(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Luca,
Haha, thanks. I read the sentence wrongly..... thought why suddenly mandy has got a child named Kiri, haha :)

tongtong,
My dream is to set up childcare centre, and to learn and contribute more in early childhood education.

Good health is not enough motivation? Give yourself 6 months to 1 year. If things doesn't work out, can still come back to the workforce.

kam,
u r funny hehe :p

tongtong,
dun be afraid to try, like wat kam said, if things doesnt work out u can still come back to the workforce, not as if its dead end already. never try, never know. even if it fails, u wun regret coz at least u tried and work hard before.

nolah our part time helper gossip so nothing about smh jan08 mummies :p

kam
3 days ago my former helper called me; she was the one who referred meiyun to clean my place after she fell sick for a long period. she told me meiyun is illegal overstaying in SG and kena caught by police....
my former helper said she oso dunno that MY is overstaying illegally, if not she wouldnt have recommend her to me.
anyway, she said shes kinda pissed at MY oso coz she pushed all the jobs to MY when she was sick n unable to clean the usual places (coz MY was looking for more households to clean) and MY didnt even thank her at all.
then she said MY hb told her that MY actually got not much household to clean nowadays. which is surprising coz whenever i asked her if can swap dates etc she will say not free. the former helper oso said those she given MY, MY oredi declined them after going over a few times, like not keen in the places liao...
i dunno if the last portion was the truth or not lah....

btw, sometimes MY not free, she will ask her sister to do. but pls lor, kid me meh, i 3 yr old issit. this sister hor, ONE look oredi know she is not MY's sister. coz she have like "mustache" on her face kind, and very dark facial hair kind of lady. but u know MY is not like that one. just different, u know what i mean?

so anyway my former helper say will help me find another helper, which i have spoken to her on the fone yest. she cfm today going to ur place, i have given her ur hp number. but if until now never cfm with u, u tell me again so that i can pass her ur address. she say today 6.30pm will go ur place.

then the MY's sister called yest. she said "her grandma sick, so must rush back to china, permanently"...
if they are related, she should say "OUR grandma", not "her grandma"
lobangz bicha! liao lah

anyway my former helper said if today's helper (xiao yun) is not very clean or dont like what she do, can tell her, she will fit our 2 places into her own schedule. fyi, she is also packed but she will see what she can do for us

---end of report---

tongtong,
exactly, LT investing is easier for me. I agree with Kam, you might regret if you don't try now and you can always rejoin the workforce anytime if you want to.

Kam,
big ambition, not easy and need huge capital outlay too but nothing is unattainable if you work consistently towards your goal. Jia You!

wah pixie, very detailed report hor:p

tongtong,
i agree with the rest of the mummies here, if u have dream & knows exactly what you enjoy doing, pls go for it...no regrets whatsoever...in life you must take some risk sometimes yah
If things doesn't work out as planned, you can always go back to the workforce since you have the qualification & work experience...nothing ventured, nothing gained

Hi, mummies.

Wah, hot discussion abt quitting and online biz. I also want to try that but not so ready to give up my job leh (good benefits, work from home... where to find?)...

Just 1 advice to those mummies who want to try online biz... if can, it is safer to go for simple products like children's clothes, educational materials etc... As for supplements, I am not so sure. Coz have Health authorization looking quite closely at it. Coz concerned with its' health. If you bring in products which are not recognized by them, will have major legal issues... If can, also avoid selling branded goods like bags... coz those companies/distributors have exclusive rights here and sue you.... Just a word of caution.

Haiz,... maid "chu' pattern again! Barely 1 mth!!! Very sian. Don't dare to tell my hubby, told me that she wants to discuss her situation here with me... What situation? aiyo, tonight then talk to her... If she is not happy, then she can go. I can find another maid to work for me. Don't have to take care of sick elderly, at night don't have to take care of kids... what maid job... if she complains, I will tell her to go back to PHIL and be a queen herself. Don't work here...

pixie,
Thanks for the "report". I have a feeling that MY overstayed, cos whenever I asked about her kids, she never wanted to answer me. I suspected she "used" her son as an excuse to come here to earn money, ie, she is not a real "pei du mama". We close one eye lah, cos she is actually doing her job well, at our place. We are pretty comfortable with her around on Friday. Too bad lor that now she can't help us anymore.

I didn't bring my hp leh. I PMed you my address later, and can you please give me Xiao Yun's hp so that I can call her from my office.

kam i PM-ed you liao

shannonbaby
i must dig for your addr lar, last yr i keep note of all my customers's details but since beginning of this yr i very lazy to update the database liao. can u gimme again?
btw, i just ordered new batch, will be here only sometime in end of this mth (+/-), u ok??

pixie,
ok, will PM u my address again. End of mar just nice for me cos i just open the last pack.
How much must i trsf to u? $40?

I am waiting for my son to reach 18 months so that he can go childcare and I can do away with maid! My current maid is so far ok, we never know what they are thinking actually.

Kam, do you intend to get a cert on early childhood edu? A feb mum actually gave up her career to go take up the early childhood course, yea she wants to be in this line too.

Kam/luca/luvv/steph/krystle: thanks for all the advice!! Felt so good to hear encouraging words, haha. Well, I think my health problem is just being consistently tired/exhausted due to stress. I went to see doc ( cuz sneezing), I tot it was great that I can get MC and rest at home liao, but then he didn’t give me MC, because I got no fever. Perhaps I don’t look sick to him. He couldnt even want to give me MC, it’s like hey you should take this med and continue working. I haven’t had chance to take MC for very long, and when I go see them, , I am not given still.

Ok, I think I more or less determined liao ( just that I haven’t talked to my family yet), will take a break for 1 year. Wish me luck!!hehe

pixie,
got yr email already.
thanks..

tongtong,
congrats to making the great choice to quit. I still dont have the courage to do it. Guess I am still not willing to give up my earning power.

Shannonbb, thanks. Actually I’m quite fickle-minded one.(is Gemini like dat? !) as long as I got encouragement from somebody to support my decision, I will do it. I hope tonight my hubby wont persuade me to stay in the workforce.. yeh you are right, hard to give up $$ hor!!

Tongtong,
at you make a sad face, your hubby will soften and said ok for you to be SAHM. For me, it does not work at all. Whenever I brought up the issue, hubby just say "Japan" then I will go ...... Cannot forgo my 2yr once japan trip... :p

tongtong,
some doctors are like that, they wun give u mc unless u got fever. i kena before, so i change doc, till 1 is willing to give me without me asking for it. :p

heyheyhey

one of our Jan08 mummies is pregnant (5.5mths liow)!!! Congrats to u, if u r an avid reader in our thread

Wow...anymore mystery mummy? Spread more babydust to those TTC!

Tongtong there are always trade off if no fixed income but if u dun try now then when? At least if really try n fail now can go back to workforce while u r still employable n start saving up again.

steph, who's the mystery mum ?? say leh ahha.

pauline , what made u quit last year ?

i had lunch with my ex - coll. no one is supportive leh. they asked me to look for another company instead. sigh, i called my hubby, he is not quite supportive also

tongtong, i also dun support u to quit. why dun u start ur biz part time basis, when it is better , then u quit n do full time? it is nt easy to survive on single income unless both u n ur hubby are willing to cut on expenses n pull tru the initial period. most biz are making losses first 2 yrs...

sorry, i am such a practice person coz i am specialised in accounting n finance. ;p

pixie, ok al... it was compensated by a cool milk tea n realli worth it coz we never met!
u r reali tall n slim...so envious

tongtong i oso gemini
u born which date??
yes geminis are very fickleminded and have lots of inspired projects but left unfinished :p

hint: she is not very active in our thread (but she do chat with us on/off...few mths ago) BUT active in FB!hee...her #1 is a gal...very sweet pretty gal & #2 (also gal)..hehe...cannot hint too much cos i am not sure she wanna disclose her pregnancy to us anot leh...

pixie, aqua,
i am not tall (1.62m) leh but slim (51kg)..ok lah...to me hor, janbb, tongtong & kitsune oso super slim (petite):p

Aqua, you got the point, like what my other ex coll told me just now too. If I do it on a pt basis, I will sstill need to get approval from the com. Stupid right!!!

Pixie, me 1 june. Eh, you are right leh, lots of inspired projects, I dunno whether can materialize or not!!

Mystery mum: mylife??

steph,
You really very good in getting 1st hand info lah.

Mummy with pretty sweet gal is either elmo_78 or tracy or windy??? Mylife can't be, cos just "discussed" that in her FB.

tongtong,
But your problem is you don't have enough time, and you are too stress with work and kid. Now you wanna add on a part time biz? Think few months down the road, you only left with skeleton only leh. You need a BREAK!!!

Kam, yalor. I need a break! so PT business is not an option for me. I think the push factor for me now is to : switch back to front line, get a better paid job. Then I will continue to work. Unless I talk to my boss, take unpaid leave for 3 mths, dunno can or not?

kam,
ans is in the FB leh...not 1st hand, i happened to browse thru her post

tongtong,
kam is right, u need a break (does yr boss allow you to take no pay leave like what janbb did for a year of sahm life & return to the co again after 1yr?) Come to think about it...which biz dun make losses? some are just lucky to make it big.

Can i check who is an expert in property investment?

pixie,
Yes, called her already. She will come tonigth and we will talk and fix the timing if we like her cleaning style. So tonight is to test out.

pixie,

u know the mystery mummy too leh, she ordered ON stuff frm yr sis (clarval) & collect from SK....so obvious hint

errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
who???
i cant remember i helped my sis to pass ON stuff to who ley....paiseh
i am a 'runner' for my sis's sprees/bp so im swamped with meetups, really cannot remember
wait wait let me recall...go somewhere quiet n think!!

kam,
you, mylife, lynn, elmo, icy, krystle & QQ are under her FB contacts too! Her EDD end june

pixie,
they stay in SK too?