(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Krystle/blackbatz, I finally booked to go genting with my aunty n cousins. Super exp but no choice since my hubby can't go during school term. Going over the national day weekend by night coach.

Krystle, Did u bring your baby boy with u then? I am wondering if i should bring raelynn cos dun know how to let her sleep on the coach. But dun bring her also cannot cos I sm still bfing. :p

Did u visit snow city with issyen? Cos I read from website that children under 3 years old r not allowed, not sure why. :p

morning mummies!!
sighs, another few more mondays alone with X then its no more such days liao...
x start school next mth and i have to bring him early to mil place on mondays so no more "home alone" feeling....very sad
nevermind, "ren" few months then ok liao

steph: ur fb pic on MBS was v nice

how much did u pay for e room?

Pauline: R u talking abt e snow city in sin?
i went snow city wif Ray last yr, he was below 2yrs old and i was 6mths pregnant.. so i didnt play anything juz buzi taking pic as hb was overseas.
I went wif my sis and family, Ray enjoyed himself v much.. is foc for Ray. there was a family wif a 1yr old girl, they can enter is foc for them.

Icy: didnt see u guys yest?

shannon baby
You need more EBM? Have a mummy at march 10 thread can give away FEBM.. check ur FB msg.

Lyn
My boy down with fever and cough. sigh! cough whole night until it affect his appetite and sleep time. I brought him out too long last week and he caught a cold.

Good morning mummies,

Guess what, the cc called me on friday evening say she's very sorry that she let this thing happen and said she'll make arrangements and speaks to her officer, then sat morning she say they did adjustments and such that my girl can start cc next week as promised. Really don't know what to make of that.

Kam,

Hope you're feeling all great again.

Icy,
Hope X recovers soon.

Luvv,
Thanks! Honestly, haven't been this sick for so many years. Still feeling very tired. Feel that still lots of phlemg is still stuck in the throat/chest and lost my voice.

Wah lau, the cc can be like that one meh? So what's your decision? You are going to let your girl try?

Kam,
ya lor, we decide to let her try and see how from there, hubby wants her to start interacting and learning instead of sitting and waiting. Plus, i can't be sending her to other places to attend classes all the time now unless i can use the car which is quite impossible.

Did you take Pi Par Gao? it's very effective to clear my phlegm.

kitsune
saw u mentioned u'll b going to genting & just to share that i went to genting in oct last yr with my #1 & #2. #2 was 4mth back then when we travelled up to genting. we took the super vip coach which was quite spacious and i latch my #2 on the way there. also just carry my bb on my hand when it's time for her to sleep... else just let her play with some toys that we bring on the coach ride. didnt have much problem leh. but the weather was cold and she was sick when she's back in sg.

shannon baby
u need EBM? I still have 4-5 pack left in my fridge but they are dated in mid feb, mar onward. u keen? my baby doesn't take EBM(bottle feed) now and only latch when i m back home. So have stopped giving her EBM....

I need advice. My #2 refuse bottle feed since 9th months old and i m still latching her. She has just turn 1 yr old few wks back and wonder how to stop breastfeeding or rather how to get her to drink milk(FM) from bottle again ah?? i tried to give her bottle when she was asleep but she will scream and make noise when the bottle is inserted into her mouth wor...

luvv
like that considered good news or bad news? i consider this as good news. in this way the principal remembers your gal and hope she & cc pays more attention to your gal too...........??

Lyn I was talking about the snow city at genting but it's good to know that it is foc for kids.

Luvv after seeing your post, I went to visit the cc n they said if I pay $80, they will confirm a place for raeanne next Jan. But their fees have gone up, $470 for half day. :p

Superbee, ic. Did u take day coach or night? Did u get any sleep? Mine is night coach cos hubby cannot take leave on 6 aug. :p

Luvv still thinking cos just realized only need to buy bus ticket ie $150. If mil dun want to go, she is still thinking, we may bring maid. Cos if got to get one more bus ticket (for raelynn to lie down in coach), might as well use the $ to get ticket for maid then we can take turns to carry her. And she can help with the baby.

Anyone tried mim sling? Can baby sleep in there for long? :p

kitsune,
only $80 to confirm a place? i placed a full month's deposit to supposedly confirm a place. I signed up for full day even though i intend to place her for half day only as the fees are cheaper by $10 after subsidy ($348) for full day, $358 for half day. My CC is a normal cc, so no enrichment nothing, so i suppose yours has?

Have you check whether your maid needs visa to enter malaysia?

kitsune,
depends on whether your girl wants to sleep in there, if she likes then can be useful. I still have mine if you want to borrow? can pass you later since i'll be going to ikea around 2 plus.

Luvv thanks, I have one that is unused cos I dun know how to sling. :p mine also normal cc but I got to pay more cos I am sahm so only $150 subsidy.

Kitsune: How's ur maid? must b quite gd and well-behave. cos mine will do funny ting wen we not hom. Last 2 wks wen we in hk, i received a call fr my mum she told mi my maid bring my no.2 downstairs for almost 1hr and not back.. we were so worried cos my maid never bring my no.2 out unless is to fetch my no.1 hom. The ting is no.1 is wif us in hk and she still bring my no.2 out??

My maid only wif us for 6mths and i spend $100+ for her dental then last wk $40 gp cos she got gastric prob, she on diet wen everybody said she put on a lot of weight.. Does ur maid hav these prob?

Icy: how is Xavier now? Have a speedy recovery.
Ray's cough is on off ever since he attend cc.

Kam & Lyn
Thanks. Think the whole family will be getting it too. I already feel the itch in the throat.. seemed like lots of people are are having cough.

Lyn
Normally I see maid chatting with another maid when they happen to see one. Maybe she get to know some friends when she fetch ur#1. Better warn her that she cant go out w/o permission and have someone to watch her when u are overseas. Very dangerous.

My case because there is aways someone at home so she is more controllable.. else I will never leave my baby with the maid alone at home..

superbee, i think to wean her off u have to be hard hearted not to latch her leh. Then she will realised that she needs to drink via bottle.

icy, speedy recovery to Xavier. n you take care too.

Lyn, my maid has her good n bad days. I am a strict employer so I will scold her very jialat when she is careless or forgetful eg forget to freeze my ebm or forget to bring out raeanne's things. But I know my maid very 'hiao' so I also give her little treats now n then eg give her my unused toiletries eg body shop body butter, buy cheap watch for her, redeem free bag for her, print photos tor her to send home etc. Yesterday is her birthday, I bought her a cake, gave her a present n an advance salary n 2hrs off for her to go shopping. So she is very happy lor. ;)

If she wants to see dr for small things (eg menses never come, constipation etc), I follow my agent's example n make her pay herself so she has learnt her lesson.

how come yours so daring, she stay with your mum, still dare to bring no. 2 out? Agree with icy, I see a lot of maids hanging around to chit chat when they r supposed to bring the kid home after playgroup. If I know the employer, I will tell tale to employer n warn her. ;p

tongtong
u mean let her go on milk strike & hunger until she surrender to the bottle ah? now she know how to throw temper and scream... when i don't carry her or pass her to my maid, she will cry like very ke-lian loh... haiz...

kitsune,
i took day(early morning) coach. i do get some nap in between when #1 & #2 doze off. i went with hubby, my aunty and my maid so we take turn look after the kids.. thus, not too bad bah... which hotel u b staying? resort hotel doesnt have bath tub leh... so i bought a swimming float to use as bathtub.

Superbee, I am staying at first world hotel.
i am going with my aunty but I think she may be too busy with her own grandkids than to help me with mine. :p yup I got an inflatable bathtub for raelynn.

I've been very down lately.....

1st my maid was found to hv 8cm cyst in your stomach by the 6mthly check. Was asked to remove it immediately. Brot her to my gynae and told to remove it back home as it will be costly to do it here. So no choice but to send her back for op. She has been with us for 7 yrs.. Everyting is handled by her. I am totally switch off with my kids at times cos she's around to take care.

Things just went downhill after she left...

I managed to get a transfer ex HK and ex Dubai Indon maid immediately after she left and took few days leave to train her. Can speak cantonese and fair bit of chinese and english. Which is perfect ! But 2 weeks into her job she say wanna quit and ask me to send her back to agent saying that she cannot handle my kids.

She was forgetful and I scolded her. She left the window grilles open and washing powder open after use. These are dangerous ! Likes to argue with me and I told her off. She say she's new. I told her precisely she's new so when I tell her certain things she has to listen ma. I put a camera to monitor her and kids. She even dare to shift my camera leh !

So ok fine.. send her back to agent lor. So for a month I am without maid.. cos I cannot find another maid urgently and now waiting for the new one to fly to Singapore and will only collect her on this Friday.

So all these while I am taking half day morning leave to fetch my 2Ts to and from school. #1 in P1 #2 in Playgroup. It's quite hectic in the morning actually so when afternoon comes I will be in office and the rest will be handled by my mum. Lucky thing is that my boss allow me to come in at 2.30pm.

Really very stress and tiring period... Lucky thing is today is Youth Day and no school ! I get to come to work for full day !

I really wish things will quickly be settled when my new maid comes. Hopefully she's a fast learner and willing to take up the challenge of taking care of my kids. Nowadays Tate will always say "I dont want to eat lunch, dinner or whatever" I dont want this I dont want that... It's not easy to coax him at times... it's really tiring... He will even say he wanna sleep when ask to take his meals !

Tried to put him in childcare around my area but all 3 of them are on waiting list.

I will still continue to be put on waiting list. Once a vacancy, I will just throw him in !

kitsune

What do you mean by "I follow my agent's example n make her pay herself so she has learnt her lesson."

How ?

kitsune
u staying at the superior deluxe room at first world? if not wrong, superior deluxe comes with bath tub bah.. it's more convenient to stay at first world cos there is shopping and fastfood there.

Chaye, cos the first time my maid insisted to see GP citing minor problems n that she cannot see very well, my agent brought her there. Everything was fine n GP just gave her some pills for her menses to come n for constipation. Bill was $39, n agent made her pay cos she is just belly aching for nothing. So next time she want to see dr for no reason, we told her can if u want to pay yourself.

Oh is it? I am also not sure cos never been there before. My cousin wants to book theme park hotel but most tour agencies dun handle. :p

Lynn,
that maid is not acceptable if she does that, did you give her warning not to do it again or penalise her actions. Normally when employers go on holiday, the maids also on holiday mood. For dental, what problems did she has? Recently my mil's 6 month's maid also has problems, has a lump in her breast, brought her to checks ups and tests. super ex also cos they don't have subsidy. And the heartache part is cos she's not performing well, attitude not very good..still has to bear all these medical expenses.

I'm mostly at home, unless i'm out running errands, even though sometimes i'll just bring my girl and maid out, so not many chances for funny behaviour. But she still does give problems here and then, especially when she's 斤斤记较. So hubby say can don't need to give her extra since she's already enjoying quite good benefits. Off days / handphones / radio / food..etc..

Chaye,
Haiz, maids are always problematic. I change maids till scare. Now SAHM liao, wking part time just because i employed one maid cannot speak or understand english at all. Like to argue. and my ML ending boss let me extend ML as need to find maid. In the end new one come also problem, got sex disease!!!! Asked for npaid leave but not granted. So no choice resigned.... Now end up doing part time woman clinic assistant.

NESTLE NAN PRO 3 MILK POWDER

12 PACKS OF 1 SERVING EACH

For 10 Months onwards

Selling at $12. (Retail Price $16)

Self Pickup at East/Central Location

Direct Bank Deposit OR cash-and-carry accepted

Contact [email protected]

4189004.jpg

Jacelyn, yup, it's true. Not easy to find a good maid. A lot of times, got to bear their nonsense for the sake of peace. As long as don't ill treat our kids, close 1 eye liao. Only those who hire maids understand. :p

Chaye,
Sorry that you have a bad month.

You are not alone. My HR is also on the "don't want" mode. We just ignore him. Don't want to eat, fine, don't eat lor. Don't want to take bath, fine, don't take bath lor. Ignore him till his switch off his don't want mode, then approach him again.

Kam

Good tactic. When my gal refuses to eat her dinner, I’ll tell her ‘ok, then tricia eats later. Mama eat dinner first, feed you after that’. For sure she will quickly change tone and say ‘I want my dinner now’. Very automatic. The more we want them to do something, the more they will not. So the trick is to use reverse psychology.

chaye
sorry to hear that
i dont live with my maid so i dont know how good or well she is but till now she seems ok...
we spent a very long time searching for "the one" so i guess finding a good maid cannot rush. i think we spent like almost 2 mths to find a good one to come along...
but at this time in your life, time is not a luxury hor?
sayangz....u hang in there!

kam
x was like that the weekend!
he didnt want his dinner so we ate while he sulked in the high chair
in the end no dinner for him. he looks fine and good so we didnt bother to force feed him anyway

i agree. at this stage, if they dont want, let them be. after a while get back to them

yesterday while working from home, i had to handle his 2 meltdowns. in the end i just ignored his crying and tell him "once you are done, come look for mummy" and walked off. he stopped crying as there wasnt any "audience" and came to me quickly. then i followed up with a strict speech

sometimes i feel that if i ignore him, im like ignoring his bad behaviour. but if i pay attention to his tantrums, he gets even more drama
fine line, fine line......

My maid came in feb dis yr and during March she was in great pain for almost a wk, i gav her panadol but no use so in e end bring her to see dentist and had her wisdom tooth removed cos decay badly... cost $250. i paid half for her becos she only work for mi for 1mth. She eats a lot, itz fine wif mi as long as she do her work. Actually i also noticed she getting fatter, my sis's maid and mil maid told her abt it and she starts to eat very little then got gastric prob. i was worried and bring her to see gp.

Pauline: my mum came and stayed at my place during my trip, she help to look aft my no.2 and to monitor my maid too.

Luvv: wen we back fr hk, my hb scolded her and she cried. i will b sahm by end of dis mth, my maid good days will soon b gone... i'm lookin forward to b sahm

Gastric prob: how long does it last? Need advice here cos i dont hav this prob. cos my maid finished her med and she told mi "Sometimes still pain??!

morning all!

icy, thanks for yr email. I had enough EBM for my boy everyday nw. But at times when he wants more, I will give him frozen EBM (about 20 packs left) in my fridge.

Superbee, thanks for yr offer too..Will definitely get it from u if i need more.

lynn, gastric for me last abt 2-3 days the most only.

RE: Maid
I am quite lucky until nw that my maid is quite good and take good care of my boy. My MIL always complain that she is very slow, but my hubby n I agree that she is very hardworking and love my boy very much, although we can tell that she prefer my boy to my girl.
my maid so far dont have any off days as I let her choose. Off days or $40 more per mth. She choose $40 more, so her salary is $400 per mth. She told me that she got no where to go during off and also she get to go shopping every weekend with us. So no point for her to take off. When we go shopping, she will bring along her money and buy whatever she wants too in the same store, e.g. isetan, FOX etc.
She knows that she is very lucky (she has been telling my MIL etc) as whatever I eat, she get it too. E.g., I drink Mocha frap from Starbucks, she gets a cup too. So in return, I expect her to work well in my house too.

lynn,
ppl with gastric prob usually struggle with it for yrs. it's a condition that needs to be managed long term and relying on medication is no good also.

i noticed a lot of maids come here and get gastric probs. maybe back home they dun get to eat very well, then come here they see wahhh so much food they tend to eat a lot, then sometimes too bz no time to eat then dinner eat a huge meal. or if the food they dun like then dun eat. so get all these probs lor.

u need to constantly nag at her one. wake up must eat something, some bread or biscuits and milk. then start her chores. later at 10-11am can nibble on something again. eat a light lunch at 1-2pm. basically eat small frequent meals. and no coffee, coffee is very bad for gastric.

Lynn
My maid v zi dong, tooth ache, she "dong" until her home leave then go dentist. I tried to book appt for her downstairs our place, but long queue if need to do surgery.
I often see your maid sitting at your sofa carrying your boy, looking at the pool... Hoho..

Chaye
You managed to get a replacement maid liao? Rem my maid went back home leave? So fast and she is back. Now is freedom for me again! haahaha...

superbee, yeah, right, let her go on milk strike, if she is really hungry she will want bottle one... but must be hard hearted lor to hear her scream. but you are working right? isnt she on bottle when you are working?

Chaye, understand your frustration! hopefully you will get your maid soon!

Kam, i dunno why i cant publish your comment on my blog. so answer you here la. he is going to playgroup, din go yesterday because it was a holiday. Shaun also dont wanna bath recently , dunno why. depends on his mood also wor sometimes. and also like to say dont want, especially when i say go to playgroup. he only likes to say "want" when i offer him food or go kai kai!

anybody knows whether it's ok if toddler's fever comes and go, off and on? S is not on medication, fever on Friday afternoon, off at night, Saturday no fever, Sunday fever came back, Monday no fever, night fever back. Today no fever, yet.

Any problem? or should i consult doc.

tongtong,
HR was also like that (the fever). High fever for about 24 hours. Then gone and came back. Gone and came back. Totally dissappered for 1 whole day. Then came back in the midnight. Now totally gone (as in no more fever for more than 48 hours already), that lasted almost 1 week! HR was not on medication also, except for the 1st day when he had high fever for >24hours. I think as long as he is active and keep hydrated, no need to consult doctor (unless he shows other symptoms of illness). His immunity is doing some work fighting with the bugs. He will be okay once the bugs have been killed, totally.

tongtong,
usually if virus the fever will come and go. if it goes up and down is still ok just let him fight it himself.
if constantly high for 48hrs then need to see dr.

Kam/grumpus, ok thanks for the assurance. S did not have very high fever, highest i checked was 39+. but his fever was down after he slept at night, not like HR's one which came back in midnight. you said HR had high fever for 24 hours, 39 + you mean? I read THomson book and said to see doc only when fever is 39.6. Shaun's one was 39.2.

His fever came back(38.2) yesterday night at 8+, but off when he slept at 10 +.

So that means he is having viral fever. But I STILL SENT HIM TO PLAYGROUP THIS MORNING BECAUSE HIS FEVER WAS GONE. ISSIT OK??? WILL AFFECT OTHER KIDS OR NOT??????

tongtong
Actually you shd let him rest at home. He can spread to other is 1 thing. oso easier for him to catch other pple's virus. My girl gana double virus b4.

mom2nat, yeah, u r right, he has no fever now n i will continue to monitor. if to9 fever doesnt come bc, perhaps can go to pg tmr.