(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

TG,
Thanks for all the valuable information, agree that we should enjoy our baby now as it passes by, i'm sure we'll all miss this moment in time to come.

Blackbatz,
perhaps i don't do direct latching, at night she wakes up about 3hrly for milk, i don't normally sleep until her last feed at around 1am too, but she'll wakes up at 4 plus for her next feed, still consider ok la hor.

Babe,
Don't take it to heart, maybe it's not what she means, she just don't know how to use the appropriate words.

Steph,
froglegs porridge! yummy! and macdonald's breakfast!! OMG, i also want! i don't take a lot of soup, only hot drinks, that's why i think my supply didn't increase after so long, my girl is a big eater, think i can't match her demand soon.

angelsky,
when i got my avent manual pump, the instructions did say got to assemble everything after sterilising to keep it sterile for 24 hours.

kel,

i see.. welcome to our waiting club
seems like left the few of us only

Wow, just finished feeding my baby.. So tired.. feeling a bit drained.

My MSN is [email protected] Pls feel free to add me in. Thank you. =)

Steph,

Yes, the PD is from TMC. Dr Terence Tan. But I will change PD. Too far away. He is recommended by my gynae. I will change to a PD nearby. HOw about your darling's PD? Any good one to recommend?

TG,

Thank u so much for your feedback. Will try to take note of the books and drop by as soon as I can. I didn't know that he might be talking to himself! =)

Mcfluffy,

Added u in. Don't worry. YOur turn very soon. =) Go enjoy first. Once u pop, there will be no day and no night. Just all rolled into one. And u will be very busy like me now.

Angelsky,

I also trying TBF. But today, really cannot tahan already. Breasts badly engorged so I have to pump out the milk into bottles. My CL then will use the milk to cup feed my bb tonight.

The sterilising part is very fast. I am using the pigeon sterilizer. Only 6 min. My CL put them all in. Once done, take out for me to use immediately.

I used my Medela PIS today. Er.. I didn't steriliser the air-tubing wor. My pump was borrowed from a colleague. I went to Mums and Babes wanting to change the air-tubing, but they said no need as it's not in contact with the milk. Anyway, all the parts like the "funnel" looking like breast shield, valve, valve membranes, bottles all got sterilised before I use. Once I am done, my CL will keep the milk. All parts will be washed and sterilise again.

To all who have yet to pop...

Jia you! ^_^ Life will never be the same once u delivered. Enjoy this special moment now with your hb. Once your baby is borned, another pharse of your life has begun. Jia you jia you!

Me going to bring the pump to the living room and start pumping away now.... =S

AhCapp,
you pump in the living room? You are alone in the house or what? i only dare to pump in my bedroom now.

i'm changing my PD to someone nearby, reccommended by my friend, have not really seen her yet, so can't comment. BTW, i'm staying in Seng Kang.

Kel, itok, mcfluffy, good
at least there is still a few of us left. My EDD 28 Jan, same as Kel. I coming down with fever, cough and running nose already. Sian. Now feel like I am perpetually in water. Going for my 39th week appointment tomo and see what doc says, coz I dont dare to self medicate. Going to just sleep early and rest tonight.

Luvv, you mean after sterilizing the pump, assemble and done, use within 24 hours? Ok, I sterilize my pump, going to bring to the hospital, but then dont understand the logic, coz when put into bag, will also be dirty ma?

Air tubing, cham I actualy wash it in water and its dripping now, I hang it up to dry.

After sterilizing the bottles, do you gals leave it in the sterilzier or put in container?

Luvv,

*LOL* I am not alone lah. Got my CL and my hb. I don't want to always hide in my bedroom. Makes me feel very cramped up. =S Not very er... nice to do pumping everywhere in the house, but I can't be bothered already.

I want to pump while watching "Hero" later on. ;P But no worry, I will pull down the curtains so I will not be exposed lah.. Hahahaah

angelsky,

I think since u washed it, just hang it out to dry. I don't think u want water to be "sucked" into the pump since the pump will create a suction effet to pump milk out.

AhCapp,

Baby Zander PD is Dr Heng Joo Teck from KidsLink Children's clinic at BLK 353 Jurong East St 31 #01-111 Tel: 65675600. He is recommended by my gynae and it is nearer to home, more convenient.

Blackbatz,

During massage session, if baby wanna drink milk, i will ask MIL to give EBM or freshly squeeze milk by my massage lady where she help me massage my breast to clear engorgement & block ducts, fresh from the moo moo...keke

AhCapp,

If u pump now, do u still pump 3hrs later? I just pump at 9.30pm and need to pump again at 12.30am b4 going to bed & wake up at 5 or 6am to pump again!!! so sleepy Zzzz....

kayla whole day lau gai (throw tantrums) so i ren wu ke ren, succumbed and gave her a pacifier. issit i useless......

who else give pacifier like me....

Windy, it's understandable.

May also want to consider this approach, (1) wash your hands with anti-bacteria soap first, (2) curl down your index finger - last finger and (3) let your angel suckle the your curl finger for a minute or two as part of soothing...

angelsky,
can put the pump into ziplock bag and bring to hospital, if you're not comfortable, just ask the nurse to sterilise for you before using it.

i put all my sterilised bottles and pumps assembled into a toyogo box besides the steriliser.

AhCapp,
we're using the same PD now! Terence Tan from Mt A right? Wah i must learn from you, can pump everywhere, not so bored!

Steph,
very sleepy! i just finished pumping and going to pump later before sleeping too, sometimes i'll be too lazy to pump at 5/6am will go back to sleep after bb feed and pump once i wake up due to engorgement, depending on how painful is it..haha...

re: pampers
what brands do you use for night so that it can last through without changing? Sometimes my bb will poo in the middle of the night, so got to change no matter what, sometimes no poo.

Thanks Luvv, now my mum also looking at the instructional menu. Kekeke, I was telling her, after sterilize and if open the lid, must the bottles already, coz contaminated, she was like thats so silly. Hmmmm. I was also telling her, after sterilizing the pump, put into container then when wanna use take out, she was also telling me then already got bacteria ma. Kekeke.

Windy,
why unforgivable? I remember one of my aunt told me that giving pacifier is better then letting them sucking their own fingers as it's easier to wean off pacifier and difficult to wean off fingers as they are readily available.

angelsky,
that's why you got to assemble everything before putting them into the container, like that can remain sterile lor :p

Windy, NOTHING in this world is unforgivable. There is a saying that "it is in forgiving that we are forgiven."

While it is good to avoid pacifier, it's no big sin to give one if that is among your last resort. To be honest, there are too many Ms and MILs around who have lots of interesting ideas on what can be done and what cannot be done and if we really drill them to give a logical and scientific explanation on why so, most can't.

Among many methods, one of the best is to get ourselves an education by learning from good library books (check Amazon reviews on specific book to see what other readers are first). While not ALL the books give 'right' advice, one can be sure that it's clearly better than old wives tales.

Ask your hubby to help you borrow some great childcare books from our very good libraries. There are numerous books that discuss about whether weaning off is faster for baby's finger, pacifier, your finger, etc. and many many more.

There are simply too many old wives tales that are wreaking families... sad.

PS: Self-education works very well for me, countering some good-intentions but misguided elderly folks of mine. Perhaps you might want for you too...

Hi TG,

thanks for the words of encouragement.

it's true that these are old wives' tales, but who dare go against the old wife for fear that it'll put the husband in a difficult position.

but dont worry, i dont think a pacifier will wreak this family, we're stronger than that. at least i am. hehe

also, i've got a bigger issue at hand to address. these old folks still cannot understand why i insist on giving BM! initially the husband was on their side. OMG. they say "Oh, your BM like water... how to be full.... of cos keep waking up to ask for milk lah... why dont u give FM? FM IS SOOO MUCH BETTER... u see so-and-so's son! he also drink FM. and he so guai! can sleep thru the night!" erm... tats cos so-and-so's son in 18months lor.. kayla only 9 days old. she's yet to settle in with the programme. i REN!! swollow!! ZIP!

oh yes, i cannot wait for confinement to be over n then i can bury myself in the library. my newly built bishan library awaits. kekeke

angelsky,
I haven't sterilised anything yet coz acutally, i don't really know how to sterilise. Furthermore, I was thinking that I should be BFing so don't need all these things yet?

Haven't bought a container to contain the sterilised parts of the pump. Think I should do it sooon. Forgot about it!

Ahcapp,
the wait is really unnerving. getting envious and jealous from reading all of your posts. My brain is surrounded with giving birth only now. haha.. no mood to work, no mood to do anything.

Jan Mummies,

Here's update from Kitsune:

"After more than 16 hours of labour, our bundle of joy RaeAnne Teo, arrived at 00:30 hr on 22 Jan 08 at 3.225 kg."

yo mummies, good morning

dun envy my milk supply cos yours will be like that in due course as you continue bf.

Bf is never easy and i been thru a lot of suffering especially in the beginning for my number one. I damn stubborn and insist in latching on no matter what (how sore and painful etc)....cos i crazy that time....telling myself, if i cant bf, like i not a good mummy. Furthermore, ppl say cannot bottle feed else will have nipple confusion...so i just insist...even cry as a bf.

i total bf my number 1 for 11 months and end it when he was 15 months....latch on completely whenever i was with him

this time round for number 2 also like that...complete latch on...only pump as and when, when necessary....when i feel that it is going to be quite hard by the time my boy latch on...so i pump a bit out first...

anyway, no pain no gain....like i say even when sore and crack nipple....i also feed even now....so when bleed, you also wont know...so just feed baby...they will expel it out in poo....blood is no poison....but of cos if you not comfortable...then dun do it....but usually doctors etc will say continue to feed even when you have breast infection etc...cos that's the wat to clear.....pumping is never as efficient.

so jia you to all mummies who bf, you can do it

btw, those staying with in-law and complaining....normal la...i also feel that my MIL wanna snatch my sn from me (number 1 that time)...btw, i am not even staying...she help me with confinement in day time....time will pass and soon will be over.....when i told some friends, they say i funny....but well...hormones playing us out ma.....we are just normal

hi eRnMum

my dd will fall asleep after 5min of latching on. i try tickling, slowly rocking, but still sleep, can gimme sheepish grin some more, sometimes BIG smile but eyes close like having super nice dream. how?

so end up i got to express out and feed her. am i doing this all wrong? SOS.

i know at the end of the day, my MIL means well. and i am grateful that she's helping me with the confinement and eventually she'll be taking care of bb when i go back to work. i guess i have to master the art of hear-only-wad-i-wanna-hear asap.

windy, dun rock...rock they will sleep even more...stroke the cheeks leh?

actually if u really need help, go to a lactation consultant....best solution cos they are expert....u can do it

your situation same as me...at one hand we grateful to MIL...on other hand, we cant stand them at times....she also helping me take care of my sons....

cheeks, stroke-ded. tickle under chin, done-ded. rub head, done-ded. no matter waaaaad i do, S-L-E-E-P........

but bottle feed will drink diligently.. 1 strange baby...

Saw from Feb 08 thread that kitsune had delivered!

"After more than 16 hours of labour, our bundle of joy RaeAnne Teo, arrived at 00:30 hr on 22 Jan 08 at 3.225 kg."

hi verene,

ya tiring hor.. plus i sprained my right hand, so it gets abit frustrating sometimes. but we must persevere!

i am now a breast-feeding nazi. *clench right fist over left breast*

verene,

yours halfway still not as jialat as my 5min ah........ some more can lick nipple 2 times, pause, put nipple in mouth, pause, smile, pause, suck 2 times, pause, sleep........

windy, try unwrap bb...otherwise too comfy..
Sama sama we all like that..my bb seems more satisfied yesterday n i'm trying to him suck his less favoured breast. Somehow can hear him gluped down milk when latch but once again, pump after feed for 10 min only 10-15ml.

she wear longs to sleep in aircom? bb wont b cold coz huddle wif u. That's wat LC at tmc says. I went there to chk latching n paid like $26+. At least learn something.

Ladies can add me on msn and FB. [email protected]

my girl also like dat... latch halfway sure will fall asleep.can get very exasperatin i know!

btw, if your bb is awake n keep goin eh eh, how do u know if they are hungry n not just making eh eh noise for fun ah? sometimes i dunno wat to do to stop her eh eh so i just keep feeding her leh...