(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

michelle, u can chk diapers or sometimes they juz want attention/cuddle. If juz a few eheh, can juz leave her as it is till cry otherwise.

michelle,

i aga know if it's hunger if it's around the feeding timing, or when i pick her up, she looks like she's searching for a nipple or bottle, then is hunger. if pick up, she goes quiet, then i assume she juz wanna know that there's someone there, or she's looking for mummy.

oh like dat ah... hmm. means i overfeed my girl? cos i can latch her on like just 1 hr after i just latched her! most of the time i pick her up she will be quiet liao, but put her down then she eh eh again..sigh...

michelle...yupz from latch side but sometimes the unlatch side also like that. He seems to prefer 1 breast n end up the other breast feels empty. Got remedy?

From Windy: "who dare go against the old wife for fear that it'll put the husband in a difficult position".

Step 1. Get husband to be on our side first, convince him by love, logic and evidence.

Step 2. Have husband to talk to MIL.

From Windy: "these old folks still cannot understand why i insist on giving BM"

It's interesting to note that there are 2 camps of old folks here... one that are diehard BM, and the other that are diehard formula.

For those that are diehard formula, try the evidence approach to why BM is better than formula. Research after research after research, from .gov to .edu has showned that BM is still the best, get your hubby to read these, and then if necessary, have him show MIL the evidence.
1. http://www.linkagesproject.org/technical/bf_benefits.php
2. http://www.fda.gov/fdac/features/895_brstfeed.html
3. http://www.infoforhealth.org/pr/l14/index.shtml
4. http://mammary.nih.gov/reviews/lactation/Neville001/
5. http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/milk/infant-formula.html

Moreover, in view that the logic from MIL that many Chinese confinement practices is supposed to benefit mom and child (show us the evidence pls), surely when there are so many evidence pointing to why BM is better for mum and child, will MIL be contradictory in their beliefs?

It's time we move from stone age to an age of science and progress, ie. instead of blindly following Chinese practices, do the necessary due diligence first and if there is a good reason behind it, it's fine, otherwise, why risk our health?

TG,
you're really informative and hardworking in doing the due diligence. Thumbs up!!

eRnmum,
you are so persistence in latching bb on! i can never do it, my girl is always so impatience, tried a few times yet she's always so frustrated. End up i always give her EBM. She drinks really fast, can finish 100ml within 10 mins, max 15 mins. I can't even pump so fast!!

Luvv! same same!!! xcept mine is not frustration, is total laziness, she juz wans to sleep at breast. when give EBM, wah... like a little piglet, suck suck suck very fast.

my kaelyn has got red spots ard her chin and neck area. how to get rid of them hur? my CL say muz buy "pearl powder" for her to drink???

Kitsune pop liao har ... wow I just didnt log in for 1 day only wor ..... finally can post something my baby Alyssa give me a hard time on sunday nite which makes me so tired and exhausted ..... so no energy to do anything ...

Prata_queen u oso have piles? me to so painful leh ... and had difficulties in sitting down

Sassy ya my gal is a big CC .....she latch on for an hr still not enuff have to give formula .... but the thing is my milk not ready i guess ... no milk yet

mom2nat ur baby so handsome ....looks like ur hubby hor?

hi all mommies
can i have the contact for mdm rokiah? read in previous posts some of you engaged for as post natal massage lady and saw good feedbacks abt her. can some1 kindly post her details? i am from mar08 thread. many thanks

congrats kitsune!!

nexyanne

danelle also got this problem, on her whole face and neck area. my pd says to ignore as it will heal by itself. yours could be milk rash as it ard her chin and neck area, just make sure you keep it clean after every feed.

mcfluffy

Me too experienced armpit darkened during preggy and ITA tat we need to take care of our PANDA eyes. Mine is getting worse...
let me know if you come across any good products. TIA

qq

you are very patient leh... allow ur bb to latch on for an hour.

Just to update...

Name: Nathanael
EDD: 19 Jan
DoB: 19 Jan
Wt: 3.38kg
Natural with epidural

Induced on 18 Jan but only popped the day after. :eek:p

Hi all mummies, me faceing the same problem too. My baby is 3 weeks old, everyday he wake up at night for feeding then at night after his feeding he still cry til about three hours then fell asleep. Is newborn like this one? When can i start to train him to awake in the day then sleep at night? By the way how? sorry so many question me a new mum there

Hi MomMe,

Congrats!! So accurate... dob same as edd- I hope mine will be same as yours too. However, can I check with you, was your baby engaged before you went for induction? coz mine is not and I am concerned might end up induction fail then emergency c-sect

hi sagittaurius,

how come bb cry so long? like tat will have alot of gas in tummy right?

my baby's 10 days old. it was only yesterday and today that we see her being more awake during the day. before tat, from birth, she was always sound asleep. i guess baby has learnt to adjust her day and night timing. how she adjusted, i guess is from the hustling n bustling of daytime, and then at nite we try to give her 1 big feed, dim room lights and she'll sleep. last night she slept 4-5hours without waking up for her 2 hrly feed. i think slowly we will progress from here bah.

hope i've been of help

sassy hahaha me almost fell asleep when she latch on ..... i scare we both fall haha .. tat time in hospital ... but after tat she still cry

Windy not say cry for three hours la. after the night feed he do not wish to sleep. In between cry lor .Ya my MIL said cry alot will have wind. But my son getting more worse.From birth he sleep alot now lesser liao.Haiz...

issit he in your tummy that time also ard this timing will be super active? mine when in tummy, will be super active from 11pm-2am. true enough..... come out also same! heng this time i can juz turn over and sleep while hb deals with her. haha.. he also got this day ah..... kekeke

Windy,ya lor. He super active at midnight. Then how? cannot change liao ah, will he be forever like this? By the way, Windy are you a new mum too?

i'm a new mom too ah... newer than u! i'm a 10-day-old mother. haha.. but everyday i learn new things about baby and me.

forever like this, i dont think so lah...

Anyone doing buffet catering for baby full month?
Any catering recommendations? It seems that most of them only have Chinese New Year menu.

Blackbatz, I had no CL and had to do everything myself, from shower bb to feeding to changing to wahing bottles. My mom cooks for me. Unless my hb around then got help n can get some rest. Then my bb wakeful n hardly sleep., at most 12h/day. Got MIL who knows how to do nothing till she see I going to breakdown. Caught a chill too

I am discharged from hospital!! Give me some time to settle down and I will update u all with my birth story and BB Xavier photos. :D

babe same here my mil cook for me I no confinement lady oso but she will help bath baby ... but she dun do cleaning well after cooking ... so i have to do it on my own ..... now I got backache very painful

Today we got the TaiMaoBi person to came and cut baby Ian's hair. Alamak! He's botak now. My mum also got the lady to shave his eyebrows. Now I realized why gynae said his head is big. Haha!

<font color="aa00aa">sassy</font>
Hmm.. I thinking of trying the armpit mask that I saw selling in the BP. But then again, will using such a mask affect BM?

Anyway, I noticed that you bought the slimming thing from BP some time ago. any effect?

shannonbaby,
i'm ordering from http://www.foodfactorycatering.com.sg/

windy,
that's why until now, still not successful with latching! now i think less stress to give EBM instead.

re: black armpit
i also have that ever since pregnancy, will this be going off after a while? Hopefully it won't stay leh, so ugly!

violetlce,
altough my MIL also suggest shaving off all her hair, my hubby is very protective of the hairs! so we're not gg to shave everything off.

i also have black armpit since pregnancy. find it so ugly..will it goes off??

anyone successfully lost all the weight gain in pregnancy? I still have 3kg to go after giving birth for 2 weeks, but my tummy still look jelly. hopefully the massage will help. cant wait to start my exercise routine soon.

My confinement end liao...yahoo!!!

shannonbaby,
I had the full month buffet last sunday, also ordered from Neogarden. Their food not bad..

Luvv/Violetlce,
Me and hubby dun want to shave off my baby's hair bcos she got a lot hair, so sayang...but my MIL insist to shave "botak". Dun want to quarrel with her, so no choice. After shaving, baby cried for whole day..I think because of itchness and sensitive skin, a lot of red rashes on her head...very sad and I keep saying "sorry" to my baby. For next pregnancy, I "SURE" not allow other ppl to touch my baby's hair.

hi yen,

may i ask how much u spent on neogarden? if u dun mind..

the food factory catering got $12/pax nett + $40 transport, sounds pretty good too..

yen,

wow..so good for u nw that yr confinement is over. I cant wait for it to be over so that my MIL will not come my house everyday.

My gal full mth celebration is near CNY, and it seems that every caterer also insist I must choose CNY menu which I dont like. So headache nw.

mcfluffy: me also hav dark armpits , v sian.. even my face has alot of dark pigmentation. now dare not do anything, guess will try to be hardwrking n go facial after giv birth

kitsune: congrats n hope to hear from u soon

qq: get ur hubby to do the housewrk for u, my fren said during confinemt we should not overwrked and try to bend down to pick things too.

Yen,
so shiok! now can go out whenever you want! Mine will only be ending next thursday.

shannonbaby,
i put on 12kg during my pregnancy, i'd lost 15kg so far, but i was already overweight before pregnancy, my gynae watched my weight gain as a hawk during pregnancy!

Now i aiming to be NORMAL weight again.

my girl's full month celebration will be on the weekend before CNY also, but food factory didn't ask me to choose CNY menu.

Babe/QQ,
try to relax and close one eye one certain things, you need to rest during this period. it's only 28 days, just try to bear with it. Don't overworked yourself.

QQ,
Kitchen cleanliness can close one eye. It's just one month.

Babe,
That was a very "siong" confinement. I hope it's better this time.

babe
yday i called Mrs Wong and she advised me to pump every 3hourly for 10mins each breast on top of latching on for one week, then go see her on next Mon to evaluate. Hopefully ss will go up. This morning pump got 80ml from both breasts combined after feeding Rylee one breast. But by afternoon, ss go down liao and breasts gone all soft, but still gotta pump, only managed to get 25-40ml. So

So tiring, cos i think rylee going thru "growth spurts". Read in books that this happened usually between 2-3 weeks, so her interval now is 1hour. Imagine, i feed her at 8am for around 35mins, took another 15-20mins to burp and keep her up straight to try and prevent vomitting, then gotta pump for total 20mins , hurriedly eat breakfast then she'd be crying for next feed liao...si beh xiong!!

Do u gals know how long it takes approx for breasts to "replenish" the supply ah? Jus wondering.

Also worried over her health of vomitting milk at almost every other feed she has. Scared she got the "gastro reflux" problem ie cannot hold food in her tiny stomach. My mom kept saying she can feel her forehead cool-cool one indicating lots of wind. Hope it's jus wind, but i fed her the Woodward Gripe Water and also RidWind, still like dat.

Blackbatz
my mom kept saying it's normal for bb to regurgitate milk..she said FM fed babies even worse, can throw up a lot...but yah, not taking any chances, going to PD tom in the morning

shannonbaby
i think steph lost almost all her weight gain liao!! Me gained almost 16kg during pregnancy, now lost 8kg still got another 8kg to go...hopefully the massage will help with another few kilos...but cant start any exercise regime yet cos me went thru csect...
But well, that's the last thing on my mind now...gotta make sure Rylee is ok first

Goosh, I am feeling so sad. Today, went for baby's 1st checkup. He has lost weight, about 10% of this birth weight. Doc said I must take note and make sure he eats more. The last last solution will be formula. I felt soo down, like I am so lousy being a mum like that.

Went to Mt A and looked for Sister Kang for a consultation to address the latching on problem. She is very good. Corrected me on my latch on issue. But I think I still got a long way to go. =( Just now, he won't latch on properly as he just cried and cried. So I have to cup feed him.

Can I ask u gals some questions...

1)I noticed that if I were to wake for my bb to wake up and feed him, he will be too cranky by the time I latch him on properly. Do u wake feed on demand or schedule a fix time to wake your baby up for feeding?

2) Am I the only one here who has latch on problem? I feel very demoralised man. =( When I hear/ see other babies latch on so easily, I wonder what's wrong with my baby.

3) My bb is 1 week old today. Any idea how much milk should he be taking by now?