(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

sassy, bhg is the dept store tat bought over seiyu. they haf outlets at bugis junction and century square etc.

u went to astons? the one opposite katong mall? i went there once couple of mths back but the food was average onli lei.

sassy
u decide for yourself after #1 is born...

prata queen, ya the one opp katong mall. hrd good review esp. the yummy pics on qq's blog. i hv no intention of eating there, was actually on the way to eat the park lane wan ton mee at katong when DH drove past saw no que then we hopped in(DH hates to que). wat did u order when u were there the last time?

wendy, ya lor... see how after my #1. also dun know if my body can take it anot... #1 alrdy got so much complications.

Hi MTBs,

Been missing out briefly but still reading all posts as best as I could.

Re: Baby Cot
I've ordered baby cot and stuffs from Baby Kingdom and they informed me to let them know 1 wk in advanced for delivery. However, I heard from some pregnant friends that it's not good to set up baby cot before baby is born. I don't know the meaning behind the folklore but if the delivery man is here and no need to do installation, then hubby will need to do? Which is quite tedious lah, since he probably needs to be at hospital with me too. The baby cot comes with free installation too. Sighz, what do you all think?

Hi Violetice,

Yes, I did hear about such folklore. I was told to avoid being in the house during the installation. But if don't install now, I think my hb will have a hard time installing it later when the baby is borned. I don't want to torture him lah. *LOL*

Anyway, the installation comes with the price tag, so I just let them set it up this morning.

My company doesn't recoginse MC from my gynae, only from the company GP, unless it's not pregnancy related (e.g fever, flu etc). So guess I will be working till a few days before my due date, unless my baby decides to come earlier.

Hi Prata_queen,

Thanks for the tip-off on the BHG sale. I bought quite an amount of baby stuff from there too. I also bought the pigeon breast pads. Will check out the pigeon baby wipes hard cover too. =)

Hi Mom2nat,

Handwash every day? No maid lah. =) Will definately be like u, pile up for a few days and load up the washing machine. *LOL* I bought some mittens and booties from BHG (the brand is Lucky Baby I think) whose fabric like a net. Thought they are quite good since can allow air circulation. Was thinking of stocking up some more. =)

Oh yes, I got the small towels already. Thanks for the tip-off. Aussino was having 50% off some time back for the towels, so 1 shot, stock up 10 pieces.

Hi babe,

No worry. I think u still have time. Just that I don't have much time, except for weekend. So make hay (er.. wash baby stuff) while the sun shines. Getting very tired easily lately, so I thought I better do bit by bit first before I get too tired to even get up from the sofa. =)

Wow...seem like alot of u are getting 90% ready (tidying/washing/set up baby cot) to welcome baby arrival. I still have not wash baby's clothes (hands me down & new sets). Must start soon & pack ready hospital bag too.

Yesterday went for 32wks check up & bb weigh 1.8kg
baby head is down & in gd position for natural delivery. As usual, gynae ask me to walk more. I told gynae abt my tum tum hardening/tightens only one side & he say it is not due to BH but the way my bb position & stretch which is bb's butt!haha..

I bought a latex playpen mattress from cheeky bon bon at $66 (aft less 30%) from Kidzloft at Tagore Lane.

Oh btw, BHG 20% sales infant dept is up till when? thks.

mylife,
Thanks. Its pretty.

OMG!! Think I am the only one that has "jie pi" here. Till now, my 3yrs old boy clothes are still being hand washed everyday :p

Taka having sale from 4-7 Dec. Members having additional 10%. Heard that many items are 20% + 10% off.

sassy, tink the set that we didnt like was the deep fried fish set. the fish wasn't fresh wif strong fishy smell but at least they allowed us to change to a different set.

AhCapp, wat other items did u buy? i wanted to buy the tollyjoy nappies but they were not on sale. Where u bot yours and wat brand is recommended? I also bot Aussinno towels when they had 50% off.

steph, i can't recall when the BHG sale is till. Their webebsite does not state too...

Hi prata_queen,

During the last BHG sale, I bought lots of baby clothing (brand is jolly or something), pigeon breast pads (I bought the japanese pack; the other pack is from thailand I think), Pigeon baby powder + detergent, pigeon brush (for washing bottles), pigeon baby comb & brush, Pigeon cotton bulbs, safety 1st nail clipper. That's about it. =)

For nappies, I only bought 1 pack of the Anaku cotton clothes or diaper clothes. That's all. I have not even get my pack of disposable diapers for standby! *LOL*

Ahcapp
Well... Hee... 10 pieces not a lot hor. Cos ah each time you feed milk you may use one piece liao. clean bb's mouth or burp. YOu feed 6 times a day, maybe use 6 pieces liao. Unless you wanna put aside and reuse ah. Anyway these things are easily available, if not enough, just ask your hb to go and buy for you after you deliver.

I have a maid, but I wont be asking my maid to handwash bb's clothes. I dun wan to create extra work just bcos I got maid lor. Since #1's clothes we oso machine wash separately since she was born. Maybe if the clothes are stained or delicate pieces, then I will get her to handwash, otherwise will put into machine with #1's clothes to wash. I'd rather she spend tat 1/2hr playing with bb or reading to my girl than handwashing clothes... heee... but individual preference lah.

Steph
I have not been to Kidzloft, do they have a lot of things? Much cheaper than other places?

valencia/babe
you're most welcome! Babe, yah, me still in HK, not doing alot of shopping anymore. Baby heavier, walking is a problem. Hee.

Re: preparation for baby's arrival. I think i'm having this nesting instinct. Really in a flurry of thots to prep everything before she comes. Sometimes got panicky tots of wat if i didnt buy those really BASIC necessities like cotton wool, buds, etc. Everyone around me jus tell me to relax. kekeke.

Mom2nat
WHAT???? Pregnant also must take care of her until she give birth??? What kind of rule is that???? Like dat, they will all behave irresponsibly lo, without a care in the world if they lose their job due to their misbehaviour! Must check this out with the agencies. If it's really true, then i'd rather do without a maid!

Steph
So envious to know your baby is head down and positioning very good. Till date, altho me doing the knee chest exercise, still dunno if my baby has head down and if i'd get the chance to experience the natural birth. So nerve wrecking! But my tummy also tightened up one side alot leh...always tot how come BH happen so often one.

Violetice
I also heard of the pantang-ness of not setting up cot when baby not born...but cannot help it la...me already got so many logistics problem at hand...if to set up cot only AFTER baby is born, then jialat liao...got to tackle 2 countries leh. Sometimes, i will try to ignore those myths cos bo pian ma. Sekali u ask people to come install after u get warded also, they no time, and u get discharged liao, baby end up no cot to sleep in...hehe..i think the old myth about not setting up cot before baby is born is due to people not wanting to prepare too early for the birth in case touch wood something happen and cot is set-up liao, thus the myth being created bah...

AhCapp
Agree totally on the comments everywhere. Quite hard to follow all advices. Actually i also bought the waterproof sheet, some more my mattress no holes, sure very hot...i think play by ear lo. If baby really too hot, then will take away or think of something else. But my case quite alright bah, cos when i return to HK with baby, it's still relatively quite cold...

Haiz..how come all the sale ends BEFORE i get back to Spore ah? Would like to get a few more rompers/jumpers for my baby. Eh, ask u all ah, how many sets of baby sleepsuits and daysuits we need to get for 0-3 months? Cos i heard babies need to change clothes very frequently but they also outgrow them very fast. My mom told me not to get rompers (rompers are the ones with toes covered one right??) cos she said very inconvenient...but my fren said rompers is good cos covered toes...*faint* Comments???

mylife
rompers and sleepsuits are diffrnt
sleepsuits are the ones with the covered toes. Most of the time long sleeved too. Some people dun like coz outgrow v fast compared to those without covered toes.. the pant leg rides up a bit also nvrmind.

rompers are also one-piece, but they just hv buttons at crotch and down the pant leg (if any). Some rompers dun hv pant legs.

Ah Capp, I very tired easily these days and hardly packing much. Must get hubby to find all those old ones my no.1 wore and get it washed. Hb was still saying wait till xmas take a break then do all these. But I told him 38 weeks then and dunno if bb will come early since no.2. Haha..real procrastinator...realised for boy boy I dun have much hand-me downs. Wonder if I should get a few pieces.

Hey BHG sale till when? Won't have time to pop by till next week.

is there a concern if u dun feel the fetal movement for a few hours? do they move often when inside the womb? pardon me for my ignorance..

wendy
oh...i tot i saw from the BP thread, rompers usually is those with covered toes. And those without are called jumpers?? Pls enlighten me.

sassy
i heard from my fren that she said her gynae advised her from 3rd trimester onwards to count fetal movements in 12 hour span must got at least 10 movements. If less than that, could potentially be fetal in distress or amniotic fluid low or something like dat...check it out with your gynae?

mom2nat, imo i feel tat its not really worth it. i was there a month ago when they were having so called 50% sale storewide. realised tat they marked up the prices b4 they put it on sale. Eg. cheeky bon bon 3"x52"x27" baby mattress original px $198 after discount $99 but the same mattress is selling at taka or tangs only $149 (Original Px b4 discount) besides the store is quite small, nothing much. dun waste time...

Rompers..
The defination of rompers for me is this:
1101496.jpg

1 piece, has pressed buttons at the nappy area for easy access during diaper changing. For me, I bought a total of 7 pieces (in a pack) from Marks & Spencer during their sale. The size is 3 months and onwards.

Jumpers..
This should be it, right?
1101497.jpg

I bought a set of 2/3 pieces from Mothercare during their sale. Not sure if it'll be too thick/ too hot for the baby to wear even in air-con room

I wash all my baby clothings - machine wash separately using baby detergent. I received the mailer on the taka sale. Pigeon is one of the exclusion during the additional 10% discount. Anything worth buying for OG sale?

Mylife,

A lot of people have different opinions when it comes to clothings for new born. My confinement lady and my colleague said rompers are ok. Easy to wear and take off.

But the sales at Mothercare said since the newborn's head is very soft, not advisable to get rompers as u need to put it over the baby's head. So she recommends me to get front open vest kinds with strings/ ribbons for fastening.

In the baby book, I read that it's not advisble to get clothings with strings/ ribbons more than a certain length.

So I can totally understand how u feel. Even I also can be confused by so many different comments. Anyway, I now have a few vests and pants/ shorts; and also 7 rompers for 3 months and above.

Mom2nat,

Now that u talk about it, 10 pieces of small towel really doesn't seem to be a lot! Dear me... Ok, will wait for the next Aussino sale or will get hb to get any small towels if not enough. I thought I only need to use them for baby bath time. *LOL*

wowwwww all of u have started to prepare??? I have not wor ..... charm!
My husband gg ICT on monday will be all alone

Sassy hope u enjoyed the food
heehee glad to hear there is no Q hehehe ....

Re: Wedding Dinner

I have total 3 wedding to go this mth ..... no pantang one lah heehee i only pantang to go funeral ......

Kitsune i never listen when I am gg to bed just that when I am free at home I will on it and let BB listen ....

Mummies thanks for the concern on the bbq food hehehe I am glad that I have responsible "cook" there kekeke my cousins all cook the food for me to eat hehehe ... well fed and oso they have a pre CNY gambling with me hahaha won $14 in all hahaha

Babe,

Maybe slowly slowly pull out all the old clothings and start bit by bit. End of the year weather not very reliable too. I only have 2 days (1 sat and 1 sun) to do heavy baby stuff washing as I have to work on weekdays. So need to start early. =)

Btw, when is your due date? SOunds like yours is close to mine. =) Mine is 15 Jan 08.

ahcapp
yah lo!!! Exactly...so difficult. My mom also say the same thing, say 1st 2 weeks, baby's head still soft cannot wear those "over-the-head" kind, must wear string, then after their neck muscles develop stronger liao, then can wear. But how many pieces is sufficient ah? Heard baby change many times a day issit?

Seems like many of u wash baby clothings in washing machine even for the first time...jus separate it...maybe i shud too. Really backache ah. But their clothes so small (esp those 0-3 months and newborn type), will it shrink after the rinsing, see the machine spin and spin also quite scary....

All Mommies
Where do i go and buy hankies for the babies ah? Must buy to wipe their face or lips rite? Do we buy those towel-like kind or cotton kind like those men's hankies? I've already bought those towel-like kind to use for their bath time.

Re: backache

I have backache today when I woke up in the morning wor .... think baby change position bah ....

Hi, everyone.

Went to Sitex today and bought my Sony handycam liao. Better deal than Harvey Norman cos instead of free 512mb memory card, they gave a free 2GB card. The rest of the freebies (tripod, extra battery, camera case) the same. I bought the cheaper model (DCR-SR42E) though $899 since the salesman said the more expensive model ($1499) only better for taking still photos. Not sure if I made the right choice also, but since not sure, better buy the cheap one then the expensive one lor. :p

Hubby also bought comp games, buy 2 get 1 free. He was busy playing so hog the computer for so long, I only got to post now.

Mylife,

I also don't know how many pieces of rompers I need. My confinement lady requested for 7 pieces I think. I didn't dare to buy newborn sizes, so bought direct 3 months instead. Perhaps other mummies can advise us on the quantity to get. =)

I have finished the baby stuff washing today. So far, every thing looks ok. But I didn't use hot water to wash, so perhaps u want to note if you intend to select hot water for washing your baby stuff. =) The spinning part is ok. Everything so small, don't think they have a chance to get tangle up like our adult pants or long sleeve shirts. =P

For small towels, I bought the towel kind from Aussino during their 50% off.

Hi QQ,

Take good care of your back. I have been suffering from backache for the past 1 week.

I have difficulty in getting up from my bed or from my chair. Will be checking out with my gynae next weekend on this. It's killing me. =S

Sassy,

Don't let us influence u to get front open tops/ vests for your darling. =) Mylife and I are still figuring out which is right and which is wrong right now. *LOL*

Ah Capp, heehee..same same working mom. Only got wkends and have to wash own clothes too. Not enough bamboo even if I wanna do many washings. Haha...u are right..about same time...my edd 11 Jan.

Gee...time really flies so quick..another 6 more wks to delivery...hope I can finish my reports at work in 2 wks...hiak hiak hiak...

Ah Capp & mylife,

Like you both, I also don't want to make it difficult for either myself or hubby. Guessed Ah Capp did it well, just don't be there when they do installation. The pricing does comes with installation and since it's also a toddler bed, think it's a little more complicated then normal baby cot bah. Now, wondering when to get them to send over.

Hi, my CL asked me to buy just 4-5 BB newborn tops, said will wash often so no need to buy so much. She said no need to buy bottoms too since she will swaddle baby. So, guess she doesn't believe in rompers but I bought a few NB already. :p

my poor DH gonna fix the baby crib all by himself... as i ordered from babycenter.com during sale and my dear frd gonna help me bring back in dec... not sure if he can do it cos hes not a diy person. hopefully, will be in time, scared my baby popped early... below is the picture of the crib, cant find it in sg though.

1101590.jpg

babe, ahcapp
hehe...my edd too is near u guys, 17jan. My gynae speculated i may be delivering 1st week of Jan. As long as it's in 2008, i'm ok. Think we're going to deliver about same time? Can sms and update each other. Sorry didnt monitor, but which hospitals ru all going to be at? Ru all attending the #2 gathering? Yah lo, as babe puts it...6 more weeks leh....like so fast hor...my gf msn-ed me say seems like yday i told her i'm preggie....frankly, i'm getting very excited and panicky. Hubby yday pat-pat my tummy and say what a miracle, our flesh and blood growing inside u...another human being...suddenly so philosophical. :p Sorry la...1st time mommy ma...

Sassy
Yup, me and capp comparing notes on who said what can and what cannot. No need to go out and get front button la...just try to be careful when slipping the rompers over the head lo, i guess?

Violetice
yah me too...just arranging for the installation to be done with me "siam-ing" out of the way. i reckon as long as i'm not in the house....shud be ok bah. Like when i moved to HK, all the furnitures and installation i also just arranged and then siam down to lounge and come back up when they're done.

sassy
wat a lovely crib!!! Very nice leh...dont worry la...think baby crib not THAT hard to assemble one. Quite straight-forward and simple...sure have manual for instructions one la...dont worry!

Mylife,

What waterproof sheet are you referring to?
Is it the latex type?
Was reading the thread on things to prepare...Me getting a bit gan cheong liao, although it's my second one.

Like to share that i have a contact for custom made beansprout husks pillows (head pillow and tummy pillow for newborn). PM me if you are interested! Thanks.

GOod Sunday morning ladies! =) What a lovely day. The sun is out and looks like another good day for laundry. *LOL* Will be washing my own bedsheets this time, not the babies' =P

Wow Sassy,
What a lovely cot. ^_^ I have seen this design only in the mags from US. I don't think the installation is very difficult, but will be good if your hb can have an extra pair of hands to help him. Perhaps u can get his/your family over to help assemble it. Yesterday, 2 guys came down for my my cot installation. They completed it within 10 to 15min. So shouldn't be that difficult. No worry ya =)

The fisher price playpen is lovely =) Didn't see it in Sg yet.

Hi mylife,
I am going to Mt Alvernia. Will PM u my name and contact no. Here I thought I still have 7weeks+ when suddenly yesterday, I realise I only have 6 weeks left! Panic mode on already! *LOL*

Hi kitsune,
Yes, my confinement lady also doesn't believe in my bottoms. But when I went over to my niece's place when she is only 1 month's old, her mum put on long pants for her during daytime. But with the swaddling, definately don't need pants I must agree with u =)

Ah Capp & mylife,
I also get open vest kind for newborn. Same same, baby head too soft, hard to wear romper until 1-2 more mths. Me also buy like 3 mths and above romper for BB. I bought only 2 NB size, hoping that he can wear during full mth and CNY. :p i got 6pcs of vests then quite a lot of it are hands-me-down.. so I think should be enough.

Yesterday start to pack my hospital pack.. 90% done. :D

Ah Capp & kitsune,
Bottom also depends on your baby, my friend bb need bottoms because she likes to kick so much that, it is almost impossible to swaddle or cover the baby with blanklet. hahaha.

Hi icy,

Hospital bag.. yes, I am looking for the list to start packing mine today. Er.. more like throw in a few items every weekend =P

I am still trying to figure out where to get the best maternity sanitary pads! =S

Ok, what your feedback, maybe my pants/ shorts will not be wasted afterall. =P

sassy
must get playpen also ah? I only got a cot and a rocker. No playpen...think maybe when baby is older, maybe around 6mths...then will get a playpen for her.

ahcapp
ok, will PM u my contacts also. Me going to TMC for delivery. Oh yah, i almost forgot to wash her beddings as well!! I bought those 7 pieces bedding set leh...so apart from the fitted sheet, can i also put the cot bumpers into the washing machine as well ah? Any advise?

Icy
my mom say, maybe 2 weeks time, baby can wear rompers liao, cos neck muscles shud have strengthened abit by then. Just only very very newborn cannot wear only...dunno la.

Blackbatz
Errr...i'm referring to those sheet that u laced beneath the bedsheet so that if baby pee and wet the bed, it wont wet the mattress la. I dunno mine latex or not cos i bought from Robinson one. Blur.

QQ
when u get up, always get up from the side. Turn to your side and using your palms, press on the bed and lift yourself up to sitting position first. Dont ask hubby to pull u up by your arms, it'll strain your back and tummy. That's wat was taught in Mrs Wong's antenatal class.

Today i woke up can feel baby's movement. Sadly, i think her feet is still down below ie breeched. Sigh. Maybe it's fated i gotta go for c-sect.

Mom2nat,

Kidzloft is located at No. 154 Tagore Lane
Tel: 63336002 web: www.kidzloft.com

Like sassy said, the store is small (1st floor is the showroom/store & the rest is warehouse) but i reckon u go to their website & look at the products & price b4 going down. That's what i did...i wanna buy a latex playpen mattress & the price was pretty reasonable aft less 30% so i went down otherwise would not make a trip there. But they do carry alot of "goldbug" products (socks/hats/swaddle cloth) & having 15% for white tag aka regular price items.
*If u have frds celebrate bb 1st birthday (of the month), you get to enjoy 50% off regular price items from Kidzloft...call the shop to find out more!*

i am going BHG this afternoon to check out any gd buys...

QQ,

Re: wedding dinners

i oso have a wedding dinner to attend this month. No pantang for me. So far, i've attended my colleague's wedding when i was 2mths preggy & a funeral wake during 6mths preggy.
Another dinner i look forward to be able to attend b4 i go deliver is my company d&d on 12Jan08

mylife,

Don't be dishearten by baby's position. Sometimes, they turn & head down the last minute.
My gynae encourage me to walk more so that baby will stay in the head down position & probably engage during wk36. I hope to experience natural birth but still must prep myself for any unforeseen circumstances..emergency c-sect in case natural birth is not the ideal choice. So, u will be flying back SIN for next checkup?

steph heehee ... me too ever since i preggie i got lotsa invitation of wedding dinner hahahah ... but i try not to go funeral wor ... even my frds dun wanna inform me abt it.

my life thats what i do every time woke up only on my right side not left side