(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
Difficult meh? Obviously I asked these because my dear HR has been throwing a lot of tantrums these days :-( I think it's perfectly normal for toddler this age, as much as we try to stay cool, but sometimes it just got on our nerves and we just lost our temper!

For HR:
- A few times a day, whenever he doesn't get things he want or do things his way.
- 5 to 10 min (considered not bad ya).
- He tries to tell us why he is not happy about, sometimes. But often, it's for no valid reason.
- Just ignore him. Then hug him and talk to him again when he has calmed down.

Luvv
We went to see the PD at Tampines 1 - Dr Lim. COs already 2 visits to GP and he is getting worse. First consultation $60, subsequent $50.

Luca
Doctor gave Promethazine for cough and flu, zyrtec for flu and allergy and Salbutamol (zenmolin) to drink at night so tt he can sleep better. He still cough here and there, but at least don't have prolonged cough which makes him breathless and drop tears.

I am mot scare of cough, means sleepless night for everyone.

Krystle, hiaz me opposite leh. Got a place for raeanne at prenursery but not happy with their curriculum. Raeanne had bern attending pg since 18 mths so I have higher expectations n the pcf cannot meet that. Want to put her at cc, got more worksheets n they teach Chinese but cost is an issue. Now $470 per month almost 3 times more exp than pcf so I am still deliberating. :p

Guess what, my mil n maid will be going to genting with us. Aunty used her points to redeem one more room so they just need to pay for bus ticket. I gave maid a choice if she wants to go with us but pay for her own bus ticket or stay with my mum who is not going n she said she wants to follow us. Haha. Now no need to worry so much about who will carry raelynn when she sleeps in the coach Liao.

Icy raeanne started coughing too. Sian last night she also can't sleep, end up we had to give cough syrup. :p

Kam my exp similar to yours. sometimes I will distract her, if pek chek, i will scold her. Ignore her also no use cos she becomes even more drama mama. If I walk away she will follow me n continue her meltdown. :p

Kam,
B has good and bad "weeks"...I say weeks cos usually when he's good, he will behave for straight 2-3 wks. When his tantrums start...it drags for a few weeks too and I really go crazy during those times. I think it's normal but don't know what's the cause...could be teething???

The most common reason for B's tantrum is when he doesn't get to do "his chores" which includes switching off TV & lights, opening the door, etc. All these are very important to him and he will even get a meltdown when he can't arrange the pillows in a certain way...weird. Usually we will reason with him and if he continues to scream and cry, we will ignore him. Sometimes we will go to our room and leave him in the living room crying. Of course he will scream and cry even more but after a few mins, one of us will bring him into the room, explain to him again and ask him to apologise and give us a big hug. Then everything will be back to normal again

One thing I realised is his meltdown will usually end earlier if we let him him cry for a while. It's more difficult to stop a meltdown that hasn't really started so I just let him cry a bit to release his frustrations then he's more receptive to what we tell him after that. But it may not work for everyone.

My gal started her pre nursery at pcf. But the timing is super lousy. 1 - 3pm. Super hot to walk her there. By then she reached, already half mood liao. Btw my gal din manage to get their uniform. Their P said is fine, so just buy from market wearing white tee and a pair of red shorts.

Krystal,
Btw my fees only 168, why is there a difference? I am still thinking to continue anot? Haiz.

kitsune
good for u! got extra pairs of hands to help to carry raelynn on the coach.. hehe...

tongtong
yes i m still working fulltime. eversince my 3rd maid came in, she reject bottle feed and thus we tried to put milk into cereal and she finished it up. hence she doesnt drink milk from bottle during my office hour ie from 9 to 8pm. even on weekend, i refuse to latch her at the same timing and offer only bottle but she also refuse to take. So she doesnt drink milk but she do take 2-3 cups of water, 2 bowls of porridge and 2 bowl of cereals with milk.

kitsune,
Hard on you hor, ignore cannot, walk away also cannot. RA very sticky to you.

Yvonne,
Ya, what we do is pretty much similar to you. Reasoning, ignoring, then "make up" with him again by telling him the reason why he shouldn't be that way and give him a big hug, except we often don't have for an apology. Yes, everything back to normal again very fast and sometimes he would keep saying mama/baba, I love you! And yes, I agree, let him cry to let out his frustation, he would stop his nonsense earlier than don't cry.

kam
then my answers are the same as yours. really :p
but for the last point, it would be:-
- Just ignore him. will tell him to come look for mummy when he finish his tantrum. Then hug him and "talk" to him again.

Yvonne

What you mentioned is what we've been doing too ! Mine will want to off tv, close the door, close the fridge arrange pillows too ! weird ya. hahaha. And yes he gets angry if he cant get to do these ! Sometimes if I accidentally off the tv then he started to scream I will quickly on back the tv and let him off again. :p At times I will tell him it's ok you can off the tv next round.. sometimes he's ok with it and say oh ok ! But sometimes he's not ok and starts to cry...

Duno why he's like tat... sometimes reasoning helps but sometimes not.. sometimes he listens but sometimes not.. very difficult to know when he will and when he will not.

chaye, yvonne
imho, i think its the sense of security that kids wants.
all children are different. maybe both your boys wants this routine that they feel comfortable with. if it deviates out of the norm, they will feel threatened and/or uncomfortable

perhaps, perhaps??

icy,
the medicine sounds new to me except the zrytec. my boy coughs occasionally when he runs too fast and when he sleeps, not disturbing though, but seem so hard to stop, so duno whether should go see doctor again. :S

my boy fuss most of the time when we dun give him wat he wants. so if its not unreasonable, we usually give in. but if it is, will juz let him cry and get to him later. he likes to throw things too when hes angry! a very bad habit which we are trying to correct him, but to no avail..

Chaye,
Yah...weird right? B will relate all these as part of his routine and gets upset when we accidentally do it for him. But funny thing is he creates his own routine with each parent. Eg. his daddy lets him open the gate with the keys whereas I don't let him play with my keys so it's ok with him when I open/lock the gates but he will throw a tantrum if his daddy is the one who did it.

Pixie,
I used to tell him to come to me when he's ready and has finished his tantrum. But I realised he's very stubborn and will become even more hysterical if I ignore him for a long time. So I changed my strategy and will tell him to come for a hug after letting him cry for a while. If I lost my temper and used the cane in the process, I will apologise to him and explain why I was angry. If he was unreasonable, I will ask him to apologise to me and explain why he shouldn't behave in that way.

Kam,

Q:How often does your girl/boy throw a tantrum or have a meltdown?
A: He has not thrown tantrum for very long already, maybe because he understands more things now. Situation like when he ignores what i said, I will ignore him, show angry face and walk away. He will start crying until he stops and i will lecture him and sayang him after that.

Q:How long does each tantrum/meltdown last?
A: Around 15 minutes

Q:Do you usually know what causes it or does he/she tell you why?
A: Yes, sometimes he tells , sometimes doesnt.

Q:What's the most effective way to stop the tantrum/meltdown?
A: Like above, ignore him. He will walk back to me, and i will hug and lecture him. Then sayang him. ask him whether he will do it again or not, he will always say "no".

Luca,
In the most recent visit to Dr Keoy for HR's cough, Dr Keoy also prescribed a "new" medicine for his cough, not the usual ventolin. Think it's called "Kaolo" or something like that, can't remember the exact spelling. It says it's from the extract of a natural plant. Seemed effective, the night before he visited Dr Keoy, he was coughing the whole night, the night after he took medicine, he slept through the whole night. And I didn't feel so bad to let him take the med as it's a natural plant extract.

tongtong

Your boy so guai leh.. so sensible. Hmm... when will my boy be so sensible ??

Worldcup
Anybody watching the match at 2.30am ? Spain vs Germany ??

kellie, yea the timing is very hot! tiring for ur gal to walk there hor.

superbee, wah! she doesnt drink bottle liao. then just let her drink milk using cup la! i think shd be fine with that.

Chaye, i always lecture him wor n must be persistent and consistent. I will ask him to be a good boy , must 听话。If he doesnt listen to me, he will either hurt himself or I become angry. He just listen and listen, and when i asked , 懂吗? okay ma? he will say 懂, ok. u try this method and see la!

WC; not interested haha. i think germany will win

Chaye,
Me and hubby tried to keep awake last night to watch WC, failed. Tonight will try again, but doubt if we can :) I think Germany will win, but I want Spain to win.

tongtong,
You are a good lecturer :) Me a bit opposite, I don't want him to listen to me, I will ask him why and make him think, he does things his way, only if it's dangerous then I stop him. He doesn't have to be good boy, sometimes can be naugthy boy also :)

Kam,
sounds good. but i wonder if its just purely for cough since the usual ventolin is mixed with mucosol??? to clear phlegm.
actually hor, when do u usually stop medication since u encourage self heal theory?

Luca,
For fever med, I don't give at all unless he/she looks lethargic. As soon they are active and normal again, I stop.

For cough med, I only give if the cough disrupts his sleep. If normal cough here and there, no med, or stop med when he can sleeps well throughout.

For runny nose/cold med, usually give him 1-2 days. Then stop. Cos runny nose takes very long to recover anyway.

For the phlegm med, this one I feed a bit longer, usually until can hear his throat/lung not stuck with phlegm anymore, by then whole bottle of med finished liao.

Last time Dr Keoy prescribed ventolin and muscosolvan seperately. So if still phlegmy, only contine with the muscosolvan.

But hor, the thing for HR hor, is that he LOVES med! Once I start him on med, very difficult to stop, he will ask for it, so have to secretly empty the bottle and tell him no more (now this trick cannot use already cos he knows!). When it's med time, he would very enthu sit down and open his mouth wide wide to be fed with the med, the more (bottles), the merrier, funny boy!

Boys apparels are up..
Pls support -> <font color="ff0000"> LolliTotsy</font>

Specially for Jan08 mummies..
I'll give a 5% discount and free normal mail delivery for EVERY purchase (No need to be 3pcs and above).

kam, yea, i very lor soh when i lecture him haha. i will reason with him . He seems to be thinking or digesting my lecture eventhough i'm not asking him anything. i dont ask him why becuase i know he will not be able to answer and i feel that he doesnt need to think a reason for me at this age lo. IMHO<, At this age, he should be playing and not to give me reason.

haha Kam
my boy will also love to take his med ! whenever I say med time he will say Ok coming. But whenever I say dinner time ! he will say I dun wan to eat :p:p:p

tongtong
who looks after your boy ?

Kam
thanks for the detailed explanation. i prefer ventolin and muscosolvan be put separately, at least lesser dosage to take.

cute HR! i think Janbb will envy u, since she had trouble feeding J with medicine. but dont u think its harder to bluff them now? ;p they will only believe if u show or do it in front of them.

Chaye, i think the med is sweet that's why he prefers med than dinner ! Nanny looks after until end of July! Aug will be with me.

Pixie,

Kellie,
Ya loh, how come different fees? I think maybe got to do with who (the pte institutes) your nearby pCF collaborate with? Just my guess.

Re:Tantrum/Meltdown
Ermm.. To be frank, I hardly experience that in Issyen leh. At her cranky times, she will at most cry 5 to 10 mins. Either I will hug her or if I get angry, she will stop immed coz she is afraid that we will scold her. And such situation like only happened less than 10 times since her birth...

But the comments all mummies put here are good reference for me. I can see I can use it on Issey. This little guy is really having a big temper!!! Just now in the morning, not happy that the doc examined him, screamed like hell! So embrassing!

Kam,
Issyen like HR loves med. These few days Issey is sick and it is really a battle to get him take the med. Then Issyen very cute also, keeping telling her little bro, "Didi, don't cry. Take med lah, very sweet one, Cheh Cheh also likes." Damn funny but the bro ignored and continuing screaming! After finished the med, I caught Issyen sneaking to where I put the med and trying to put the syringe into her mouth! Hahahaha.

Questions:
How often does your girl/boy throw a tantrum or have a meltdown?
Very often as long as he doesnt get what he wants

How long does each tantrum/meltdown last?
10-20mins.

Do you usually know what causes it or does he/she tell you why? Normally Yes. Cos that is normally the stuff that we refuse to give in.

What's the most effective way to stop the tantrum/meltdown? Divert his attention, depending on what is his demand. Problem for Xavier is - he wants it now and then. We always try to tell him that certain things he need to wait.. sometimes he listen and sometimes he don't.

Kitsune,
Your girl also coughing? BTW will u self medicate when u are slightly sick since u are BF?

chaye,
Ya ya, he is not interested in the food or whatsoever. But when it's med time, he's very happy!

tongtong,
Not only the sweetness leh. Cos we give him lollipop, he didn't want leh. But never refuse med, keke!

HR is different bah. He likes to ask why and when we ask him why, he would start with "because......." sometimes he cannot give an answer, but he tries. This is also a type of playing, cos we are not serious about the answers, only provoke them to think and to be creative and imaginative with answers.

krystle,
Wah, Issyen is such a good girl!

Ya, my gal also having quite bad temper. She is the fierce one and we think she would bully HR when she is old enough. HR loves his sis very much so we think he would give in and let his sis bully him.

Kam, krystle,
now that both of u had said it, i wonder if its true that #2 is always the naughty one, coz mine also ;p

Kam
nowadays kids are different from our era ma. :p
you know when I brot TT to playgroup and mingle with those aunties who are mostly babysitters and they told me the children nowadays are not easy to handle ! haha.. They even suggested to the parents to send their children to CC next yr

yvonne gerger66
yes i want, so its 12 less 5%? rite? i'll trf the payment and PM you my addr ok
btw, i want size#13. just to be sure and no harm getting a bigger size for future....

Chaye, yeah!

Kam, oh yea, Shaun only started asking why last 2 days since his speech development is slower than HR. Not sure when he will catch up with the rest here who will ask many WHYs soon.

tongtong
no worries, x is slow too
now i am trying to get him to ask permission for many things before he can do it...WIP
he havent even started to ask WHY le.....

pixie, yea i'm not worried liao because S has already talk in sentences. What abt X? think ours are the slowest liao hehe

tongtong
paiseh, x havent start to talk in sentences wor...how do you define a sentence? 3 words = 1 sentence? or 2 words = 1 sentence?
i didnt see any 2 or 3 words sentence from x yet so thats why im trying to get him to repeat me eg "mummy, can you help me to open the lid, please?"

pixie..

Xie xie ni.. so touched.
You wan size 11 and 13 same design?
Yes it will be 12 - 5%.
My acct is 029-5-074044 (DBS SAVINGS)
You sms me wen u trf okie.. thanks =)

Tongtong, pixie, the boys will catch up very soon. Raeanne talks so much now that I get too tired to answer her. :p but I tell myself it shows that she is curious n learning lor.

Icy, I usually self medicate with cough syrup n take echinacea as well. But recently always whole family sick. Me n hubby usually the last two to succumb. If raelynn is also sick, I will ask for antibiotics so that can pass antibodies to her through bm so that she can recover faster. :p

Kellie, the pcf pre nursery (2 hrs everyday) here charges $165, very close to yours. They tie up with Acorn kindergarten, the facilities are quite good. But curriculum I'm not sure cos the teacher is not willing to share. How is your gal's PG? Mine is 830-1030am but I find it too early, 1030-1230 too late cos they don't provide lunch. No ideal timing. :p

morning mummies!!
yes, very fast weekend liao...

kitsune
mine also 165...the timing is 2-4...not too good, not too bad, as x sleeps from 1-2.30pm, so i will be pushing this schedule earlier - even waking up in the morning will get him to wakie at 6 or 630...no choice liao
btw, im so desperate to get x into school that i never go to the ctr and see whats their curriculum because all i need from x is not to improve academically but to improve in speech, social skills. so to me, anywhere will do...

but still i will make a trip down tomorrow to purchase uniform and look at the centre... hope its not as bad

Sorry to ask this, how important or how much different do you think the curriculum for a 3 years old can be? I have never asked about the curriculum at the cc. Cos I think all cc/pcf/kindy will be about the same leh - reading, story-telling, singing, dancing, arts and crafts, phonics, maths, language, etc, etc. Thought the main thing is for them to socialise and have fun? No?

kam
depends on what the parents wants i guess?
i thought 3yos mainly is to develop social skills, learn thru play...
my colleagues's girl goes to a branded school in tanglin (a Montessori kind) says they have no cirriculum! they learn thru play, &amp; get nurtured as such
i think centres are different because they have different emphasis on certain stuff. some more academic; some more "ang moh style" aka relac relac