(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi, mummies.
My boy is having fever since last night too but temp is around 37.7 degrees. So I am giving him some fever med and hope it will go down soon. I think this is due to teething as he was having watery poo over the last weekend.

Tongtong,
Maybe tonight you monitor S's fever for tonight. If there is no more fever today, then can let him go to school.

thread is so dead after the server down last week

any hot topics for today?
so cold in office today

and i just heard that my neighbour is preggy with #2...ahhhh...when will be my turn hah? sighs

Hi Pixie/Kam

thanks for your encouragement.... Ya sometimes I really ignore his funny requests. Then I would say ok I'll feed jie jie if you dun want to eat. Then he would quickly say I want to eat I want to eat. Then I so happy put him on high chair then he starts his nonsense say "but I dun want to eat"... arggghh

Jacelyn ! you are a SAHM now ! wow good for you ! I still do not have the courage or rather ability to do it. I would say I really enjoy bringing the kids to and from school. But I need to work leh. It would be ideal if I can get a part time job that start from 2-6pm just 4 hrs will do. Then I can still consider

Shannonbaby
You are so lucky to get a good maid. I wish mine will be good too. Akan datang !

Mom2nat
yes lor.. tat time I msn u until now lor... still waiting...

tongtong/krystle
hope your little ones get well soon...

many kids had been falling sick.. sigh

Xavier recovered from flu and now his cough and flu is more serious. His virus spread to Crystal and now Crystal is having a slight fever. Both kids wants me and refuse to sleep outside out room at night.. so that is how the virus spread.

Kitsune and Lyn,
Both of u see a PD at Tampines? Can let me know their address? Might consider switching a doc for Xavier as his coughing is making him asthmatic.

Pixie,
baby dust to you! Wait 1 more mth strike then u will have a bb rabbit. :D

krystle, 37.7 need to give med ah?? ANyway i think S is also teething because he kept biting his inner gum until bled. Shaun doesnt have fever now, see whether tonight his fever is back or not.

pixie, jiayou in ttc!why so impatient when you just started to conceive hehe

shannonbaby; gastric only few days, no wonder gp gav her 1 wk of med only. My maid promised no off day for 1 yr and i gav her extra $. My maid also eat e same food as us at e restaurant, sometimes we order set dinner for her too. seems like she tak tings for granted.

Grumpus: my maid big eater.
A loaf of gardenia bread 2 days gone.
Big tin of Milo 2 wks gone. (i only drink a cup during wkend and e rest by her)
a pint haagen daz ice-cream ( i ate a scoop and 2 days lata, only left half.. ask hb~ he never touch, ask maid~ she smile ) told her b4 anything she wanna eat inside e fridge must ask for permission but never..

mon2nat: My maid luv the pool view more than us. hahaahaa! i tried our place downstairs but gotta wait for 1 mth so i bring her to tampines they hav night appt as i'm workin so only can bring her aft my work.

chaye: whr to get such ideal job 2-6pm

pixie: ttc,ur turn will come soon.. Maybe dis mth or next..

lynn,
wahhh yr maid sounds quite jia lat. better control and set boundaries early.
but my mum tell me all maids like that one, when first come either eat ALOT or the other extreme, very picky dun want to eat.
so must early lay down the rules.

icy, lynn

tongtong
last time no stress, conceive x within a mth of trying
now i stress, coz no signs of ovulation and cycle days haywire so really not sure when i should TTC

Chaye,
Thanks! I hope your maid problem will be over soon. It is really tiring for you juggling between work and fetching the kids. So happy for you that you have an understanding boss. Hopefully your new maid is a good one. Yes, actually I heard that those maids who had worked in other countries like HK, Dubai etc.. like of themselves as a higher class maid. They lead a better, easier life there and many cannot accept the domestic helper life in SGP. And those places paid more too. So these maids are rather choosy and demanding.

Lynn,
Wah, your maid ate Haagen Dazs? Very high class taste leh.. Hehehe. My maid also had no control over food in the sense like she just eat whatever she saw. Once my MIL made 5 rice dumplings and told her to take for lunch and she really ate all!!! MIL was so shocked and complained to us. We told her maid are very straightforward one and if you don't spell out things clearly, they just take whatever they see. So now MIL learnt to be clever... like told her specifically take 2 rice dumplings, 1 bowl of rice etc...

But still overall I am still ok with my current maid. She is like my MIL's PA now coz MIL also forget to remind me to replenish for my kids' diapers and milk powder. The maid will inform us.

Pixie,
JIAYOU!! It is your neighbour now so maybe the wind is blowing baby dust to you next???

lyn,
woah, ur maid big appetite. My maid eat more for like 2 weeks and then start to eat normal.. cos she says scare fat haha.. Fortunately she consider ok for her attitude, so i put up with her slow action, poor command of english and forgetfulness... other than that she consider guai, can see she loves the 2 kids.

Ur maid like good stuff ah, finish off ur ice-cream just like that. Should warn her if she eat ur food w/o asking then u deduct her pay then she wont dare to do it again. I would pay for some of my maid stuff at times, but always say I done so becos she done well. Once a while will let her pay, so that she wont take for granted. :p

Food wise, really depends. Chinese food can easily let her have the portion.. if we plan to have japanese, sometimes dun really suits her. We will let her have Mac before or after the meal while we shop a bit.

Pixie
Dun be impatient lah... enjoy the process of TTC!! Hoho...

Lynn
Doesn't mean we nice to them, they will appreciate and be nice to us or our kids. When they homesick or not happy, they oso a lot of pattern, you think they bother if you gave them beef steak or sharksfin? So dun be too nice.
You can buy tat $1.10 huge loaf of bread for her, since she big eater. My maid only takes 1 or 2 slices for breakfast. So usually we dun separate our bread from hers. I think your maid "tam jiak"... some are like tat, come here, eat eat eat.

Tongtong,
Yes, I am the KS/lazy mummy who practices giving fever med for temp over 37.5. :p Too lazy to keep monitoring the temp.

krystle
THANKS ! yes the previous maid told my mum she has a big room to herself and a personal fridge to herself in Dubai leh. so hao ming. come here got to share a tiny room with my 2 kids hahaha.

Lynn
I wish got such a job la.. 2-6pm very ideal leh. next time dun buy haagan dars put at home la.. buy Kings or Walls can liao.

icy
I am really poor in handling maid cos my long-time maid been with us for 7 yrs is very independent. I do not need to give her any perks. But many ppl told me now with new one hv to give perks now n then. But when to give when not to give ? Can scold then sayang her by buying her something ? you said once a while let her pay. what is she paying ?

Chaye
I am also slowly learning from my friends on how to handle maid... we're kind of share info. My maid is new one, no exp. So first 6 mths, she doesnt have much pay. I will pay for her toiletries, she cant choose the brand etc. If she wants to choose, she pays.

Normally we go supermarket, I will ask her if she need anything. Actually I quite random, sometimes based on when I last pay for her stuff and if she really need it. Then when she ask to pay, then I say never mind, This time I buy for you but u must work hard.

She pays for her own mense pad at times and the kind of cotton wools she wants. She pays for her toner recently cos I consider that as "extra" item. Saw her stared at the night cream for quite some time, but too ex for her. I went home and gave her my samples. Then she happy.

First phone card, I pay for her. Later on she pay on her own - since her Angbao money for CNY is enough for her to call once every mth. She had no control, normally can finish up 1 calling card in 1 call. She calls home abt every 2 mths. Actually we never really scold her harsh harsh, just scold and "say" her.

On contract, she will not have handphone or leave for 2 yrs. But never know what she will ask for once she repay all her loan next mth.

chaye
just some simple examples of how me and my mil "sayang" the maid...

-when i revamped my wardrobe, all my new new hardly wore t shirts i passed to her
-when she wanted to pack some stuff home, i gave her my pre-loved but still looked new pillows, and bedsheets etc
-birthday cakes, pictures of her developed so she can send back to family
-if i ask her to come over to my place to clean, i will buy her charsiew and roast pork rice plus a drink (more ho liao then what i eat), on top of the additional $20 we give her for the cleaning she do for us

she likes all the children in my mil place a lot. can see. she looks at x and kept smiling at his antics. x calls her "auntieeee" yesterday she so happy

icy
your t&c sounds alot like mine, maybe SOP? haha...

my maid's contract over liao, she wanna renew but wanted off day to go church. my mil managed to negotiate this yr no off day but mil said next yr if she ask for off day we have no choice but to give her liao...

another funny thing is, when michael jackson died, she wanted to read the newspapers so my mil bought a copy of straits times for her.....hahaaaaa

pixie
My maid also like to keep most of the pre-loved stuff, she wants. Even shoes that is not her size, she would want to keep and bring home in future. Maybe will turn mouldly then.

Maid's Bank account
How do u all handle the maid bank a/c cos must be over $500 then no additional fee from bank. How much do u let your maid accumulate before they TT their money back to their home? How much is that admin charge?

sidetrack, paiseh
potty training:
for mummies with boys, can i check, does your boy pee standing up or sitting in potty?

x stands up to pee (like a grown up style) but he cannot "switch" to sitting down in the potty to poo...how should i "transit" this?
and, what is the "pet name" you or your boy calls his penis?
di-di? wee-wee? etc?

hmm.. most of your maids are new so giving them those pre-loved items they will be thrilled. The one that I'm taking is ex-sg. 2 sg employers previously liao. She may not be interested in pre-loved items ? I duno...

The reason why I dun want fresh ones is I got no patient to train. But ppl warn me not to get ex-sg cos they are familiar with here and will be more ya ya. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

It's also stated in her contract she will get an off day a month. In fact I dun mind giving maid off day 4 times a month cos to me Sunday is really a family time together. I can do without a maid. But again, ppl warn me the maid will be even more yaya ! hahaha

chaye
as in english word bird bird??
hmmmmmmmmm
i really dunno what pet name i can give, because all are confusing. he thinks his penis is a bird? or when ppl say didi, then how would be think if he address other younger boys?
i know we are not supposed to give pet names leh. i call it penis but my mil kept saying didi...so x says didi all the time. i dont like it to give confusing pet names

pek chek qi lai hor, i call by chinese name "yang2 dao4"

chaye, how do you get tate to sit down on potty to poo ah? x still dun want to sit down

pixie,
Same as X, Xavier stand to pee in the potty but also intially cannot switch to sit to poo. We had no choice but force him to sit with his favourite books/ toys or do activities with him while sitting. Sometimes we had to resort to threatening with cane. Now he is use to sitting.

We call his penis bird bird as well. heehee

chaye
I think really depends on their character if they will get more Yaya or not. We need some luck. Some rich enough so just want freedom.

pixie
Oh it's bcos he initially sit to pee and poo. so it's easier to switch it this way round I think cos he will pee many times a day instead so whenever he wants to pee we just say stand will do then from there he understands lor. Now even when he is sitting wanting to do his business he needs to pee he will still stand and pee and sit back again to poo.

Icy
Ya character and values of the maid is very important !!!!!

pixie, i dont think boy can pee while sitting in potty wor? mine always pee in standing position. At initial stage, mine poo in standing position, after a few months, he switched to toilet bowl.

pixie,
Toilet training...mine also WIP

B stands to pee in the shower area, I'm trying to find a low stool for him to stand on so he can learn to pee into the toilet bowl. So far he only managed to poo twice on the toilet bowl (w child seat). But both times he already pooed a little on his training pants. He rejects the potty so I sit him on the toilet bowl and leave him there...hahaha...I will tell him I need to get a pair of shorts for him, etc and let him sit for a while so he can poo. Otherwise he will just tell him "finish" and asked to get down when nothing has been done. So far flushing the toilet has been a useful bribe so I tell him he can only flush when he has pooed. We call his penis...penis. I also don't want to use other pet names so just use the scientific name...hahaha!

Pixie
Elliot called his penis "bah bah"... we wondered why! haha... but we corrected him to call it penis. He stands on a stool to pee into the toilet bowl. Get your hb to show him wat is peeing like. Then when he poo, tell him to sit on the toilet bowl. I think it is easier to train on toilet bowl itself than potty. You can get those attached child seat which is attached on top of the adult seat all the time kind.

Chaye
I think need to get a humble maid. Dun get those who work for ang mohs b4. Cos they get v good priviledges like own room, tv, computer and so on!! Sometimes I go town, I see a maid pushing a pram, dress so nice and walk so yaya... I dunno isit maid or mdm!

mummies, thanks for your inputs
my boy stands while peeing, but he just dont want to sit down to poo. yvonne, x also WIP leh...im at the same stage as you too, so qiao!

i also call his penis...penis. but he spends so much time at mil place that he is used to calling it didi. trying very hard to correct him now. i feel like telling my mil to change the term but i doubt "old ppl" will get the message of why

Morning, mummies!

Finally received PCF letter that my girl has a slot in Pre-Nursery next jan!!! Luckily I opened my letterbox y'day and saw that the date to place deposit and buy uniforms is today! Wah, nearly missed it!!! Scary... Anyway, bought 2 sets of PE attire and paid for deposit. Now can really "An Xin" for her kindergarten schooling and the little bro as well too since have priority next time. Next, got to crack brains for P1... haiz...

Krystle,
congrats! How much are you paying for the PCF Pre-N? Primary 1 should be more headache..haha..we were joking that we should change our address to our inlaws next time to gain entry to the quite good school near their house next time.

Luvv,
Thanks. I am paying $172/mth and now as deposit. The PE attire is $11/set. Ya loh, P1 quite headache. There is no good school near my place and better ones are outside 1KM... Sianz... I did thought of moving house too but then again it does not guaranteed anything too... Just leave it to destiny bah... Hopefully my girl is a lucky star.

krystle

congrats to you leh !!! I am not so lucky le
my one and only PCF near me is fully taken. I am on waiting list. Then Principal called me ytday said she MAY start an additional class but it's afternoon class from 1-5pm and it's not confirmed. But I'm not so interested in afternoon leh. It's nap time you know ! I take it first lor and ask her to continue me on waiting list for morning slot.

damn sian recently ... cant get good maid.. cant get child care... cant even get nursery class for him next yr. If everyting else cant get meaning he will stay have no school at all for next year leh

Hope luck will change to better for me very soon

Chaye,
Understand your feelings, so stress over all these issues. Somemore schooling is so impt for our kids right? But your elder girl should be in kindergarten already right? Is she in pte kind or PCF? If in PCF, your boy should have priority right?
Your area must be a hot one lah, my area is old neighbourhood so maybe better chance??? But the teacher did mention that they are full this year so I still happy I managed to get a slot next year. It is good that PCF here decided to start another morning class for pre-nursery. Must be quite a lot of parents giving feedback bah... Ya loh, PM class is always not good coz clash with nap. But I see for the K1 classes around my area, all are PM classes!!! I also guess by then I have not choice but to take...

Ya loh, take PM class and hopefully can move to AM class for your boy.

krystle

my elder gal P1 le.. normal neighbourhood sch. my area is old area leh.. but the thing is most parents leave their kids with the grandparents around my area that's why everywhere are fully booked.

tong tong: I will permanently b sahm, maybe will surrender aft a yr, depends.

chaye: I luv haagen daz so we bought it, didnt kw my maid also like.. cos wen we r outside having dinner, she told us she cant tak cold stuff.

Icy: did u visit e pd at rmg yest? I paid for all her toiletries and monthly giv her a $10 calling card. As long as she tak gd care of my no.2, i closed 1 eye for other tings. Of cse tings will b different next mth onwards as i'm a sahm, her gd dayz will b gone..

Mom2nat: $1.10 loaf of bread can get fr shop & save? thks for helping to keep a lookout for my maid.

pixie: We call his penis "Penis" and his teacher too, he stand to pee and sit to poo. As i dont hav any potty at hom so is straight into toilet bowl.

Chaye,
Aiyo, no wonder. Missed the priority privilege liao. Actually in my area it is the same situation where everyone leave kids to grandparents. Lucky thing is that there is a CC just opened this yr here so it helped to soften up the tense in PCF enrolment.

Lyn
I went to visit the PD yesterday. Thanks!! I think she is good, Xavier cough and flu become much better! The day before he had been have problem sleeping, coughing till breathless and vomit 3x in a row.. Yesterday he finally had a good sleep. I may consider switching PD for #2 since this one is so much nearer.

Your maid will not get used to it. My maid after 6 mths also pattern come out.. slowly getting lazy and getting blur.. Just now continue with her clothes hanging when #2 is crying.. expect me to attend to her.

Chaye,
Have you consider weekend classes if really no school? if they offer Pm i guess no choice got to take then see how from there ba.

Lynn,
your maid will feel super stress if you're around all the time if she has enjoyed her freedom in the past. My 1st maid was like that, had lots of freedom with my inlaws cos nobody at home most of the time, came over to my side thinking it is easier cos house smaller and lesser people to take care of and more pay, after 2 months she quit cos she can't take the "Mdm always at home" scenario haha.

icy,
the PD at rmg at Tampines 1 right? How much consultation is she charging?

re maid
i agree more patterns when they work longer, always the case.

icy,
wat did the doc prescribe dat gave such fast results? my boy got cough too, still not yet recover. sianz! now im down with flu! got alot of nitty gritty stuff to settle at work, makes me pek cek! argh!!

Chaye,
I mean those classes like GUG, not eng/maths/chinese proper classes, with exposure better then none?

Kam,
maid issues are never-ending...tsk tsk... guess what? my maid almost lost my girl's uniforms, she dropped it outside the cc and luckily the centre cleaner pick it up and the director text me to ask if we dropped it. Else she will face another $50 deduction this month...

tongtong,

Let me try........

Questions:
How often does your girl/boy throw a tantrum or have a meltdown?
How long does each tantrum/meltdown last?
Do you usually know what causes it or does he/she tell you why?
What's the most effective way to stop the tantrum/meltdown?