonable limits.

michelle
my #1 no problm with bottle. Prev 2 wks i thought #2 had problm with bottle so changed all sorts of teats. In the end it was bcoz i kept trying to bottle feed him when all he wanted to do was sleep. So a bit miscommunication here betwn bb & me. Tried bottle again few days ago... he drank his regular 100ml.

kitsune
ISIS plus shell.. total exceed $100 right? Shld've swopped more. Enjoy your pump

miracle
ok will try the deep-sleep dream feed again tmr night. Tonight he only settled at 10pm, so the schedule a bit not there.

re: going out wiv bb
>> how i wish to push bb in pram, he sleep soundly or just look around quietly & i can take train to town, walk the malls whole day long window shopping. In reality, he may demand to be carried, hv to breastfeed in the train, stuck in nursing room long long time (or worse, stuck OUTSIDE nursing room long long time!), poo stain clothing/ swaddle/ blanket, struggling with diaper bag, fussing bb, pram and shopping packages!
>>> I think i stay at home better la..

wendyg, your last part about going shopping with bb, is so like me, i tried it last week, really stuck in isetan nursery room for 1 hour. now come to think about it, the babies that we see outside in strollers are sleep very soundly, but how come it does not happen to me? So really, stay home better, else go out, then fast fast got to go back. That day, I push her in the stroller, all the time I got to tell her, its ok, mummy is here, we look for papa, then we going home. But all the time, she crying and flinging her arms in the stroller, pple ard see me, also think I siao.

angelsky
i like parkway isetan nursing room. Very well equipped.. but can be quite crowded! Many ah-po take a seat at the bench to rest their legs. hehe.

Wendyg, haha, topped up difference of $17+ cos got 20% discount. KP voucher min $20 so if I swop $100, will end up having to find other things to buy. My gal wailing away in the Metro children's dept, so no time to shop around also. I agree with you, think I won't go out with BB unless hubby with me. :p Had to change her diaper twice in the short time at Compasspoint. Pee, change diaper, went to food court for drinks, demand to be fed again, then poo halfway, got to go to the nursing room again to change diaper. Lucky, CL with me.