(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

so funny, my neighbour opp gave birth 1 mth ago. sometimes hear her bb cry makes me panic thinking it's my own kid's, until i realise it's coming from wrong direction. somemore my neighbour diagonally opp also have a 7mth old baby. my floor baby boom for pig year yahahahaha!

i had been putting my baby on our bed to sleep too!! my hubby prefers it that way as he said easier for us to know if she needs our attention. n no need to go pick her fr e play pen. Hope she wont reject her own room n play pen in future.

regarding diapers..i m still considering to order 4 packets fr nepia or try goo.n Both brands i had yet to try. n til now have not rec e Goo.N sample. wonder y it takes so long since some mummies had said its onli abt 1day or so to rec.

Cookiemz,
think need to meet min $80 for e free delivery. u may wanna check first.

Hi mummies in busy baby wrap batch #2,

Pls confirm your choice of colour even if you cannot do the $ transfer yet.. coz i need all confirmed colours to go ahead with the order, thanks!

ankh
i also did not swaddle him since wk2, yr bb wont struggle when swaddle her now? think i'll give it a try tonight. now i'm training him to sleep in yaolan in theday so that it's easier for my mil when i go back to work.

u attended tmc's parentcraft? what's it abt?

hi ankh n eve,

talking abt swaddling... i think it really works. coz i notice my boy sleeps better n longer if i swaddle him in the day.. if i dont swaddle, slight disturbance he will wake up. but abit difficult to swaddle coz i usually feed him, or rock him without the swaddle, put him on the bed then swaddle..so smothimes will wake him up haa... i want to try ankh's method of patting, far better then rocking!

cry baby,
they go by normal postage...So U may ve to chk yr mailbox for it.

Cookiemz,
Free delivery is $60 & abv.
If U want S size, I can sell it to you at the usual price. Cos I bought 6pkts of S size.
I am staying at Bedok North.1 bus stop fr Tanah Merah MRT stn.

Busy Baby Wraps Batch #2:

1)Petrina: Natural
2)Janmom : Natural
3)Blessed: Natural, CONFIRMED [email protected]
4)Blessed: Natural, CONFIRMED
5)Phy : Natural, CONFIRMED ( Changed from Pink to Natural)
6)Mel (precious faith): Pink CONFIRMED (to Dinut acc)
7)Naf: Natural
8)ariesmum: natural, [email protected] CONFIRMED
9) mel (momo32): black
10) mispiglet: Natural

Goo.N diapers S size is slightly bigger than Nepia S size. my son has outgrown the Nepia S size as he is always flashing his butt crack. HAHAHA

tried the Goo.N sample on my son. quite gd as it allows him to sleep thru the night without any leakage or fussiness due to wet diapers.

BB Sleeping habits

How do you ladies let your little one sleep in between you and hubby and night? Mine is a queen size bed and hb and I are scared we'll accidentally squash the little one... *sigh* looks like I got to perserve to establish the sleep routine...

About swaddling.. Ya, I swaddle my boy these few days as I have to apply steroid cream on his face.. he has the habit to rub his cheeks real hard. My boy doesn't like to be swaddled so he kicks up a fuss.. very funny to see him kicking his legs in the air! Haha..

Drinking milk
Can I check how much your kids are drinking and how regularly? My boy is going to be 8 wks soon and he is drinking 120 to 150 ml (either FM or EBM, but more direct latching).

I'm scared I'm overfeeding him coz he now weighs 6.2kg (in 2 wks he gained 900g)

Been recording his feeding schedule.. this is what I got yesterday

4.00 a.m ~ direct latching

7.30a.m ~ Direct latching

10.20a.m ~ 150ml of FM

12 p.m ~ Direct latching

2.40p.m ~ direct latching

4.40p.m. ~ direct latching

6.55p.m ~ direct latching
9.15 p.m ~ 150ml FM + direct latching (boy cried for more milk)

3.20a.m. ~ 150ml FM
7.15a.m. ~ Direct latching

phy

my boy is 8wks old today. He's drinking abt 120ml both EBM n FM. He only weighs 5.1kg just before CNY.

Here's his schedule yesterday:
3.30am Direct latching
5.30am Direct latching
7.30am Direct latching
10.00am Direct latching
1.00pm 120ml FM
4.00pm 120ml EBM
7.00pm 120ml EBM
11.00pm 120ml FM
1.30am Direct latching
5.00am Direct latching
8.00am Direct latching

At this stage, when u all swaddle, it means all wrapped up like a new born, or just leave the legs open? think the cloth is not big enuf to wrap like a newborn liao. furthermore, my boy likes to stretch a lot when he sleeps.

eve
my boy is 7 wks old. Last week, he only weigh 4.4kg at the PD.

I am also using swaddle cloth to wrap him at nite, but more cos he tend to kick his blanket away and we slp in aircon room. I leave his arms free and swaddle him from under his armpits.

just to check with you: when u went back to the gyn for the post delivery checkup (6 weeks after delivery), did the gyn do a pap smear for you ?

To make things easier, anyone will like to come to my house for collection? I am living in Seng Kang, I can organise a BP here. It will be more convenient for North area mommies. Anyone interested? Above $60, we will need at least 5 packets.

Sigh.. ur bbs are drinking so much milk already. Mine still drinking 80+ to 100ml everytime. And every meal time.. he'll be crying n fussing. Have to 'fight' with him to get his milk in. Most of the time gotta wait till he's half asleep then he'll drink. Burp him also no use. Wait till 4+ hrs then feed also the same. Anyone's bb like mine? All the elderly say only my bb so 'unique'. Hai.. Btw.. he's 10wks today.. 5.2kg. Avg? But he's only 2.74kg when born.

Eve,
how do you get your bb to feed like 3 hourly? On demand or on a schedule? I'm so scared the minute my boy starts yelling away to say he's hungry, really very loud!!

Bluelily,
Looks like our worries are totally opposite.. I'm worried that my boy is overeating *haiz* Somemore I literally got no time to pump out at all... tried pumping at 1pm.. yield 140ml ( didn't pump and didn't let boy latch since 3.20am.) Boy latched again at 2.20p.m. and when I pumped at 3.30p.m, only can get 80ml from both breasts..

At the rate my boy is feeding, I'm finding it hard to keep up.. my face turning yellow already haha...

As a first-time mum, I really find it so hard to handle things alone.. I don't even have food in the fridge for me to cook (anyway, can't even find energy to cook).. Last evening tried taking boy in his stroller down to market/hawker centre, after a while I gave up when he started to fuss... also, the path from my place to market is rather uneven.. tough

How do you ladies manage without help?? I have a part time cleaner who comes in fortnightly but still find it so tough!!

Hi Blessed,

I've transferred $29.25 to you

Transaction ref is 1571493689

I may have missed out the info.. how to collect the wrap? Thanks ya

1)Petrina: Natural
5)Phy : Natural, CONFIRMED ( Changed from Pink to Natural. Transferred $ to Blessed)

phy, i taking care of my boy w/o any help - no maids, no p/t cleaner. i ordered tingkat delivery for lunch. i try to do some simple housework when my boy sleep. major housework will hv to wait till weekends. sometime when my boy sleep, i try to take a quick nap.
i brought my boy to take mrt once, he didnt make a fuss and brought him to our nearby shopping center for a walk a few times le. daytime my boy will feed once every 3 hrs and only wake up once for nite feed either 3 or 4am.
Now it like a daily routine to me, some of the colleagues/relatives find it hard to believe i can manage on my own w/o any help, they say pei fu to me, if it were them, they find it tough. aiya, i oso find it tough sometimes esp. when my boy is cranky, can drive me nuts!!!

bluelily,
Think your boy is gaining a healthy weight. Mine is 8wks old and is 3.765kg at birth. Now he's abt 5.1kg. So should be about the same. No concern when we visited the PD the last round. Some babies are just fussy when it comes to milk time. My MIL was telling me last time my hubby took 1 hr to finish up a bottle of milk n has to feed in instalments. My boy will fuss at times, so we got to distract him by talking to him while he drinks. At some feeds, he can only finish half the bottle.

Phy,
I try to feed on schedule. Last time was 2hrly when I let him feed on demand. Very siong. So slowly I increase the qty and drag the feeding time as suggested by some of the mummies here. N surprisingly, he's able to stick to the schedule. Sometimes, he's like an alarm clock, will cry after 3hrs. Sometimes, he will sleep more and drag until 4hrs. Mine will also yell out loud for milk each time he's hungry. So will try to warm his milk half an hr before hand.

Really hoping my supply will return soon. Last latched at 10am. When I pump at 2.30pm, only get 80ml from both breasts.

Linda,
Wow, I salute you!! Past few weeks I had my sisters who took leave to help me out... goodness, how did you manage? I find working so much easier( although now I dread going back to work

Hmm, tingkat.. good idea!! Who do you order from? Can give contact? How do you get your boy to feed 3 hourly? Are you going back to work soon? Then what happen to childcare?

I'm thinking of engaging a maid soon.. then maid and boy will go to either my mum or mil's place during daytime... childcare is such a headache.. either that or I take no pay leave... Sigh.. but high opportunity cost...

Linda

I m really impressed with ya!! I m currently taking care of baby alone during e afternoon. Cos my MIL will come over in e morning to bath baby n buy mi breakfast n lunch. even then i feel stuck at home cannot really go out in case baby fuss while outside.

btw..m quite curious, how do u ladies weigh yr baby? dun we need special machine like e one in e pd clinic to weigh baby?

phy, linda

yah i also taking care of my boy alone. at first, i ordered tingkat but the food really lousy lor so now, i keep my meals simple - for lunch, usually quite late 2 plus or 3pm, i make myself a sandwich. but when my son if cranky, can really drive me up the wall... no time to eat at all!

i dont do any housework - no time. my son feeds every 2.5 to 3 hrs, and i try to nap when he naps. the afternoon to evenings are usually more stressful, because he never wants to nap during that time, and i have to also bathe him around 6pm and pat him to sleep. Usually, my HB will buy dinner back for me - by the time we both get to sit down and eat... already 8 plus 9pm!! :p

same as Linda, i'm also taking care of my boy myself, ordered tingkat service for lunch. will do housechores whenever possible. washing hanging and folding of clothes, mopping floor and unpacking stuffs since i just moved to my hse 2 weeks back. tiring .. thats why my milk production suffered
i'm hoping to build up again soon. i have brought my boy to the mall near my place a couple of times - with sling, so far still ok but cannot walk too long cos he is getting heavy hehe...
so far i find it quite manageable but will get worried and helpless when he vomits alot of milk.

Eve,

How to drag the feeding time? My boy like can't wait once he wants milk.. he usually gulps down his milk and swallow quite a bit of air... We call him kacheong spider...

I take fenugreek from GNC daily.. find that it helps my milk supply.. recently milk supply dropped coz I was very tired... hubby fell ill also..

cry baby
can weigh the bb each time bring to pd. if not alternative would be i have digital scale at home i weigh once carrying baby and once without then the difference be bb's weight estimate lor

linda
like u i also managing 2 on my own but i do hire part time cleaner once a week to come and help me with the cleaning and also tingkat dinner delivery. For lunch i will cook something simple lor...haha tough at times as in very busy no free time la..but once i get the 2 tods to sleep then can have free time le ha ha :p

Hello ankh...yeah ve not logged into tis thread during ML at home...now back to work early so 'eat snake' again...haa..haa...btw, i cant swaddle my boy, cos he reali scare of 'hot'. We stopped swaddle him when he's at 3 wk old as when we swaddle him, his body reali sweat like nobody business. Now we oni let him wear his long sleeves pyjamas when he sleep without any blanket, and air-con at 24degC.

Bluelily, dun worry lah...my bb oso will kick up a big fuss during feeding times. He can scream and cry till whole face turn red and like gonna out of breath..ppl dunno he like being hamtam or 'torture' !:p

Linda, u & alien reali good can mgmt w'out any help! 3 claps for u mummies....

naf,
ve u placed the order for the GooN diapers? if not,can cancel mine? i place my order with missylan instead coz my bb n i are moving to my mum's place @ sengkang as i gg 2 start wk soon le..

phy

hi-5!! i also think working is much easier. but i also dread e thought of going back to work. cos its tiring taking care of baby, wonder if it b more tiring cos work n taking care of baby at nite n mornin have to prepare to bring over to mil place. n not forgetting have to pump in office as compared to now juz latch on as n when required.

i find it hard to feed on schedule. cos my gal takes a long time to drink, even fr bttle. cannot imagine if i increase e amt, she may take an hour to finish. my mil was saying e teats hole too small n keep asking us to poke n enlarge e hole. but i m scare she may choke if too large. If i latch my gal, my gal sometimes fuss n cries after drinking for a short while b4 cont again. i wonder issit of e wind in her tummy...cos she farts as she drinks too!!

Botanist,
I usually have my lunch ard 1-2 pm too.. after my boy has drank his milk and has slept or is satisfied. The past week, he has been sleeping longer, I only feed him every 3-4hrs, at night, even better, he can sleep through or only wakes up once. On a few occassions, he drank at ard 9pm then sleeps till around 6am!! We were worried that he will get too hungry..should we wake him up to feed?
For dinner, I will eat my tingkat left over with porridge or wait for hubby to return from work which is around 8-9pm. See, so hungry and tired, where got milk for my boy...

Hi phy,

I rec'd your $, thanks!. Collection will be at telok blangah way. However every sat from 1-230pm i will be at thomson long hse, if any mummies live near there can arrange to pick up there. otherwise postage...but if u really want meet up.. u can chk with me coz I may happen to b near the place you want to meet.

re sleeping,

we used to sleep on queen bed with my #1..wah whole body ache coz very restrictive. then we upgrade to king size..nice. but then my #1 keep wanting to sleep on our bed leh..so for #2 i train her to sleep on her own cot/mattress since newborn, so till now she has nvr asked to sleep on our bed. now #3 i m also training him like #2 coz we have reverted back to queen bed again... i managed to get my #1 n 2 to sleep on their own beds in their own room

phy, actually i dread going back to work too!! 2 more weeks to go, haha! work is so much easier to manage than babies! :p I actually ordered the tingkat lunch from house of catering, food so far nt bad, they even give u the monthly food list of what food they will be preparing, their food not so oily. But i sort of getting sick eating catering food, hahaa! My mil will be taking care of the baby when i go back to work. Every day after work, we will bring the baby home.

wah ur son can sleep thru the nite liao. mine just cant....!! my poor HB is up at every feed hlping me so i can express milk while he feed EBM to bb in a bottle. so everyday he like zombie at work...

i think if yr son can sleep thru the night then no need to wake him up to feed... i guess his system is mature enough to go without milk those wee morning hours!

yah i also worried tt my supply will be affected cos always no time 2 eat... or i'm eating rubbish at home.

hazel

thanks for info. juz rec their email confirmation that e sample have been sent n shall rec within 3-5days. u bought 6 pckts S size at 1 shot?? too bad i had juz called nepia to order, if not i wont mind buying 1 pkt of GooN fr ya.

phy,
i stying wif my MIL .. but i manage my girl alone like bathing, changing nappies, feeding, putting her to zzz, i even handwash her clothes.. hahaha.. coz too small load to use washing machine.. and i use nappies daytime..

i dun ve to worrie abt food coz my MIL cooks.. other chores like sweeping, mopping sometimes i will do sometimes my MIL does..

Phy
If possible, i'll try to rock him to sleep for another half an hr. If not, i'll put him in an upright position n he will start crying cos he's very kpo. wants to see the surrounding when in that position. start with 15 mins, then half an hr. slowly repeat until 3hrs.

mine doesnt conform to 3hrs exactly all the time, sometimes 2.5hrs, sometimes 4hrs when he's really in deep sleep or play too long after feed.

btw, do your bb sleep longer or next feed is longer after taking FM? mine will ask for next feed the same time as when on EBM. no difference.

me also think working is easier than taking care of babies. But also dread going back to work. think i'll miss him a lot. luckily i've my mil to help. She does the bathing in the morning, cooking and housework. so i take care of bb the whole day. will help me to look after while i've my meals or pumping milk. n i paiseh only dare to pump twice a day after my meals cos each time will take at least half an hr.

re: gg back to work
dread the idea of gg back to work .. initially wen i was feeding bb EBM i tot work was easier.. coz i need double the time to express milk n feed her ..
now i latch her, feeding is half the time le..so i tink taking care of bb is easier liaozz..

same as linda, ve to transport my bb to my mum's place everyday .. coz my MIL dun wan to take care of bb.. and we dun own a car yet .. so i've to move over to my mum's place so tat i can stil latch her @ nites aft i get bk from wk.. my HB will b child-less n wife-less till we get car or wen our new flat is ready .. =P

any idea if we can recover IDD call charges from the maid if she has already left SG, with outstanding loans?

eve,
during bb's first mth i oso EBM my bb n like u .. paiseh to pump .. coz wif MIL .. dat time i oni pump every 4-6hrs.. ss was really low.. each time oni manage 40ml..
den aft confinement i moved to my mum's place for 2 weeks, during wich i pump 3hrly.. coz i wont paiseh to ask own mum to help look aft bb while i pump ..
now i bk at MIL place.. and is direct latching bb so no more concern abt pumping
but i gg bk wk soon, so ve 2 start pumping again to establish schedule to fit into wking life.. hehehe.. so i'm gg 2 seek refuge @ my mum's place again le =P

slimz,
agree!! at my mum's place, i can also pump more time. too bad my mum need to work. if not, i'll also seek refuge at her place. now can only do so when she's off... hehe

Hi Blessed,

Will transfer the amount to you tomorrow and will post in this thread again..

1)Petrina: Natural, CONFIRMED
5)Phy : Natural, CONFIRMED ( Changed from Pink to Natural. Transferred $ to Blessed)

Thank you for helping with this mini 'BP'.. hehe..

ya, managing without help is a nightmare. i get a weekly partime maid at least to do some serious housework, with the floor/windows and the kitchen cabinets. weekdays, i would use magiclean the floor (that also alternate days... sigh). only mop if i really have the time to. as for baby clothes, i wash 2-3days once. typically not dirty wat.. so throw into laundry basket lor. when pile up then throw into washing machine. my lunches... i try to cook simple noodles (mee sua/pasta/bee hoon), or one pot dishes or soup with meat in there and fry one veg. ultimately at the end of the day i'm all bushed. but need to keep it up for milk. there are a couple of times i skip lunch, taking brunch like just sandwiches and then my milk supply suffered big time even thou i'm taking fenugreek. anyway, 2 more wks and back to work. quite sian oso when i think of it. even feel like not working but cannot afford la

well, i got out at least once a week with my cousin. think i'll go kuku if i don't go out. i'll bring stroller out. usually taxi drivers would help me to keep the strollers, if not then baby & diaper bag, put on the taxi seat then i close the stroller and then put in the boot. usually my cousin would meet me in city and help me with the stroller. if she can't meet me at the taxi stand.. jia lat lor. i'd ask the taxi driver to take out the stroller and get him to open the stroller. otherwise then i struggle with baby to open the stroller (however there are some kind ppl who would offer to open the stroller for me). when i meet some not so helpful crowd then i could still manage, except need to be careful handling the baby with one arm and using both hands to click open the stroller. i bought a p3 pliko 8kg stroller (a bit regret, coz of the weight la)

cookiemz,
my bb small size...till nw still can use NB. n he so particular on cleanliness. So on ave is 10diapers/day. if its at his grandparents pl, even more diapers were used.
So I expect to finish them in abt 1mth time.

jux went to the pd for his 6in1 & pneu 1st dose.
Abt $400. Real ex...

cry baby,
no worries...

I also think working is easier but time lies faster when taking care of bb.
Cant deny..initial stage will be abit of mood swing...cos I was doing my own confinement, breast engorgement but little milk supply. Still have to handle those "san gu liu po" comments...N bb so cranky. Keeps crying...Always can catch only a wink every few hrs. Really can cry everyday.
Though now bb still cranky...at least he still will sleep in the afternoon. And will smile at you while he is awake...At least I feel happier....but it will be better if he can sleep at night. I really dunno how I can handle it when I work next wk as he cries till 3am & starts crying again at 5+.
All due to colic...even though he burps after fed.
*sigh...