(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mylife,
It must have been quite upsetting especially with own mum. Even my mum also commented that I BF, where got time to sleep and do proper confinement etc etc.

Last few nights, have been feeding until I doze off on the bed. Tried to make up for it by waking up late and taking afternoon naps. Somehow, never enough..

Btw, where do you find time to read so many books?

Ahcapp,
no la..there are times when our babies behave crankily..so those times never log on..

Still can't latch successfully?

Val
the reason why i'm pumping is to try and increase my ss ma...yes, i know u advised me before on total latch on...but i'm pumping for a few reasons:

1) i wan to try EBM cos yes, i'm too tired out at night, and like prata queen, for the sake of my own health (feeling very worn out) , would like to EBM and have someone take over the feeding in the midnite shift (now CL, next time maybe hubby)

2) Rylee doesnt seem to be preferring bottle or nipple, think she's taking both well, plus i read letting daddy feed ebm will also increase their bonding, and hubby also would like to...hence, pumping lo.

3) Rylee has been vomitting quite a substantial amount of milk at almost every other feed she has. I'm worried dats why would like to monitor her intake. And the only way is to EBM lo. I read somewhere breastfed babies will NEVER get overfed..dunno how true is it. If dats the case, i even more worried as this may signal that Rylee is hvg a case of reflux

4) One of the vows me & hubby make is to stay close, even after the arrival of children..so our goal is to still maintain our paktor days by going out occasionally next time when bb is older...cannot imagine having to rush home every 2-3 hours to BF leh. So would like to intro EBM lo.

I didnt rebuke her...jus burst into tears and ask her why she have to say such awful words..dat all i asked for is her support and i'm jus sharing wat i learnt with her..her response is wat hurts me lo..jus say she wont meddle in my affairs anymore and i'm on my own..feel so lonely, cos she's like my only family member here in SG now...feel so lost and alone now.

val
oh, EBM is not feed on demand oredi meh? I tot altho i pump, i still feed her only when she demands ma...isnt that the case?

Lynn

<font color="aa00aa">I paid $178 for the TaiMaoBi because I chose "zhuang yuan" aka scholar brush and it has inscriptions of his name, his birth date, a "cheng yu" and parents' name.It includes the free hair cut and coming to my place.</font>

mylife,
Feeding on demand is latching on whenever the bb demands to be fed. Which, can be like every other moment. I can truly understand all the above reasons of you trying to have EBM. But intro of bottle would be suggested only after the first month. When ur ss has been established. By intro bottle to bb too early, you are making her "lazy" to suckle. When the suckle is not so strong, it doesnt stimulate so much and thus making ur ss to drop. You may wanna pump juz to stimulate to increase ur ss but not to use the ebm to feed her via bottle. If you feed her bottle for 2 days in a row, u may face her refusing ur breast cos suckle bottle is so much easier. But for comfort reason, bb will definately prefers breasts over bottle. And bb will hv a preference btw breasts &amp; bottle in time to come. Not too sure ur 80ml is total from after latching her on or "replacing" her feeding to pump out so someone can feed her. Dont forget by doing so, u r reducing the stimulation by half also. Juz wanna highlight to u cos u really appeared v v v stressful to me and finding me kpo. I am juz trying to help up.

blackbatz &amp; Windy,

Mine cries during every feed! Without fail. I take so much time to get him to settle down that I am totally worn out by the time he wants to latch on. I take about 1/2hr to 1hr to settle him down man.

Feel very down already. N now that my bb is now gaining weight, makes me more worry too. Feel totally useless lor. =(

I can't latch on properly as he's always very impatient for milk. So he'll move n shout and scream. Simply can't latch him on properly n he'll dislatch again.

Val

No way i'm finding u kpo lah..on the contrary, i am grateful for all the advices u've given me.

I dont understand the part of you asking "Not too sure ur 80ml is total from after latching her on or "replacing" her feeding to pump out so someone can feed her. Dont forget by doing so, u r reducing the stimulation by half also"

Are u asking the pumping or the feeding? The 80ml is pumped out after i latched her on. But if u're asking if the 80ml is fed to her as solely bottle ie not after i latched her, then yes lo, only the 80ml was fed to her,not after latching.

I am still feeding her on demand daytime, which is happening 1-2hourly interval now. Then i pump. But i only pump at 3hour interval. But always after she has fed. I only give her the EBM during the midnite feed, like yday, i managed to collate enough for 2 midnite feeds..so i instructed the CL to feed her 90ml for 2 feeds..i managed to get some much needed sleep for 4hours and CL woke me up at 530am for the 3rd feed. She told me Rylee drank one 90ml at 145am and the next one at 330am. So when i woke up at 530am feed, my breasts are full and hard again. So after feeding her i pumped out again. What do u mean by "reducing the stimulation to half" leh? I tot by latching AND pumping, i am under the impression that i am trying to increase the stimulation leh.

Mrs Wong told me to pump for 1 week to increase my ss cos she said prob baby didnt thoroughly emptied my milk dats why breasts didnt make more ss inside.

Hah..u mean if i feed her via bottle 2 days in a row, she'll reject my breasts on the 3rd day?? Even if i'm jus doing it during the midnite feed ah?
Sigh...why is it dat it seems, i do <font color="0000ff">this</font>, <font color="ff0000">that</font> will go wrong, i do <font color="ff0000">that</font>, <font color="0000ff">this</font> will go wrong?

mylife
wow.. your mom sure has said hurtful things to u! i'm sorry to hear that u r goin thro such a difficult time. i can totally understd. when i had my 1st confinemt, things were hell too. cos my in law n my mother had a bad clash, until like they were not even talking to each other. then my hubby n my mom also got conflict n things hv never been the same, i never cried so much in my life then. as if having a bb is not enuf, we have to deal with all these other 'external' factors rite? anyway my mom has never been a tactful person either - she sometimes says things that are very hurtful to me too, but its just her. she doesnt realise that her choice of words are very harsh, so sometimes i hv to tell her to be careful with her words, and she will say 'oh is it?". so maybe ur mom is like dat too? just hv a talk with her n tell her again that its very hurting when she uses words like that. anyway, u r doing very well at BFing so dont give up! the fact that u hv to intro 1 bottle at 3am is fine... as long as ur girl still latches on at other times. this way, u will get enuf rest n can produce more BM. that's wat the LC here told me as well. i think wat u r doing is great so continue to push on ok
dont give up - there will always be pple around us giving discouraging words, but we shd not let that deter us. afterall, we want the best for our bb that's why we go thro all this suffering...

i just brought my bb home yest after her one week stay in hospital..been trying to latch her but not very successful, i think mostly she sucks just for comfort, after tat i still have to supplement with EBM and pump to clear out my breast...haiz so tiring now doing double work...

also when she was in hospital she was on FM at regular 3hr intervals...but now that she's home she's on full EBM/BM but she does not seem to need to be fed as often leh....i thought bb need to be fed more often if on BM??

mummies got any advise??

hi grumpus!! baby's home le ah!
tats great!

babies on BM does need more feeds than FM, cos the BM easily digestible ah.. since this is day 1 that baby is home, and u mentioned that in hospital she was on FM, maybe she needs some getting used to? give her a few more days to adjust? my humble opinion......

I delivered 4 days ago and still no breast milk.
Anyone have same problem?

Baby so hungry that I finally relented and gave him formula. :eek:( Know he got reserves but he so irritated till he dun sleep.

Is there anything that I can eat to make the milk come in faster?

QQ, my PD is Dr Ho at Tampines, nearer my house cos I stay Pasir Ris.

U stay Eunos rite? Got a PD at Siglap Centre, nearer your house. Initially he was my assigned PD but too far so I changed to Dr Ho.

How much is Dr Low’s consultation? Dr Ho’s consultation is $35.. I find it very reasonable.

Me also going by the “no pacifier, no sarong” mantra. My MIL keep talking non-stop about letting baby sleep in sarong so that the shape of her head will be nicer.

Update on introducing bottle teat:-
Yesterday, for the first time in 12 days, I gave baby Tricia her first feeding via NUK teat. She gulped down all 85ml of milk in less than 10m, went to sleep but woke up in 2 hours for her next feed – which means to say the 85ml of EBM is not enuf for her cos when she latches on direct, she will only wake up 4-5 hours later. When I next latched her on, she didn’t protest or reject breast.

 my conclusion: if baby has learnt how to latch-on properly, introducing 1 bottle feed a day shouldn’t cause nipple confusion.

AhCapp, your baby is gaining wgt liao? That is a good sign. At Day 12, I tink baby Tricia still hasn’t regained her birth weight. Will be seeing PD on Thurs (Day 14) so hopefully she would have exceeded her birth weight.

prata_queen,

No =( My bb lost weight when he was 7 days old (yday). I feel so heart pain, like I'm a lousy mum like that. Yesterday went to see the lactation consultant. Only managed to latch my bb on once last night. This morning, again struggled with him for an hour. In the end, gave him EBM by syringe.

I really feel very tired and drained. He ALWAYS put on a fight with me whenever I want to feed him. Don't know other bb like so easy to latch on like that. =( Mine can be soo stubborn that he just latch on, un-latch and then cry lor. I really don't know what to do.. =(

Windy,

I can't wait for confinement to be over too. =( Feel like totally lost control of my life like that.

Btw, your bb can latch on properly right? How long did u take to latch your bb on ah?

AhCapp, its normal and expected that bb lose some weight. I read that it is only 2-3wks later that babies will regain their birth weight.

Dun worry too much, just try to feed via cup or syringe since your baby still not used to latching on yet. Skali if introduce teat, may cause baby to reject latching-on.

I'm also looking forward to end of confinement:-
1) the stranger in my house (CL) will leave.
2) i can bathe with normal water without hiding like a thief.
3) baby Tricia will probably demand feeding less frequently, weigh more and thus easier to handle, and be more responsive to daddy and mummy

MomMe, Windy, my milk came in on Day 3 but a little bit only. Slowly, milk ss will increase.

A lot of people rave about the effectiveness of green papaya + fish soup.

prata_queen,

I don't dare to introduce teat like u said. But very tiring, don't know why my bb so difficult to manage. *shake head*

HB also told me continue to express and feed him by cup or syringe first. I can slowly learn the latching on. But really really envy gals u like who are successful with latching on lor. =)

AhCapp, gotta perservere. I had my share of TBF problems - sore nipples (had to bite my lips to prevent crying out in pain) &amp; engorgement (waste time pumping and throwing). Things should get better after baby's first month. That's how I comfort myself and that's why all of us are looking forward to end of confinement

Re: FBI card to qualify for 10% discount for Sweetest Moments cakes
Can a cardholder pls lend me her FBI card so that I can get the discount?

MomMe

I also have the same problem as you. I rather pump out. By the 4th day, after pumping for half an hour only can collect 1oz from both side. Breast was very pain. Lucky the milk came in 5 to 6 day. My mum will cook the papaya fish soup for me. Quite effective.

I have the problem right now is not my newborn but my 2 year old elder son. He seems like changed to another person. He cries everyday. Very naughty, when we tell him cannot, he will point his finger at us or scold us back. Daddy have to show his cane everyday until last nite he was dumn angry, he pack all the toy and keep it in the storeroom. My son was crying and crying. Heartpain. And for the past few nights, he will crying in his sleep. Don't know what to do.

AhCapp,

3rd day the lactation nurse at MAH came to show me how to latch baby, from then on, kayla knows how to latch properly.

if there's no valid reason for baby to be crying like he does, 1 hr before calming down to feed, then baby is jus trying to test his limits. don't stress, and be firm with baby. tell him "Don't cry, cos if u cry, no milk for u."

Initially this kayla also wanna bully us, must harden heart and discipline her. Don't see baby so young ah, they understand wan. they might not fully understand the exact words, but they will grow to learn to also adapt to YOUR pattern. and tats what we want right?

like 2 nights ago, suddenly this baby wanna kick up a fuss from 11pm onwards. it baffled me the whole night, is it stomachache? wind? feed liao wad..can't be hunger.. then in the morning i expressed more milk from 70ml to 120ml, kayla finished and happily went to sleep. so.. i learn new thing! is becos she needs more milk....orh.....

tats my take lah..

Nuk teats comes with hole. Need to cut to make it bigger or not? Need to standby cos masseur coming tomorrow. Don't want baby to cry while I'm having massage.

hi MomMe,

my milk also came in after day 4 only....pump regularly like every 3 hrs even though no milk to stimulate the breast...

papaya fish soup is good and also make sure u drink lots of fluids...soups, milo, red dates tea etc...keep yrself hydrated...

dun worry the milk will come

now kayla takes about 100-120ml each feed, every 3 hourly. at night she can take feed at 11pm and sleep till 4am then wake up and ask for next feed.

my mom taught me to keep baby awake in the day. at night more tired, tiredness will supersede hunger, let baby wake u for feeds, like that u're not so stressed up, baby got lots of reserve, don't worry

just wondering anyone using Japanese diapers from GOO.N? Is it gd for new borns? I'm thinking of storing up since the disc is till feb only. TIA!

Re: nexyanne "my kaelyn has got red spots ard her chin and neck area. how to get rid of them hur? my CL say muz buy "pearl powder" for her to drink???"

By any chance, would you have a handbook on 'A Parents' Guide to Newborn Babies' from your PD? It covers many useful factual information that we encounter as 1st time parents.

What you've described (inside Pg 8) is either:
a. Erythema toxicum neonatorum;
b. stork bites; or
c. cheek rash.

Best to check with your PD.

PS: Pearl powder may be ok with adults, but for newborn, am not sure. Moreover, it's not approved by the FDA, read more about Pearl Powder here
1. http://www.cgcmall.com/Pearl_Powder_p/hr00pp1-10.htm
2. www.fengliacupuncture.com/Pearl_Powder1.pdf
3. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pearl_powder

wah TG, u're a walking encyclopedia leh
your baby is in very good hands. girl or boy? how old is baby?

mine's a baby girl, her name is kayla. she's 10-days-old today.

windy, ur bb drinks alot lehz...anyway, what time in the day u keep bb awake? I am getting tired of her waking up at 4am and wanna suckle all the way..today till 8am he didn't want to sleep...arghhh..u ebm all the way?

hi babe,

100-120ml is alot ah... gulp. but if i give any lesser she will make noise leh...

she jus had her shower, now she happily lying on the bed talking to herself and watching the world go by. i will not force her to sleep. next feed is abt 2 hrs time, after that she will ownself go to sleep. then sleep whole afternoon, evening will prob wake up ard 7plus for feed and we dont let her sleep until 10pm feed. feed ard 10plus, she can sleep till 4am.

this has been her pattern for past 2 nights.

i used to ebm most of the time, cos she sleeps at my breasts n treats them like pacifiers. nowadays i'm trying to BF more often so as to increase ss. think my tua pui kia needs more milk....

Windy, mine is only 2 weeks old. Having fun learning all the new stuff while managing Tania. Well, like most parents here, we also have our own fair share of times when the baby seems to go into her own world and tough to get her back... well, we just have to think positive and cherish this phase of our lives which will past us by in no time. Just hope that in 30+ yrs to come, we don't become the cranky seniors.

<font color="ff0000">Neo Garden</font>
Someone mentioned that there is a 15% discount for full month celebration. Is there a discount card or we call and tell them it's for full month celebration?

TG,
thanks!!!! but wat book r u talking abt? My pd nvr give me any book. oh, i delivered at Raffles... maybe tats why...

Dang Gui:
some1 mentioned tat dang gui reduces milk supply?? really??? then i better ask my CL dun cook dang gui for me... juz went to buy yesterday...

BlackBatz

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Neo Garden - All I did was fax them a copy of baby's birth certificate to be entitled to the discount.</font>

Nexyanne
<font color="aa00aa"> I hope I can managed also, things like bathing, changing, feeding are alright. My worst fear is I won't know how to stop him from crying. Sometimes he will cry even though diaper is changed, well fed, even burp him for colic...like really don't know why he cry..</font>