(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

recently, i know of a biz graduate, who tell me, selling price- food cost= profit!
she duno even know wat is overheads , gross profit and net profit! i am even mor amazed... so ther are lots of funny pple around

aqua,

let me tell u the biggest one

one fine day ... my boss ... asked me loudly "which FY are we in now?"

pixie!! i think you mentioned before that you store your stock in avent cup with lid right? is the avent cup bpa free? can recycle for how many times? need to throw after few time usage one or can recycle? issit 180ml and how much issit? sorry ah, i'm thinking whether it's more economical to get avent cup or the babycubes.

mylvera, ur boss is the CFO, accountancy grad?
my boss also dunno wat is FY, THOUGH he is a grad... he simply dunno any accounts, and v bad in figures

tongtong,
I am using avent VIA cup for storing puree now (previously used to store BM). They also have another type meant for storing puree/food. Think should be BPA free. Yes, max about 180ml. If with sterilisation, it's recommended to discard after 5x or when the colour turns turbid. If you don't sterilise, which I don't think you need to, you can reuse it many, many times.

aqua,

mine, i heard, is accountancy grad. he duno anything abt accounts nor audit.. all audits asked me to handle! yet i m not promoted to AM by helping him on these.

Been so busy that I didnt have time to post at all. I think my gal is opposite from most of the kids here. She is too advance for her age, until my mum keep reminding me that if i dont guide her properly, she may goes the wrong way in the future.
Aiyo, too slow parents complain, too advance also got complain. Guess we will never stop worrying about our kids..

aqua,
tell u a funny conversation between our gal.
One day, my gal was throwing tantrum in school and guess what yr gal tells her? "Ni Bu Yao Gua Gua Jiao Hao Bu Hao?"...I had a good laugh when I heard it from the teachers, finally there is someone scolding her instead of she scolding her classmates.

i working from home yes and i have 2 computers running hohoho

yay!! got mobile signal at home liao. last time so bad, must stand at some spots to make phone calls one...but my place now very dusty yuks

tongtong
they recommend that you use few times and throw. its bpa free. the plastic is not the tough plastic like milk bottles. they are semi soft/hard. i sterilize them last time; now no more...
i've been using since day 1 my boy was born. of course over the 2 years i have taken out more to use, but only chucked 1 or 2 away (mis-shaped etc)
economical? yes
safe? imho, yes

btw mine is the 240ml ones. never liked the 180ml. store pathetically little bm/food/liquids

mylvera
dates of the month
ok understand where you coming from but hor honestly in my pri school, my teachers never taught me about the knuckles thingy. my elder sis taught me when i was young but it never went into my brain so until today i am still confused

tongtong
not very ex less around $20 or so for a stack of 10?
get it while metro/robinson got 20% off kind lor
you can get via cups refill too; they sell like 10pcs in a box

its stackable so thats why i like it

Pixie, so if we don’t sterilize it can use like plastic container to store for many times right? Do you know how much each? I want to compare the price with babycubes lor.

tongtong
now metro baby fair wor!! can go buy
perhaps later i go down to metro n see got what can buy
via cups: $15 before less
via lids: $14 before less

10cups can store lots of stock
240x10=2.4ltr

Thanks Pixie. Ok i think i'm not getting the babycubes liao. cuz the via cups look more economical, as it can be recycled right. Meanwhile, still looking for playtex liners..

tongtong
i think got someone selling 140pcs liners per box for 14.90 in smh??
unfortunately the milkbags i always order from does not carry playtex liners else i would have included in few boxes for you in my next shipment liao. i went to search yesterday, just for u hor heheee

pixie, yea, the avent cups more economical. forget about the babycubes! haha

Pauline, sorry ah, not getting the cubes liao. also if i get 3 for u only in KL, no BP price , so it's cheaper if you get it from BP here.

Pixie, yea, it’s the lady wtan. Sold already.

Pauline, actually I think I can still get for u, pls confirm if you want, since I’m going to that area anyway. It should be around 12.50 after conversion.

<font color="ff0000">swimsuit qn</font>

looking for feedback from mummies re swimming costume for the tods. i've been letting my girl wear those typical cute skimpy girly swimsuits when she goes swimming.

BUT, lately she's been catching a cold after every swim. i think it's cos she keeps climbing out of the pool, running around and then jumping back in.

SO, now hv to consider other types of swimsuits for her.

remember some of the mummies were talking abt thermal swimsuit. i saw some but i find the material like very thick and bulky so wanted to know if it's comfortable for the tods and is it easy for them to move around in.
how abt those that provide UV protection, can they keep warm too?

usd4.39 for 50counts box
my usual website dont have, i ask my sis to order one leh and only got 50pcs count
let me know if u r keen ok, i pass u the link

Tongtong, confirm that I want the babycubes if it is convenient for you to buy for me. We can meet up in June at my place if you are keen. It's still cheaper than BP right?

Err... I always use cheap plastic bags for my chicken stock leh. :p

Morning Kam &amp; all

why u say quiet day?

hey can i check with you, i think u mentioned before that u love to eat Tim Sum. And is there a famous tim sum coffee shop in Ipoh call 'Foh San'? Are they really good? any idea? How about Lou Wong Ayam Tauge Kuetiau ? U heard of it? feeback appreciated, thanks!

steph,
Morning! These few days have been relatively quiet here......

I know why you are asking. Cos your next convoy to Cameron will be coming down using the Simpang Pulai highway right. From Simpang Pulai toll to Ipoh town is only about 10-15min drive. Very right, shouldn't miss all the good food at Ipoh!!!

Oh yes, Foh Shan Dim Sum - it's THE BEST DIM SUM!!!!! Really good, very very good. Though I heard from my friends who are living at Penang, claimed that they find the taste a bit weird cos different taste from the Penang ones. Esp their homemade chili, I love it, but it has very stron garlic taste, so some people don't like the chili. Other than that, reviews have been great. Expect long waiting time even during weekdays! On weekends, you have to wait for a long time, esp if you don't know how to fight for a seat (no queue no. give, you gonna wait till someone left the table, then quickly chop it before someone else does). Alternatively, go there for lunch, they have started serving dim sum till after lunch hour (till last order close at 2 or 3pm). Just right opposite Fu Shan, there is another Dim Sum restaurant also, less crowded, some people said it's better than Fu Shan, but I haven't tried for a long time, so cannot comment. There is another one a few shops beside Fu Shan, that one is less famous, usually for people who can't wait or cannot get a seat at Fu Shan. Locals named that street "Dim Sum street", everyone goes there for Dim Sum.

For Lou Wong Tauge chicken, of course I heard of it! Everyone lives there knows Lou Wong! Very nice, the chicken and tauge. Ipoh is very famous for its tauge. Reason being Ipoh is called the "mountain city", it's surrounded by mountains, so they use 泉水 for planting the tauge. Ipoh tauge is short and fat and very crunchy. Also expect long waiting time. They kuetiau is not that special, but still nice, you can choose kuetiah or rice to go with the chicken tauge.

For kuetiau, must try Ipoh shredded chicken hor fun 怡保鸡丝河粉. My favourite! And also Ipoh White Coffee. The white coffee is very very nice also because of the water 泉水 used. Must be at Ipoh then you can taste the real Ipoh white coffee, nowhere else. Both of these can find at Ipoh Old town.

Kam,

WOW thanks for the detailed feedback &amp; your description makes me drool...

Oh i ask not because i am going for the Cameron convoy woh. Me &amp; hubby felt the Cameron itinerary very ordinary &amp; overpriced as we think we certainly can do it on our own! I am asking because the next convoy is to Ipoh, Kellie's Castle and Lata Kinjang Waterfall for 3D2N. Itinerary includes river rafting too....hiyo i very tempted to go leh but wont be bringing the kids along, only me &amp; hubby if we ONz...now cannot decide leh....will be on 1st to 3rd May. The good food in Ipoh is another factor i wanna go too!

morning mummies!!!

the insomnia few days ago is finally passing down to me...i am so so so sleepy
so weird that i finally feel sleepy now, i should be sleepy 2 days ago wat!

morning all!

Finally its Friday again. I am looking forward to taking a break from the busy work week.

Kam,
U mean Ipoh Old Town, the coffee tastes diff from the rest of the coffee in Old Town at diff parts of malaysia? I love the Old Town coffee too!

steph,
Agree. The Cameron itinerary seems to be quite ordinary, as in no special program included. The waterfall and the rive rafting sounds better! Kellie's Castle I have never been (not in Ipoh stricly speaking, it's at Batu Gajah, about 1 hour away from Ipoh), but I heard nothing much to see. Ya, ya, Ipoh is a real food heaven!!!

Pixie,
You poor thing. You can be good friend with mylife ;-)

kam
i thought her insomnia is no more??

iphone apps
my new laptop didnt have my backup of my existing apps so i have to download them all over again, almost to 200 apps...
in the midst of doing it, i accidentally clicked on 3 apps to purchase. now i stupidly have to pay for apps that i already have in the beginning
*cries*

shannonbaby,
Oh yes, it tastes very different from the Old Town Coffee shop in Singapore/other parts of Malaysia. And the famous/best ones is not from Old Town. The shops are located at Old Town. There is no "Old Town Coffee Shop" at Ipoh Old Town, you know what I mean.

kam
i dont drink coffee, hence never tried old town coffee in singapore. but i always have their "si mut nai cha" and i didnt like it, too sweet for my taste. other than that, im ok with the milk tea actually

steph, i told my parents about the cameron trip.they said why not we all go together!!!so not going to follow the convoy liao.