(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Chaye,
ya ya, you backside really very itchy leh. Don't think too much lah. If Tate has settled down well, don't change. But keep that in mind as your backup?

Pixie,
How about let him bring a small and thin blanket? Not too bulky type so can fit in to his bag.

krystle / JanBB,
I am the opposite. I want to delay sending my gal to cc as much as possible. Her nanny just called me to say she may still want to quit in end Feb, so she can have a few months rest before continuing with a newborn. She is very kind, I told her I wish to delay cc as much as possible, so she recommends a friend of her to me. I have to discuss with my hub and see which option we would go for. At moment like this, how I wish I can be SAHM :p

We have decided no enrichment class for both of them in the next 2 years or so, until HR appreciates music more, then music class will be the only enrichment for them. We even said no to the enrichment classes (chinese caligraphy, abacus and kindermusic) arranged by HR's cc. These next 2 years are going to be continued with more outdoor activities and more play time.

Yesterday brought the kids to the Zoo all on my own. Have to get use to this as my hub has to work on most weekends :-( I don't want to deprive the kids from the outdoor, so have to learn how to cope with two.

Janbb,
A few reasons lah.
1. Starting pre-nursery in 2011, so more like shifting focus of learning to academics rather than musical. Coz prior to that, never sent her to PG and I think she is falling behind on learning the basics loh.
2. She loves the music class but only the singing part. She got bored and distracted when during flash cards and keyboard sessions... So hard to tell her to recognize the notes... I think at the end of 1 year @ Seimpi, I learnt more than her loh.
3. Teacher no good. Her 1st teacher was not bad, young and energetic. But unfortunately that teacher got sick and hard to stop teaching. Changed to this teacher Cecilla whom we totally don't like. Ended up all the parents had meeting and we boycotted her. :p

So planning to wait further to see what my girl really likes then decide bah. If she later wants to pick it up again, will let her go for it.

kam
thing is i dont have a "small and thin" blanket. most prob, i bring along a thin bath towel (act as blanket). see if he need it or not.

btw, i really dont mind going out with you on weekends, during my last 8 weeks being mummy to ONE....sms me earlier lah...if no plans (slack at home kind), i would love to join u + HR + XY, then let my hb be "happy" at home while me n x spend more quality time together

Kam,
You are really a strong mummy!
Got to bite the teeth and continue the 'one-man' show in weekends. Seriously I can't do it! Really kudos to you leh. But hopefully your hubby can get less busy and more family time with you and the kids.

Actually, I also very heartpain to send my kids to PG as I think maybe too early for them?? Haiz, I don't know... got to discuss with hubby. But if Issey goes to Pre-N next year, he will be around 27 months by then. So he still starts sch earlier than his sis. Maybe I should let him enjoy eat, play, sleep for this year, just to be fair to him?

Ya... I don't think I will be starting any enrichment courses for Issey too. Don't want to waste money coz he is such a difficult child, cannot sit still even for 1 min!

Can la. The bag can stuff quite a number of stuff la. Depends the size also. Towel dun bring too big and thick kind. Small pillow. Tooth brush. Mug. Comb. Ok ba

KAM
Can I ask your HR's cc is there any classroom segregation ? As in N1 in this class, N2 another and so on. Mine I realise is the whole big classroom is split into N1, N2 and K1 by small cupboards only leh. So when during lesson if next class say N1 is noisy how can the N2 concentrate rite ?

Lastly hor. Still the same saying. Ppl say Malaysian women can take hardships more than Singaporean women ! u r one of those who can take hardship

krystle, I will assess how is RL's development at 18th months before deciding whether to send to 2hr pg, or wait until 2years old then let her go to the cc with RA cos both at cc will be siong on the pocket. but then RL won't need to change school.

Krystle

Sending Issey to PG is for him to have fun and make friends. When Tate started his PG he's only 25mths only eventho is considered as 3 yr old cos he's dec kid ma. He loves PG and come back sing and dance. And even speak mandarin for 1st time !

You may want to reconsider again ?

pixie,
Cool! I will remember that. Will buzz you then, esp if we were to visit Science centre.

krystle,
I don't have a choice leh :-( Guess just like our kids, there are many phases in our life. Now is the time I have to spend all my time and effort on kids. Yes, just have to bite the teeth and move on! I am sure this phase will be over, though not so soon =) Stay positive takes me a long long way! But honestly, I am dreading for a nice couple time with my hub. I am so looking forward to CNY, it is OUR TIME, I hope. I don't mind not to have me time, not I really miss spending time with my hub a lot.

Chaye,
Not really hardship lah. It's my responsibilities!!

Oh the class segregation. Yes, HR's cc is able to segregate well as they are in a semi detached house. So they use one classroom for one class. But they are times, I think, when 2 classes join together, esp N1 and N2.

I visited the cc at my workplace. It's like how you described. Half body height partition only for the entire place, no rooms. I was thinking exactly the same like you, how the kids concentrate when all classes conducted at the same time?

kam
zoo etc also can....i dont mind meeting u if its a long activity. if just go to park for 1hr, i think not worthwhile to make the trip down and back all by myself, u get what i mean?

since we live pretty close, i can pop by your place and we set off together or what.....also can mah

Chaye,
Yes, I will still consider loh.. Gonna wait until he turns 18 mths first. Now he can't even walk loh, let alone going to PG. Hahaha.

But hoh, my MIL has been nagging me for ages that I should have send my girl earlier to PG or CC, rather than wait until now 3 yrs old then go Pre-N. I told her straight that it is her own son (my hubby) refused to let her go school that early, not fully becoz of me leh. Very bad hoh.
I think she must be getting tired and wanted some rest (even though got maid).

kam
my area got bird park and sci centre nia....

well, if its a planned long activity then please sms me...i'll see if i can join u yah. we can share the load and the kids can have fun

Ok brot Tate home and he seems happy and more chatty than usual. We suspect maybe in denial state or some kind of defends mechanism ? Cos teacher says some students wint cry initially but will cry few days or a week later de. Lol. Certainly hope not.

Ask him if he happy. He say yes. Ask if he wanna go back cc tmr. He says yes. Ask if he wanna take nap there w/o pacifier he says yes. Keke.

Krystle
How old is your girl now ? Born 2008 jan ? Can send to PG le. At least a 2 hr break for your mil ma.

Chaye,
Yes, my girl is 3 already and sending her to Pre-N. I was just saying how MIL used to nag when my girl was just 1year+, kept chanting us to bring her to CC or PG... Back then, my hubby was not willing lah.

Chaye, RaeAnne's CC is also like that, they have 2 classes of Prenursery 2 so the two classes are in the same classroom separated by small cupboards. I asked the principal/teacher before and she said the teacher in the other class will tone down their activity when necessary. I also found it very noisy sometimes. :p Anyway, good thing is that they started lessons proper today. I asked RaeAnne if she has Mandarin class today and she said yes. But she cannot tell me what the teacher taught yet. :p

Krystle, why did your hubby disapprove of sending Issyen to playgroup? 18 mths may be a bit young but 24 months, the kids are quite independent liao, I think.

Unlike RaeAnne, Raelynn started walking at 10.5 months. she can pee and poo when put on potty, and recently she learnt to say all the 'bad things' from Cheh Cheh eg. 'I don't want', 'Go away', '没有'. Imagine, she can't call Mummy but can say all the 'negative phrases'. Duh, wish I can send her to school to learn the good things but she's still very much a baby, though a faster developing one.

Just realised that by Jan 2012, RL will be considered 3 years old liao cos she's born in Dec 2009 so she will be going to Prenursery 2 like what RaeAnne is attending now. If we don't send her to PG earlier, she will be going straight for minimum 3 hrs prog (PAP) or 4 hrs prog (CC), don't know if it will be too much of a shock to her or not. :p

Kam,
thanks for sharing, i'm just a lazy mummy, so wants to save hassles but then it's also very difficult to feed her medicine, she always scream the whole block down.

btw, today's C1's birthday! which also means it's Kam's HR and Mylvera's YF's birthday too! Happy birthday little ones!

I'll be bringing C1 to have lunch and explorer kidz later. Kam, where will you be going with HR today?

<font color="ff6000">HAPPY Birthday to C1, HR &amp; YF!!</font>

morning mummies!!

today 1st day of school for many many kids &amp; mummies
saw many posts in FB about this...

im just back from the cc! and............
X IS THE ONLY STUDENT
muahahahahaha

Thanks Steph!

Pixie,
wow only one in class? so shiok, get 1-1 attention. and you came back liao? he's so steady, can stay there on his own on the 1st day.

luca, luvv
winner hor. i asked ley. the rest of the 5 children, some are abroad still holidaying, some havent arrived....
but i went off at 8.30am....still no new students stepped in yet. so late? for cc??

my son dun care me liao. once he finished his bfast (kellogs cornflakes + banana), he hold his "new teacher"'s hand, and wanted to run off to another corner liao. so i told him, mummy's going home ok? he said ok, gimme a hug, said goodbye, kiss, and quickly turn back and run back to teacher....to PLAY

traitor :p

the centre looks good. meal schedule and daily schedule listed in board, got many corners for many purposes etc...its big n spacious.
most importantly, its clean. i very scared dusty from the reno 2 weeks back but seems like they really spruced it all up...

the school principal also nice to talk to.

downside is, the teacher for pre-N will only come in next mth. for now, the infantcare teacher looking after the pre-N kids lo

Thanks Luca!

Pixie,
At least good for you, don't have to go through the crying period. He's very independent!

luvv
like what chaye said, some kids cry only after few days, coz the "new" environment havent sink in yet leh; i oso quite scared even though he's very sociable

happy bday to C1!! where is explorer kidz btw? i suaku again

today while walking to school, x saw the rubbish collector uncle
x: there! that's uncle!
me: where? where?
x: uncle there! HELLO uncle *shouts*
me: aiyoh, x, u know that uncle meh??!!
x: *runs up to uncle* hello uncle!

i quickly dragged him off...

nowadays everyone also his "uncle" or "auntie"
we get this at least once a day from him

pixie,
my boys' cc lesson starts at 9.30am, so some kids will come after 9+.

u r so rite abt X, settling down in cc is no problem for him. so which means can start full day oredy?

bo bian, just have to make do with it. meanwhile, X can enjoy his "honeymoon".

he is so friendly n polite.
some kids dun bother to address pple.

luca
oic...but for FTWM like us, we have no choice but to drop our kids earlier mah, hor?

he can start full day but i scared he cannot sleep in new environment leh. and principal told me to bring him home after lunch aka 1pm for today and next few days

wow Happy Birthday to C1, HR &amp; YF !

Pauline, so fast lesson started ? thought this week still orientation ? Ya classroom is like a fish market I find. Very noisy. Think the teachers are immuned. I cannot tahan if stay for too long.

Pixie
X the only student !!! hahaha cos it's early la. I brot T to sch at 9.30am ytday. Arent you going back there to peep ?

Morning, mummies.

I just came back from Pre-N orientation and thought it is quite bad... disappointed leh...

1. Facilities are abit old.
2. The orientation is not well-planned... Ask us to assemble at the thearette at Eunos Community Centre and after that, got to cross road to proceed to classroom.
3. Supposed to have MP giving the speech but he MIA (so much so for being MP).
4. Only 4 teachers in the entire school.
5. Too many people around, hard to ask questions...
6. Admin also messy, I wanted to exchange my uniforms, and some parents wanted to buy but they said cannot release out coz the person who authorised such release is not in.

Overall, really disappointed... I already don't have high expectations coz PCF but don't like the arrangements...

Think got to bear with it this year. I am so upset that I just went to my nearby CC and placed my kids' names for next year liao. Hubby was there too and he felt the same way. Finally can persuade him to put his kids in CC... Let he see all these and pictures tell a thousand words.

Kitsune,
Yes, hubby kept chanting (even up to yesterday) that he heartpain his kids need to attend sch at such early stage. So he wants to delay as long as possible... But now he saw the PCF nursery, it changed his mind liao. Hahahaha.

Pixie,
Power leh! X 'booked' the whole CC... wish my nearby CC also like that but just met the CC admin, she said for 2008 kids, already full this year(next year still don't know lah). Got 23 kids in N1!!! Gosh... But for 2009 kids, she still got 2 slots... but my boy is still considered infant... abit too early leh...

krystle
sorry ah i dont understand leh...u say ur hb not keen to put ur kids in school, then why in the end agreed to put his kids in CC?
coz both kindy n CC, means going to school wat....maybe to him, its not?

chaye
yes im going over to peep. i start up my laundry, write more emails then i run over liao. 5mins walk only mah

krystle
wat pcf is tat sound so old &amp; screwed up !
and which cc u tentatively put your kids' name ? haha your hub finally can see it for himself. That's y har sometimes men no see they bochap ! really must bring them to see for themselves then they will share the same thots as us !

This makes me think... should we put our kids into a relatively old but reputable cc with good feedback on teachers or a new and attractive cc but no feedback on the teachers and curriculum yet.... what do you mummies think ?

Lexie just finished her first day at school. Mummy is shack!!
Can experienced mummies enlighten me if it's supposed to be this luan in the beginning? There are 4 teachers and 18 toddlers. If 2-3 kids start crying, all the teachers are tied up already. Then there are the super outgoing kids who are running everywhere and the teachers practically lost track of them. there was one kid who ran to the playground by herself, luckily there's another class playing there and that class teacher brought her back.
then there are kids like my girl who are super timid and just stay in one corner and always get left behind cos the teachers lose track of her too!!
nothing really gets done, and a lot of time is wasted just trying to organize the kids to wash hands, go to the playground, have snack etc etc

i really hope it gets better over the next few days.

sorry for interruption, mommies-to-be! helping a friend to post this:
Note the spree opens till 10 Jan 2011 at 6pm sharp. This is for the Japan local website spree which has all designs for Japanese local purchase only (NOT open to international buyers) and NOT the international nissen.com which everyone can access to. Arrival to SG is approximately in second week of February 2011. Self collect at Bedok or registered postage to arrange with spreeist.

To take part in this spree, please register your email via http://www.goms.webuda.com/Xrate/XcurrencyRate.php and send your order to [email protected]

For baby till 2 years old SALE clothes website link:
http://search.nissen.co.jp/nsrch/sale/search.jsp?ipg=60&amp;category_main_name=sale_ba_000&amp;2nd=cate002_006_001

For 3 years old and above SALE clothes website link:
http://search.nissen.co.jp/nsrch/sale/search.jsp?ipg=60&amp;category_main_name=sale_kd_000&amp;2nd=cate003_005_001

The main japan website is www.nissen.co.jp

Have a safe delivery and enjoy motherhood ahead!

haha mummies i can totally understand &amp; share your woes of 1st day of school/cc for the kids. Jia You woh mummies &amp; kids!!

grumpus,
1st day sure messy...exactly like what you've mentioned...this scenario of 2-3 or more kids start crying at the same time &amp; all teachers were tied up happened at Z's cc too! But now all kids are more or less settled (promoted) to N1 class. Now is the new toddler group (about 30pax leh) 18mth to 30mths starts crying. Once the kids settle into the routine/schedule, things will gradually be on track
Then again, i am giving my feedback based on pcf cc...maybe branded cc are more organised bah. Usually pcf ratio is 2:15 while some branded cc like Eton for eg is 2:5 leh!

grumpus
not that luan leh for x's previous pre-N
they have hmmm ard 10kids to 2 teachers. meaning X is getting a higher ratio than yours leh.
only got 1 main teacher (malay lady) and 1 chinese teacher (china woman)...
they lead the class well. for active kids (like x), usually either 1 will stop the kids and handle them
for the rest of the kids, remain in line or remain doing whatever they doing.

luan time is dismissal time. coz all the kids fighting to get out of the classroom coz all the parents standing outside mah

chaye
tough qn. i newbie in cc
maybe, most importantly, your child must like the cc, teachers?

SY, pixie,
Thanks for sharing. Lexie's school not branded wor. Usual teacher student ratio is 2:18!!!! So even worse than PCF? Hahaha
Only this first 3 days hv 2 extra teachers helping out. The thing is they hv prob getting everyone in line. They get 5 kids in line. Then by the time they get the next 5 kids in line the first 5 have all 'san' already.

The main teacher (Chinese teacher) is pretty good but the English teacher is not very experienced I think.

grumpus
Xavier's PreN also not that messy. Uniform is purchase during one of the orientation talk for parent.

His class max 12 kids, his class have 8. Think all the morning and afternoon teachers are helping out for today. There is 2 classes of Pre-N in the morning.

The other class (Ellot's) are more quiet and settle down just after 10mins. More teachers over at Xavier's class because 1 kid keep screaming and crying and all the rest follows!! His class have 3 teachers and 2 assistants helping out. I think tomorrow there would be less teacher and we will see how it goes.

Xavier cried more yesterday, come back with eyes swollen. Today he refuse to step inside class, cry a bit when I left. I think much better. phew!

Icy,
I think the teacher student ratio makes a big difference. Although I see next door the other preN class also not so messy. Dunno why lexie's class so messy.
Hopefully it'll get better lor, today only first day.

grumpus
I think the students make a difference too. 1 cranky student will affect the rest. 1 super active kid will set the rest running around with him.. hahaha The class all have those 1/2 doors close so the kids cant run out.

It will be better tomorrow. :D I had been waiting outside the class for these 2 days. I think I will go straight home tomorrow. Else I keep wondering if one of the cries belongs to him.

chaye, cos Raeanne's Cc staggers the children's start date eg some started on 1 dec, 15 dec n some started yesterday. so it's not so messy n the new kids gets more individual attention in the beginning.

krystle, I do get what your hubby is saying about starting school early but too bad, times r different. k1 n k2 must know timetable Liao. last time, I went into primary one only knowing ABC. but now if no headstart through preschool, pri 1 may be tough to catch up to speed. anyway, I forego my 1 deposit n 1 month deposit at pcf to put Raeanne at cc cos I was disappointed with the teacher though the facilities r good. :p

ok brought X back home at 12 noon...
when i was there, x was alone....again.
the teachers told me that there were 3 kids who joined at 9+ and left at 11, for the "proper lesson"...2 were very sticky with parents, and 1 gal (x's new best friend?) more sociable kind so both the gal and x hit off well and played together....
they showered x and fed him macaroni. he wasnt very keen and asked for bread! but the teacher told him no bread for lunch so he ate a bit of macaroni and drank the soup + banana

Ah.. I see that some mummies put their kids in PCF. I put mine into PCF Sparkletots at AMK too. A disappointment too even though I told myself it's just PCF. I shouldn't be expecting too much! I think last time the playgroup my gal attended was much much much better. As the sparkletots that my gal is attending is new, facilities new is good but teachers new and don't know a single thing is BADDDDDD. I think they don't have a system, here ding there dong. Dunno what's going on head or tail. The first day I register my daughter already make me pekchek coz one staff said my gal should be N2 so I register under N2. Next moment tell me is N1. Duhhhhh.... All in all, I'm going to look for another CC and get my gal transferred out SOON if they don't buck up. I give them 3 months time to be familiarised. Yesterday there were new students at the CC, i think the teachers couldn't cope at all. My daughter told me she didn't get to brush her teeth after meals and when I picked her up in the noon (she's in half day only), her hair was still very wet. Imagine they switch on air con for the whole day!! Haizz... no wonder this whole december my gal is sick.

Oops, i think i ranted too much. I think this pcf really CMI. geez!

Anyway, pixie and to other mummies who asked, I'm on part time scheme now. 1/2 load = 1/2 pay = so much less $$$$. Sobzz.. but I decided that I really don't want to work under a certain somebody and want to get out of the dept. So now, I'm just teaching MUSIC!! Sing sing sing.. lalalala... Thanks to my kind P who has left for another school! sigh.

And I can spend my afternoons cleaning up the house (my own house!!!!) when my gal is napping, and spend time with her after that

mcfluffy
your gal in newly opened sparkletots at amk ? blk 502 ave 5 izit ? Principal is Esther izit ?

mcfluffy, pcf very strict, if born in Jan08, still under pg. but if born in dec07, all under nursery Liao cos they r considered 4 years old by calendar yr. :p wa, u so good, give them 3 months to buck up, I will worry that after 3 months, the child is familiar with the teachers n classmates, got to pull them out again, very disruptive. :p

chaye,
mine is not blk 502. blk 17* dunno 17 wat :p
Principal is a MALAY.... whom I feel doesn't know anything. That time i asked if Saturday can put at cc also coz I read in the handbook that saturdays are open too.. she told me she will call HQ. What the... like that also must call HQ?!?!?! Fit to be Principal meh?

Pauline, ahahaha.. I said 3 months coz I need time to find a better one!! Which i dunno where in AMK got good ones.. and convenient for me / my mum to pick my gal up!
My daughter already 1 month at the new cc but she still pull a long face when she reach the cc. Sigh...... I think she don't like the teachers.... last time in her playground, everyday so happy. When i picked her up, she's super happy. Now at this cc, when I pick her up, she dash to the shoe cupboard and immediately take her shoes. Never even bother to say Hi to me or bade her teacher goodbye. hahz.

mcfluffy
oh it's considered as kebun bahru area. aiyo like that you better look around the area again. Ask your mum to ask the neighbourhood or open your eyes big big to see any other parents with young toddlers of other cc uniform approach and ask them ! That's what I do ! If not how to know some cc hidden at some discret corner of the estate. For the sake of our kids we hv to be thick-skinned ! hahaha

chaye,
yah... kebun bahru..
My mum say many pple register their kids at the church nearby. But can only register for kindergarten (4 yo)
So must wait until next year. In the meantime.. I just cross my fingers and hope for the best.
Anyway, I go to work so early, don't even get to see any pple around... hehe

pixie,
yes have to be earlier. X sleeps so early, wat time does he has to wake up for sch now?

mayb can let him wear jacket during nap if blanket is too cumbersome?

side track from cc, last 9, my #1 point at my B and asked, can let me see big or small? i was caught off guard, duno where he got dat thinking from, kept asking him where he learnt from, but he simply refuses to answer. he was laughin at 1st, until i showed a serious face n tell him dat its not funny. dunno if im overreacting, but hes still so young, give me a shock!

anybody has a good answer, how would u answer if ur kid ask u this?