(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife,
"Her tiny body will be scrunching up and she will pull her tiny legs up in an attempt to fart or maybe ease herself? " --> same... sometimes she wanna poo poo. but sometimes is not....
i think my gal's vomitting isn't that severe.. but it pains everyone to see her vomit. she falls limps after vomitting so sometimes make me worry...

can i check is it better to use forehead thermometer or ear thermometer to measure baby temperature? its seems to me that the ear thermometer is too big for my baby's ear

mcfluffy,
i warm the fresh EBM a bit by using a cup fill with hot water. just warm can already, don't need 40deg so hot la.

my gal also have vomitting problem. almost immediately after every feed, even before i have a chance to burp her..

it is normal for babies to vomit after feed, but it is NOT normal when it's forceful and projectile...so mommies have to gauge la...

Mommies, i have also learnt that excessive burping can also cause babies to have more wind and vomit as well. My PD clinic told me to burp baby for only 5mins, and stop after dat, regardless if baby got burp or not. Otherwise, baby will have more air. Usually i will jus burp baby for 5mins, then jus hold her upright. No more patting and burping liao

mylife/mcfluffy,
Have you tried swaddling your baby during the eveing fussy period? I tried and my baby stopped crying immediately and fell asleep after some gentle rocking. I didn't think it would work becos he's always kicking his legs with arms flying in the air when his crying so I thought swaddling would make him even more pek chek...but who knows, that's precisely what he wanted!

Another method is to massage your baby's tummy when they are crying...help to relieve any gas/wind. Sometimes they will burp or fart after the massage and will feel more comfortable afterwards.

hi <font color="0000ff">mylife</font>,
I'm a mtb from the Aug08 thread.
I understand that you hired a confinement nanny from Bliss Confinement and you find her not good (read ur comment from another thread). May I know the name of the nanny?
Coz i was thinking of hiring one from that agency, dunno whether it's the same nanny or not.

If not convenient to mention here, pls kindly PM me.
Thanks so much in advance!

So envy all of you can pump out so much milk. Me so far is all latch on only. I don't really pump out. One day I shall pump out 3hrly to see how much I get.

Other mummy from other forum told me to drink a lot of water. She said she drink at least 2 to 3 litres. Each time she can get 400ml 3 hrly. I drink so much also don't have. Now me every meal have to eat fish.

RE: choking

sometimes my bb do choke as well. partially is due to the teats. another factor is the angle u tilt the bottle when feeding or the angle u hold u bb. when he kinda like choke, I will hold him more upwards rather than lying him flat while feeding.

Re: trimming nails.

I trim my bb nails after bath time while he is awake. he also moves alot but got to be patient and i will hold his hands &amp; legs still when I trim...but it takes a longer time...say 10 mins.

i'm the expert at cutting bb fingernails coz i'm the only one cutting for my elder boy, once a week since he was born. Now i hv to do twice a week - for #1 and #2.
My fren used the bb scissors when her girl was baby. Nvr heard of using needle... gosh, wonder how they come up with these tricks.

hey Windy
*5*
i love ISIS so much i bought 3.

i got lotsa lurrrrrrrve
dats why i was pumping b4 i went to bed each night, for soft tender boobies so that i can hug bolster tight. So much febm taking up space. Anyone wants free febm? Collect punggol... lelong lelong.

Hey all mummies,

Am I the last to report my baby here?

Thanks for updating

Doc: Dr Paul Tseng
Hos: TMC
BB: Female
NAme: Sarah Goh Ting Jie
Weight: 4.425kg
Ht: 53cm

steph,
I checked the packaging. It is called Baby Tweezer, but the packaging all in japanese. white coloured with round tips ends. I find it easier than tissue, cos dried one also can take out.

ahcapp,
I pump every 3-5 hrs depending when my bb sleep or hb/mil ard to take care of BB. Do u find SS not increasing much when u pump? BB now 4 weeks, I only can pump like 140ml for both breasts if I had an interval of 4 hrs.

mylife,
I had no choice, cos in sg have mil to help.. if so fast join hb.. then I will need to handle alone on my own including my meals. But I am quite upset that hb would miss the growing stage for BB. *sigh* His company HR very slow, everything havent confirm.

shannonbaby,
Dun use forehead thermometer, not accurate at all. I though BB having fever after using that (38-38.5 degree), rushed to PD and end up being say for using such an inaccurate measurement.. Use normal thermomter and use at arm pit, should only have fever if above 37.3.

Steph

I don't latch my baby on already. I am now only feeding him on EBM with bottles. That's the cloest to BFing I can do for my baby.

Anyway, I realised that everyone has her problems be it latch/ exlusing pumping/ formula. Don't feel bad/ sad about choosing formula for your baby. I think bottle feeding has its pros too. For me, I get my HB to help me feed my baby over the whole weekend. ;) *LOL* To make him more active with our baby. But actually, I wanted some free time to do my own stuff too. *wicked grin*

Hot Stone..
*LOL* Bt Timah sounds like a good place to pick on this kind of stone. ;P Sometimes when I "cook" my stone, I will wonder what am I going to do when I need to pump milk at my work place. I can't possibility boil hot water and start to "cook" my stone in the nursing room right? *LOL*

McFluffy,

Oh yes, pins and needles is the correct word to describe how I feel when my breasts start to fill up with milk. So it's normal right? Sometimes, my breast itch too. =( Quite sian leh..

Heating up EBM...
I have the pigeon milk warmer too. 40 deg C for EBM right? I only used it a few times. My baby so impatient, how to wait for 20min? =( I also use a cup of hot water to warm up my bottle of EBM. Sometimes, my baby cries so loudly that I either over-heat or under-heat my bottle of EBM. I think my baby doesn't mind cold "milk shake" since he is too impatient to wait for the milk to be proplery warmed up ;P

mylife
No, I don't latch my baby on already. Purely pump and feed by bottle. I realise that the amount of milk I can pump out is roughly proportional to the interval of time I pump.

Eg if I pump every 3hr, it will be about 150ml
if I pump after 4hr, it will be about 200ml.
if I pump after 5hr, it will be about 250ml.

Something like this... Don't know if it's just me or is it supposed to be like this.

Windy &amp; Wendyg

Which Avent pump are both of u refering to? The manual one or the electric one?

icy

My bb is 4.5weeks now. Hmm.. my milk supply has increased from 80ml to about 150ml now, interval of 3hrs. Don't know if it will increase some more or not. But pls note that I don't latch on anymore.

I also will pump every 3 to 5hr, depending on situation. Now that my CL is gone, I have to wake up, feed baby, pump milk all by myself. So don't so punctual like last time already. =(

Boo hoo gals...i feel so sad...today went to bring my gal see PD coz she cough badly n ask Dr ong abt my boy's weight gain. He said low and ask me see mrs wong. After checking, mrs wong said bb not getting enough and ask me pump, drink fish soup and supplement night feed. Feel so sad... possibly bb sleeping when latch...

But I am so puzzled coz now he can feed about 2.5hly and night about 3hly and mrs wong still said too short especially at night shld be able to sleep longer...I feel so confused now as juz got him on some sort of routine. Thot bb full then will sleep?

anyone know Bfeeding can take seafood / honey ? will it cause allegery in BB ?..

my bb skin like got red spots some with white dots on it, ( a bit like pimple),, anyone know what is it? doesn look like heat rash,,, not itchy as wel.ll..

Pumping,
how to increase SS, i can only get 200-250 ml ( both sides) every 5-6 hrly... need to increase more to stock up EBm... latch only twice a day,, mostly give ebm cos latching she only can last 2 hrs instead of 3 hr .. she only sucks 10-15 min and doent want suck anymore....

does fenugreek help? already drinks a lot of water &amp; fish / soups...etc,,

ahcapp, my warmer is on almost forever. i juz leave the ebm inside to keep warm. once my gal cries too much, she tends to throw up. so no choice, standby ebm.

hai.. think my ss v low if i compare with ah capp.
every 2 hrs: 80/90 only.
at night.. every 3 hrs: about 100/110.

ah cap, your 80ml started from when? when then i will see any increase?

yah, i agree bottle feeding has it pros. I love it when hubby bottle feeds during the weekends. i get the chance to zzz more and only pump pump pump. no need to do washing/sterilizing/feeding. shoik!

It has been 7 wks since I last posed. I am doing a combination of bf &amp; formula (Nan 1 HA). On most occassions, I pump about 190 to 220 ml each time &amp; freeze most of them. My baby is taking about 125 to 130ml each time.

I use pigeon nail cutter (scissor) &amp; a combination of Avent, Medela (nuk - not very lasting) &amp; Dr Brown's bottles to feed. My baby at times lazy to latch on particularly in the middle of night. So I pump most of the time about 4-5 hourly intervals. Lately I notice he has developed a crying frenzy before going to bed or when I miss his feed by more than 5 mins. I try to massage &amp; sing to him but it does not work everytime.

mcfluffy

aiya, great mummies think alike! I was able to ask u if your bb can last for 3hrs! last time when my CL was still around, my bb can last for 2.5 to 3hrs. Nowadays, he will wake up every 2.5hr! eg I start feeding him at 1pm, by the time he finishes, it will be close to 2pm. He will then cries for milk at 3:30pm! So u can see I am basically struggling for more time. =( If my mum or hb helps me feed, then better. I can pump while they feed. But at night, I really no time lor. =(

Btw, my CL told me warmed EBM can't keep for more than 1hr. Do u discard any remaining unfinished EBM?

My 80ml starts from about 2nd week.

mcfluffy,

my baby is 6wks now but he only drink ard 90ml which can last only 2 to 2.5hrs. In between, we also feed some water if the time is too short for next feed. If we r lucky, sometimes his feeding can last for 3 to 3.5hrs depends on his mood otherwise i think is cluster-feed during day time &amp; feed on demand during nite time. As long as your baby is gaining weight, poo &amp; pee regular, she is having enuff, no worry too much

AhCapp,
my cousin say warmed EBM or FM can't keep for more than 1hr else later bb kena stomache. Any remaining unfinished EBM/FM, i will throw away if more than half an hr.

Steph

Thanks for your feedback. Sometimes a bit heartpain when my son can't finish his milk. He usually can't finish his usual 110ml at night feeding. N I am too sleepy to make him finish up too. My CL very good, nearly always can ensure he finishes his milk. I wonder when can I meet the mark soon.

Can i ask why are u feeding your darling water? Is because because he is on formula?

AhCapp,

yup, that's right. Although PD say no need to give water even if on FM but MIL say it is okay to give abit in between cos FM will make baby heaty &amp; also to clear/wash the tongue at the same time. No harm if abit...like 5ml. He is on Friso &amp; so far, no constipation...poo &amp; pee regular. What brand of FM are u giving yr boy?

Luv/Maureen/AhCapp

the manual Avent ISIS pump. 300ml (from both breasts) was after 3hours of no bf ah.. breasts super painful. i heart my new pump.

wendyg

yaaaa... i totally hear u liao.... soft boobies is better than an orgasm these days.

Right now I pump about 2 hrs I get about 100ml half way he latch on so is it consider supply ok?

Ya if unfinished ebm is better to throw.

For me I prefer latch on. I feel tired to pump than latching on. Cos sometimes letdowns are slow.

I think I becoming very lazy already. I prefer to pump and let bb drink instead of latching le. Looking at your, I think my ms really pathethic le.

If I pump every 2 hours, I get about 2oz, mornings I get about 6 oz. Hmmm.

windy, mfluffy, ahcapp;
my boy drinks 55ml-60ml and can lasts 3 hours.
wait wait. my 3 hours is as such:
if he drinks at 1.00pm and finishes at 1.30pm, he will cry for his next feed at 4.30pm. (1.30 plus 3 hours).
nowadays, he will cry for his next feed at 3.30pm or 4.00pm (if using the example above - meaning 2 to 2.5 hours), so i increase the quantity to 60ml or 70ml in order to stretch to 3 hours later lor, lazy mah. the last feed at night is 80ml which can lasts him, if i very heng, 4 hours bah...

<font color="0077aa">pixie</font>

wah.. u heng ah.. sometimes i feel as if i havent finished washing the last bottle, she scream for next feed liaoz. zzzz...

babe;

that day i also talk to mrs wong, she told me last feed before bed give more, and night is by demand only. she say daytime give more, nighttime the baby wont ask for feed that frequently leh.
she also say i give very little for my boy. but he got poo and pee as per norm, so i think should be ok bah...

windy;
i very lazy one. so i die die want to stretch to 3 hours. if i noticed that XXml cannot satisfy him for 3 hours, i will increase the quantity lor. i cannot take it that 2 hours feed once. altho these few days my boy keep asking for next feed 2 to 2.5 hours later, so i have actually increased the quantity from 55-60 to 60-70. it works leh.

my baby poos alternate days.. any baby same? is this normal... last time poo 10 million times a day. suddenly she took dentinox for 3 days and now poos alternate days.

windy;
har, your gal very notti. then divide the feed into 2 parts and let her drink in an hour apart?

my boy oso take detinox. no use leh. yours got results? the PD told me detinox very mild, she gave me a stronger one. in the end also no use. the colic is getting on everyone's nerve

pixel,
me also like u, if BB start feeling hungry in 2hrs, then i start increase feed liaos. It works. Before sleep also increase another 10ml and he lasted longer. Then at night, he sleep much longer, sometimes 3.5hrs.. yesterday 5.5hrs.. Heavenly. :D

becky_cat

my son has it also on his face... red with with white thing inside. like pimple. i duno wat is it...

my son 3weeks plus. drinking 110ml every 3 hours. but sometime he can wake up at 1hour plus crying for milk... zzz....

aiyo, really don't understand why my boy has to fuss and cry every evening. He is obviously tired and wants to sleep but he has to cry and struggle and refuses to close his eyes. I just let him cry it out and feed every 1.5hrs. Fuss and cried from 7-9.30pm...sigh! I still thought he's a good boy today becos he slept through most of the day and didn't fuss so much as compared to last week.

yvonne
same here, my boy also tough to settle during evenings. he just wants to be carried to sleep, or latch on until he sleeps. i went in and out of bedroom to attend to him every 10min from 7.30pm to 9.45pm *shiong*
really tempted to just close door and let him cry until tired &amp; zzz, but always mindful of whether he's really hungry or needs to burp or needs diaper change... and since that's also #1's bedtime, i try to limit the crying as much as i can...

Angelsky, I've got the same problem with SS. Until now, still about 80ml if I pump every 3 hours. If in the morning, engorged, then can get close to 100ml.

Anyway, I won't be feeding BM to BB for a while cos we brought RaeAnne to see Pd this evening cos she was fussing and not drinking like her usual self. CL said she poo and fart very often too. My mum also nagged about this yesterday asking me to bring her to see PD cos even if she takes FM (Nan 1), the poo also the same.

Dr said she's gaining weight well (from 3.2kg to 4.2kg in 27 days, usual weight gain is 900g in 1 month). Normal for BM babies to have very loose stools and keep farting. Nan 1 (is reconstituted to be very similar to BM) so BB will still have loose stools. Anyway, she said we can try giving soy milk (she gave Friso 1 Soy) and sending BB's stool sample for analysis to see if there's any bacteria. Meantime, told me to just pump and freeze my EBM until Friday. BB didn't poo at the clinic so I got to send her stool sample to Tampines polyclinic tomorrow.

By the way, if anyone is looking for a PD in Tampines, this PD was highly recommended by my hubby's colleagues and she's cheap. We paid $43 including consultation, 1 tin of Friso soy and 1 bottle of Infacol. She's at Tampines Street 11, near the round market (where there's a Maybank).

Windy/WendyG, is the ISIS manual pump so good? I may need extra pump at ILs place since they'll be looking after BB. How much is it?