(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Finally can reply here... Today is really a BAD day! Hope it will end uneventfully for the rest of the evening...

Pixie,
Actually to my hubby, be it CC or Kindy, they means going to sch to him. He said kids will have 17 years of education next time (Pri + Sec + Poly/JC + Uni) so why want to rush our kids to go to sch. Let them enjoy the childhood. That is his thinking lah.
But now times are different, when comes to age 3, die die have to go school already if not how to prepare for Pri 1? Not like people of olden times, don't go kindy is fine.

But since now the PCF cannot make it, the only choice left around my area is CC liao. There are other kindy but also under the same PCF group so no point transferring my girl there either, right?

Chaye,
The CC is sparkletots... I just put first, w/o viewing the place and not even asking the price. Hahaha, see how desperate I am...
I am also crossing my fingers that next few things, hopefully things will get better at PCF loh.

Mcfluffy,
THe PCF teachers and Principal my girl is attending are all Malays too!!! Sianz (no offence lah) but in early childhood education line, hardly any Chinese teachers one... All will go private schools and teach, not PCF...
I ask the Principal abt exchanging uniforms coz my girl's one too big. She told me can exchange in admin office.
OK, I went there, got 10 parents standing around, only 1 admin.
No one can help. Then that principal came and started to give forms to fill up to buy uniforms (obviously some have not bought yet)... Then she passed to me and I told her, no I don't need new ones. I just spoke to you that I want to exchange, not buy!
Fine, then those who wanted to buy ask, no sample how to gauge the size to buy? Principal and the admin staff never reply... Then since I brought along uniforms to exchange, I told the parents I only have L size, maybe you can gauge on that..
Then when Principal found a stack of uniforms and wanted to open, the admin told her cannot open like that, have to get signature from someone else who is not in... ended up, nothing is done... See what I mean by messy... No proper plan and this is not a new school. You should have predict what will happen in the 1st day mah...

Sorry for ranting here... I hope tmr I don't have to rant anymore....

krystle, I know what u mean. really disorganized. I also want to rant about pcf. today pcf called my hubby n said why we never turn up for orientation. if dun want must write in to cancel if not they will continue to charge school fees every month. hubby got frightened but I reminded him, that's why I refuse to sign up for baby bonus or giro deduction mah so that they can't anyhow deduct my $. Already told them before that I am still trying to decide whether to stick to pcf when they called twice about giro deduction but they dun bother to follow up earlier, now then threaten to deduct school fees. it is like that lor, very civil servant, everything must write in. i tell u dun want just drop my name lar, anyway the deposit is non refundable so they already made more than $200 out of me. what more do u want right? think parents so free to write in. anyway, told hubby to draft a simple one n drop off tom morning. going to stick to cc since Raeanne seems to adjusting well in the last 2 weeks plus. :p

Finally got time to come in.....jayden's first day of school too. Hubby sent him there for the first day n accompany him. No crying according to hubby. He took the school bus back on his own. Tomorrow will be my turn to accompany him.
Nowadays, school bus is so expensive. One way cost $120!!!

morning mummies!!

more cc rants today huh

i just dropped off x (stayed with him for less than 15mins), took bfast, now starting work again. perhaps after clearing email go to snooze abit, buay tahan very lethargic liao...
later afternoon 4pm still got installation........sianzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz totally

Twinkystar,
Jayden quite independent. Good Luck to you today.

School bus really expensive, just 1-2 blocks away from school and they charge like $200 for a 2 way trip.

Today is the 3rd day of school for Xavier. Cried last night and vomit all his dinner and he still keep repeating he doesnt want school.

This morning he refuse to wake up, drink his milk real slow and then tell me he doesnt want school. and he wants mummy to go inside the classroom with him. I keep convincing him, and finally he told me he wants balloons and I told him I will give him once he comes back from class. Crying a little, he stepped into his class on his own and the teacher know he loves balloon and prepare one to lure him in as well.

Morning, mummies!

Today is Issyen's official first day of school!!! So far so good. She woke up earlier than me and lazy mummy still wants to sleep. She told me to wake up and prepare her to school.
When reached school, luckily no cries and she just followed the teacher in. Talked to the centre head admin and she said will get things more organised and hope parents can be more understanding these 2 weeks. Then she said will try to sell off my uniforms and get the correct size. Only thing is that will come in Feb....

After hearing these, feel better and decided to monitor.

Felt that my girl is grown up already.

Twinkystar,
You let Jayden takes sch bus by himself? Jayden is very independent too. I still don't feel safe to let my girl take sch bus yet. Ya loh, sch bus is exp nowadays and kids have to wake up early to catch the bus.

Icy,
Don't worry, maybe X needs more time to adapt. Got to slowly loh. Soon he will just go into class happily and don't bother about us.

Morning mummies!!

Hope all the kids are getting use to school soon! They will, don't worry.

Yesterday was a real fun day, but I was dead tired! Will try to upload the photos tonight.

<font color="0000ff">Luvv</font>,
Nice meeting you (finally) and your Cs!! HR told his daddy about C and he said he enjoyed playing with C :)

my views about x's cc:
teachers were willing to please and treat x very well (prob he's the only student). BUT in doing so, i think they cleanup after him. as there were so many different "stations" of theme play, x went to different locations and started exploring, then i could observed that the teacher cleaned up x's toys (keep then back in place) after x went off to another corner.
i did feedback to the teacher yesterday but she said scared the heavy stuff hit x....but i think a slight tumble is OK ley...
maybe i'll feedback again to teacher n principal again later

today i stayed less than 15mins coz i wanted to catch some bfast before starting work...x said his usual goodbye and kiss. very engrossed in his new environment...

yesterday's lunch was macaroni soup + banana. when i told my mil, she said "huh, so lao yah one ah"...honestly i dunno what to expect for meals in a cc? and macaroni soup doesnt really mean macaroni + water. im sure there are bits of ingredients inside rite!!

i smelt porridge cooking when i was in the cc just now so i guess its porridge for x for lunch then...

he wasnt full at all after lunch. they feedback that he didnt eat much, left a bit of macaroni and drank the soup &amp; ate the banana...

when we went home, he had
-a tub of yogurt
-a packet of yogurt milk drink
-a cup of fm
i had to put him to sleep n he was whinging about wanting to eat eggs *faintz*. i hugged him to sleep tightly with the promise that i'll make eggs for him when he wakie...
so after he woke up from nap, he had
-1 egg
-1 pau

sighs, this reminded me that i forgot to feedback to cc that his lunch is not enough for him, shucks

even new cc, also need to rant!

it's first day of sch for c1! dropped her off without much objection though reluctant at first. she was KPOing about other children who were crying. Let her bring in her favourite snack and she let the teacher carry her in. *cross fingers* that she will like school.

pixie,
think cc only serve small portions of food cos they scare the children cannot finish but they should be able to ask for 2nd helpings.

Kam,
Nice meeting you and HR finally too! HR is very independent comparing to my C1, always gluey..lolz..what time did you leave in the end?

Issyen finished school w/o crying at all! Good girl!!

But when the teachers released them out, they never realised that my girl ran out of classroom by herself. At that time, I was at the playground next to the classroom, playing with my boy. So shocked that my girl knew where I am and came to look for me. Quickly told her never to leave classroom without mummy or Nai Nai fetching. Went back to remind the teachers not to allow children to run out like that. They apologised... Haiz... So dangerous right?

Then they tried to divert attention by praising my girl who is toilet trained... :p Yay but please watch over the kids properly!

Pixie,
Yes, Luvv is right. Usually they serve a small-ish portion. Those who wants more ask for 2nd or even 3rd helpings.

Luvv,
We left the same time as you. Saw you all got on the car when we were walking to our car (we parked at the roadside). HR asked me to rent a bicycle and cycle together with him cos he saw other families doing that. I was so tired so I said no and luckily he was willing to go home then.

kam
for bfast, x did asked for 2nd helping. he wasnt keen on the macaroni so never asked for 2nd helping, thus hungry

btw, they agreed to let me keep my blanket in pigeon hole and bring back only on friday liao, yippee!
no need to bring everyday back n forth

We survived the 2nd day at school. Yayyyyy!!!
Much better today, think they identified Lexie's class as the prob class. Today extra 2 teachers deployed to help out. Total 6 teachers. But it's only for the 1st 3 days so wonder what will happen from the 4th day onwards.
Still lots of crying kids in her class but she didn't cry at all.
Even managed to step away totally from sight for Chinese class....small victory...kekeke

Twinkystar
Wah where is the cc that Jayden needs to take school bus ?

Krystle
wah that is very dangerous wor. What if you have left in a car and Issyen came out cannot find you then what will she do right ? That's why in Tate's cc, we as parents have to always remember to close and latch the gate before we leave. I think it's a good practice.

seems like a lot of mummies have a lot of complaints abt their cc hor. I guess it's because it's our BAO BEIs are going to sch for the 1st time and we are all very kan cheong just to make sure everything fall into the right place

Me too ! I came in later today cos I brot Tate to his cc at around 9am instead of the maid. I wanted to remind the teachers that he choke on his food easily as he doesnt chew well and eat quite slowly. The teachers may not aware of this... cos I asked my maid to peep him at the cc at lunch ytday and saw them eating pi tai mak and immediately she can hear him gag. It happened when his mouth is full and another spoonful of food comes into his mouth and that adds on. I guess he has to learn how to chew his food faster than before le.

Then my maid saw the rest of the children have already finished their food and chewing apples happily but Tate is still having his lunch. Slow man...

krystle,
Oh no, that's no good. Maybe the PCF Issyen goes to really CMI.

If the purpose of you sending I to a kindy is for her to have exposure and to learn, then the environment and the teachers are very important. Else deficts the purpose of sending her to a kindy, right?

mcflurry
kindergarten at PCF or any other privately run organisation is only like 4 hours kind whereas cc is child care that is 7am - 7pm. Is that what you wanna know har ?

Dis wk is e start of ur little ones gg to sch.. Ray"s birthday was 1st day of sch on 3rd Jan, we celebrated his birthday in sch for e 1st time. He is in N1 dis yr, 4 new classmates but only 1 crying wen we went there ard 3.30pm aft their nap..

Chaye: My boy was always e last to finish his lunch cos his teacher was telling mi Rayden luv to talk to his frz abt wat he doing or e places he went during his lunchtime..

One of his classmate was asking mi" Where is e fat fat wild boar? cos we went Ubin last sun and saw e wild boar, Ray must b telling his classmate abt it..

Icy: u accompany Xaiver for dis few days? how is he coping in class?

I hv 4 tins of 900g Pediasure for sale as my boy change brand.

Letting go at $32 per tin but if u take all 4 tins then can sell at $30 per tin. Collection at buangkok mrt.

Vanilla favor expire Jan 2012 x3
Strawberry favor expire Sep 2011 x1

Serious buyer and no neg pls!!

Contact me via pm.. Thanks

just brought x back from school
he ate well today, the teachers told me.
today a total of 5 kids, and some were crying when they came in later (x was the first to arrive as usual), and he asked the teacher, why they are all crying and dont want to play with him? LOL

anyway i told the teacher to stop cleaning up after him, especially the toys. let him carry the stuff he has to carry. i emphasize that x has been quite independent at home and i do not wish the centre to be otherwise. else spoilt all my hardwork

tmr x has to take his nap in the school liao....coz friday onwards its full day in the cc for him liao

Kam,
Ya loh, the PCF that I is attending really needs to be more attentive and work harder to improve. Meanwhile, as a parent, I just have to be early during dismissal earlier to wait for my girl. Think need to KS and wait 15 mins before.

Mcfluffy,
I think in terms of learning, both kindy and CC offer about the same... Maybe CC's timing is longer, there will be more additional special courses?? I am not sure...
Today asked Issyen what she learnt today... She said teacher taught them to sing and she did some colouring, drawing... No story books today...
And yesterday the teacher told us that now is integrated learning... They don't separate learning into English, Chi or Maths so distinctively. They will set a topic for the term and learn everything that associates with the topic... I think it is quite good this way, more interesting.

Lyn
Xavier still adapting, still cries and says No to school this morning. But when I go and fetch him, he seemed happy. Hope tonight he wont suddenly think and think and cry again.

Krystle,
So dangerous when teachers cant keep track of kids. Maybe a bit out of topic. My friend just told me his friend lost his 4 yrs old in Bangkok recently, search for 2 mths and still cant find his boy. Very scary.

I also received letters for what theme they will have for this theme. Cant peek what they are doing cos they lock the gate now.

I asked Xavier what he learn in school and he can't really answer me, He still baby talks a bit. No updates from him.

grumpus,
Good to hear that Lexie's 2nd day went well. It's always so messy in the beginning cos all the kids are new, unfamiliar with the teachers and surroundings and not used to the new routine. Once they start to settle into the routine and feel more comfortable with their teachers then it will be ok.

I'm also very tired after the 2nd day...one more day to go then B is on his own. His teachers also very occupied with a few "problematic" ones, cry non-stop and vomit kind. Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

Chaye so kindy has 4 hrs worth of learning?

Krystal, my pcf dont have orientation one leh? And never tell me what they are doing for the term. I had to ask them. Still, they didn't seem sure what they were exactly teaching. And the teachers seem very absent minded too... Tell themcertain things, they don't rem!!!

Today my mum went to pick my gal from cc. Heard from teacher that she kept crying. Faint. For the past month she was ok, why now she start her crying act??? Really don't understand my gal sometimes

mcfluffy
x's last pre-N at kindy (also at PCF) only 2 hours of learning. some centres have 2 hours, some 3, some 4. it depends on the kindy

sibeh sianz, i have an installation due in 30mins time and my mil called just now while x was napping to say that she is bringing my nephew to visit his mom in hosp (my sil gave birth yesterday afternoon). so i have to handle x &amp; work at the same time, dunno how that can happen. can only plonk him infront of tv and hope he dont come n disturb me

mcfluffy, dun think kindergarten has 4 hrs of learning for younger kids. For 4 years old ie nursery, only 3hrs, k1 k2 then 4 hrs.

so mad, hubby dropped off the letter today n the pcf said still need to pay 1 more month of school fees cos we never give 1 month notice. Come on, they already took 1 month school fees from us $163 plus a $16 deposit previously n i know that is non refundable so i never even asked to get it back. my gal has not attended a single day or class nor orientation. why do they need us to pay for 1 more month? they have a list of rules n regulations but parents r not required to sign on it. does it still constitute a contract? wish I studied law or know a lawyer, super buay gam wan to pay for it. :p

kitsune
i wont pay for it coz i oredi paid 163 + 16 liao
furthermore oredi told you i not keen thru phone.

when i was withrawing x from the previous PCF kindy, i told the principal i still deciding between the cc and PCF, will let her know. she called me in early dec, ask me how. i say ok, i dont want to attend your PCF, im going to cc in jan. so she said ok. and i didnt even write in to withdraw leh!!
RA never attended the school for a single day, still must "write in" for notification meh??!!

ya kitsune
dun pay. I withdrawn Tate from PCF also and didnt ask for the 1mth fees + misc fees (duno how much) that I paid cos I knew it's non refundable ma. I called them up in dec that I wont be sending him to PCF she ask me to fill up the withdrawal form and return that's all.

Mcflurry
the PCF at my side is 4hours for N2 class. (8am-12noon) or (1pm-5pm). They do not have N1 class. Different PCF operates differently.

wah pixie
dun make me drool by putting the new cc fotos in FB leh. it reminds me of the new sparkletot cc which I went on Mon leh ! hmph !

erm.. who is Debbie Ng in FB huh? Her Adelle can write her own name !!! Tate cant even hold a pen the correct way and is considered 4 yr old now

Pixie, Kam, kellie, Chaye, thanks for the support. I also think it's ridiculous for them to make me pay for 1 more month. The one month school fees I paid is enough for 1 month notice.

Chaye, that's the thing, I didn't write in on 1 Dec cos RaeAnne only started CC on 15 Dec mah. Think we'll act blur for now but I wish I can have legal support on this cos I know my hubby is the kind who will pay 冤枉$ to 息事宁人.

Chaye, don't worry. RaeAnne can't even write A let alone her own name. Whereas Raelynn has just shocked me by saying 'Go away' and chanting 'I don't want', 'I don't want', 'I don't want', 'hungry' last night. I think Adelle should be one of the rare ones bah. blessedbaby's Johannah can draw and colour so well, my hubby is a cartoonist but RaeAnne can't draw so I envy also no use. :p

Kitsune,
That PCF is ridiculous... Write to MCYS to complain loh. Same views with other mummies, don't have to pay that extra 1 mth, since you already forfeited your 1 mth deposit, what more they want??? YOu said previously that you set up GIRO deduction right? Terminate it immediately. THen they can do nothing.

I also never realised I already setup GIRO until the admin head told me. :p Forgotten abt it coz the registration was done in Jul last year. Luckily never paid the cash and I just checked bank a/c, already deducted via GIRO.

hi chaye
Debbie Ng is me (superbee) and Adelle is my gal.
I am a kiasu mum and started to get her to write alphabets every night since Dec. So after 1 month of practise, she can write those ghostly letters on her own. U can get those write and wipe off alphabet and get Tate to learn to write. Not to worry abt Tate as adelle nursery teacher say they will only start to write when they are 4. Cos i was chit-chatting with the new teacher yesterday and she say they won't be teaching them to write ABC for this year cirriculum. Then i told the teacher that Adelle can write her name already and the teacher was shocked too. The teacher mentioned that kids must be able to learn to grap a pen/pencil properly before they can start to write. i agree with kitsune that every child is different in terms of skillsets. My #2 doesn't call papa, mama but she will say "I want show" when she is 1 year old. Now she know how to wear her shoes at 18mths old without us teaching her while my #1 only know how to wear shoes at 2.5yrs old... So maybe Tate talent is somewhere else to be discovered?

Seemed like most mums here are busy with the 1st day of school and same for me too. Was glad that the transition for Adelle was smooth and she didn't insist of going back to the old school though she tell me that she missed her frens back in the CC cos the rest of the classmates doesn't talk as well as those in her CC classmates. Most kids came in with diaper, can't self-feed and say very minimum words too. One granny was telling me that she is very worried that her grandson (born apr 2008) cos he can't speak yet so the teachers assure her that it is better to start them in early schooling so that he can improve over time.

Oh it's you Superbee !
Adelle is born 2007 or 08 ? such a clever girl. Her motor skill is better ya ? Tate is faster in speech but not so good at motor skills. He still need us to hold his hands while up and down the steps and it's 1 step at a time ! Now he's learning how to walk up and down with 1 2 steps like us but very slow. His friends of the same year can run up and down stairs already !

mcfluffy
i think kids also can be quite emo one. hard to predict when it will be "sunny" or "rainy" days. my gal attended cc in feb last yr and throughout the 1 yr, sometimes she will be a smiley gal and all of a sudden she will just cry in the morning for no reasons. even the teachers also very puzzled and will ask me what happen. oh ya, the difference between a CC and kindergarten is the duration. It also depends on what cirriculum the kindergarten has to offer. I withdraw my gal from CC and moved to a kindergarten this yr. Initially my gal's CC chinese teacher didn't agree to my decision and kept telling me that my gal is very intelligent so moving to a kindergarten with 3 hrs of schooling is not enough for her and she should attend longer hours of schooling. Hmm... I am not so convince with her thinking. But after she heard what my gal will be learning in the new kindergarten, she and the english teacher felt that it is better for my gal to move on since the kindergarten offer more programs like kindermusik(learn to play music instrument and read musical notes), outdoor gardening, outdoor painting and computer program where each child will have a pc to use. But I felt CC instills independent skills and social skills for the child. My gal became more independent and more sociable after being in CC for 1 yr.

Haha Chaye, tate's name is short and sweet so it's very easy for him to learn and write it out.

Pauline's daughter, raeanne, should be more difficult.

Next time must rem to give our children short names. *grin*

chaye
adelle born in jan 08. turning 3 yrs old nxt sun.
actually adelle is faster in speech and got poorer motor skills. adelle can't jump until last yr sept and walking very slowly up and down the stairs still. the only better motor skills is probably she can hold crayons/pen when she is 1 yr old and her coloring skills improved when she attended the CC. also she can self feed b4 she turn 2yrs old. the rest of the motor skills, i think she is probably behind others. maybe she got better hands muscle coordination than her legs??? hahaa.... Also she got better memory skiils. i thought her to spell her name and she can spell it after repeating 5 days with her. My sis was telling me that she know a kid that can spell a lot of words at the age of 2. so i was impressed and started to teach adelle. very kiasu hor... :p

How chaye? Like my fb fotos hehe?

I'm so tired frm today-more than yesterday. Today
-x spilled cereal milk on sofa
-he pee-ed on d bed for the first time while taking his afternoon nap
-I had to do work and look after x at the same time. Even though I always say this. But this time is different coz I need to tok to other ppl on d fone about installation. N this time is suay suay israeli ppl. Kao! Cannot hear their accent well...
-the it rained so heavily while walking frm home to mil place! When we took the lift, there was no rain. When we came out frm lift, super big rain. When reached mil place, rain stopped!! Winner!!

Not my day today lar

Krystle, no I refuse to sign for giro deduction (though they called me twice to pester me for the giro form) cos that time I already not certain about sending RaeAnne to PCF cos I didn't like the teacher and she teaches all 3 classes of Prenursery playgroup. -_- But although they cannot anyhow deduct from my bank account, I'm afraid they'll start to send invoice plus interest. Yes, if they try to pressure me, I'll call MCYS to complain. :p

Mcfluffy, it's not Chaye's Tate who can write his own name but Superbee's Adelle. Anyway, RaeAnne's name only 7 letters, not long lar. How long are your kids' names? Frankly, I won't deliberately give my kids short names so that they can write their names faster. Sounds super kiasu leh. keke.

superbee, you r very patient with Adelle. I can't even stand to repeat the same instruction three times with RaeAnne, let alone teach her the same thing again and again over 5 days. hee. which kindergarten is Adelle attending? Got kindermusik(learn to play music instrument and read musical notes), outdoor gardening, outdoor painting and computer program where each child will have a pc to use? So good.
Are the school fees expensive?

Tongtong, think most kids start by 3 or 4 years old. when is Shawn going to school?

morning all,

"back in action" liao hahaa

thanks for the bday wishes for my #2 ... he is still adjusting to the new cc... haiz.. hope he can bounce back faster.

kitsune
yesterday night i didnt do jan08 night shift coz i was bz watching KOR drama on pc....my idol so 帅!!

i hope you can resolve the PCF thingy soon yah

mylvera
your #2 goes to which cc? near ur blk or not?

btw mummies
x has been having a cough for the past...hmmm...3-4 weeks? it was really nothing. he choked on his own saliva while sleeping on 1 night and started coughing and then got phlemgy...then i realised, he cough lots at night. daytime hardly (or never). i think its 冷咳? coz night is cold/windy for us here...

i didnt medicate him, wanted him to get well on his own. just stopped giving him cold stuff.

anyway i started him on sambucus (elderberry extract) to boost his immunity since he's going to cc....started to give him 1 tbsp daily, for past 1 weeks liao...

today, i ask him to cough for me, no more!!

makes me think elderberry extract works?? or.....he recovered by himself naturally?

hmmmmmmm something to ponder on