(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Jeelo,

Ya, I'll try to give him more and see if he can lasts longer.. problem is I let him latch on most of the time.. Unless I pump out and monitor his intake for a few days... Hmm, will have to see how it goes..

Thanks for the advice

phy,

yah i heard its cheaper than metro discount, because usually metro price higher than online store - and here we are getting discounted price from online store.
heehe

going out - yup i know what u mean!! my first few times going out had to be planned around my son's feeding time. we would rush out after he feed... and hope he dont fuss when we are out. On sunday, we went shopping at centerpoint.. and he slept all 3 hours! Wah i was so happyy.

Yah you should efinitely go out shopping if your sister is around to help. I'm alone and already fantasizing abt going out...hahah wanna go Ikea to get some stuff for the house. maybe will go later this week...

Anyone knows how the pigeon sterilizer works ? I was given a 2nd hand sterilizer. The sticker on the sterilizer reads that the power will automatically cut off after the cycle completes but it has been > 30 mins and the power light is still on. Does it take so long to complete 1 cycle ? Will the light turns off after the cycle completes ?

Botanist,

My sister doesn't feel like going out.. haiz.. Same same, I also want to go Ikea!! Need to get some stuff also...

Have you gone out alone with BB yet? Till now I've got no guts to do so

phy,

where do you live? i'm staying quite central so can't figure out which Ikea I wanna go to!! the Tampines one, which is bigger & quieter or the Alexander one, which is more cramp. Just worried that bb kick up a fuss...

I wanna buy some cushions for my house. My HB already trying to coax me to take bb out to Ikea alone this week... hehe maybe I try lor. Perhaps tmr or Wed.

I've not gone out with bb alone yet... Ikea can be a good test run. Have to do it again next week... cos got to prepare for an event and my HB is busy so I am going to use the Ergo carrier and bring him to work!! Gotta work with him strapped to me lor...

Aiya, too bad your sis dun wanna go shopping w u. Its hard to shop unless u got someone to watch bb/stroller. I also wanna go to town but probably cannot shop lah, if i can just meet up with friends, happy liao! So deprived of good adult conversation with girlfriends!

<font color="119911">UPDATED: 18-FEB-08</font>

<font color="ff0000">2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES</font>
Date: TBC
Time: TBC
Venue: Tentatively fixed at Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Feast @ East)
Food: Heritiage + International
Lunch (12-230pm): $32++(mon-sat); $42++ (1130-3pm on sun)
Dinner (6 to 10pm): $36++ (mon-thur); $38++ (Fri-sun)

**Mummies appreciate if you can cfm your attendance by 20-Feb-07 so that we can fix and cfm the date and time. Thanks!

1.Witty+hb+BB+helper - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner
2.alien+hb+baby - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner - merchant court/the rice table/marche
3.fanny+hb+baby -> wkend lunch/dinner
4.Slimz+HB+BB - wend - lunch/dinner
5.missylan+baby+son+helper -> Sat lunch/dinner
6.Linda+hb+bb - wkend lunch/dinner
7.rachel+hub+bb -wkend lunch/dinner
8.petrina+bb - Saturday lunch/dinner
9.cocoangel+hb+bb-wkend lunch/dinner
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb-wkend lunch/dinner
11.ankh+hb+bb - wkend lunch
12. naf+hb+elder+bb - wkend lunch
13. steffietan+hb+bb+son - wkend (sun)lunch/dinner

Botanist,
I stay in Ulu place called Bukit Panjang haha..For me, Alexandra Ikea is nearer.. Actually I thought nowadays this Ikea is not as crowded as before..

You're returning to work already? For me, I am taking no-pay leave after maternity leave ends on 17 March... Been discussing with hubby about childcare issues... told him I feel like staying home till end of the year haha

phy,

aiya not that ulu lah. i used to live there too.

not really returning to work yet... actually i provide wedding floral decor so there's an event coming up so gotta go back to work lor. but after that i'm back to 'holiday mode' until the next wedding event. so i work only on a project basis... its more like a hobby anyway, cos not making much money so HB have to 'support' me. Haha

Yah, i agree that staying home to take care of your bb is the best. My "job/hobby" is part time so i will be caring for my son on half days from April onwards - he will be infant care whenever i need to work lor. So, is your boss ok if you take no-pay leave after your ML ends? Not all bosses will be ok with it...

Botanist,

Good to work part time.. I'm contemplating that too... My boss is ok with me taking leave till end May. But I really feel like caring for my boy.. Haha, maybe it is escapism..rather scared of returning back to the hectic worklife..

Part time is good. Been doing some thinking regarding that option too.. Just that I can't anyhow spend $$ already.. Considering that I'm buying the carrier and going to get bumper mat too.. Shopping online is really addictive haha

Hi Phy n botanist..

black w green retro lining is Organic right...wah so "chim" right, carrier also organic hehe..but its $20 more exp..so i stick tot he green lining only..my last child liao...dont want to spend so much. if its for my #1 i wld hv gotten the organic one, can pass down n depreciate full value hahah

my hb say can pass to my sis, but cant la, coz my boy will b barely 1 yo by time my sis has her bb.

bring bb out la!, u try try few times, after that use to it very easy...but if dont drive can b quite "lazy" to catch public transport.

blessed,

aiya u use lor.. then sell after you dont need it!

I agree, just need to get used to bring bb out.. i can't wait to do it. just sometimes also lazy lah... but i will definitely try to do so this week. maybe just drive out with BB to have lunch with my HB also can... haha

phy

if ur boss ok with u taking leave till end May, then u shld do it! I really find it hard to send him into infant care in april.. so worried about everything. sigh!

Yah part time is good cos got some income lah. I also addicted to shopping online..also bot the bumper playmat as well. expensive!

I'm sure your HB also prefer u to stay home to take care of yr son right?

wow... u guys alreadi start bringing bb out ah? i dare not try s find it pretty embrassing when my ger cry her lungs out when requesting for milk....

ay mummies who r on total breastfeeding facing e same prob s me? my ger has not been passing motion daily. i thought on total BF, shouldn face dis prob? how ah? issit ok?

jasmine,

TBF babies have very different poo habits.. my #1 used to poo once a week, my #2 poos at least 2-3 times a day.. as long as your ger is feeling comfortable, tummy not hard hard.. shd be ok..

rachel,

i got your PM.. u wan to take 1 pack of the L diapers rt? i'm still waiting for my GooN diapers to arrive...btw i stay east but can make arrangements to pass u the diapers when i meet my clients in the west.

UPDATED: 18-FEB-08

2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES

**Mummies appreciate if you can cfm your attendance by 20-Feb-07 so that we can fix and cfm the date and time. Thanks!

2.alien+hb+baby - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner - merchant court/the rice table/marche
14. cookiemz+bb+#1+helper - wkend lunch

15. bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - wkend lunch/dinner

hi! i took my girl out alone the other day to paragon to shop for a wet suit! quite nerve wrecking but she was blissfully sleeping for the whole 3 hours! wheee!
have also been going out with her and the daddy to many many places like sentosa,T3, millenia walk, whole stretch of orchard road, ikea..yah lah..i agree quite embarassing when baby cry in public but sometimes i really cannot stand those people who stare and stare when baby cries..like hello??! you never see baby cry before ah?? you think i WANT her to cry is it?? stupid right?!inconsiderate man some people...

hmmm..very eager to get the busybaby wrap...dinut or botanist..any updates??

talking abt taking bb out alone, i already done that few times, usually go to nearby shopping center, till now i have not got the guts to bring my boy out to orchard alone!

Botanist, me too, usually we will go out after the feed, hehe! Last sat, brought him to IMM to shop with my parents and boy, he slept for 2 straight hours w/o waking up! This was the first time he actually slept so long!

Linda,
Same here... i have brought my boy out alone to nearby mall but not to Orchard but tomorrow might be the day cos i'm gng to post natal yoga @ Tanglin Mall. dunno if he will behave hehe...
Usually when i put him in sling, he will sleep w/o much fuss but i cant walk long cos he is heavy lor

naf
it's ok. let me know when the diapers r here. wanted to order napia but not in time to deliver today, so i just bought a pack of pampers dry to try. used last night. not bad. will see if bb sensitive to it. if not, may change since it's only 2cents diff per piece. cutting seems to be better for my boy.

want to ask a qn on the sizing of diapers. do we judge whether to change size by the waist band or the thigh area? i'm using s for my son. when i fasten it, got to ensure it's not loose. so i tape all the way in. but realised the thigh area v tight n his skin becomes red fr the gathers. does it mean too small? was thinking, if i change to m, won't thw waist area b too big n the whole padding b too bulky?

ask you huh.. when you bring your baby out alone, do you put them in sling or pram? i wanted to bring pram but thought it might be too heavy for me to handle ie when getting in and out cab, i need to carry him and use another hand to fold the pram and lift into the trunk? how to manage? but using a sling, i cant shop with ease too..

would like to join in. me going alone w bb. hb might b working. hope i can handle him alone.

15. bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - wkend lunch/dinner
16. eve+bb - wkend lunch

can i check if anyone knows where I can buy e caps for those glass containers to store milk? my fren had passed mi some glass containers but without e caps.

cocoangel,

i bring my pram &amp; my sling! incase bb get sick of pram and wants to be carried, at least i can put him in the sling then push the pram...

think taxi drivers will usuallyhelp you with yr stroller if they see u alone with bb
.. damsel in distress mah! if they dont help you then u ask them to help lor..

Linda

yah the best time to bring them out is when they have fed. stomach full... then usually bb will fall asleep on the car ride out.. haha good!

talking abt going out with baby...
i had yet to go out with baby alone. not even to e nearby mall. Juz like ya, cocoangel, i wonder how to take cab with e pram. n my pram is so heavy... i also m not gd at operating e pram. as in i cannot open n close it. so everytime, i have to wait for my hubby to go out together. cos he's e one who can operate e pram very well.

I've decided to buy Goo.N diapers (even though the indicator didn't work for me on my sample piece...hehs).

Any mummies in staying the west want to combine orders?

Botanist,
But my sling is babyrock so abit bulky liao + plus a bag with his barang barang, scared i cannot handle but agree with you, wat if he got sick of the pram and wants to be carred? :eek:
I also fed my boy 1st before i bring him out, after awhile, he will fall alseep ;p

Crybaby,
my pram is not heavy, 4kg+ and easy to operate but with a 6kg+ baby on one hand, its still not easy keke...

cocoangel,

yah surely alot of things to carry.. i strap my diaper bag onto my stroller so dont hv so many things to carry. But the other day, he cried and i had to carry him and push stroller at the same time... not really easy so better to just bring sling out just in case.

my stroller v.heavy but good thing is that i can put my super heavy diaper bag on it, wont topple.. and the whole thing super stable.

how abt putting the sling in yr stroller basket? most strollers have a net basket or something u can use to store yr shopping.

i super kiasu.. always bring out so much stuff. haha first mum sure like that one...

how do u all get yr bb to get used to the sling? the moment i try putting him in, he start fidgeting n eventually cry cos i have yet to adjust it right.

cookiemz,
Ya... quite x for a booster seat. Close to $300 for that Aprica for Ferrari seat.

Bulk Purchase
Me addicted to BP since I was a member... Aiyoh... now trying to kick the habit! =P

eve,
Did you hold yr bb close and tightly? Maybe yr bb is insecure...

botanist,
Me too, will leave home only after bb is fed. At least, don't need to bring extra times of milk powder. Big bag small big!

<font size="+2">Constance/slimz</font>
A lady from Goo.N diaper called me and told me that they only deliver the order 7pm-10pm. Waliao aah...

Constance, I will be bringing him to school tomorrow, who shall I pass it to?

slimz,
Let me know when you want to come collect your order. =)

missylan,

yah, my delivery for goon also 6-8pm.. the delivery guy must be a friend/HB of the ladies who run the www.diaper.com.sg, cos he was well dressed, not like Nepia delivery guy. hahah! Probably got a day job.. that's why can only deliver in evening.

Ooo.. this thread sure moves fast! Will be back to work on Wed already.. sianzz..

Alien, ya I'm on total FM now. No more bm liao.

tub, ur baby is better than mine. At least ur bb dun fuss when drinking. My parents say last time I'm also like that, refuse to suck.. just zz. Only mine bb makes so much noise when feeding! :p But dun worry abt the weight.. I went for bb's injection last Sat, the doc say his of gd weight.

missylan
i did hold him tight. whenever i put him in, he'll try to struggle n want to stretch out his legs. no chance to even adj the loops to make him more comfortable. my boy is a bit tall, wonder if it's becos he feel uncomfortable with his legs all curled up.

eve,

i kind of have the same problem w the sling. he wont stay in it for long cos uncomfortable, i wonder if its becos he is tall.

my pram is 12kg.... so can juz imagine how lei chey it can b.
botanist, mi also bring alot of things when out: EBM, Blanket, extra milk bottle etc. quite ma fan to go shopping with so many barangs esp when its crowded n if baby acts up. sigh~

although i m on total BF, i still dunno how to nurse in public discreetly. unless there's nursing room, if not my poor gal has to wait for e EBM to b warmed up when shes hungry. n she's an impatient gal when it comes to her food. I think e barang barang will get heavier when she starts semi-solid.
sigh~

CSI_Fan,
I want to hop on your order for Goo.N diaper. If can delivered within tis week, I can try them out and make bulk order before the offer ends this mth.

Just worried that my baby's bum is sensitive to the diaper if I order in bulk and cannot use in the end.

Cry baby,

I brought a thermos bottle for warming up my EBM and it warms my glass bottle very fast. My impatient boy gets his milk in record time.

BBnGG

thanx! but mt alvernia nt very convenient for mi. any idea if gleneagle or any other retail outlets has it?
do u bring a cup to contain e hot water n bottle in? my hubby said lei chey thats y we will end up searching for kopi places to get hot water when outside

About going out, i think i'm crazy mummy

Brought my bb out when he is 3 weeks old to shop for full month clothing ..

Once full month i brought him to orchard .. suntec .. list goes on .. Even my dad'soffice at geylang, church at expo .. Sometimes my mom will be with me .. That's when i bring pram if not i'll just sling him .. At first i only go to place with nursing room .. Sometimes u will go to places without nursing room and that's when i learn to nurse in the sling ..

Normally will watch for hungry cues then i will bring him to nursing room before he cry for milk ..

For things i bring, i bring 2 napkin 4 diapers small powder 1 sets of clothes and 2 washcloth .. All in a small hangbag .. If i go out alone, bringing too much things is very troublesome ..

cocoangel, how come use sling cannot shop with ease? just bot new sling today, hope to use it asap and go out with baby alone

anyone can advise how to breastfeed baby on both breasts when baby is in sling? do we have to re-position baby and sling (like mirror image) after feeding on one side?

Cry baby,
The thermos bottle comes with a cap. It is not very tall, thus cannot cover my milk bottle. Normally I will fill the bottle with hot water before I leave my house. The water remains hot after a few hours but on hand I also have a flask of hot water flask on the standby.

And when my baby start making noise, I will open the cap and warm my EBM or add additional water if needed. After warming, i will pour away the water and put on the cap. So far, I find it useful as I can warm my ebm on the go.

ya.. normally i bring a topshop small handbag out .. matches every outfit .. Actually no need bring so many things out .. For diapers for example change every feed .. 3 hrs once so u bring 3 is enough already .. don't think can go out up to 9 hours right .. Normally out in the noon back about 7-8pm .. Extra set of clothes is just extra .. In case diaper leak or he vomit some milk .. Normally i see where i go and i dress him .. my bb scared of hot .. So dress him in a tee n shorts and he is warm enough in the sling ..

No need to bring EBM hot water etc .. If i expressoutside still got to bring pump .. Direct latch is the best and is good for bb too so why not ..

My bb too use to going out liao .. Even we go chinatown, he is ok with the crowd .. Must used to it if not bb will fuss ..