(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi, QQ & 3rascals. Wa, you are up till so late yesterday?

QQ, ya true. Better cut down on carbos then. Did the gynae advise how much weight you can gain per month? Maybe can break down into weeks cos easier to monitor weekly gain?

I bought mixed nuts (almond, cashew nuts, peanuts) yesterday to increase intake of magnesium. Hope it'll help with my leg cramps.

kitsune heehee ya I went out with my neighbours to feast :X kekeke then headed back home rest and play mj till ard tat time loh .....

Gynae say i cannot gain weight anymore muhahaha cos I am at plus size mah so she worried oso kekek so will try cutting down bah

Kitsune,
YOu mean there is hello kitty play mat! wow. so nice.. I like it and tot of buying for myself as mine is a boy and doubt he knows how to appreciate hello kitty stuff! Sure not cheap if its original Sanrio prodicts leh... Keep me updated.. Yours is a gal huh? Thats why can get hello Kitty stuff! Drool sia!

Kitsune,
Tot nuts causes allergy esp peanuts... I love them too.. but stopped now including my fav peanut soup cause of the allergry it might cause... better take a minimal of it:p

btw ladies, has anyone of you signed up for Stemcord or Cordlife? Can I ask what is the difference between these 2?

I will be attending the talk by Stemcord on 8 Dec (Sat). I was told that I can get $150 off if I were to sign-up on that day. Anyone of u going for the talk?

Hi Ah Capp,

Is this stemcord or cordlife necessary. Whats it actually for? I read up that it help cures majour illness in bb right? But it not cheap... abtt a few thousands huh? Can you share with me a little more abtt it?

Fern

Hi Fern,

It's for u to store your baby's cord blood for future emergency use in case of illness. The list of illness which the cord blood can help cure is listed in their website. It's not say 100% necessary, but it's for parents who want to store it for "just in case" illness situations.

I will be going to the talk on 8 Dec at Gleneagles Hospital to find out more for myself before I sign-up. If u are interested, give them a call and sign-up for the talk too. =) I am sure we'll be able to find out more on that day.

Btw, for stemcord, I was told that the set-up fee is $1150. 1st yr free. Later on, every year is $250 (if I remember correctly).

hi, QQ. Oh I see, must have been fun. Me need to work today so can't stay up late. Knock off after watching Survivor.

Fern, I didn't buy Hello Kitty, Mylife is the one who wants to buy the Hello Kitty design one. I bought Sweet Bear cos Hubby wants one with ABC back design. You can see the one I bought from my blog. www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com.

I signed up with Cordlife. $1000 (after $400 discount) + $250 (annual) during their forum.

Ah Capp,
Thanks! I dun think I will get as its rather ex leh. ANyhow, if its not necessary its ok lah! Hope you have a gd time at the talk and do share with us after that

Kitsune,
haha... oops.. I got the names mixed up again... lol.. ya.. will check out... I am also a hello kitty lover... SO cute and not able to resists getting the stuff! Too bad.. I doubt my darling boy knows how to appreeciate that lor.

Fern
if u're not considering private cord blood bank storage, why not donate to public bank. www.scbb.com.sg
- No $$ outlay
- Stored in public bank, available for worldwide matching, can help others in need
- If insufficient volume, can also be used in stem cell research

Think of it like our Singapore Blood Bank, only this is for Cord Blood, not regular blood which men/ non preggies can also donate.

U can give them a call (their tel in the website) and they will fix up appt to hv a chat with u to find out more abt medical history, coz this is for public use & donors are screened thoroughly. Eg they'll ask u qstns like whether anyone in husband & your family hv mad cow disease.. ?!?!?!

Hi violetice,
I'm looking for a wardrobe or chest of drawers to put my bb's things too. Thought of Toyogo but my mother says it doesn't look nice. Duh. Anyway, there's a Toyogo warehouse that you can go to. If you're interested, tell me. I get the address for you. My bro went the other time and said the prices were a little cheaper.

Haha, it's ok, so many posts, I can't keep track sometimes too. I like Hello Kitty too but I'm a bigger fan of Peter Rabbit. My cousin bought me a Peter Rabbit baby book, so cute. If any mummies sees Peter Rabbit baby stuff, please let me know.

Mcfluffy, I also thinking of getting another drawer/cabinet to store Baby diapers etc for easy retrieval but must be kid friendly so drawers are out for me. Anyone has any idea what is cheap & good? Don't want to spend too much unless can use for long term. :p

Hi Fern,

No problem. =)

Hi Kitsune,

Looks like both banks' charges roughly the same. Thank u for your feedback. Will go for the talk and find out more.

Talk about chest of drawers for baby's stuff..

Do I really need a changing table for our baby? Will it be too troublesome to keep on pulling on the changing mat, place it on our bed and change diapers?

Any one has any feedback?

QQ
dun hv to inform your gynae. SCBB will give u a letter to pass to the nurses at the delivery suite.

ahcapp
if u dun hv back problems, i guess it's fine to change bb diapers on the bed. But my husband has bad back, so he insisted on smthg higher so that he dun need to bend over. We permanently place changing mat on the flat surface of a chest of drawers. At our waist level.

AhCapp, I wanted to buy a changing table too. Supposed to help prevent back problems instead of keep bending down to change diapers. But some mummies from the forum said it's useful but not much mileage so decided not to get it unless it's second hand and cheap. My colleague who is mummy of two said can also put BB on the floor (I'll use my bumper mat) to change so that we can sit down, less tiring cos she said changing table, still need to bend a bit cos won't be exactly at our waist level.

Hi wendyg & kitsune,

Thank you for your feedback. My hubby has back problem. Will see if I can get something cheap or second hand. But if can't, I will have to change my baby on my bed though. Just wondering about dragging the changing mat out and chunking it back into the storage every few hours that's all... =P

QQ, this is what my sis help to buy for me, at her fren's shop in lavender. Don't know how much it cost individually but she paid $70 for 5 sets of PJs + 6 nursing bras (but only beige colour). Very cheap.

kitsune & Ah Capp,
what about changing on the bed and we sit on the bed while changing, then we don't have to bend our backs too much.

My gynae mention that some people complain about backache as the side effects of epidural. She say backache most probably cause by pregancy + constant back bending when changing diaper for babies.

Heehee..juz came back from gynae visit on Fri. So far put on 10kg already....bb 1.8kg at 32 weeks. See some of your babies really big!

Nursing bra getting cheaper and cheaper.

Mommies trying out grace, can let us know ur comments after the trial? Thanks. My hb dun allow me to do prenatal massage coz scare anything happen to baby so I gotta wait eventhough sometimes ache here and there..

babe,
32 weeks already, so another 8 more weeks only, time really flies!

if hubby don't allow prenatal massage, ask him to massage you every night! :p

hey ladies,

juz back from marks & spencer at parkway. FYI, they having a "buy 2nd bra at 50% off". i juz bought 2 boxes at $150. each box's original price is $99. each box has 1 white and 1 black nursing bra. so total 2 boxes = 4 pieces at $150.

Hi Luvv,

Yupe, will most likely clear all my pillows away and change my baby's diapers on my bed. =) Actually, kinda of doubt that I can fit in a changing table in the baby's room as I have fitted in wardrobes already.

Btw, can I ask where is this shop in Lavender which your sis went to? Just interested to know in case I want to get PJs.

I have asked my mums to help me get more sets of front open short sleeve + shorts PJs from HK for my confinement. Couldn't really find cheap ones in Sg. The cheapest I saw so far is at this lingerie sale now at Taka. $19.90/ set. Quite nice actually. =)

Nursing bras..
Looks like we will never run out of choices when it comes to bras.

Shopping today..
I was at Clement central today and found this really lovely baby blanket from Old Navy. 100% cotton n very soft. Bought it in baby blue (with hedgehogs). They have another similar one in baby pink (with squarrels). I think this looks very similar to the Gap one which you ladies were talking about selling at BabyCloset Bulk Purchase. Any 2 for $10, so I throw in an Old Navy romper to make it up to $10. This is the wholesale-kinda shop next to the POSB.

Also went to Aprisin to get the Aprica pram which I have been eyeing forever! Very happy as I can finally strike this off my wish list. Also manage to get a new padding for my hand-me-down Graco infant car seat, at $41. Saved a bit of money. =)

Moo-Moo-Cow @ the Arcade #01-30 Raffles Place...
Did I mention that I went to the above and found some really lovely baby clothings? They have Old Navy, Carters, Pumpkin patch (oh goosh, so cute rompers!) and Gap. The price is rather reasonble as it's those "wholesaler" kind of shop. I bought 5 pairs of socks ($2 each) and 2 hats ($3 each). The Pumpkin Patch rompers were really cute, but I didn't get as I have too many pieces already.

Not sure if they have other branches or not though.

fern
yah...i was the one who wan to get the hello Kitty playmat...i love Sanrio too...but me crazy on Little Twin Stars rather than Hello Kitty...me expecting baby girl...so will "educate" her on Sanrio next time...hahaha...hubby said "siao liao if baby grow to love Hello Kitty cos Hello Kitty more merchandise!" Anyway, like Kitsune, i also wanted to buy the one with ABC behind, but very expensive leh...

Kitsune
Which measurement did u buy? Is it only the big one got ABC behind, ie small one $110 dont have?

AhCapp
Looks like u have lots of fun shopping huh! retail therapy always the best!

Hi mummies/mummies-to-be,

I've the following items for sale...

1) 1 pack of Kotex maternity adhesive sanitary pad

2) 1 BN pack of blue absorbent blue sheet (to prevent staining)

3) 3 packs of matenity size cotton disposable panties.

Pls email me at [email protected] if interested...

Hi mylife,

Yes, I have been really stressed up with my project lately. So that's why took whole day off yesterday to R&R. Today also very relax, slept late and go baby shopping with hubby. If only every day is like this =)

Really love the Old Navy baby blanket & romper (Total $10). So here is the pic to share with u ladies:

1076677.jpg

I'm from Oct-07 mum thread. Selling my almost new "Breast" Friend breastfeeding pillow (used less than 5 times). As i express out my breast milk, did not latch on so selling this. It's very handy when latching on baby, the material is comfortable and there's a back support so mummy will not strain your back while breastfeeding.

Bought it at Taka baby fair ard $70. Offer at $60 now. Interested mummies or MTBs pls email me @ [email protected]. Thanks!

1076706.jpg

Hi, Luvv. Ya, can probably change on the bed, that's what my auntie do, she babysits my cousin's little boy. But for the first 40 days, I'll have a CL so either change on the sofa bed or the floor loh. I think I'll probably see what CL does then follow accordingly.

Mylife, the one I bought is 1900mm x 1300mm x 11mm. From what I know, the only 2 small mats that has ABC on the back is Sweet Bear and Mousse Bear. The $110 mat only has a woodgrain backing, no ABC. If you have the space and can bear the pinch, go for a big one. Now, my mat looks ok but once the baby learns to crawl or walk, the mat might be too small for her. What size did your friend buy?

There's a discussion about bumper playmats, that's the main reason why I decided to buy though I still feel it's exp. Minitoons sell cheaper playmat but the mummies say quality not as good. :p

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/730186.html?1193452700

Mcfluffy,

Thanks for the info. Is it the one located at Toa Payoh Lorong 8? Thinking of going tomorrow or Mon/Tues to buy before Hubby goes for reservice for 2 weeks! Sian man, Hubby keeps nagging about safety precaution when I'm alone at home. Haha. Your Mum said it's ugly ar? But I thought cheap and durable and at the same time if next time don't want it won't be so heart pain.

What did the rest buy to put baby's stuffs?

AhCapp,
getting the address from my sis, will post details once i gets it.

violetlce & Mcfluffy,
i'm also thinking of getting the drawers but for my new maid. I think it's cheap and durable.

i have an existing mini wardrobe to put all my baby's stuff. Just cleared all the junk in there to make space.

hi kitsune
wow...thanks for the ref...never knew there's a discussion on the usage of bumper playmat....will psycho hubby to get the one with ABC on the back...heh heh. But i read the 15mm one like thicker ad better rite? Will go and check it out again..did u buy yours from Great World City or from the BP thread?

Ahcapp
The hedgehog blanket is so cute! And for $10 is a real steal.
Today also dragged my hubby to go do some retail therapy...also bought some 3m-6m clothes for baby girl..hehe

Hi, Mylife. I bought mine from BP thread, from Alien77 cos $7 cheaper than SSW (the other supplier). Haha, I cheapskate mah. But SSW COD but Alien77 need 50% deposit cos she is also a MTB like us, not a full time retailer like SWW. Ya, if you can afford then go for the 15mm one, I wanted to do that but the bigger, 15mm mats don't have ABC design which I like so got to compromise lor. That's why thinking of getting another thicker one for ILs place. Since so playmat so exp, I used it as a cosy corner so that I can nua on it & hubby can do his marking there so that we make full use of the mat. Hee.

Hi, Luvv. I got a BB wardrobe too but my cousin commented that if I put everything inside must keep opening and closing the cupboard to take diaper, BB powder, cotton buds, cotton ball etc also very mafan. So now thinking whether to get a plastic shelf rack (those that look like plastic shoe rack). Things will be exposed but at least the plastic shelf quite cheap.

Luvv,

If I go Toyogo this week will let you know roughly how much they are. Think I'll buy 1 first and see how. Can put at my mum's place too, just for storage purposes when baby go over. Hee...

who also can't sleep tonight?

ah capp
i also hv the ON blanket.. i hv the blue one and the white one. Bought fr a spree last year, can't remember how much i paid for it. i think your $5 was a good buy! Initially i wanted to give as present, but when i saw it i liked it so much i decided to keep, but that time not pregnant yet wor... hahaha. Now hv to dig out & wash to prepare liao.

kitsune
i change my boy's diapers on top of a chest of drawers, at my waist level. His daily toiletries r in the top 2 drawers & his clothes in the bottom drawers. So when changing diaper/ after bath, i hv his diapers, nappy cream, ru-yi oil, cotton buds, moisturiser, fresh clothes etc all within reach. Just pull out drawers a bit & grab.

Hi violetice,
I thought of buying it coz it's cheaper and can buy a nicer looking one when I move to my new house next year. Now still staying at mum's house, but mum says buy a nicer looking one. Haha, maybe she doesn't want her house to look ugly. :p

Yes, the warehouse at TPY if I'm not wrong. Do check out what is good there and tell us...

Luvv,
yah.. I think getting a toyogo drawer for maid is perfectly fine. The maid at my MIL house also has one. Can contain everything.

wendyg,
I thought of your method but also worry about safety. But you've tried it before ya? Any problems with it? It seems like a good idea.. hehe.

Anyway, I was also thinking of buying those children's wardrobe from Ikea but it seems too expensive... Aiyah, dunno how. Running out of space!

Good Sunday morning ladies!

Hi goodbabyb,

Yes, do you remember that there used to be a post office next to POSB at Clementi Centre? The post office has moved away and in came 6 new shops. One of them is this shop which is like "song & song" but the name is different. I was there yesterday and found lots of baby rompers and this Old Navy blanket. So the rompers and the blanket was selling for $5.90/ each or 2 for $10. Of course I get 2 items for $10 lah. =P

Aprisin is located at Tagone Lane. It's the distributor for Graco, Aprica, Litle Tikes. I was there yesterday to get my Aprica pram.

Here is the contacts:

www.aprisin.com.sg

Aprisin Singapore Pte Ltd
50, Tagore Lane Unit #B1-02, Markono Districentre
Singapore 787494
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (65) 63368311
Fax: (65) 63399119
Operating Hours: 10:00am to 6:00pm (Mon-Sat)

I wonder if anyone of u remember that there used to be this shop which sells lots of prams and baby stuff at Selegie Complex (or is it centre). But now Selegie Complex (or Centre) has been bought over by Capital Land and has been demolished. This Aprisin shop is the one! I just found out yesterday when I was talking to Diana (The nice sales) from Aprisin.

Hi Wendyg,

After reading your msg, suddenly realised that my build-in wardrobes (my room and my baby room) drawers are the bottom of the wardrobe. I think I need something to store the diapers + borang borang. Or else I will have to bend my back all the time to grab the items when I change his diapers. Dear me...

Oh yes, the Old Navy blanket is so soft and lovely. $5 is indeed a steal. Too bad the other colour is pink, or else I would have get it too. ;)

Hi mylife,

My mum is in HK like u. She bought some baby clothings for my baby. Really lovely and unique designs they have in HK. =) It's Sunday today. Go out for food and shopping is the best! *thumbs up*

Morning everybody!

Itz been awhile since i last log on...

i hav been every buzi lately becos my co. got a new general mgr..

u guys talkin abt nursing bras and washing of baby clothing... actually how many nursing bras do we need to buy? my frz juz delivered in June told mi to buy 10 nursing bras wor!! unless u wash ur clothing daily. can use washing machine ritz or need to hand wash bb clothing?

my appt last fri, i gained total 10kg and bb is 1.5kg.. my gynae said i control my diet v well..
becos my OGTT result stated i hav mild GD. so every visit to gynae gotta poke for blood test. Lucky no need to do it myself.

Icy: dont drink ur annmum or any dumex milk anymore... aft e visit to dietitian , i hav throw it away.. she told mi juz tak any fresh milk or HL milk will do and only 1glass per day.
and i still drink my milo daily but juz 2 tablespoon and without anyting. Never tak those 3in1 milo too. if i tak any chicken rice or mee, always left 1/3 of it.

i waitin for hubby to wake up then can go and do some shopping...

Lynn
I have. You no need the card, just the IC number. YOu want?

Today's weather so good, can go for a dip. Maybe if you look out of your window can see my hb and girl swimming now.