(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2Nat,
I dun have corporate or member's rates for other hotels at Sentosa leh... Capella is exp leh... Maybe cheapest will be Amara Santactuary??? I remembered I stayed a few year back, not bad lah, the beach is right in front of it. But the hotel breakfast sucked...

NVM, just make it a day trip to USS.

Save money to KL getaway next year.

Kam,
A few days ago, I asked if Shangri La KL Hotel is nice??? Can reply??? TIA. Or any other mummies have any idea??

Blackbatz,
So you officially on 2 years NPL??? Nice leh..

Krystle,
Sorry. Forgot to reply you. I didn't know much about hotels at KL. We previously didn't stay hotel, stayed at my brother's. Only these 2 years started to stay. Tried 4 hotels so far. But we stayed outskirts leh, to be close to my brother. This nov trip we might be staying at KL city. Shangri-La won't go wrong bah, well known hotel chain. But if it's location, I may be able to help a little, you tell me what you want to do and your transport mode, eg, shopping or sightseeing, that I can tell if the hotel location is good or not.

Mom2nat, I'm staying at Festive Hotel. Yup, bo bian cos the package $598 ends before school hols start so I had to make my hubby take leave. The $598 package is most worth it, cos cheaper than me using member price for rooms then buy USS tickets separately. But, luckily 17-18 Nov already quite close to Dec holidays, since he doesn't want to go overseas, might as well clear his childcare leave bit by bit, if not also lugi.

Btw, for your whole village, how many pax you have per room? The hotel reservation gal said if 3 adults and 2 kids in a room (I want to ask my MIL along since she likes to go casino and has been hinting since last yr :p), must pay additional $60 for the adult. But the festive hotel family room has 1 loft bed, 1 king size bed and 1 sofa bed opened up to double bed. So many beds, why cannot add 1 more person? Plus both my kids not even 4 yrs old yet so not considered 'hotel child' age yet, so I don't fall under the 2 adults, 2 children category either. Don't understand why I need to pay extra? :p

Krystle, can I ask? Did they check for kids' identification when you went to VDLV? Cos I went to the website and realised that kids 2-3 can go for free while kids above 4 yrs old must pay. RL is almost 2 yrs by 17 Nov since her bd is on 2 Dec, dun know whether can sneak her in? If can, then me and hubby can watch VLDV with the 2 gals while my MIL goes to casino on her own. :p

Btw, if you want a hotel at Sentosa that is not very exp, can try Siloso beach resort. The breakfast quite basic though, only American breakfast plus egg station and a few dim sum choices. But they have very nice jacuzzi rooms for couples. http://www.silosobeachresort.com/index.aspx

Blackbatz, 2 years NPL, that's very nice.
That's the good thing about being teachers. Can take long NPL if principal or HOD is understanding, not for male teachers though. :p

Kitsune,
Opps. I think the hotel I stayed is Siloso Beach Resort, not Amara. Hehehe... My memory is failing me.

They never checked kids' age for VDLV.
I just went this year Mar when my girl is still 3. But we had a tix for her since we got too many FOC tix... But I think you don't have to worry. Can bring RA in. I saw another audience who brought a younger child who was one year plus... So you can bring RL too..

The reason they charged $60 additional is for breakfast???
But I think most hotels only allow max 2A2C in a room.
You don't have to tell them there is another person. Just sneak your MIL in.

Pixie
When ur boy goes to P1 then u realise they have so much to learn. U even got to do show n tell or mini projects with them.

Krystle
Yup, heard Capella most exp. I haven't even been to uss ah!!

Kitsune
U can bring mil wat! No need tell them. I know of pple 2 adults n 3 teenagers stay that family deluxe room. If they qn at check in, just say not all staying over.
I booked hard rock. Cos I dun wan to shout at my kids climbing the bunk bed, oso not enuf for my family. We have..... Hb & I, 3 kids, mom, mil & maid! Or I won't call them village!

Kam,
I am planning to go for 3D2N.
Still have not decided if to take flight up or drive up. I don't feel safe driving up but if my other friends are driving too, then it is ok.
Can recommend some shopping centres and 1,2 places for sightseeing will do. Is there any factory outlet in KL??? Just know a very popular factory outlet opened in Johor.. tempted to go. :p

Mom2Nat,
Well you are going to USS very soon! I only been twice for the evening special. Only walked the front part. My girl wants to visit the Shrek castle. Are you getting double bed or king bed?? I got a double bed that time + 1 pull out bed. Enough sleeping space for 2A2C although I asked my mum to stay over but she did not.

Better to request for early check in time. That time I had to wait until 4pm+ then I can get a room and it was still not the King size bed that I wanted.

wow, seems like alot of mummies going to USS for the next 2 months. I have never been to USS before..
I am tempted to get the RWS package too, but just realised its very ex for December.

krystle,
It's fun to drive up to KL. the journey is not very long too..
taking plane means u need to reach airport earlier to check in. also a waste of time.

mom2nat,
U really have a whole village.
How do your MIL and mum get along so well? My ILs and parents seldom meet. and both sets have different thinking n ideas. I dont think I can tahan them staying together with me..:p

Mom2nat, krystle, additional $60 charge not for breakfast leh, breakfast is $28++ per pax, $14++ for kids above 4 years old. I asked and the gal just told me innkeeper's policy, never explain. Maybe it's insurance charge bah.

Never mind, I think I will sneak MIL in. Already asked her this morning and she is keen to go. If they ask, just say she not staying, coming with us to universal studio/casino.

Krystle, I did ask for early check in at 12noon cos the kids need their afternoon nap and a baby cot but as usual they always say subject to availability. But since checking in on Thurs, hope they can do it for us since off peak mah.

Mom2nat, I also not keen for the kids to climb the loft bed but bo bian the package is for this family room. RA wil definitely be thrilled by the loft bed. I thought try festive hotel since the room is bigger, better for 3A2C and supposed to be more kids friendly.

Anyone knows if I can buy an additional USS Senior citizen ticket at festive hotel itself? Or should I buy online first then print myself? But don't know how they check the senior citizen's age then.

Krystle, I stayed at Siloso Beach resort twice. First time very nice cos it was very new and v cheap, less than $200. Second time not so nice cos the room not well maintained, obvious stain on armchair in one room or a musty/smoky smell in another room. I had to ask for a can of air freshener from the hotel but it didn't help. So, in the end, change back to the stained armchair room. :p

Shannonbaby, yup, for Dec, they have the $768 package or the $988 package, more exp lar but you do get better tickets for VDLV, Cat 4 ($88) instead Cat 5($68). Plus no need to take leave if it's weekend, which is good for working parents. 2 persons' leave worth quite a bit liao.

kitsune
You should have bought the USS extra tix when booking this, cos might be sold out for the day, Oso, using matercard got 20% discount,. Quick call

I rushing out, gg tea with hb, tata...

Mom2nat,
Actually, I farm out but supervise his enrichment center work. Grammar, tenses must keep doing MCQ over and over. Guide her to look for clues in the sentences..The assessment which I gave you is a good way to start. Grammar is very wide range. At lower primary, most of the kids are confused with subject-verb agreement .At upper level, sometimes I am stuck , then have to go and check wu ling mi ji. Compre not just must practice (but also depends on whether the children are exposed to reading a wide variety of books etc). Usually girls tend to perform better lei..

Your daughter's school and my son's school samama, parents must put in the effort to teach the child.
Honestly, I do not know if I would go crazy or not. Not sure which one drive me nuts, my kids in school or my kids at home...

Krystle,
Shangri La is nice what. Hubby just went to KL last week for biz trip and stayed there. Cannot go wrong. New factory outlet in JB? Where?

Kitsune,
At least you hubby still can apply for his childcare leave. I didn't take for 2 years liao..Not many people (including male teachers) dare to apply..Sigh!!

Aiyo..all of you are making plans for holidays..My kids are going with hubby and parents to genting without me and bb..Sigh..

kitsune,
Just sneak her in lah. No one would ask one lah.

krystle,
I agree with shannonbaby. Not only the waiting time, if added the transfer time for airport to hotel/town, driving does really save lots of time! One option you can consider is to drive and park at the hotel. Then you take public transport to go around the city. Taxi is very affordable.

One shopping place a lot of Singaporeans' like is the ones at the Mid-Valley City. There are a total of 3 hotels at Mid Valley, the Garden Hotel and Residence, Boulevard Mid Valley, and Cititel Mid Valley. A huge shopping centre is just right next to these hotels. The shopping is pretty good, popular among locals and tourists. We tried the Garden Hotel And Residence for 1 night, pretty good, very new and modern look. We didn't try the breakfast though, as we didn't pre-book, walk-in last minute, so no breakfast included. But it's quite some distance to the city centre.

If you are looking at high end shopping, all the boutique shops are at KLCC. Just pick any hotel near to it, most of the hotels around that areas are 4-5 stars, so can't be wrong. KLCC have the aquarium and Science centre for the kids. And shopping for the parents. The park not so good cos lots of smokers smoke there :-(

Another popular shopping place is at the "golden triangle", where lots of shopping centres here, from those old local shopping to modern upclass shopping. But here hotels a bit old. More local feels.

wah all planning for staycation or holiday, so nice~...

pixie,
Capella's room very nice and luxurious! BUT...service sucks...my bestie had her wedding there and stayed there with whole family for 3 or 4 days. She took like 3 villas with plunge pool and yet service can still sucks that she had to keep "asking" for service.

Re Maid going back for holiday
Can i check whether the 2 weeks that they goes back to Phil, do we need to pay for the salary for that 2 weeks? What else do we need to pay for them besides the air tickets?

Blackbatz, my hubby has never taken MC and missed lessons. Sick or sprained his ankle also die die must go to school. If even CCL also cannot take during off peak times, I think I will really 'buay song'. :p

mom2nat, okokok, I called RWS liao. Paid through the phone, only $25.60 after 20% discount. Lucky you asked me to call. The online system said 18 Nov promotion ticket not available. Don't know why. :p

QQ, mcfluffy, RA still has CC and they are having celebration but I think RL has no playgroup that day. Do you have any ideas? If it's the east area, I don't mind meeting up in the morning.

Shannonbaby, think Kam sends HR to staccato for piano lessons. Maybe can check with her for review? For me, think I will continue with Yamaha Junior course cos RA is very shy. I rather she learns to socialize more in group setting than one to one piano lessons. May try one to one lessons when she is 5 yrs old if she show real Interest to play the piano. Cos by then, RL will be 3 yrs old n ready to start music appreciation n I can't split myself n accompany both gals. :p

Twinkystar,
U're welcome

Pixie,
Same same. Nowadays I also dream latch. Sometimes fell asleep, bb unlatch Liao n my boobie is hanging out. But I very xian already, so tempted to wean her off Liao

Luvv,

I asked the same qns b4 i think ;p Checked with couple of frds, they said they'll still pay for that 2 weeks ley, cos the 2 wks hm leave is their entitlement. I paid for my maid's air tix and paper wrks to go hm. HTH!

Pauline I no idea wor ... I hope can meet up most of you cos is been yrs since i meet u all .... so if there is big grp of us I dun mind i havent apply leave yet actually

shannonbaby,
Yes, HR is attending 1-to-1 piano lessons at Staccato. According to his teacher, it's recommended to start with 1-to-1 if the kid is ready. Then can consider to switch him to group lessons when he feels boring with the 1-to-1 classes. For the first 2 lessons, he learned those basic techniques, like how to place your 5 fingers on the keys, the position of the hands, etc. Only last Sunday, he started to play those ultra simple "songs", which I think is very helpful in kepeing him interested and keep going. So far, his teacher has been pretty good, very patient with kids, though I won't say she knows how to handle kids very well but good enough for a young girl like her. HR likes her cos she is young and okay looking, keke. I also appreciate it that she lets me sit in and get me to talk/help HR whenever needed. I don't have any background in playing piano. If you know of anyone who can teach S those basic techniques correctly, you can save the first few lessons, or more. One thing though, HR doesn't want to "practice" it at home on the keyboard. Though there is no real needs to for now, but it did seem to us that after he has "tasted" the piano, he is not interesting in it anymore. But not sure lah, too early to say, we will let him continue for another 1-2 months and see how it goes from there.

My colleague also recommended 1-to-1 for young kids. She said private teacher is preferred if you know of anyone. Private teacher is slightly cheaper bah, but I don't know anyone who can recommend me one, so I go with Staccato.

Luvv
No need pay for the 2 weeks. Cos the contract ended, u r paying for her to go back. The new contract starts when she returns. U can check ur contract.
But if u feel ur maid is gd, u can always give her tat 2 wks pay after she returns, as a bonus and encourage her to come back!

kam,
can i check with u...that time when HR went to a new CC, how or did u prep him as in pre-talk why he is changing CC?
Come Jan2012, Z will move on to a new CC & R will also start his first full day CC on the same day in the same CC with Z. I wonder if they are okay with the arrangement. From now till 3rd Jan, still got 3mths for prep-talk & i hope they can adjust well.

Kam,

thanks for yr feeback.
I am arranging for private teacher for S. She has been having group Semipi music lesson in school since Jan. Her current music teacher in school feedback that she is very interested and has very amazing memory. She is able to answer all her questions correctly. She knows all the musical notes too. So, I am thinking of starting her seriously with piano class. The only worry I have is she is not willing to practice, then it will waste my $$.

steph,
I think don't need to tell him anything till the December. Don't want to burden him with the upcoming change. When Dec comes, you can try to mention in a short sentence or two during your casual chat, or whenever you pass by the new cc, say something like "Z, see, is this school nice? You can come to this cc in 2 weeks time, how excited!" DON'T ask him if he wants to join this school or not. If he says no, haha, then you have more talkings to do, and may be difficult for him to understand. Just try to say it as leisurely as possible.

shannonbaby,
We started him on that cos he asked for it many times. Don't think of the money bit lah. As long as he enjoys the classes, has some exposure to music, that's very good already :) After 3 lessons, he is able to press the keys with all 5 fingers of both hands with good strengh, I considered that good liao. According to what I read, before they are ready for the first exam, practice or not is not that important. At the beginning stage, it's more of cultivating the love for music/piano. Maybe get a teacher who is good with young kids, flexible and not pushy type?

Shannonbaby, kam, I heard that better to get a piano if the child is taking piano lessons cos keyboard keys are different. But piano very steep, the cheapest I found at yamaha was like $5000. Second hand is much cheaper but i dun know enough to test n buy an old piano so got to buy new. If they lose interest, we burn big big hole in pocket for nothing. But the salesman very clever, ask me to take up piano lessons too to encourage my kids to practise together.

Shannonbaby, RA started lessons in jan too but i never asked her if she wants to take piano lessons outside. So far, RaeAnne has never asked for piano lessons but at least she looks forward to music class. They are having a class concert on 17 dec and i definitely look forward to it. I know who to ask if I need to get a one to one piano teacher one day cos my friend sends all her 3 kids to a teacher staying in the east. By then, I will get a piano so that all three of us can practise, keke.

Kitsune,
Not quite true. According to his teacher, it's okay to practice with keyboard until they are ready for the first exam, which will be a long time. And also, if they can continue to play/learn till they are ready for exam, then we can almost certain they will continue with piano further, then only worth to invest in a piano. No point buying one now to just "test water". Unless you have lots of money to spend, then it's another story lah, can buy another time :p

Kam, obviously I dun have lots of $$$ to spend lar, i never even invested in a keyboard yet though she has been taking lessons for almost 1 yr. :p At least u bought one for HR. That is also why not going to buy a piano until she is 5 yrs old n really interested. But RL seems to have a flair for music, so may still buy a piano one day if RL is keen even if RA is not. Think different teachers, different views bah. some like the kids to practise on piano, some like keyboard. Yamaha lessons is always using electone or keyboard too. At the end of the day, most important, is that they are interested n hardworking to practise, on no matter what.

QQ, yup haven't seen you for long long time, want to see pretty TT too. But even if there is a gathering, I will only be bringing the younger one, not the older one. Dun know whether she will play well together with the gor gor or Cheh Cheh or not. Haha.

Kitsune,

I was also being advised to start with keyboard first until the grade one exam. If they r interested then invest on 2nd hand piano.
The piano teacher that I approached is actually my gal currently music teacher in school. I heard that she does one to one. Furthermore, my gal already know n like her, so I approach her. Think she charged $25 per 30min lesson.

Shannonbaby, great that you can find existing teacher for one to one lessons. $25 sounds very reasonable considering she gets one to one attention unlike in a class. By the way, how's your no. 2? Is he 2 yrs old yet? Did his allergy to cow milk go away in the end?

Coming in here to do a quick update. As usual went to bed with T and he told me mummy I'm a big boy I can sleep on my own ! I tot I heard wrongly so I asked him to repeat and he said mummy u can go back to your room to sleep I can sleep alone !! He said it differently the second round but means the same thing !!! I cant believe my ears !!! So now I'm back to my own room with my ears all stretched in case he calls for me. Hehehe

the dinosaur exhibition is coming to sci centre again. this time round its at the annexe, so regardless member or not, still need to pay...
i can get at member price, purchase online
http://www.science.edu.sg/Pages/SCBHome.aspx
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DinosaursLiveExhibition?sk=wall
i dunno the non member price ah....i only have the member price:
adult: $18; child (3-12): $13

this price admits you to the exhibition only leh, entrance to sci centre is seperate...even members also same. exhibitions at annexe always no foc entrance.

im sure there will be pkg eg sci centre entrance, annexe entrance, and omni theatre entrance = 1 price...but for those not keen in sci centre but only annexe... pls pm me, i can purchase on your behalf...but must gimme a date eg 5th nov, 29th oct

morning ladies
mom2nat,pixie
After many toss and turn and fiddling with the alarm clock he finally fell asleep 30mins later. Which is already 11.30pm. Hope he can fall asleep earlier tonite

Pixie, thanks for the offer. I still dun know our schedule for dec hols, will check with u again.

Chaye, so good. Did Tate learn from your no. 1 to sleep alone?

Today, RA going to tengah farm with the cc. Woke up at 7am for milk, woke mei mei up too. By the time, mil came over to take over RL and I can bring RA to school, it was 8.20am. she started to throw tantrum that she doesn't want to go to school, dun want to go to farm, only want to stay home, cry all the way to school. Hiaz, go for outing also like that. :/

Chaye,
So good! My gal can never learn to sleep on her own. She needs to sleep with me and will insist on waiting for me every night, so that we can sleep at the same time. Same to my boy too! It's so fustrating when you have lots of things to do, yet must lie down on the bed and sleep with them. cos most of the time, i will fall asleep too..haha

kitsune,
maybe cos she wakes up too early thats why she throw tantrum?? My S will never want to miss any excursion trup!

Shannonbaby, both my gals are like that too. Last time, when i worked late to do condo roadshows, i come home at 11pm, they still haven't sleep. Faint! :p Now, I got to sleep in between them n pat them to sleep with both hands. I also always ko with them. Wake up in the middle of the night then go back to my room to sleep or start to do things. Yup, I think she waited too long Liao so got sleepy/impatient. Last night and at 7+am, she was still excited, after that her sunny weather change to stormy. -_-

chaye, envy eh. mygirl is so sticky to me, n insisted she mus sleep w me everynite. now tht baby comes, it is worse! las nite i was sick coz dint sleep much past few nites n i slept early at 9pm without waiting for my girl, she was crying so loudly and said she v sad coz i ignore her ! in the end, i also wokeup fr bed

pauline
I also duno who he learn it from. He is always in the same room with #1 and maid but will still want me to sleep with him until last nite. I think it's becos he started few weeks ago during his day nap that he told me it's day time, he's not afraid and he can sleep alone so I left him alone to take day nap. Slowly he progress ba.. Will see how tonite.

shannonbaby
ya it's frustrating sometimes esp when I came home late and got to go to him w/o change or shower.

aqua slowly when your girl grows older she will be more independant. Sometimes after 20mins inside the room, I will tell T that oh mummy needs to go brush my teeth or go shower or go wee wee and ask him to sleep on his own. By then usually he's sleepy and he will nod his head and I will just go out. Have to train slowly ba. This round cannot try again next round.

Chaye, that's good. Are you usually with him during his day nap? Was it during weekends?
if i go out of the room at night to go toilet to brush teeth or clear my throat cos I am having phelgmy cough, either RA or RL will follow me to the toilet or keep calling for me from their bedroom. I tried many times to distance myself by sleeping in a corner away from them since I am sick. Asked hubby to sleep between them instead. But they still squeezed into my corner. End up both having starting to cough again.

aqua,
I guess yr gal is feeling very insecure due to the younger mei mei arrival. I used to handle both my kids during bedtime, right from the day i came back from hospital after giving birth to the younger one. Which is why I didnt want to have a 3rd one anymore. I cant imagine handling 3 kids, with one being a newborn.

Chaye,
I have the same feeling as u too! esp when i reached home late after work. So tired and i need to change / shower before i handle them. Then both will be crying at the door of the toilet while i shower!! Cant even shower in peace..:p

chaye, i am hopin once i moved house, i will move the 2 girls to another room n let them sleep together. now it is so squeezy to sleep 4 of us in a room- 1 queen mattress, 1 single mattres n playpen- no space at all.

shannonbaby, u are still young, mebe u will change ur mind few yrs later? my friends has 1 boy n girl and she also said she dunwan third child. 8 yrs later, she is preggie again coz she told me when her 2 kids grow up, she felt like havin another bb. so now both her kids are in pri sch and she is dealin a newborn again

Shannonbaby, i always try to shower first before handling the gals provided hubby can jagar them alone. Btw, think you missed my question. How is your no. 2 now? Does he still have allergy to cow's milk?