(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

ahcapp/angelsky,

just like u all... im also very scared as the day draws nearer. Wonder how she will look like, will she be healthy, will she have 10 fingers and 10 toes. morever, i just went to visit my grandmother (stayin w my aunt and uncle) this afternoon they were telling me all the old wives tales of wat i can and cannot do... *sigh* wonder wat will they say if they know i oversee my home reno. so now im very scared if all these things comes out to be true

mylife
Pain lah!!! They poke, then will poke another hole beside it, I can feel a think syringe with some liquid gg in, in circles.. then after 30min he tell me "your epidural failed". I wan to faint ah. Luckily 1 last try, got in.

Sassy
France. But the healthcare there more advanced than sg liao... I think I was unlucky lor.

kitsune
I told my gyane here oso. but he say usually the epidural is ok. You cant' really choose, cos usually you see who is available tat day lor.

mom2nat,

do we have to confirm the epidural jab in advance? cos if possible i wanna try w/o epi... if cant ta han then go for it.

sassy, my grandmother was also telling my mum about all the "cannot do", but my mum is quite modern so she was like really cannot meh? Grandma says not supposed to go other bb's full month, I went. Not supposed to visit pple doing their confinement, I also went. Not supposed to go see houses, I went house hunting. Not supposed to buy bb clothes, I already buy so many. Not supposed to renovate the house, well we never actually renovated the house, but then my parent's estate undergoing maintenance so there was a period of time they were painting and painting, knocking and knocking around, I tried not to smell in the paint but sometimes jus cannot avoid, coz dont smell means cannot breathe which is no good.

So many cannot, but I think I violated quite a few already.

mum2nat, what happened, that is like a long stretch of needle marks. your daughter is already so big and u still have the scar. can hardly imagine the pain u must have went through to get the epidural and to think it was supposed to give you less pain when u deliver.

angelsky
No lah, this was taken the next day after i gave birth. The labour was less scary than the edpiural. My hb oso scared liao.

Sassy
no need to confirm b4 hand. tat day then decide. but rem hor, mine is rare case... seldom you get it. so dun worry too much

Prata queen, where is this chinese medical hall that you bought the Pamper diapers from?

Mom2nat, I'll try to ask anyway and see if I can get some reassurance from gynae.

Sassy, actually it's really no use worrying about something that's already done. I also did things that I'm not supposed to, cutting stuff in my bedroom though not supposed to. End up, hubby and I went to pray for peace of mind. If you have a religion, maybe can pray or if not just talk to your baby and tell BB to guai guai and not to be pantang.

does anyone have the medela PIS original warranty card? i would like to borrow and purchase the adapter from supplier. they wouldn't sell me if i dun produce it. TIA

Good Monday Morning Mommies!!

mom2nat
several reasons lah. When my hubby confirmed accepting the offer to relocate, we already paid package to gynae and also book hospital. So mentally, oredi prep to give birth here. Moreover, if i give birth in HK, tat means i also must do confinement in HK ma...me scared lots of things not familiar, my mom who'll be doing confinement for me also not familiar, some more HK dont have those malay traditional massage lady...aiyah...very ma huan la, so after we confirmed hubby's company actually cover maternity costs in Spore as well (jus convert the currency) i'd rather fly back and give birth in Spore lo. Peace of mind.

Btw, how come they poke and u oredi felt liquid going in, yet they can still declare "epi failed". *faint*

angelsky
hahaha...me too, did a lot of "not supposed to" pantangs liao.

Sassy
i think i have at home. But me only gonna be back in Sg this weekend. Can wait until then? Oi, how come u still posting at 1.23am???
Haha..actually me too slept at 2am plus yday, just lie in bed only playing Nintendo DS. Hubby went to work at 7am and i couldnt go back to sleep liao...

sassy
at TMC, need to give abt 30min advance notice if u want epi. Coz there are only 2 docs (i think) who can administer, and they may be shuttling between Mt A & TMC. If too late eg dilated past certain cm, then also cannot go for epi. THey'll offer alternative pain relief, eg gas/ injection in thigh, which work for some moms i know.

mom2nat
mine was successful in first try. I kept really still despite the intense contractions (i was induced) coz it's my SPINE ley, dun play play.
I love the doc so much I'm gonna request for him again. He was so nice & reassuring. He grabbed our camera & took our first family pix right in the operating theatre when my husband was too excited to think straight. And he reminded husband to pull down the surgical mask so that can see his face. haha.

mylife
i dun think the knee to chest position will cause bb to turn & sit upright again. Haven't read anything abt that. Maybe u can phone your doc to check. My appt is next wk la.

kitsune_sg, the medicinal shop i went to is at west plaza (a building in pasir ris). then later on at dinner time i went to loyang point and checked out another medicinal hall, also selling at the same price. so i tink any medicinal hall at hdb estates should sell cheaper than dept stores like ntuc and giant.

Good morning, mummies.

Mom2nat, oic, thought the scarring lasted so long, hee. :p

Prata_queen, thanks for the tip. I'll go hunting at those chinese medical halls then. See if got good price.

Haha, Wendy, your anaesthetist so good ah, some more stand in as photographer. I'm asking hubby to bring both camera and videocam in, wonder if he'll be blur blur that day too. ;)

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies! look forward to see ur all on 12-dec!!

sassymum, rocker can rock front and back while bouncer can only go up and down?? so the difference is the direction??? just a guess.

oh btw, think if u spend S$120 (or is it S$150?) on Avent products in Isetan, you can get a free Neck Pillow. While stocks last. Anyone has Isetan Pte Sale entry coupon??</font>

gd morning ladies,

ahcapp/angelsky/sassy,
i'm also quite scare about the coming delivery. On one hand, scare if there're any problems coming up last minute, scare that baby not healthy, scare about this and about that. On the other hand, scare that i can't cope after baby arrive...etc etc....

hi morning too (",)

mylife,

i bought my baby plastic hangers from Kids Mall at IMM. They come in set of 10's at $3.00 (selection of milky white, baby blue & baby pink color)

Yesterday went BHG & shop at the lingerie & infant dept. The lingerie dept also having sales..i saw some nice PJs from $12.90 to $35. I bought a looney toons dress pyjamas for $19.
The infant dept 20% sales last till 16Dec according to the cashier. Baby Fox also on sales...they carry some nice bb cotton blanket too

angelsky,
your grandma say cannot buy baby clothes? then what does baby wear what after she arrives? haha..

I am so sleepy now... slept at 1am and woke up ard 5am, then cannot sleep liao. Had stomach pain like want to poo poo at 10mins interval from 5am till 7am. Is it contraction?

yen
maybe it's bowel colic. Can happen if your baby's have vigorous activities in your womb. Dats what happen to me last time. But best to monitor and check it out with your gynae.

Steph
Thanks for the ref. oooh...i like baby pink! Will definitely go IMM this weekend when i'm back in town. Hee.

jus now have some kicks on the upper part of my abdomen. Then feel very big movements from baby....now wondering if she has indeed guai-guai turn head down liao... so anxious..!

Yen, I got bad stomach cramps last night too, but this morning wake up ok. Better monitor, if still not ok, go and see gynae and call the clinic. Oh ya, what diapers you saw having promotion at NTUC? I may be going down today.

<font color="aa00aa">i also woke up last nite and cant sleep. stomach not pain...but hungry. hee...

ntuc having diaper sale (thot the special sale is for 4 days only?? maybe see wrongly) but no newborn size.</font>

wendyg

haha..gd advise on the pushing...imagine super huge poo!! I was told that the feeling was like very bad constipation! Imagine Super Hard Poo stuck?? Ouch...pain le...cannot imagine half way thru'...torture...baby have not come out, piles come out liao

AhCapp,

me too freak out thinking abt labor as EDD gets nearer. I just wonder if i will pass out due to too intense pain? maybe watch too much drama/tv show that some women can pass out during delivery! U still remember Mrs Wong taught us relaxing breathing methods during active contraction & actual labor "pushing"? I worry i might not breath correctly when the real pain comes...

Anyone kena nose bleed during preggy? Is this common ? I suffered from running nose last week & was sneezing badly...might be due to prolong hard sneezing & heaty cos got alot of green phlegm

Anyone started drinking coconut already?

<font color="aa00aa">haha. steph, when the pain comes, sure to forget everything. that's why HB is next to us to remind us what to do, how to breathe. hee.

oh btw, can u email me the menu price? i wanna show HB. tks. u have my email hor?

haven start coconut drink yet. waiting for New Year. hee...but wanna have birds nest but no one make for me. sob</font>

mei
i oredi started drinkg coconut juice liao! Hehe.

steph
u always very graphic one leh...kekeke....i rem last time when i was in JC, my maths teacher was telling us about giving birth and a male classmates was making fun, so she chided the boy asking him to go and imagine poo-ing a coconut out cos dats approx how it felt. *faint*

Steph, I'm thinking of starting to drink coconut juice too. Going to East Coast area today to have dimsum buffet. Maybe can pop by East Coast Food centre and get my coconut juice. Though my EDD is 1 Feb, should deliver somewhere in Jan, so can start drinking in Dec liao right since people say can start drinking 1 month before. Hee.

Mylife, ok will check with gynae this Wed.

kitsune/Mei, yup no new born size. I saw quite a lotz of brand le...Huggies, Pamper, Dryper, PetPet..etc. But need to buy 3 packs for special price. I din really look into detail la bcos quite tired after pasar malam walk. Juz pass by ntuc and saw they put a lotz of diapers outside.

steph
i've been getting nosebleeds quite often since i got pregnant. had it when i was carrying #1 too. but dont worry cos it'll go away once you deliver

i started drinking coconut this wk. but cannot find fresh ones so can only buy those pre-packed type

the bird's nest i'm taking also those ready-to-drink type. taking 1 a day now.

been getting mensus-like cramps more often these days. how ah? also like got stomachache all the time need to poo poo. not to mention, all the backache, backside ache, etc.. cant wait for bb to be full term n come out! is 36 or 37 wks considered full term?

mei
u r rite. so painful until everything forget! lucky my hubby was there with me to remind/encourage me to breath/push haha

Kitsune, I juz had DimSum Saturday at Peach Garden Thomson Plaza...not bad. Yummy yummy! East Coast area got DimSum buffet?? Where where??

hehe mylife,
my hubby oso say i very imaginative aka "silly"...dun care la...at least it helps me relax my mind..divert my attention & not dwell on unnecessary worries
My hubby always tell me not to worry cos he say god create woman to be able to take labor pain, i say bull shit...and answer him back, "imagine someone stuff a watermelon into yr anus!!" haha...he stared in horror & say lucky he is not born a girl else have to suffer all these...keke

steph
your husband is partly right. Actually labour is not painful. It's the fear of the unknown that causes pain. Labour is just prolonged muscle contraction. Imagine contracting your biceps & hold it for long time. Our wombs & vaginal canals are designed to stretch. Babies are born with soft bones. It all falls into place.
Read Supernatural Childbirth by Jackie Mize.

<font color="aa00aa">steph, thanks!
michelle, fresh ones, u got try food court?? they also sells. or u can buy those young coconuts from NTUC? those can also drink right?? pre-package one?? which ones??</font>

2nd time mommies - did u find the stupid pain indication chart silly? i mean, how do i know what amt of pain i'm in if i dont know what's the 'end' point?!? when the nurse asked me to point to which 'level' i'm at, i just stared at her and anyhow point to somewhere in the middle

mei
i'm in melbourne leh - that's y cannot find this kind of asian products so easily. if i'm in spore, i sure know where to go!

wendy
seems that u r not the traditional kind of mommy to follow confinement rules strictly. does that mean u bathed during confinement? do u just shower normally, ie under the shower, or still use boiled water, etc?

michelle
dunno what's pain indication chart.
no i'm not the traditional kind of mummy. dat's why i dowan CL. Sure fight one. Pay top dollar to fight with people during the time when my hormones are imbalanced. Save it la.

For my #1, dunno who insisted i use cool boiled water with herbs. So husband boiled herbs in 2 kettles of water, poured in plastic tub to cool, then i showered when water was cool enuf. Sometimes i exceed the time & water became too cold, i still use hot water fr shower to mix in. Washed hair too. Daily.
This time i told husband just get me the plastic tub, i'll fill it with hot water fr shower & throw the herbal bags inside, wait for water to cool then take shower. Secretly la, dun tell the elders o'wise they'll insist on this & that and very ma-fan.

wendy
so none of the elderly were at your place during confinement rite? else they sure know u never 'follow the rules' haha :D

i was thinking of doing that too - ie juse use hot water from shower n throw the herbal bag in. then again, i might not even have the herbal thing cos depending on whether my friend is able to send it to me from spore or not - the aussie custom might just refuse to let the whole package in. if that's the case, then it's just normal shower for me! actually until today, i still dont see why we cannot shower. are we just following ancient china customs blindly?!

michelle
beliefs that our bodies are weakened & susceptible to wind after birth etc. In ancient China where it's not humid, cold weather etc.. maybe it's possible not to bathe the whole month. Now with global warming, and humid in Sgp, & summer @ your place... see how la.

my folks were helping me during my 1st confinement, but they don't know any better. My mum the 'modern' type, my dad clueless. My MIL came to stay for 2 wkends & she nagged a bit, but i just "1 ear in, 1 ear out", dowan to fight with her, hid in my room out of her way.

yeah i guess at the end of the day, it's really up to us to decide wat we wanna do. just like with all the taboos before we even deliver, ie cannot eat lamb, cannot sew on bed, cannot move the bed, etc... we choose to believe or not rite

this is what i read from magazine:

Nosebleeds

The high levels of the hormones oestrogen and progesterone present during pregnancy cause increased blood flow through the body, which puts pressure on the delicate veins in your nose. so you may find you r having frequent nosebleed.