(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

ahcapp, hopefully my maid can assist DH to fix the crib. ya, the play pen is cheap and nice rite? compared to those we see in the dept. stores. i will call fisher prices's agent tomoorrow and check. if not then i guess will use comgateway to ship it to sg...

mylife, its up to individual. as for me, the baby crib is placed inside my room and i need something portable in the living room cos im always in the living room during daytime. the other purpose would be putting the play pen in my mum's room should i need to be go out at night... i bought a rocker as well... (shit!!! just realised tat its just a infant seat) this is the pic of my so called "rocker"

do you know the difference bet. rocker and bouncer? im confused liao..
1102033.jpg

mylife,
You are not alone. My girl also breech. Damn sian. Always wanted an "exciting" birth experience. BUT, #1 induction and #2 if really breech case, then gotta C sect. Again, everything so "prepared" one

wonder how u all know that they head down anot? I cant feel the hands or legs which is which at all wor

Good sunday afternoon ladies!

QQ,
my gynae told me my girl head's down already since 27 weeks :)

my hubby pantang, he didn't allow me to go for baby's full month party, traditional weddings (daytime ones) nor funeral.

i knw baby head down becos his movement is alway at the top of the tummy. and his hiccup at lower tummy.. true enuff, gynae visit show his head is down

rE: small towels
initially wanted to buy fr Kiddy Palace, nice bright solid colours, looks thick & can last long. I think $1 each? Comes in a pack of 6. But then hor, one day i went neighbourhood shops walk around, saw a shop selling those Good Morning towels, small hankies of diffrnt designs, diffrnt prices. They've got solid colour ones, Hello Kitty ones etc. I chose a pack: 1 dozen pieces for $2. Those plain white terry square type, with diffrnt coloured design that looks like checkerboard. Reminds me of my childhood days!

mylife
buy those with texture like terry towels, face towels - more absorbent & softer than men's hankies.

re: jumper, romper, sleepsuit
Ah Capp's version of 'jumper', i'd call it sleepsuit. sometimes even the retailers use the terms loosely. I did a Google Images search for all 3 terms, the results are there.

Re: hiccups
always feel very uncomfortable when baby hiccups, do you ladies feel so? keep telling baby to stop hiccuping...

haha the feeling is like a little thumb thumb on your belly consistently and constantly. Mine is happening near the lower abdominal.

luvv
i think that's where the chest is. I also dun like... prefer kicks & squirms to hiccups. Sometimes my boy gives such a huge jerk, my whole body also jerk. Thankfully only when i'm seated, resting on sofa. O'wise i may just trip or fall off a chair..

regarding towels, i remembered Mrs Wong said try to get white ones, cos babies may be sensitive to the colours. During JL sale last time i also bought those 6 coloured face towel for $5, tot was cheap then, till I was walking around the Kovan neighbourhood store and saw them selling those small plain white, face towel 4 for $1, so I bought another 12.

hi all, i have went to see my gynae yesterday. regarding my tummy tightening. suspect due to infection and i might go into preterm labour. was asked to have complete bedrest but i can't. cos office only 2 ppl and the other one is now having maternity leave and will only be back 3weeks later. really dunno how now...

joyce, pls listen to the doctor's advice. if gynae suspects tat you are going into preterm, CRIB is very important. i was told to CRIB since 2nd trimester and now im much better.

joyce

u may wan to take hopitalisation leave till u give birth?? one of my fren is doing tat nw due to her swollen feet....

hiccup

the hiccup i feel is also thomp thomp feeling at the tummy

now on medication and will see how....

cheryl, my gynae don't give HL unless i'm warded in hospital. and my all my mc and leave have used up so no choice have to back to work.

all starting to count down, anyone due end of jan at TMC?

10 movements in 12 hours? I kept thinking it was 10 movements every hour, sometimes when bb no move I will go into panic attack and start tapping my stomach. but so far, my baby's movement has been quite subtle and gentle, not very active.

my feet also starting swell and strangely only my right feet, coz when i tried on my shoes, left side fits normally but I cant wear my right at all.

ever since knowing that my bb gal is going to be quite light, i've been trying to sleep on my left and lying in bed, but most of the time i will end up on my right when i wake up. kekeke. now trying to pump her up with more milk and soy bean. my mum said i was like a 3.6kg bb last time, so compare me and my gal, i am huge and she is going to be so small. btw, shes gg to be about 2.8kg max i heard. sigh. my mum said she only felt like drinking soy milk and duck rice when she was expecting me. my sis was also 3.4kg when she was born and my mum was saying my sis was so outstanding the nursery compared to the rest to of the baby with her rosy cheeks and lots of hair, but well now my sis is only 1.55cm, i was teasing her what happen to the outstanding baby in the nursery, now she can be lost in the crowd when we go shopping. kekeke.

about hand washing, i wanted to hand wash my bb stuff, but my mum was quite against it. she was saying bb should learn to have some immunity against the environment, if everything i give her now is good and safe and healthy, she will be so pampered.

about baby movements, i've never really felt baby movements near my rib cage le, she has always been moving either near my belly button or slightly under of to the left and right. am i weird? i was looking at some pictures on line and they say some babies do present themselves in a side lying position at birth, i hope that does not happen to me. its gg to be a sure c-section.

I just came back from hypermart and baby kingdom bought the avent sterilizer kekeke spent almost $200 on all those items ...... kekeke baby preps is really worse than wedding preps hahaha but is worth it!

Hi guys,

Who was the one who had the Pearl River Restaurant's menu? Wanted to show hubby and my friends.

Btw, do you have a budget for gift exchange? I have so many ideas. Haha.

violetice is steph she have the menu ... can try it is nice ..... paramount oso serve this kind of ala carte buffet dinner thumbs up for that too ....

sassy,
Went for my check up when I was almost 34 wks. Her head was down during wk 28 & wk 32 check up. BUT, wk 34 she decided to change position.

Angelsky,
Personally, I think becos a NB got nothing to compare so ppl juz like to use the weight to compare. When a child grows, I am sure u will heard ppl saying so n so how many mths can flip and how many mths can sit, etc. And I am pretty sure ppl ard me will take my #1 and compare with my #2. Sometimes, ppl juz cant accept that each individual is unique in his/her way.

Val
Puzzling hor, so late still can change position. Maybe there was more space, so she could turn ard? DId the gynae teach you some massage technique to get bb to change back the position?

mon2nat,
Maybe she is small, thats y got more space to move about??!!?? The "fixed" position think is only at wk 36. Gynae didnt say anything on making the bb to change position. Her reaction when bb was in breech was simply "oh...today she is so clever. She is in BREECH". Deep in my heart I was like "ya lor, breech then I go C sect and u earn more." LOL~

valencia, tatz amazing... didn't know tat after bb's head turn down already can still reverse back. i think yr bb is more comfortable in this position therefore decided to turn back... hehe

valencia, i can imagine her doing somersaults inside now. true also c-section doc earn more and mummy also suffer more. but like u say, their position change all the time.

I went to OG sale just now. Avent products no discount...set as nett price. Thought I can get the breast pump at a discount though. Will try taka sale instead. I went to the people's park complex toiletries shop to get shampoo...realise that Pigeon wipes 82pcs * 3 packets selling for $8.80 there. so much cheaper than elsewhere which is $10.10 after discount. Anyone stays near there can consider going there to grab some packets.

Good evening ladies,

Went to BHG in the afternoon to get some stuff which I missed out the last round. Felt so tired that I had to take a nap before making dinner. Totally no more energy to cook. Just make simple sandwiches for hb and me. =S

Towels colour..
Oh yes, Mrs Wong (From TMC) did mentioned about using only white coloured towels during my pre-natal class too. But too late, I have already bought most of my towels. *LOL* In fact, I bought mostly blue since mine is a baby boy. But I did bought 2 pure white towels from Mrs Wong at the last class though.

Breech position...
My baby has turned head down when I went for my checkup. But his face is facing my back, rather than my tummy. I have not really considered what will happen if my baby turns up again. Guess will have to leave nature takes its course.

Btw, now that my due date is getting nearer and nearer, I can't help but feel a bit scare. I know I might sound silly, but the "unknown" is still quite frightening. What if I don't know how to push? What if the whole labour is going to take longer than expected? Perhaps it's because it's my #1, so I can't help this feeling.

Initially, I thought of opting for C-section. But now that after going for the pre-natal class and more research, I think I will try for natural birth (with epidural pls) unless otherwise. I just wonder if I have the courage and strength to go thru it all. Thank goodness my hb has promised to be with me during my delivery, or else, I don't think I don't have the courage to do so. He has also promised to take 1 whole week off after my delivery to stay at home to be with me, even though he will be starting his new job next month. I am soo glad that he is so understanding and thoughtful.

Anyway, any first time mummies feel the same way? A bit scare too?

Hi Verene,

No discount on Avent products at BHG too. But robinsons has discount on Avent during their storewide sale. Look out for it during their next sale. =)

Btw, I got news that the next Isetan Private Sale will be immediately after xmas, think 27/12/07 or something. So take note if anyone of you needs to get last min stuff before delivery.

AhCapp, me. I am also getting quite worried and scared. I scared that I also dont know what to do during the delivery, will the delivery be smooth, will I panic and then cry and lose my composure, will baby be safe, will anything happen to the baby during the delivery. I have got a million and one questions running through my mind.

I am worried that my water bag will burst and bb may decide to come before she is due. Wonder how she will look like, will she be healthy, will she have 10 fingers and 10 toes. All these fears in my mind.

Worse is push until no strength then later got to go for c-section. I've already got a bikini scar from my lap surgery, I dont wish to have add another scar.

I also worry if hubby will be able to come back in time for my delivery or if I have to go through with it alone.
We talked about it and hubby say if really my contractions start at night, and for the safety of me and baby, if really no choice to go ahead with the delivery without him rather than hold on in pain and wait.

Not been able to sleep very well now at night too, bladder pain, backpain, backside also pain, everywhere also pain.

sassy
me in 33weeks + 3days now. Like valencia, mine was head down during the 28 week checkup, also at 32week when i did a quick one in HK, then right there and then in the doc's office, we "witnessed" her changing her position!! Then after that, i came back to Spore, she stayed there in breeched liao

Valencia
Your #1 induce also c-sect meh? If not, altho induce and less excitement, u still got to experience natural birth ma..me this one #1, if c-sect, i also dunno if i'm gonna get a chance to have #2 or not cos this kind of thing, dunno one ma... But you damn funny leh, can instantly think c-sect gynae earn more! hahahaha.

Steph
me coming back to SG for good to prep for my delivery this coming weekend liao...rules from airlines for preggers is 35/36 week ma. Strange your gynae asked u to walk more to let baby stay head down. Cos when i went to the gynae in HK and we saw my baby active movement ie moving head down and head up in 5mins, he advised me to rest more in bed and dont walk so much leh...hehe. Anyway, now i also try to psyche myself, if it's fated my baby gonna come to this world via c-sect way, then so be it lo...dont wish to let it dampened my mood in preparing for her big arrival. Have been thru so much liao
Of cos i still pray and hope i can have a chance to deliver her naturally, but well, TRYING to think positively...but it's tough! Talking to u gals, certainly helps! But if she really still breeched by my edd, i will definitely go for epidural c-sect...MUST be awake to witness her coming out of me.

AhCapp/angelsky
ME TOO!!! Feel scared, feel worried, feel gan cheong, panicky, cant wait, all sorts of emotion roll into one! I also scare of having a preemie cos of my logistics situation. My hubby is coming back with me this weekend, but he'll fly back to HK on Sunday, then every weekend, he will fly back to SG to visit me. Me scared what if baby comes out preemie during weekdays, then daddy wont be around. Aiyah...scared a lot of things la. I heard of one gf who went for delivery and opted for epidural, but the numbness was so great, she lost the sensation to push...somehow, she find the situation very funny, so she giggled, then kena scolding from the gynae say "You wan the baby to die ah???" Then she quickly push harder....so scary....Last time oredi worried about the birth itself, now still gotta worry one more thing ie baby in breeched position...Sigh. I guess from now onwards, as a mommy, we will always worry this and that about our babies one la...

Wendy
Oh, i can wipe their face with terry cloths? Me bought 2 packs of tat, but tot that one only use for their bath time. But mine is coloured one leh.

Today went out whole day shopping again. Although felt tired, but think-think, this is the last weekend i'm gonna be in HK with hubby alone, the next weekend i'll be back with my baby in tow liao...so we went paktor abit...went to eat dim sum and then to Tung Chung to shop at the premium outlets. Couldnt resist buying baby clothes again.
Btw, anyone knows where i can buy hangers for babies/kids clothes in Spore? HK one like too fanciful leh. And xpensive.

Hi Angelsky,

Firstly, don't worry. I am sure your hb will be back in time for your delivery. =) Just a thought... Have u ever thought of getting a close female married friend to be with u if you hb can't make it in time? Perhaps u can think of a contingency plan for just in case.

I also worry about my delivery. I have zero, yes ZERO pain threshold! Can u imagine that wearing high heels is painful in my dictionary! *LOL* Guess I am too used to sports shoes/ flats since I am an engineer, and safety shoes are my best friends. Anyway, I cry easily. I think I will be 1 big mess during my delivery. *shake head*

Your fears are mine too. I have not really thought about the 10 fingers and 10 toes yet, ever since I saw them during the detailed scan. But I too also worry if he will be healthy and well. Working in a industry which deals with chemicals every day doesn't help lor. =S

I also can't sleep very well at night recently. My backache is so bad that I can't even get up properly at night to go toilet. And going to toilet twice a night doesn't help lor.

Hello, mummies. Looks like a lot of us went shopping this weekend.
I'm on leave on Mon & Tues, taking a break. Feeling exceptionally happy on a Sunday night cos tomorrow no need to work. Hee. Sassy, I'm not working at KKH but in another hospital (only in office lar).

Wow, $8.80 for 3 packs of Pigeon wipes is cheap ya? I saw it as $10.10 at KKH pharmacy.

I went for a pre natal massage at CSC Bukit Batok today, just decided to walk in since in the vicinity. But now my shoulders are aching. The masseur too zealous to iron out the knots on my shoulder. Got to use salonpas to ease the ache, wonder if I've been bruised. :p

Ah Capp, I worry too. Scared I'll do the wrong things or that the delivery will be very painful or difficult. Trying to comfort myself that if it really gets bad, just have an epidural lor. No pain, less fear. ;)

ah capp
yes bb is supposed to face our backside for natural birth, so that his skull (even tho still soft) won't kena our spine. If he's facing up, our backache will be worse, and it's harder for him to come out.

It's odd, the midwives can tell if bb is facing up or down just by looking at our tummies. For my #1, after we decided on c-section after inducing failed, a nurse came to tell me that bb is facing up, natural also very tough. In a way, to assure me that i've made the correct decision? How come my gynae didn't mention anything ley... grr.

and btw, for pushing, i've heard that it's the same as when u poo. Just imagine a SUPER HUGE poo that u gotto push out. When pushing, dun lie flat on the bed - pretend u doing stomach crunch. Place your palms under your thighs near your knees & do a crunch & PUUUUUSHHHHHH.

valencia
yes, same for me, this boy decided to sit up when i went to c doc on Wed morn. Previous months he was head down. I'm doing the knees to chest position daily (should increase frequency i guess), but my husband reminded me that some docs can manipulate the bb into head down. And my mum said some specialist helped her do that when she was carrying me. So nxt visit i'm gonna ask my doc abt options other than c-sect, if bb is still breech. Some docs are actually experienced enuf to deliver bbs leg first. But apparently mine is not la.

mylife
hangers for kids clothes available @ Ikea. For your coloured towels, pls wash them first to ensure the colours dun run

kitsune
sometimes if epidural is poorly administered, can still feel pain hor.

ah capp, well I dont have that many married friends who have already delivered, so dont think i wanna scare them off getting pregnant, think its gg to be weird having my mum in there
. Think I just have to be brave and make do alone in case hubbie really cant fly back in time. Sometimes you can do all the planning and u need just one hiccup for the plans to go haywire. I realised my memory is really failing me, I absolutely cant remember if I saw her ten fingers and ten toes. Not at all. My doc is gg to find me very funny when I go for my next visit and I ask him to show me the 10 fingers and toes. kekekeke. Sometimes he asked me if I have any questions for him, but then most of the questions have already been answered here through the sharing.

Dont know if I should change my CL, she told me that she cant come do confinement for me, coz something cropped up, so she passed my deposit to another CL and she will bring that CL to see me during december. In the first place, she was already recommended by my friend's CL whom can't do mine. Its really getting messy. Hope the new CL is ok. Do you think they mind sleeping in the living room? Else she will have to bunk in with me when baby comes, coz I was thinking of sleeping in the same room as my baby to facilitate breastfeeding.

violetlce,
I also have a copy of the menu. :D Just give me your email. :D

Ahcapp & angelsky & mylife,
Yeah, me slowly start to feel a bit of scary.. is like oei.. I am delivering next month.

When I do pre-addmission in the hospital, they also ask what is my delivery method.. I thought for a while and say w/o epi if possible lor.. hopefully I walked around more and can have a fast delivery.

I everyday tell BB, must wait for daddy to be around then pop. I can't imagine delivering bb without hubby around.. really need his support.

My relatives keep nagging me abt not wanting to stay at my mum place, because I am all alone at home.. But i prefer this way as I have time for myself and convenience of my own bed and talking to hb over skype. :p

wendy
thanks for the advice...yup, will definitely wash those cloths. Good advice there too on the pushing thingy. Will try to bear it in my mind IF i get to deliver naturally at all.
Btw, did u have the chance to ask ur gynae if we do the daily knee-chest exercise, and wat if baby turn back down, but we DONT KNOW that and continue to do the exercise, will it actually caused baby to go breeched again? Complicating...and really worried cos we dunno when the exrecise successfully turn baby down and if we contd doing, then baby head up again, wasted. Cos my gynae said, short of doing a scan to confirm, we cant really tell when baby is heads down liao. I also asked about the gynae turning the baby manually, but i heard only VERY experience gynae will do that cos there're some risks involved, might damage the placenta or smtg like dat. So not many gynae dare to make dat attempt.

AhCapp
me too backache and backside ache. Everyday i wake up also felt whole body very stiff, even fingers also feel painful, altho i dont really see my fingers swelling. Step down from the bed also painful.

Wendy, ya, during my antental class, they said it's supposed to block 80-90% of the pain but they'll taper it off for last stage so that we can feel the contractions so that can push better. Hope it's ok lor, also don't want to be a hero cos I got low threshold of pain. :p

Oh ya everyone, gift exchange on right? What is the budget ah? Forgot liao. :p

kitsune
that's if it's correctly administered. Sometimes the needle can't poke into the correct space in the spine, or doc try few times etc. That can be a nightmare... Mummy is supposed to crunch into a tight ball & NOT MOVE as the doc determines the spot, with the contractions ongoing & painful (that's why ask for epi in the first place right). Husband has to wait outside.

icy
during confinement anyone helping u?

mylife
no, they're colourful plastic type

wendyg,
Yeap, my mil would be doing confinement for me and hb would be ard with me until BB full mth. Just currently for this period, until me 35th week, I would be staying alone at home.

Val
HAha... you can even think abt her earning more!!!
Both my gynaes last time and now will oso tell me unlikely the bb will turn upwards after they saw headdown at 5th month, I guess sometimes it does happen, but not often lor. I think I hear my gyane say breech, my heart will sink.

wendyg/ kitsune
Show you all something... dun freak out. This was my epidural. PPle tell me painless, I went thru 1/2 hr of torture. he poke many times... can't get it in. And he is suppose to be a senior doc. BUt of cos mine is a rare case lor... anyway was not done in singapore, so my hb watched and he went outside to puke!!
1102477.jpg

icy, must keep your mobile near u all the time, since u are staying alone
. My parents were out of town for about 3 weeks also during Oct and my hubbie ask me to periodically sms him, in case anything happen and no one around knows. So keep your phone nearby in case u need to contact anyone.

I am getting so nervous as each day pass.

Last night, I woke up in the middle of the night, wanted to go toilet, but I could not get up, coz my bladder was so full and pressing on my stomach, causing me so much pain, I literally had to slide off the bed on my back so as not exert my bladder. I think I must have looked very funny if anyone was around.