(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi hi....for concentrate birdnest, which brand is better? Eu Yang Seng or Lo Hang Ka? Those who are taking can give me some advice.

Tu hou yan good?

mom2nat,
change sitting on the bed will also feel backache ah? hmm..in that case, prob spending $40 on the changing table is worth it. But then again, i have space contraints, got to think of some place to put the changing table.

Thanks, VioletIce. Will check it the cabinet. Exploring other options too like chest of drawers or cheap ikea changing table.

Mummies, i'm going to organise bulk purchase for Xmas Pooh Bear.. ideal for xmas present..u gals interested? let me know and i can send you more details..

Anyone experiencing baby hiccupping quite often ?
Man...i am feeling so sleepy & restless at work. Been having strange dreams & waking up in the middle of the nite at 3am (disturb by bb's Kongfu kicks) & another one at 6am to pee.
Strange dreams like helping my frd's baby breastfeed & i got no BM...my nipple b'come sore & painful?!?!Siao Siao liao...

How's our gathering #2 huh? still ON ?

yeah both my boys been hiccupping often. the one outside and the one inside too. My elder one had 4 bouts of hiccups ystrday. So scared he'd throw up. He had a look as tho he didn't feel well

steph i oso have dreams lately and woke up often to pee pee ... my cough still not ok yet and am having headache cough till headache think i shall take mc tmr..... cant take it .... i took cough syrup from my gynae but didnt work on me.

angelsky i see my frd's can see the baby face wor

nowadays my cravings come fast & furious.. sometimes even b4 i can satisfy it, it's gone liao.
want to eat
- chocolate
- pork floss
- sushi

the feeling just comes and goes. Like i feel like eating choc. I bought liao, put in my drawer, then dun feel like eating liao. I become a food hoarder...

I got weird dreams too...Then Hubby goes to guess 4D but number sold out for last week. End up, the number comes out as consolation price. Exzxt number so more. :s

angelsky,
any itch? if there's itch then call your doc for advice.

my gynae adviced me to use feminine wash + take plain yogurt to produce good bacteria. maybe case by case basis, better confirm with your gynae before doing anything.

angelsky tat time I itchy and have fungus wor due to the panty liner i wear now i no wear pantyliner liao wor i very scare ..... now i use J&J bathwash .... someone recommend me i think is Chaye

Re: increase discharge

angelsky,
i oso have increase discharge (pale yellowish but it doesn't itch) just have to change panty liner frequently & use feminine wash bah

Maybe i'll ask gynae to do Strep B test...if necessary to see if any infection (play safe).

Countdown...another 10mins...

, no itch, just suddenly see it I got a shock. Then I dont have to call the doctor for nothing. Phew. I use cetaphil le.

mei
I can't rem leh, either $299 or $328. Dunno if they still have it in their website.

Ernmum
Hee... the bumper mat is quite nice and comfy, but I din choose the thicker one, cos i scared my girl run and trip at the corners.
That is my girl's play area, cum study. It is actually a room, but we chose to have it taken down, just beside the living room, so in a way, we can always see her.

Luvv
The Ikea one is good, cos $40, if later you wanna throw, not so heart pain. You gotta buy your own mat though. But of cos if you see those good changing tables, v nice and sturdy lor, lots of compartments, abt $100+.
For me hor, last time I change my girl on the sofa or bed, then she poo, v troublesome, I take warm water, and cotton wool, need to put at a table beside me. Maybe if you space constraint, you try on the bed first, see if you ok with it. If need be then go buy one lor.

QQ, I also noticed that my discharge increased since beginning of 3rd trimester. :p

Mom2nat, my colleague passed me her musical changing mat, will check out the ikea catalogue and see if the size fits.

Hi icy & godsent,

Thank you for your feedback on cordbank. Will be attending the talk next month to find out more before I sign-up.

Hi tattybaby,

The old navy baby blanket I got from Clementi is 100% cotton. Soft and nice. Definately not fleece material. Do drop by to check it out when u happen to be there. But while I was there on Sat, there are 2 blue blankets and 2 pink ones. I got 1 of the blue ones already. Btw, it's not hooded, just normal blanket size for babies. =)

I am wondering, do your CLs give you a list of things to buy/prepare for the confinement? Mainly herbs. Mine a long list, like 10 to 15 items. Even have cordyceps! wonder how she assume pple can afford?

Mom2nat, my cousin passed me the list cos she used the same CL. She told me cordyceps very exp now, can don't include in the list but I wrote it down anyway but without specifying qty cos I don't know how much and whether to buy. Hubby passed the list to my MIL to help buy. Hee, in the end, my MIL still bought leh though it's very exp cos Hock Hwa told MIL year end even more exp. :p Think can ask the medical hall what can substitute cordyceps.

Hi Mom2nat,

Yes, my CL gave me a list of items to buy. Eg diapers, towels, pails, wipes etc. For herbs, she will help me buy.

Cordyceps is an expensive herb is it? But after reading Kitsune's msg, I know what you ladies are talking about. My CL didn't tell me about this wor. But my MIL did. My mum checked the price for me in HK, also very expensive in HK.

Ah Capp
Mine ah, not those things, all are herbs! To cook or boil soup/drink. Cordyceps I heard abt $8K per kg. The daily items she din mention, I guess cos mine #2 liao, I shld know.

Kitsune
Wah, your mil buy for you ah!!! My mil only say and say wat is good, tell my mom her so and so fren say wat to eat. But until now, din buy me anything!! NO bird's nest, no herbs, no soup. nothing. I have some cordyceps at home, cos my uncle's freight client imports them, gave some to him, he gave us lor. I just counted, got 5 stalks left, each stalk bigger than my 3rd finger.

Errr... are your babies gg to sleep with the CL? Then you gg to on the aircon or fan?

Ya, cordyceps even more exp than gold now, think must eat every strand. The theory is that due to 2008 Olympics, China stockpiling cordyceps for their sportsmen but export demand for cordycep outside China also very high so in the end, the price rise and rise lor. :p

can i ask the experienced mommies a question? Is it okay for us to varnish the baby cot? My dear hubby lah....wanted to add his personal touch to the baby cot we bought, so he went Ikea and bought the clear varnish to varnish the baby cot. Initially i also tot it's a good idea, but after varnishing, i realised there is a strong smell, but then few days later, the smell subsided...but it SUDDENLY occured to me, is it really okay to varnish the cot? Would it cause harm to baby, like when they learn to bite the rails of the cot??? Jialat...can anyone advise?

Hee hee, ya lor. Sometimes, I think my hubby is ILs' pet plus this is their first grandchild so me and BB stand to gain lor.
Cordyceps so exp, I don't even dare to ask my mum to buy for me. :p

Don't want to let BB sleep in air con, if not next time go everywhere also must have air con before she can sleep, also think BB who sleep in air con room always have dust allergy problem. Plus want to save on utilities bill also. there's a tower fan in BB's room now. Will try it out during ML, hope she can adjust from hospital's aircon environment to no air con at home.

mylife,
Lilaboo is quite cool and hip looking...I bought the coloured ones from another BP. Then Nor started the BP which includes the printed ones. Sigh. Been eyeing them for a long time cos missed the BP in Oct by other people.

I ordered California Baby products from Nor. If you like, you should keep a lookout for her BP in Dec. California Baby products are organic.

The other one is the Joey Diaper bag express in other BP. The denim is also nice but the organiser did not post the pix.

I'm always on the look out for bargains in the BP thread..he..he..very addictive le!!

If from Ikea, should be safe? They always test their products. Can give Ikea a call..

Not all babies will bit at the rails of the co la..Mine bit the PVC sofa until I had to buy a new set for my mm

kitsune
My girl sleeping in our room, we all can't live withour aircon. Then after CL leaves, bb gg to sleep in my room oso. So dunno to let bb sleep aircon from start or later then adust to aircon.

My mil dotes on hb oso, but she will give the excuse tat she dunno how to cook or boil those nutritious things for me, so tell my mom, since my mom knows. My mom pays for all the bird's nest and my hb gets a portion oso, cos my mom oso dotes on him.

Ay you say eat every strand of the codyceps, how to?? My mom kept it in the freezer, I take out hor, hard like a marker pen, and the strands dun look hairy, more like stiff and short, the stalk itself longer.

After you boil or 'dun' for sometime, the cordyceps actually become quite soft. My mum bought cordyceps for me when it was much cheaper and we would 'dun' 8-9 strands each time with lean pork, even back then i would ask hubby to eat it, but not the black stem just the yellow 'crunchy' part.

Kitsune
Hmmm.. Let me show you the photo. The yellow crunchy part seems so short for mine leh!! Is tat the nutritious part? And I dunno where's the black stem. Or did I dig out the wrong herb? Haha...
1079816.jpg

kitsune
Hahaha... ok, maybe tat one is tong sum... I go find again! Heee...
Btw ah, cordyceps is a worm, some worm died inside and blah blah....

Ya I know, it's a worm in summer but the fungus killed the host (worm) in winter. That's why also known as dong cong xia cao. Hubby was most horrified that I've been making him eat the worms. But I told him technically it is already a plant when harvested. Hee hee.

Mom2nat,

Yours is "tung sen"...not expensive...need a lot during confinement but I don't know what's the benefits.

Cordyceps or "tong cong xia chao" looks like dried worms.

I showed my hb, he say tat one not cordyceps cos my mom show him b4. My mom go holiday, dunno where she kept it! Heee....

Ya, better check with your mum when she's back. If I've known the price will jump by so much, should have bought more in feb/mar period. Haha. Okie, going to bed soon, woke up 3 times last night to go toilet, very tired. :p