(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

is it juz me, or is my MIL trying to be possessive over my kid? she keeps saying bb sleeps better in her room than mine lah.. is it cos my curtains too dark lah (HUH?!).. subtly suggest tat BM not keep baby full lah.. shd feed FM lah.. can someone help me before i turn psychotic n go on a murder rampage.

hi grumpus,

ok.. if got chance i'll try out a manual pump since u say let down better...

*hug* ur hard work n efforts will pay off when u bring bb home, SOON!!
and bb will always be grateful to mummy.

dd is dear daughter.. then son leh? ds?

your dd is 1 day younger than my dd.. hehe.
next time wan do mac donalds' bday party together? maybe can get discount.. keke

verene
but i have oredi burped her immediately after feeding, which is in a "sitting position"...tot dat shud count as not "laying her down flat" oredi ma...for how long?

mylife,

cos i see the nurses in hospital always tilted the bed upwards after every feed. so i just carry him a bit after burping my baby. he will only vomit when i feed fm.

Mylife,
It's very tiring hor..burp liao. Still not counted, still got to hold upright and walk around..My #1 was like that, "bu tao wong". After finishing, must burp like crazy and hold upright. If not, will regurgitate..

#2, burp like mad also nothing. Somethimes, I just put him on the bed cos too tired liao.

Babe,
Maybe you are too tired. Have you tried changing your baby's sleeping hours? How about getting your CL to help you to feed baby with EBM for one or two night while you get some rest?

AhCapp,
i only feed on demand now cos when i try to wake her up and feed, she'll just refuse feeding and sometimes only take a bit then at her normal feeding time, she'll wail again. NO USE! so now i stick to on demand feeding.

My girl sleeps most of the time and are only awake for a while for feeding, bathing, changing diaper, and at the most short while like 1/2 hr in the day. Even her eh eh noises she make when her eyes are close, any problem with her ah? I see some of you have babies who are wakeful for a few hours for a stretch everyday.

Windy,
in a positive light, your MIL is also gan cheong over your baby, just pretend you never hear her.

mylife,
my mother also say that babies who are stretching constantly grows up faster, don't know how true though.

blackbatz,
how do u change bb's sleeping hours? my girl can sleep for 4-5 hrs without milk in the daytime but at night sure wake up ard 3 hrs or slightly more to cry for milk. Tried to wake her up in the day once, end up she became very cranky!

AhCapp,

Loose/flabby tummy is for sure in the beginning, maybe for the first 3mths then after, we can put on slimming or toning cream to firm up tummy. To regain flat tummy, it depends on individual skin elasticity. Since yr tummy is not very big, Mdm shld be able to help u regain back. She only did 7 session for me instead of 10 cos she say i don't need so many session since my tummy is not an issue
Anyway, i really missed her massage, very relaxing & gd leh.

As for milk supply, i started pumping on the 3rd day aft discharge from hospital. Milk supply b'come more established on the 5th day (EBM abt 30 to 40ml from both breast combined) Remember to drink alot of hot/warm fluid/soup an hour b4 pumping, it helps to increase more supply. Eat more fish too.

Blackbatz,
Normally my massage session is in the morning ard 10 - 11am, by evening i can take the binder off liao. I don't bath everyday, maybe 3days once. I use hot towel to wipe my body & rinse my bottom with water regularly.

icy

Mdm Hardial was supposed to start my post natal massage today at 430pm but she didn't turn up. I cant be bothered to call her and ask why... I hate ppl tat are irresponsible and lack courtesy. Instead, got another contact from my neighbour, she claims tat she is very good. I will be starting on friday. Keep you gals posted if she is good. Pls call to confirm with Mdm Hardial to avoid "no show" disappointment.

To Luvv: "Even her eh eh noises she make when her eyes are close, any problem with her ah?"

Those eh eh noise (either when they are in the 'quiet alert' mode or sleep mode) that our babies are making are good... they are doing self-soothing, which is good, coz' they are learning how to comfort themselves.

For those of us who are 'suffering' from the lack of sleep, just know that this phase is only short term, ie. a few months and it will be over before we know it. Enjoy our baby early days while it last and while we are still young, in decades to come when our hairs are grey, we'll miss this very precious and loving period of our combined lives.

Luvv,
Day time, every 3 hours wake the baby up to feed. According to my gynae, babies only take 1 long nap a day. Initially, my boy was also sleeping like 4 to 5 hours a stretch in the day without milk. My mum told me that it was ok, just let baby sleep then will grow.
But at night,it was a torture. waking up at weird times for feed, Very "qi liang". When I complained to my gynae, she said that I must try to change or I will suffer cos babies have no sense of day and night.

I told him," You made me wake up last night. Now it's mummy's turn to wake you up."

At least for the past few days, he would finish his feed at 1 am and sleep till 5 am. Then I have some good rest.

I want to vent!!! My MIL juz said I fat this time, see I eat a lot. Inside my heart I think she heart pain buy food for me to eat since I staying wif them. Not even paying a cent for CL who cooks for the whole family.

Blackbstz, like luvv I tried wake bb, but he like go back to sleep once on my breasts. How huh? I also want sleep...urs now ok? 3hly is from start of feed to next feed?

BLackbatz,

Oh yes, this morning when my breasts gone ROCK hard, I was so scare. Very difficult for bb to latch on. Now so much better after 3 times of pumping and a very hot herbal shower. My 'sisters" are back! *LOL*

But I still have a problem. Don't know if it's because they are engorged or what, my nipples become shorter and fatter. My bb just won't latch on properly for 1 whole day. *headache*

Luvv,

My bb always makes lots of noise if feeding/ latching is too slow. I think he inherit my impatience! =( Anyway, that's why I was thinking should I wake him up early instead of feed on demand. Worry about him being cranky also. Quite lay-chey man..

Babe,

My bb always sleep for about 3hrs from start of feed to start of next feed. More accurate than alarm clock. The lactation consultant taught me how to wake up bb in the hospital. Doesn't really work lor. =(

Steph,

Aiya, looks like the road back to my Mango jeans will take more than just massage =P I just started pumping milk today (also 3rd day after discharge) Your 30 to 40ml both breast combined is per pumping session right? Btw, how long should I pump each time huh? Scare pump too long or pump too short...

TG,

Oh, so the "eh eh" noise is normal. Mine seem to be talking to himself when sucking milk. Akways "eh eh" to himself like that.

Steph,

U have weighed yourself ah. I didn't wor. =( My CL cook a lot of good food and big portion for me to increase my milk supply. Now I am worry liao...

Baby poo poo and farting....

Can I ask u ladies.. Since my bb was discharged last Fri, he has not poo poo at all. He always fart and very smelly too. I am worried as he doesn't latch on properly as well. Wondering if it's normal for bb not to poo after so many times and also if it's a sign or something.

Windy,

Today I tried using my Avent manual pump. I was only puming 1 breast, and the other breast was leaking. Guess it's what they call "let down" right?

AhCapp,

i am looking forward to be able to wear my Espirit straight cut jeans too but i doubt so cos my thighs are still big loh. Yup 30 to 40ml is per pumping session. Normally morning can have more supply. If yr nipple is not sore & cracked, u can pump 15-20mins on one side each. Some pple can pump abt 10mins & managed to empty their breast and they can stop liao.

Thanks Steph =)

I noticed something 'whitish' on my nipple tip. Don't know if it's 'piss' or something. Kinda worried.

Also, do u happen to know if I can just drop by at TMC ParentCraft and ask them to teach me how to latch on properly. I attended their pre-natal class before. Wonder if asking them to show me latching on with my bb will cost me $ or not.

AhCapp,

my MIL is doing confinement for me. She also cooked confinement food in big portion & nourishing soup to help increase my supply but i told her to cut down after 2nd week cos i faced with very bad engorgement. I am so scared of drinking soup that will increase my milk supply. Over the weekends, i asked my hubby to packet lunch or dinner for me. I will be having frog leg porridge for dinner tonite & this morning, had McDonalds for bfast
Confinement food eat until scare liao...keke

Windy, I also not sure what she thinks. But I think she very chiam, even ask my CL why boil soup 1 over h, waste gas. Anyway my hb not her fav son..Anyway, I not chubby at all. U look at facebook pic. My colleagues all said I din put on wt except the tummy. Think this preggy my bottom really enlarge.

Steph, sounds like my first pregnancy. This time after 2 wks I only lost 5kg. Now 60kg. Like Ah Capp, CL cook good food n alot to increase bm, so I eat. Dunno izzit no. 2 pteggy so lose slower.

Ah Capp, sometimes it's not the weight, it's juz our bones having expanded. Sad sad...part of procreation...

Steph,

hehehe.. u really make me laugh. ;P After today, I am also scared of engorgement too. I was telling Windy over MSN just now that if not for my Medela PIS pump today, I think my breasts totally gone case. So scary. Reminds me of Pamela Anderson or Posh Spice. *LOL*

AhCapp,

U try to call TMC parentcraft & check first b4 going down. I don't think they gonna charge u by teaching u how to latch properly. But having a lactation consultant to help, maybe chargeable. If really that's the case, ask them abt the "whitish" on yr nipple tip & let them access yr breast condition. Are u using/applying any nipple moisturising cream?

Steph,

I didn't use any cream today. But yday used Avent nipple cream.

I will be going to TMC tmrw morning for bb checkup. Will drop by and check with them. A bit worried about my nipples. Scare it's piss.

<font color="ff6000">Wow Congrats Fern, finally yr wait is over &amp; able to hold your little one, do share yr birth story &amp; baby pix ya

Babe,
I'm not too sure whether 3 hr from start of feed / end of feed. I will not let him sleep for 4 hours. About 2 to 3 hrs, try to wake him up.

If I feel that he slept quite a lot in the afternoon, will try to keep him awake as much as possible, like go to living room. If not, tickle his arms / chest / open up his diapers.

To AhCapp who said "Mine seem to be talking to himself when sucking milk. Akways "eh eh" to himself like that."

Looks like your bb may have a natural capability to start his first words and talking earlier than average.

Try to pick up this book from the library to know you can help him achieve that,
1. How to Talk to your Baby
2. What Babies Say Before They Can Talk
3. The Secret Language of Babies: The Body Language of Little Bodies

Best wishes.

angelsky,
thought u go deliver liao.. never see your post. don't worry, still got ME. still we should add each other to msn. heh... please add me: [email protected]

I'm feeling xyz@#^*&amp;#$ these few days from waiting and waiting and waiting!

I am back.... I popped on 14 jan 9pm. I was on induced in the after about 1pm.

Will update my birth story some other time.

Baby Javin is 2.85kg
Natural with epi

Mcfluffy, added you on msn already
Me popped? Nay, me still waiting. My hubbie not even back from overseas. He say take things slowly, I ask him when he coming back, he say when I go into labour lo. kekeke. Since he so relax, I also learn to be more relaxed. But the wait can be quite (&amp;%*%*^%*^

Just took out the my sterilizer and breast pump.

I think I must be some instructional idiot. But I need help.

Avent sterilizer - After I sterilize my milk bottles, what do I do with the bottles? I bought the one that supposedly can keep inside for 24 hours, but then it seems once I open the lid, then all the bottles inside must re-sterilize again? Confused. Then after I sterilize I take out the bottles can keep into a container, then when I wanna use one bottle, I take out from the container to sterilize or just use can already? The sterilizer must switch off each time after use right? Or can keep it on all the time and keep sterilizing the bottles instead of taking them out.

I wanna try TBF, so I also dont know why I am sterilizing the milk bottles. Duh.

Breast Pump - I got the pump in style. Also very difficult to use.
All the parts I dismantle and sterilize and keep in container only when I wanna use or after each use? The tubing can put inside to sterilize?

Wa lau, when I bought the 2 stuff, I thought going to help make my life easier, but its so chim. Can any one help? What exactly is the procedure?

Yes, sleep is hard to come by while our angels cry for our attention for their necessary basic needs.

These are some sleep strategies which you might find useful.
1. http://www.parents.com/parents/story.jsp?storyid=/templatedata/parents/story/data/6058.xml
2. http://www.babycenter.com/0_parents-favorite-sleep-strategies_7528.bc?print=true&amp;page=2&amp;articleId=7528

For those who want to try White Noise for their angels, can download a 20mins White Noise audio here
http://dhechen.com/pub/baby/zip/20mins-WhiteNoise.mp3