(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Wad a day to start with. I gave myself a good birthday pressie. I bite my tongue real hard while eating bread. Now tongue got blue black, damn painful....

MIA a few days. Javin is sick down with cough and flu. Dunno why he will fall sick every 3 weeks. Any idea wad vitamins can i give him? I am giving him scotts emulsion daily now. Wonder is it because he is in CC for full day.

jacelyn, since it's hard to give him good healthy diet in CC, i suggest you provide him with more fruits at home. giving whole fruits is not sufficient because he will tend to eat just a little. so it's better if you got time to do pure fruit smoothie(by bleding) or give him pure apple/carrot juices. blueberry/kiwi is best to boost his immune. If you dont have time, give him sambucol, aussie mineral , prune extract or camu camu. ALl these can help improve his immune system.

tongtong
talking about fruit smoothie, i havent take out my juicer yet. maybe tonite bah!!
...and i had so much fruits myself these few days until want to puke liao :p

hmmm since fridge still have a big papaya, maybe make papaya milk? hope my boy likes. i use fm to make the milk

Jacelyn, you can get camu camu from iherb, think there’s spree on that, and also spree for sambucol. I din give sambucol to my boy yet cuz he doesn’t need yet, but I gave him sea mineral , a drop in his water daily, I just introduced him camu camu last week :p I got them from organic shop. Actually he doesnt need all these supplement as he has been having good diet all these while. but i'm enrolling him to school soon, so wanna boost him immune system further.

Pixie, haha, eat too much until wanna puke ! does it help you pass motion ah??hehe. ya , make papaya milkshake! Hehe. add some water if it’s too thick. I always add water /ice in making smoothie, easier for the kids to drink.

kitsune,

Yes my entity hiring in late April/May for various full time positions (mostly required technical (hands on) or specialize engineering background). Other dept oso hiring for position like Regional Inventory Planning Specialist - Asia Pacific, need to travel. but u more keen on doing part-time right...probably relief teaching bah, at least more time to bond with the kids

Sigh...last evening R kena fever spike (bet 38 to 38.7 deg on/off)...dunno why...just when i thought he is recovering from his fake measles last wk, he tio fever again
Dunno whether izit due to teething...

luca
my mom is so crazy about eating fruits, we've been drilled to take a lot of fruits. ever since getting married and "escaped" from fruits-prison, i have been eating lesser fruits.....
never know any other household who is so fruit-concentrated when it comes to food intake :p

at anytime, she will have a big basket of pears, apples, oranges, and the fridge got some dragonfruit, and perhaps half a watermelon, whole papaya, mangoes

thats at ANY time wor *faintz*

tongtong
i finally poo-ed. after 3 intensive days of fruits gobbling. my poo is pink - due to the dragonfruit. finally finished the 2 big dragonfruit and bananas in 3 days; next stop: half a big papaya for fri, sat, sun

thats why i was thinking make papaya milkshake for my boy - clear stock lor...i dont like papaya milkshake, i think its a weird combo

pixie,
i was thinking maybe she got special lobang from some fruits plantation that she can get so much fruits hehe
but eating fruits is good leh, i got this habit of eating a variety of fruits from young too. but my mum not as "obsessesd" as ur mum lar, in buying fruits :p

luca
my hb's family not so keen on fruits. my hb & his mom always say too much fruits not good, coz too much fruit sugar (fructose).

actually, 2 servings of fruits + 2 servings of vege is a minimum wor...and 2 servings of fruits is what i take in these few days. my hb yest still say too much for me liao

wat de.......................................

Steph, did R just had his vaccination before his last fever?

Pixie, why is your mum so crazy about fruits? Anyway my fridge is also like your mums one leh! Haha. I know there ‘s 1 fruitarian in sg who lives eating fruits and nuts and seeds only. Powerful hor! Last week I made papaya smoothie without milk. but I added yoghurt in.

Pixie, your hb side has wrong perception about fruits liao lor. You can google and check the findings and tell them wor. Not all fruits are high in fructose. And even if the fruit is sweet, is better than the fine white sugar that you add into your breverage everyday, right?

tongtong,
nope, R completed his last 6in1 vaccine last yr. Next is MMRV at 15mths in May. I wonder what trigger the fever spike...

pixie,
I love fruit. But I haven't been eating as much as I wanted to at home. I don't like the fruits sold at NTUC, so hardly buy any fruits for my fridge. I make it up by eating those cut fruits after lunch. I usually eat 3 to 4 pieces (if it's not because of the price, I can eat even more!). It's never too much fruits for me :)

tongtong
i agreed. fructose is natural sugar, and not all fruits are very very sweet. better than refined sugar. but they got weird cultures, cant be bothered to correct them. i just continue eating my fruits quietly can liao hohoho

kam
for me, i am lazy to cut n all. so now i force myself to take a lot from my mom so that im forced to finish them or else they get spoilt (and i'll get heartpain)

btw tongtong
i wanted to get a plain white yoghurt thats not low fat kind for my boy so that i can add chopped fruits inside - you always get which brand?

coz those i've been buying are those oredi with chopped fruits inside them and i find them too sweet leh

Steph, there’s lots of studies abt MMRV(MMR + chicken pox right?) which is quite negative, think you better consider.

Kam, so where did you get your fruits from?

Pixie, actually it’s weird that they think fruit is not good, veg and fruits are never bad for your health. Yea agree, think difficult to change their perception liao. Just be it la. Haha

Pixie, the only plain yoghurt I saw off the shelf is Paul’s yoghurt leh. Yea those with chopped fruits have added sugar one . actually if you are hardworking, can make your own yoghurt. But I never have enuff time to make it myself, + never made before. the recipe is to use the paul’s yoghurt as starter culture.

tongtong,
Actually we like local fruit (pineapple, guava, dragonfruit, durian, jackfruit, star fruit, etc). I used to go to a neighbouringhood shop near my workplace to get all the fruits I want. For non-local fruit, I only like orange and grapefruit. Kiwi, strawberries, apple, pear, peach, etc, all I don't like, but I still eat for the goodness of it. I was a struggle for me when I was oversea cos I missed the local fruits so much!

tongtong
i have the recipe for making my own yoghurt but i know poon huat got starter so i very lazy to go there n buy. if paul's yoghurt is a starter by itself then i will try this weekend liao
yay!!

pixie,
I find Yoplait's Petit Miam (Vanilla/Vanilla Peach/Vanilla Strawberry) still the best...creamy and not too sweet. Also comes in a good size for our kiddos
You can still add in chopped fruits if you want.

Re: Drinking from bottle
The western culture/books always encourage to drink from cup from 1 or 2 years onwards. But will realise that our kiddos still associate their milk to bottle and will usually reject if it's served in a cup. Our asian culture will normally allow them to continue drinking from bottle until maybe 3/4 years old? My friend's son is still drinking from bottle for morning and nite and he's already in P1. He can drink very well from cup but still insists to drink milk from bottle...addicted to sucking??

pixie, yea, my friend told me that she used paul's yoghurt as the culture wor. she said it's easy. but need to observe the temperature nia

tongtong,

Is MMRV still under clinical trials? I think pple think autism is indirectly linked to MMR but since govt made it a compulsory vaccination, we also got no choice right? If PD reckon MMRV is safe & approved vaccine, i will opt for it bah. Will study more abt it & discuss with hb. Thanks for highlighting

Today lunch, western cuisine at Hooha Cafe off pasir panjang village...next wk gotta go light on my meals!

tongtong
ok can, then i will buy paul's yoghurt as the starter and make this weekend. wish me luck

yvonne
yoplait petit miam tried before liao, i like it too but my boy can eat a lot of yoghurt so its too small a tub for him liao...
unless i get yoplait's adult range but they have all in low fat kind

Steph, yea it’s said to better separate MMR from the MMR-chicken pox combi. You can read more before deciding then. Hey, you always have great lunch hor, never go hawker ah?

steph,
Wah, you lunch out in style almost every week leh, so nice!

MMRV definitely passed clinical trial already. If still under clinical trials then can't be used in clinics for sure. There are always 2 school of thoughts when comes to vaccination. I am of those who trust the medical professioanls/scientists and let my kids get the jabs for the neccessary protection.

Can you opt for the older version of vaccine that is MMR and chicken pox separated in 2 jabs.

tongtong, kam,

this whole week got VIP (our VP) from Columbus, USA to our office so we (management staff involved) get to have great lunch but gotta work extra hard too hor...eat already cannot digest later:p u know what i mean

If no VIP coming, i will have my usual healthy hawker food (fish soup, veg beenhoon etc) which i love too!

Re: MMR + separate chix pox jab Vs MMRV
Not sure if we can choose woh, will chk with PD upon next visit. I think icy mentioned she let X tried MMRV (on clinical trial at that time) liow leh, not sure any side effect...perhaps she can advise?

Can check with u mummies who let yr child took the chix pox jab & pneumococcal vaccine, got develop high fever? I wanna let Z take it before he goes CC in Jul or next yr.

steph,
HR didn't have fever after the chix pox and pneumococcal jabs. XY had her 1st pneumo jab and also no fever. What my PD said is that pneumo jab is more painful than the 6-in-1 jab. So some kids may cry pitifully.

blessedbaby
I think the toddler use logic to solve puzzle too. Cos at least for new puzzle, Xavier uses less time to solve. So he know some logic there.

Steph,
Not sure if ur MMRV and the MMRV that Xavier take is the same. Cos I realised that the MMRV that Xavier is different from the market then. My hb understand it better - cultured from different kind of "bacteria/virus".

Xavier had pneumococcal vaccine the day b4 I pop! Thought I can have it done b4 I pop. Anyway he only had mild fever for 2 days.

mandy,
i give my girl laughing cow cube cheese. The plain flavoured one which is blue in colour. she absolutely loves them and has been eating 2-3 cubes every day since she was one....
occasionally i do give her craft singles as well....not very often cos it's quite salty.

grumpus,
my girl also take the cube but since she turns 2 yo, she seldom wants to take that already..lucky it has a long expiry :p

Steph,
My girl took separate chicken pox and pnemococcal vaccine. No fever too.

MMRV is not safe? Just brought my son for 3rd 6-in-1 jab + 2nd dose pnemococcal vaccine. Doc said can take MMRV and it is as stated in the MOH schedule leh... I think I will let my son take MMRV... But anyway, still got another 6mths to go...

Steph, looks like there is no suitable job for me now. Ya difficult to find part time job except teaching n maybe sales. Should start a online biz instead but Bo lobang leh. :p

morning

kam,
what gossip from pixie?

kitsune, tongtong,
me too, keen in doing online biz for intimate wear for ladies..

must wait till my colls can get the supplier from china...depends on the profit margin hor otherwise waste time & energy to do so much background work.

kam, what gossip? i am curious too haha. me so kepo.

Pauline, yea i'm seriously thinking to quit liao, too stressful for me to handle both work and family. I find that i'm getting thinner and thinner. As u know, i'm very health conscious, although it's very hard for me to forgo my PAY, health is the priority. I think so hard between $$ and my health, haiyo!!

Yea i will talk to my hubby and family about this again. Although hubby is not very supportive ( cuz i'm still paying my house by CPF and also my pay is quite decent. I will give him a sad face, then he will say okok, you go ahead and do what you like.

If I quit, I forgo $$, but I will do my own trading/investment as I’m in this line. Ok, I’m an ex broker/dealer. Also, I will do what I like to do – in kid’s health and food business. And some other things else. But hor, I will still continue to send s to nanny, so that I can concentrate on my trading / business.

But hor, I don’t know whether I will REGRET??? should i give up my pay to do something which i like?

tongtong,
broker/dealer has super high level of stress but higly paid too. you must really weigh your pros and cons but health is most important la, without it, nothing else works well.if you do your own trading/investments, you can earn decent income since you have the knowledge and knows the environment well. For people like me, hard, till now i still can't read the trends..lol

Hohoho, the word "gossip" is powerful!

It's about the part time helper that both me and Pixie engaged. I knew nothing but Pixie knew the whole story!

tongtong,
You can start doing some planning now before quiting the job. If your hub's salary can support the family, why not. Take it as a break and try it out. If things doens't work out, you can still come back to this corporate world, right? Regret? It think it's more of you will regret if you don't give it a try!

I want to do something that I like/dream of also, but I won't give up my job for the next few years, at least.

luvv, I was previously broker/dealer but current job i'm in the backoffice. So i have worked both front and both, i still prefer front as the stress level is different from backoffice's one. Everyone asked me whcih one is better, i will still say i prefer frontline:p I have got offer to be transferred to front liao, but i'm only 1yr+ with my current boss in backo, she discouraged me to go back to front cuz we are so short-handed ( that's why I got so much work!!!) as for trading, there's really no trend if you look at the micro env. Macro wise, yes, there's a consistent trend, yet it's for LT trading, ie LT investment always outweigh ST speculative trading lor.