(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

violetice: how"s e taimaobi? how much u pay for it? u did e hair brush & umbilical cord stamp?
i was considering both of e items...

Luvv: wow! u means u lost 3kg more than ur gained weight? datz gd! juz now went to my gynae clinic for check up, total i gained 11kg during pregnancy still got 4kg to lose...

QQ: yep! agreed wif blackbatz.. currently kitchen cleanliness we juz closed one eye first..
i tell u someting, i also cant stand my kitchen now... itz so messy and e floor is so oily becos my mum is e confinement lady and she"s been cookin for mi fr morning till nitZ... my hubby also said even e water jar is so oily too..

Back track a bit here..

Blackbatz,

My CL uses a little cup to feed my bb. Very little at each time. I think the best is those which u can find in the hospital which they put the medicine in for u to take during your stay. I am still trying to latch on my bb properly so we don't introduce bottle feed to him.

Steph,

I think I know which clinic u are refering to. It's facing Chinese Garden MRT station right? My parents stay at Parc Oasis. If it's good, I don't mind going there as it's so near.

Luvv,

I went to see Dr Terenace Tan today. He seem to be very busy wor. I need to switch PD as Mt A is too far away for me. =(

QQ, yep, after delivery, the piles suddenly appeared. Dr Heng told me + after epidural effect wore-off, I could feel it.

QQ, did you get the glass bottles and plastic covers before you left ESH?

You should sleep/lie down more during confinement. Let the housework remain ‘undone’ for now. I also keep wanting to do things myself although I have CL but ple have been telling me to go lie down and rest to recuperate. Must listen okie.

Re: red spots on face
We found ants on baby Tricia’s mattress! But dunno if the red spots are caused by ants or not  very worrying.

Re: TBF
I have persisted on TBF and direct latch-on successfully until today (Day 12). On the advice of many people, I have decided to express my milk and let baby have 1 night feed from NUK teat tonight so that I can rest better and sleep longer at night. *Guilty*

On Day 12, managed to pump 85ml from both breasts.

Re: Demand feeding or scheduled 3-hourly feeding
Gals, which one u all follow? I initially tried to wake her up every 3 hourly for latch-on but she refuses to feed or she suck a bit then fall asleep again. Its back to demand feeding which can be 4-5 hours between each feed. I am worried she is not drinking enuf.

Re: My weight-loss goal
Before preggie: 39kg
Before delivery (38+ wks): 58kg
Now (Day 12): 51kg
Weight-to-lose: 12kg

Re: Confinement lady
Shannonbaby, I also looking forward to end of confinement so that the stranger in my house will disappear. I still not used to the feeling of having a stranger in the house.

mylife,
I think Mrs Wong is asking you to stimulate more milk supply, don't be too stress about it, i read that being more relax will produce more milk also.

yah i think it's better to bring Rylee to see PD also, no point guessing. btw, i thought woodward gripe water can only be given after bb turn one month old?

AhCapp, I have the same dilemma. To wake up at scheduled 3-hourly or to feed on demand when baby cries?

My baby kenna hospitalised for jaundice for 4D3N so now I'm super scared that her jaundice will return if she doesn't feed enuf.

prata_queen,

Hi, I feel like long time no chat with u like that. =P

I have decided to try to wake him up instead of feeding him on demand. I spent too much time calming him down, than feeding him. *shake head*

Jaundice...

My bb jaundice is level 13 today, he is 1 week old. I am very worried. Does all your bb clear jaundice by 1 week old?

Mylife,

Ur gal vomited milk becos she is taking too much milk liao. This told by my PD. Cos my BB also taking alot of milk, 1 week after born he took 90ml of milk at 3hrs interval. Doctor say if the BB is really hungry the wailing will tear down the hse. Otherwise just crying just give pacifier, BB just wan to suckle for comfort.

Re:Breast milk

Its been 8 days since i delivered. But my milk supply is still on the low side. Only 60ml for both sides! Though i tried to pump regular at 3hrs interval. I am almost on the verge of giving up already cos pump for 30mins only get so little. Somemore make me so sleepy got to wake up in the middle of the nite. Maybe i am just too lazy!!! Can someone advise how to stop the milk from coming in?

AhCapp,

Answer your questions,

1) Yes it happens to me as well, if i wake her up for feeds, she'll be very cranky and only drinks a little only.

2) I have the latch problem since day 1 and succumbed to bottle feeding then cos can't bear to see her gg without milk.

3) I think this depends from baby to baby. My girl was drinking 60ml every 3 hr when she's 1 week old.

I'm also switching PD cos he's too far away from me also. Dr Terence Tan is very nice but like what you say, too busy.

Lynn,
yes lost all my preg weight, think i have too much water in me and i sweat so much during this period that causes the extra losses!

prata queen,
my girl also has a lot of red spots on her face! and it's getting more each day! i don't think it's cause by the ants.

my fren reccommended me to use aloe vera cream, she swear by it for her son and daughter.

AhCapp,
no my girl's jaundice didn't clear by 1 week..slightly more then 1 week i would say.

Luvv,

Oh yes, I tot I am the only one who finds Dr Tan very busy.

Btw, I don't feel the nurses at the clinic there very nice. =( They all black face when my hb and I tried to ask more questions. Wah lau, the constulation fee alone is $90 man. Still such lousy service.

AhCapp, hello to you! I have been logging in to read at most once a day and sometimes nebber post msg. Trying to rejoin the conversation slowly

If I wake baby up, she won't be cranky but she will just bo chap me and suck a bit then fall asleep again.

Insufficient fluids consumption by baby will cause jaundice. I bumped into my gynae at ESH when baby was hospitalised for jaundice and she advised me to give FM and water (which I did not).

prata_queen,

Oh yes, my bb also bo chap me if I waked him up. He will suck suck and then fall back to sleep. But the latation consultant woke my bb up so easily man. =( Sigh. All things I am experiencing right now are like blows to my self-confidence.

Luvv, there is also the california calendula cream. Which is better, this or the aloe vera cream? I bought the calendula one to standby. Will use on baby Tricia if the red spots continue.

But hor, the red spots come and go very fast, then reappear on different spots of the face. I tink it's milk rash.

AhCapp, dun be sad. At least you dun have any 'pressure' with regards to bf.

For me, my next PD visit is on Thurs and baby have to undergo blood test AGAIN to test for jaundice. So now I am trying to feed her as much as I can else if hospitalised again, i will really cry.

Can share how your LC woke your bb up? We tried to unwrap her pampers, tickle her armpit, massage her legs - all these dun work.

Toys for 1-month old babies
what toys did you buy for your babies? anyone bought board books?

I am tinking of buying from BP but I have no energy left to read or play with her after the latch-on sessions.

Re: Painful latching-on
Someone mentioned the first few sucks by baby when latching-on is very painful. I experience this pain too. Its so bad that I have to bite my lips to endure the pain. But at Day 12, the pain is getting lesser (less intense).

Jacelyn,
You want to stop BF? Very easy, just let increase interval between each expression, say first day - 4 hr, 2nd day - 5hr, 3rd day - 6 hr, 4th day, 8 - hr. After a few days, milk will stop production.

Mylife, thks for the infor. 3hly is after feed or btw feed? I pump this morn after feeding for 5-10min each breasts still 10-20ml. Then too tired din pump but I noticed my bb more satisfed n can hear him guzzling milk down n see his mouth full of milk.

Yes this is growth spurt time. U shld try feeding both breasts so that u can haf longer rest. For last nite, mine been wasking up 3hly till 3.30am. Too tired so I juz latch lying down n sleep as well then not so tired.

Can check wif u gals, when pumping out the BM, do we stop after 15 min of pump or continue to pump until no more milk come out?? Cos currently, i pump for ard 15 - 20 min, but i stop even though there are still some milk coming out.

my girl is more than 3 wks old oredi and still having jaundice. PD said its probably breastmilk jaundice, so i just hv to continue sunning her everyday lor. i oso dunno when it will go away. praying very hard it will be soon!

she oso vomits some milk sometimes.. i guess it is somehwat true that she may have had too much milk to drink cos i keep latching her on n i think sometimes she just wanna suckle for comfort n isnt hungry. maybe i shd intro pacifier? but will they get nipple confusion cos i heard shd only intro after 6 wks when BFing is established rite?

Luvv n blackbatz, thks...that's y I have confinement lady..haha rest n eat well.

Alamak, how u gals lose wt so fast? Any remedy?Me now 16 days after deliver still got 8 kg to go!!!! Dun dare to eat less leh...

QQ, muz rest....dirty abit nv mind...dun end up like me keep feeling cold. I can eat in kitchen n dun on fan n everyone complaining hot.

babe
my girl always refuse to take the 2nd boob when i offer it to her leh. she will close her mouth tight tight and just wanna go back to sleep. does your boy happily take the 2nd boob or u have to 'force' him?

shannonbaby
i will stop only when there's no more milk coming out. this way your ss will increase cos its like the boobs are really empty liao lor

My gal still having jaundice even though she is 2 weeks old already. level still high - 13.4 last check yesterday. PD suspect breastmilk jaundice, only ask me to bring her back for blood test when she is one mth old. So worrying cos its been 2 weeks already.

i think i put on 15kg during this preg.. hv not weighed myself since i delivered, but doesnt feel like i hv lost much weight leh. i used to be only 57kg b4 1st pregnancy. then it shot up to 78kg. then i lost until 65kg, then got preg again n it went up to 80kg. dunno how to lose all that weight man... sian

michelle,

thanks. the next time i pump, i will keep pumping until no more milk come out. hopefully can increase my supply. always feel worried that i will not enough milk for my gal although currently i managed to store some EBM in freezer for emergency use.

thats gd shanonbaby - at least got emergency stock oredi so wont be si pressurised
i oso hv some in the freezer

BFing really not easy... let's all give each other support!

Prata_queen the piles is giving problem which makes me cant sit properly when BF oso ... pain there, tummy cramp no milk yet .... so very frustrated .... am bringing baby back to ESH tmr for check up ... she oso have jaundice. Did they give u any medicine upon discharge and when u go back to Dr Heng for check up what she say abt the stitches?

my mil dunno go medical hall buy one black black thing say it helps on jaundice initially i dun want her to drink all these but bo bian i cant say anything ...
did u get any medi from her for piles?

for me hor i Got JIE PI leh ask me dun do like will whole body aching one wor ..... hmmmm but now backache wanna do oso cannOt liao

babe har ... u mean will become cold one? all along i scare hot ... keke secretly go on aircon when mil not ard .... today i ask my husbby to tell her no need to come over at night cos she so tired liao .... come nite time oso no help much ... let her rest at home

Hi AhCapp,

according to the article I read, jaundice should go away by 2 weeks. FM fed babies will take a shorter time (1 week). My boy is jaundice too at day 2. went under the photo therapy. and the jaundice level is on a downward trend. My boy will be 2 weeks old by tomolo. but can see that his eyes still abit yellowish. have to sunbathe him a bit.

ahcapp/prataqueen
initially i also go for "wake bb up for feed" but i think feed on demand is better cos u dunno when bb got growth spurt..but jus monitor bb shud not go without feed more than 4 hours cos some bb (esp those with jaundice) very sleepy. So, better feed on demand cos it's nature way of babies to suck and increase your milk supply. I read alot of baby care books which are against "monitoring bb feed by the clock"

jacelyn
my hubby also suspects overfeeding as being the cause of the vomitting. But this is my headache lo..when exactly do we know if we are overfeeding? How to gauge for total latch on like us? I also dunno how much exactly to feed bb one. I'm only introducing the bottle during midnite feeds so i can rest but the rest of the day, i'm feeding on demand. Headache!

Michelle and all other mommies who are thinking of or already succumbing to pacifiers
today i read in the yahoo medical pages that pacifiers reduce the risk of SID leh. One consolation for mommies

Michelle
think my gal also similar as yours, but like i was telling jacelyn earlier, how do we know when she suckle for comfort and when she REALLY hungry and wans milk?

babe
i pump 3hourly between feed, but since i'm feeding on demand, sometimes could be after feed lo. Continue to pump and try this "project" dat Mrs Wong asked me to do...can increase milk supply. Why do u say "feed from both breasts so i can have longer rest" leh? How so? I have yet to try the lying down position cos bb latching on well with current position. Also i scared if i fall asleep with the lying down position, i might squashed her!

QQ
i tot aircon we can on, jus cannot blow fan directly only. I on mine all day. Too hot with all the confinement food!

QQ,

I also kena piles after delivery. until now still didnt go away. gynae gives me this float to sit on when i am in hospital. got some medication from my gynae yesterday. hopefully it helps.

mylife, have to pump in the middle of the night too? What's the range milk u pump out? Feed both breasts, mean bb has more milk n keep full longer. Should try different position to activate more milk ducts.

Michelle, mine greedy or my ms low, he happily drink from 2nd boob. How long u feed each time?

Michelle, can give excess ebm to #1 but not much value...heehee...

itok,
My baby was low... but not that low.
Started to induce @ ard 10am and only 2cm @ 11pm after 2 tablets. Gynae still chose to ward me and burst my water bag.... put on drips to promote contraction.
Almost had to do emergency c-section coz was only 5cm dilated @ 8am.
But by God's grace, I dilated to 10cm @ 10.30am.

Think its really quite unpredictable. I know of someone who induced on 18jan and had to do c-sect on 19jan. And another one who induced on 19Jan 8am and delivered @ 2pm... Really gotta pray and hope that body will respond well to the induction.

In any case, don't worry and just be positive.

All the best.

Wondering if ur bb is latching on non stop?? Though 2nd time mummy, but think the last time I went thru all these were too long ago for me to remember. She latch on so much so that I didnt even go thru breast engorgement at all. Now, I start to wonder izzit my ss so little or she juz suckle so much.

Michelle, I heard shouldn’t intro bottle teat before 1 month to avoid nipple confusion. But for the sake of my rest, I’ll be giving her 1 EBM night feed at 3am so that I can sleep from 12am to 6am.

Some mothers told me their babies very chin chye, FM, EBM (bottle teat) or TBF also can, can interchange, no problem. So I’ll try bottle teat tonight and hope she will still latch on after that.

Shannonbaby and mums with babies with jaundice, seems like only my baby needs to be hospitalised for jaundice. And 4D3N somemore. Very sad and heartpain and worried for bloodtest when seeing PD again this Thurs for follow-up.

QQ, who is your baby’s PD? Why must go back to ESH for follow-up?

The pain caused by piles should subside by about 10 days after delivery. Today is Day 12 for me and I realise the piles is gone already. Stiches also no pain.

When in hosp, nurses gave me painkillers which I didn’t eat + antiseptic spray for vagina area.

I went back to Dr Heng on Day 11. She examined the stiches, cut the stiches and told me to come back 6 wks later to do PAP smear test. I asked for FM sample and they gave me a 900g Friso Gold tin heheheh. Bought a bottle of calcium (dosage - 500mg).

Nope, I didn’t get any medicine for piles. Is there such medicine available? If yes then I suffered for nothing. I agree that its damn painful in the initial days after delivery.

What is JIE PI?

The plastic cover from NUK should fit the hospital glass bottles. Have you tried? My hubby bought Tollyjoy brand plastic covers from Kiddy Palace - $1.80 per box. ESH pharmacy sells at $1.73, abt same px. NUK one is $4 for 2 rite?

Mylife, if my baby suck for 30min, she demands next feed about 3.5-4 hours later. If she sucks for 45min, she demands next feed about 5 hours later. I am going crazy from worrying that she is not drinking frequently enuf.

I feed Tricia while lying down during the night cos too tired to sit up and carry her. U won’t squash her cos you are lying sideways facing baby and can only roll backwards but not forward.

So many queries regarding breastfeeding it seems..just like most of you, I'm also very concerned myself on my own baby's feedings.

Ah Capp - I feed on demand, don't really schedule a fixed 3hrly thing. Except at night, when I notice that sometimes he seems to be really sleeping quite long and I want to let my baby have a feed before it gets too late then will stir him up a bit. Otherwise, I just feed him when he needs, which so far has been about 2-3hrly. Actually, lately he seems more cranky in the afternoons. Tend to want to drink more often esp if he don't sleep and stay alert.

Latching on pain - I also encounter this every now and then. The very initial latch on can be a bit pain. But i notice it's because my nipples look quite swollen at that point and my breasts feel a little bit hard...then as he suckle, it gets much better, so I also don't know if it's latching problem or not?

Breastmilk volume - again this is my greatest concern when I hear some of you talking about baby feeding like 80ml or even more. So far I latch on both breasts during feeedings, each about the same time where possible. Actually some breastfeeding help group told me to latch on 1 breast per feed so that baby can get as much of the hind milk as possible. But I find my baby like not enough if just drink 1 breast leh. Any of you have this issue??

Prata queen...I'm also thinking of giving 1 bottle feed every now and then at night so that I can sleep longer till morning. Main thing was last night, don't know what happened to me, right after the 2am feed, I just could not sleep at all!!! I was tired yet I could not get to sleep. Then before I know it, 4plus I woke again to feed my baby...so tired. Altogether like never sleep much at all....

Anyone of you give FM at all even though you are trying to do total breastfeeding??

hammies03, what a relief that your baby demands feeding 2-3 hourly. Its tiring for you but at least your baby is feeding frequently. Mine just sleeps and sleeps.

Nurses told me to latch 15min per side but lactation consultant told me 30 min for 1 side and express the other side so that baby gets the hindmilk. I am following the LC's advise.

If you feel that your baby drink 1 side and still not enuf, try offering the other side as well? Once you feel that the first breast is empty (soft), the hindmilk should have been emptied, thus can offer the other side.

I haven't given FM (yet). I dun even wanna give EBM via teat but bo pian. As mentioned, for the sake of getting enuf rest at night, I will give EBM at 3am tonite.

prata_queen,

Er... CL and me not very successful with waking up baby. But today, the latation consultant did it with ease. She unwrap bb, massage his hands, massage the tops of the feet, burp him. N then he is awake. I tried again just now. Only make my bb cries.

very upset now...jus had an argument with my own mom ovr vreastfeedg issues.. she kept askg to a) give pacifier (which i jus read cud pose a problem to low ss bf mommies) and b) to feed FM. i was tryg to share with her bf info dat i read from the web dat is inspiring. tot she can suppport me so i translate for her..who knows she retorted sayg "aiyah..ALL mommies i know all supplement with FM.." when i said those pple are different..she rebuked "ah yah la, yah la...u think u higher class issikt?" its so hurtful coming from my OWN mom...i burst into tears and told her i tot these kind of pressures other mommies only suffer from MILs..but why my own mom cant support me?? She jus contd sayg.."nvm lo..i say u dont listen...its YOUR daughter who suffers if she hungry..i wont care anymore lo.." heartbreaking or not?

was jus feelg inspired readg and seeing my ss went up abit...now begin to hv doubts again...is it really true my bb can suck like 2x better than a pump..think my mom saw my EBM like very little..she thinks i no milk and bb must hv just been eating the equivalent of wat i pumpd out...yday i pumped abt 80ml...and she asked me go sleep and she bottlefed bb with the ebm...and she said bb gulped it all down within 2mins..leading her to tink bb keep suckling at my breast for nothing...i tried explainig dat sucks and dat they r better in bringing out milk than a pump and dats when the argument started..

i am so demoralised now and missing the support of my hubby...also dunno how much approx shd my bb be drinkg at this stage (she's 3weeks now) cos frankly me oso worried since my mom said 80ml and she gulped it down!!!

AhCapp, tat's y they are the professionals and we are supposed to learn from them

mylife, dun b sad. Without interference from M or MIL, I am already having a lot of self-doubts regarding TBF. Try to disregard what your mum says.

Someone said in an earlier post, if baby is really hungry, she will scream the house down. *pat pat*.

Mylife,
She is probably concerned that you are too uptight about your milk supply.

She probably doesn't understand why baby gulps down the milk. When baby sucks from breast, they really have to "work" for their milk. For bottle fed, the latex teats are never like our natural breast. It tends to be softer, plus hole is some what bigger. Hence, baby tends to be able to finish it quickly.

As for using pacifier or not, you need to make the decision yourself and stand by it. Everyone uses pacifier for different reasons. Theory is one thing but when you're at your wits, you will adopt the method that suits your needs best.

jie pi = cannot stand dirt kekeke

I dunn have this medicine for piles anot fri i go see dr heng ask her.... my PD is Dr Low .... urs leh ?

mylife i never on aircon wor .... think my mil dun agree to it ... but i blow fan .... and my plc here quite windy so is ok bah i hack care liao so hot how can stand esp these few days see the sun i wanna faint liao

mylife,
Lets put it this way, is she pooing? is she peeing? If so, y r u so worried over how much she is taking? I dont see the need for u to pump. Unless, u r so tired that u want someone to take over the role of feeding Rylee or breast damn engorged. If still need to pump then its not so called "feed on demand". So what if she is drinking 180ml now? or juz 80ml? Like I said to u before, u r very "well informed" for first time mummy. Dont let others affect u so much. I know its v hurting to hear such remarks, especially fm ur own mum. I think I will reburke her since she is my mum. Of cos I am not asking u to do that to her. But, isnt it ridiculous?? No latch on bb will prefer bottle to breast. Unless u had intro bottle way v early n made the bb a "lazy" one to suck. THEN, bb will prefer bottle to breast. If u dont pump, she will not hv a chance to comment on u.

blackbatz
i agree with ur views on pacifier, in fact, i gave in when bb cries non-stop...but i read, it's not recommended for mommies who are struggling to establish their ss. Mommies like me. Think mommies like steph with plenty of ss no problem cos pacifiers will actually decrease our ss cos by giving bb pacifier, we end up not knowing when bb wans to suck for comfort or demanding for feed. My ss has jus increased a bit with all the pumping i did...dats why i decided to take the pacifier away.

I know she prob meant good...but dont have to use those harsh words rite?esp she knows i'm under Post natal blues now...really hurts to hear your own mom say those hurtful words.

I told her i am insisting on TBF cos i'm bringing bb to HK at such a tender age..BM will help her build up her lungs against the pollution and prevent bronchitis. Even if she is against it, no need to say things like "yah la yah la, u think u higher class issit?" cos she compared me with my cousins in Msia who is on partial BM/FM..i am not saying i'm higher class, jus now prob my cousins never did such research on BF mah...cos they jus bo chap, got BM, feed BM, not enough, supplement with FM lo. I am also disappointed in the way she jus shrugged it off and told me "it's YOUR daughter, do wat u wan lo!" She's also a mother, she shud know i only do it for my bb's sake..and furthermore, it's HER grandaughter! Cant help but feel sad...

Am I the only one who is stuck with a cranky baby? My bb just cries and cries. He cries so badly that he doesn't even want to suck! =S I am like living in a nightmare. Looks like all of u have babies who obediently drink and sleep.