(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

anyone has recommendation where to cut bb's hair? i just want to trim my boy's hair. not shave. preferably town or east.

ladies whose babies are on total emb, i'm wondering how u keep up with the demand once babies increase their intake since there's no direct latch on to stimulate the ss?

slimz,
regards to e poo... my ger is watery type not e adult type.

tub,
i use breast pump... my mc has e stimulation phase thus enable me to stimulate it b4 expressing out.

tub,

my son's PD recommended latching on at least for half the feedings, so that the supply can keep up with the demand.. else not easy to up the supply solely by pumping. i latch on for night feeds only, so far so good, stil can meet bb's demands.

missylan,

wat is rebooting?

my #1 is 20 mths old... currently looking at Learning Vision @ Changi Airport or Temasek Poly and also Kinderland or Pat's schoolhouse... so many schools to choose from..

steffi,

maybe ur #1 is abit jealous of #2 and feeling insecure.. my #1 sticks to me like glue now and always ask me to carry her, sit on my lap, sleep on my tummy etc. before #2 was born, she never comes to me...haiz..she is like reclaiming her territory now. at bedtime/naptime, 1 of us has to sit with her before she goes to sleep, else crying tantrums will start. i also dunno if it's terrible twos started liao.. so super tiring.. luckily #2 is still at the sleeping/eating/pooing stage

Yaolan/pacifier

No lah, hubby and I not against using both but we are just afraid of the weaning off period so we try our best not to use them.. Anyway, find the Fisher Price Papasan a great invention coz BB can lie on it for like an hour 'talking' to us
He even took naps in it...

BB sleeping hours
Don't really know how much should a BB be sleeping.. my boy just turn 1 month old and nowadays he doesn't really sleep in after he got around 10 a.m.. Only around 1pm after his feed then he will nap again..I calculated that he sleeps like 15 to 17 hours.. is it ok?

Yesterday brought him for his second jab.. Confirmed his face is baby acne. Doc prescribed Mustela repairing cream which I searched high low in Robinsons but couldn't find. The cream sort of dry up his acne. Now the outbreak seems better...

In total my boy gains 1.7kg in 1 month. He now weighs 5.4kg at 1 month old.. scary thing is, his demand for milk also increases... hubby and I decided to up the quantity to 150ml if not BB keeps demanding for my breast every 2 hourly.. rather siong.. sad thing is, I can't seem to find the time to pump!! Nowdays can only pump like twice or thrice a day... can't even store many bottles of EBM in chiller... haiz

Botanist, your suggestion of placing bb tummy to tummy is great!! Managed to soothe my boy using that method many times already

steffie,

how is your bb's baby ance? My boy's getting better after I applied the Mustela repairing cream as prescribed by PD..

TBF
mommies, another qn on TBF..do u all let bb latch both breasts per feed or one breast & den pump the other unlatched breast aft latching (for freezer)?

any of u arranged for ur little ones for consultation/checkup when dey 2mths? or wait till 3rd mth for the next jab..

so long nvr log in here le... ya ya, we shld all meet up, prob with our bbs and also the meeting place where they have nursery/baby changing rooms? hehee!

Abt the pacifier, I actually againist using it too but sometime really no choice, try all means, and bb still crying. So far, he don seem to be addicted on the pacifier...

And i realised my bb tend to be very "talkative", he will make lotsa of woo, ahh, coo sounds... are all ur bbs same too?

Getting more n more challenging to find time to keep up wz this thread.

BB is sleeping less lately, she used to go back to sleep aft feed but now, at times, she stays awake aft feed n wants pple to talk to her, else she cries. During weekdays, am alone wz #1 & #2. Lucky for me, #1 is 6yrs old, so more understanding when I tell her that mummy is tied up wz bb sister, n mummy is not an octopus wz 8 limbs to do so many things at one time. Besides expressing BM n feeding, there's still housework to be done, meals to be cooked. Got to wait for hb to come home, then I got time to shower. Most of the time, hb always looked so tired after work, I scared he wld vent his frustration on the kids, so I'll attend to the kids at nite as well. I only gets 4-5hrs of sleep a day I think. Sometimes, so tired n feel like a zombie.

Finally got my hair cut yesterday! Wanted to keep long hair but no time to stay in the salon for 3-4hrs to do digital perm or rebonding, so I had my hair real short now. Not sure if easier to manage (cos I have natural curls n freezy hair) but at least look different lor. But my friend n her mum (who runs the salon) commented that my dark circles really very very bad. They said I better go for facial n recommended me an eye mask & cream to use. So, u can imagine how bad I look with the lack of rest.

Now, badly need to find time to go for massage too. My back is going to give way sooner or later, esp bb getting heavier each day.

Phy,

seems like we have the same problem! i also have no time to express milk, maybe 2 or 3 times a day... so worried that my supply will drop.

i think my boy also got acne... wat does yours look like? wanna mk sure i not getting it wrong...haha

Phy
Me too... no time to express milk & the amt that i can express is only enuf for at most 2 feeds. At most 3 times a day only. wonder how to keep up with storing enuf ebm later when go back to work. my boy is also drinking every 2 hrs. sometimes want to drink after 1.5hr. Even give him FM, he will ask for milk again 2 hrs later. if give him more, he will vomit out. really dont know how to increase the intervals. Sometimes wonder if he drinks just for comfort or really hungry.

just saw the PD on Sat for his 1 mth's checkup. He said acne is very common in baby for the first few mths. It's due to some hormonal changes and will clear on its own.

Is the FP papasan a rocker or swing? thinking of getting one but dont know which is better.

Hen,
so good, u still got the time to have a hair cut. wonder if we can dye our hair if breastfeeding. me also dying for a facial & good back massage.

Anyone has their menses already? my lochia ended but abt 3 days later, got bleeding again. think it's menses. but i thought if bf, shd not be so fast? anyone experiencing the same thing?

hi tub
I am pumping in the day n latching bb at nite now. so far supply quite gd. Have quite a fair bit of excess in the fridge n freezer.

Missylan
mayb cos my no 1 was taken care of by nanny, and alot of kids there, hence he is not so shy.

anyone of u taking calcium pills while bfeeding?

phy,
bb shld sleep for abt 16hrs. So, shld be ok.
Mine fr less than 5hrs to now abt 8hrs of sleep

Now I only pump once a day...yesterday no milk fr my rt breast at all! Got a shock. Didnt know it stopped so fast.

my ex-colleague advised me not to highlight or perm the hair due to the chemical used. Cos it will stay in our system for quite sometime..sigh...even though I just pump once a day...

split, my gal has been making tt same funny face too! hahaha...she's been doing tt since day 1,and can hold it for very long...we tried to follow her,our mouths tired she still "oooh-ing". hahaha. dunno what they mean also when they make tt face...hahaha.

Constance,
u made me so tempted to highlight my hair
but think my hb will nag at me when I did that...
I bought a nail polish last wk for CNY..he already starts nagging...
then my IL will say even more things....
their grandson very precious one....
*sigh....

Oh yes, I ve sent an email few days ago on ordering diapers online. U all will get $5 off while I get the points.

I bought Sealer diapers last sat..really bad absorption...I ve to chg in less than an hr. I feel the diaper...really can feel its wet.

really not much time to log into forum and chit chat at all wif a bb

phy, same here, got no time to pump out much in the day, esp when bb is latching on frequently.

eve, im dying to have a haircut and highlights too, simply like no time to go for one bef cny, will look like auntie liao.

constance, im taking calcium pills in the morn everyday. coz i read that bf mums need at least 3 glasses of milk but normally in a day i only drink 1 so use the calcium pills to supplement. i heard mi mum say that we will lose a lot of calcium and teeth might drop out if never take enuf. dunno how true la.

cloverluv
how long does yours last each time it comes back? today's already 5th day since it came back. amt not as much as the 1st 2 days of normal menses but also not little like the last few days n it's not dark red type. womder if it's normal.

pierced
yah lor... my hair is v long n half of it is black while half is coloured. want to highlight, but hubby not v keen. prefer me to do after stop bf.

constance,
that's a lot of milk... must b very heartache

pierced
you must believe your mum! i am one good example. Past 2 deliveries, after bfeeding, i lost 2 of my molars!!!
so this time, i specially highlight to gynae, so he prescribed calcium pills to me.

eve
yeah, really heart pain

eve, same! mi hair's a mess! half black and half coloured too coz since preggy, didnt colour liao.

constance, i see! so itz really true den. so u muz take the calcium pills den. i still tot it was maybe juz talk.

hihi all,
been missing and realised i've lost track of the thread
i'm finally going for haircut this wednesday. anyway, bb's hair falling off, i think i'll send him to botak when i go for my haircut. dunno whether hair treatment ok bo while i'm still breastfeeding?

CSI_Fan

my boy was doing that very often too since day 1~lol i notice when he pee and poo sometme he make that face~i find him so cute doing that

split,
yah lorh...hahaha. so cute! same here, she tends to do that face when peeing or pooing. So we concluded, it's probably her way of telling us "I'm peeing"...but then now we noticed that she does it during other times too...hahaha. So we dunno what she means liaoz. hehs...

babies...they are so cute.

constance,
I didn't even throw away my ebm after my rebonding when my elder girl was a few mths old. but I specifically told the stylist to apply the chemical away from the hair roots.

mamarumi,
thanks for sharing. she is still cranky these 2 days. have not got any call from the polyclinic about the liver test. I am also not sure if they will call or I will only find out at the next visit. anyway, I think no news is good news.

steffitan,
ya maybe it's BM jaundice but I don't want to give her FM lei. I have a lot of BM. if the liver test is ok, I will cont to feed her my BM.

hen,
I agree with you. I used to login a couple of times per day, now it's 1 time in a couple of days.

Botanist,

See pic of baby acne on my boy's cheeks..now the acne is drying up after using the cream prescribed by PD.. Haha, I kept asking doc is it becoz I didn't keep my boy clean enough or I'm very dirty haha..

Eve,
Fisher Price Papasan works like a bouncer with vibration and soothing music.. also a mirror with a dangling rabbit for BB to gaze at
My boy like lying on it and will go 'ee','ah' 'ah!' on it..

Hazel,
I also desperately need a haircut and rebond my hair... look so messy now.. so unglam! haha
1225018.jpg
1225019.jpg

Pierced,

Ya, my boy also latches on very frequently in the afternoon... Haiz, last night my hubby decided to give him 150ml of FM at 11pm. My boy slept till 4.30a.m and got up for milk.. managed to drink 100ml of FM... then he got up around 7.30am.. Then throughout day it's I let him latch on many times... tiring but it seems that he poo and pee regularly thus gets hungry easily... maybe it explains why he can't put on 1.7kg in 1month.

phy,

wah very good.. you attach visual reference for me!
hmm i dun think my son has acne then.. he has alot of little red 'pimples' on his forehead and over his scalp. it comes and goes.. some days its just worse than other days!

photo of my son on his playmat
1225041.jpg

steffietan
how's yr bb dealing w the bottle rejection problem?

my boy is beginning to reject the bottle.
initially he drinks well fr bottle (which i introduced the bottle since he's 2 weeks old) but recently he begins to dislike the bottle. will cry n doesn't want to drink fr it after the first few sucks. at first i thought the teat size is too small. changed but still the same. now he'll cry until face turns red n no sound fr his mouth. i know it's bottle rejection cos when i latch him back, he stops crying n will drink. when i take out the nipple n put the bottle back, his nonsense come back again.

so stressed... sleeping problem not solved, now another problem.

Botanist,
At first my boy's face only a few little red pimples.. then I think his condition worsened on his Full Month Celebration day when people touched his face and my sister dressed him in long sleeves thick clothings...
After that major outbreak!!!

How old is your handsome boy now? Can do tummy time already!! I'm so envious.. my boy is just trying to lift his head off my shoulder when I place him tummy to tummy...

phy,

ya, actually i notice that my boy's pimples getting worse everyday. sigh! i think he will get major outbreak by CNY!! I think babies skin are so sensitive... we must really take good care of their skin. Keep it nice and clean and moisturised!

Can't wait until my next PD check up.. I will ask him if can give me something to apply. I really cannot stand looking at his pimples everyday...

My son will be 6 weeks old this Thursday. Yah, I notice when I put him on my shoulder, he loves to look around... so tried to carry him upright (body straight against mine), and he will always tilt his head backward or turn left and right to look around the room... so i decided to just put him on his tummy and he can lift his head for a short time liao!
so happy...

Brought my bb for his 6-in one and rotavirus injection today! Have develop fever this evening and never poo since yesterday..Fever was going up, till my parents use the "pump" into his "pi pi" to help clear his bowels..really works! Not only he clear his bowels, also the fever dropped almost immediately..

O, by the way he now weighs 6kg and is 59cm long now..
Brave little boy, cry for less than 5 secs when injected and stopped..

Attached a pic of him frowning..haha

1225193.jpg

csi fan, pierced and eve!!! i didnt know you gals getting the babybjorn carriers from the spree too!! Aiya, i just bgt mine from mothercare today as I have 15% birthday discount from mothercare and since the spree is also 15% off, i decided not to order from there since got to wait for the others to place orders and also have to wait for the shipment to arrive..... if not we can use my discount to purchase it on the spot!!

hi ankh,

My girl was born 3.3kg, tbf, at 4weeks+ she only weighs 4kg... Her pd said its average, but i realised most of the babies here all so chubby n heavy weight. Now at 7weeks+ she has not hit 5kg yet. I'm wondering do i need to give formula to fatten her a little?

Total EBM
I'm feeding my boy almost 100% from the bottle. Too lazy to latch him on becos (i) he always falls asleep (ii) he's fussy, always makes me very sore after that (iii) I don't know how much he's drinking.

Am I a bad mummy?

Anyway, my supply is not affected even without latching on.

Poo
My boy poos several times a day. In fact there's poo almost everytime I change his diaper. It has been so since Day 1. His poo is watery with little bits of semi-solids that look lie peanut butter.

Hair treatment
I'm finally going to the hair dresser this Sat! Was wondering if highlighting/colouring will affect my BM or not .... hmmmmm.

ankh,
my baby on TBF. She is 3.36kg at birth and at 1mth 3d when I brought her to polyclinic, she is 4.2kg. she gained not even 1 kg in 1 mth. the nurse says her weight is average. she has a lot of poo and a lot of wet diapers so I am not worried at all. She still has a bit of jaundice but I don't intend to giver her FM. I also managed to store quite a bit of milk so I am sure I have enough milk for her. I guess different babies are different.

Something to share

Is it safe to have hair treatments while I am breastfeeding?
There is no information on having hair treatments during breastfeeding. It is highly unlikely that a significant amount would enter the breast milk because so little enters the mom's bloodstream. Many women receive hair treatments while breastfeeding, and there are no known reports of negative outcomes.

http://www.mybirthcare.com/haircoloring.asp#treatmentsfeeding