(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

naf,
my girl's face too .. turn ultra red like tomato.. and its not oni wen she grunts..she cries..or trying to poo.. oso like dat

my bb boy has a "pimple" on the tip of his penis for a few days already. Anyone whose bb has the same thing?? Wat shld i do?

fanny
yup, BB on FM also experience growth spurt. During this period, they will tend to drink more milk at closer interval. Usually last for a few days.

mongs/jean
I think diff bbies have diff digestive system. My no 1 used to be a "Merlion King" ( and still is, at times now). He would throw out large amt of milk at high projectile, even after we burped him several times between feeds. My no 2 who is a super big drinker/eater, has no such problem since infancy. Dun worry. So long as bb is gaining enuff weight, shld be okie.

hi mummies, i added whoever has published their email here

yesterday was the 1st day i pump in the middle of the nite. hb does the bottle feeding to baby. we both now like zombie but at least i feel less lethargic. check awhile ya, my baby is at 32day old today. he's drinking about 100ml and that seem to be the max of what i could express. normal bo?

my boy seems to sleep off at breast feeding nowadays. i think it could be usually at bottle feeding he doesn't need to work so hard as the milk keeps coming in. so he might has assumed the same when he latches on. I always end up having to top up with bottle.

mongs, i think your milk came too fast for baby to handle. after awhile i think your baby would learn to unlatch rather than to allow the milk to flood the mouth. i realise during letdown, my baby sometimes unlatch himself and then let my milk dripdripdrip... see of heartpain coz waste my milk!

jean, constance, jeelomeelo,
thanks for your comments. she vomitted some milk for the 3rd time just before 11pm yesterday. I was very scared to latch her again. normally I will latch her till she falls asleep but yesterday my confinement lady pat her to sleep and she managed to sleep till 2am. think she is really not very hungry, think I may have overfed her.

my baby makes a lot of noise at night although her eyes are close, she will try to wriggle out of the swaddle and she will grunt a bit and turn her head here and there to find a comfortable position or maybe wriggle around and make poo. I think her tummy is not comfortable at night. she has this habit of making poo in the middle of the night at around 4am or 6am and before that, the whole night she maybe making noises. in the daytime, she can sleep peacefully for 2-3hrs without stirring. any of your baby like that?

eve,
full mth norm goes by the chinese calender, and usually celebrated before the actual day.
eg. if bb born on the 15th of mth, then e actual full mth to be celebrated before the 15th... nowsadays ppl chose on the weekend before actual day.

do u know wat is the usual jobscope of nannies?
other than lookin after bb, do they do little washing of bb clothes or?

any mummies bringing their bb to nannies?
wat do u prepare to bring there other than milk powder and diapers?

thanks a lot in advance

mongs

my baby also grunts, jerks and making a lot of noise in the night with her eyes closed. My baby also tends to poo 2 to 3 times in the night. Then my mum "trains" her to poo b4 bath-time. But recently she start to poo in the middle of the night while drinking milk.

cloverluv

Have u contacted the nanny?

mongs,

my baby also can make lots of special sound effects when sleeping. last nite kept waking me up! think she didn't have enuff to feed, but very tired so didn't fully wake up till 5+. she also make poo ANY time.

mongs
mine too. makes alot noise when he sleeps.

Just now, I place bb on my bed. My no 2 climbed onto the bed and accidentally kicked him on the top of his head. He cried for a while. So careless of me. Felt so bad now. Dunno whether bb is okie.

Constance,

Jie2 Yang2 sounds very cultured!
My boy's name is 瑞阳..Since he's born in Dec (rainy season), wish his life would be filled with sunshine, positive thoughts etc... the closest I can get is then Ryan lor...

Haha, our son's names both end with yang

Anyone feeling that MIL is trying to 'snatch' your child away? In the past I was always nice to my MIL... didn't really feel -ve towards her.. anyway, she's a quiet lady and anything goes with her... dunno why recently I keep feeling this resentment towards her..
She only stepped on my toes in hospital twice (peeped while I breast fed 2 times, even when I told her not to when she did it the first time)

Now she's staying with us during weekdays.. I can't wait for her to leave yesterday and hope she comes back late today... who knows she came at 2 plus.. there goes my quality time with hubby and son...

Fanny,

Can share how did your mother train your baby to poo b4 bath time? So far I got 3 or 4 times when my boy pee into the air.. Luckily I was fast enough! Then there was this once I changed his diaper, he pee. Changed again, he passed motion..

Higgledly,

What is considered bad acne? As for Mustela Stelatria Demo-repairing care, we can get at any pharmacy right?

Hi all MTBs,

Anyone still facing wif piles problems? I have my 1st pile during pregancy & my gynae tell me is normal. I tot the pile will go away after i give birth but no lei instead it become bigger & causing me pain especially doing "poo poo". Ouch.... Now i so dread of poo poo cos of the pile. Anyone can advise what to do to remove / reduce the pain????

Anyone face problem of bb having flaking skin? PD say is normal & ask me to apply moisturiser on her but condition still abt the same.... Is it reali normal??

Phy,
I oso have the same feeling as u. Whenever my MIL see me carried my bb, she will ask me to let her carry the bb (my MIL has a bit of walking difficulty & she staying wif me). She Only return the bb to me onli when she cried for milk or attention. I feel that she is snatching the bb frm me too..... I dun know why i have such feeling

Phy

Usually my mum will remove the diaper 1st, then she "mmmmm", making the sound for baby to poo. Baby knows that "mmmmmmmmm" is for pooing coz my mum will "mmmmmm" when she poos in the middle of the night.

Phy, Joanne
i think it's our post natal hormones lah. Natural for us to feel possessive of bb since we are their mummies. For me, i am okie with MIL, mum or CL carrying my bb. But NOT MY MAID. It was never my intention to let maid take care of bb. She is supposed to help out with housework only, and at most keep an eye on my 2 elder kids when we are busy. But i notice every time the bb whine, she will rush into his room and pick him up. I told her not to do so and everytime i see her carrying bb, i will take over. But she like dun get the hint leh. Looks like i gotta talk to her when CL goes back. Gotta tell her clearly that her scope doesn't include taking care of bb.

Joanne
I had painful piles during pregnancy too, but surprisingly it doesn't hurt anymore after i gave birth. Mayb you can go back to your gynae for advice?? My colleague told me last time her gynae pushed the piles back and gave her solution to soak in to subside the piles.

Phy
Actually i like Jie2, my hubby likes Yang2, so we combine lor. Not much culture there hor?

one more very Qiao thing. My son is born in the year of "Yang2". hehe

Cloverluv
you have to bring bb's clothings, towels, shampoo, bathing lotion, milk bottles etc. Nanny usually will wash the set of clothings, towels that bb used at their place. If nanny's place dun have pram, maybe you can consider bringing one spare one over too.

fanny,
i contacted the nanny liao.. thanks a lot.. jus wan to know wat is e standard procedure in the market.. will visit her once i pass my confinement nex week... seems like a lot of tings need to prepare an additional set of everyting for nanny... costing a lot of $$$...

phy,joanne
same here...i oso staying w PIL..at least
ur mil return to u whenever bb cried... mine PIL wun... they will insists on doing everything fr feeding to bathing thou they know nuts and still wanna do it.. even my CL is getting fed-up... somemore they dun encourage me to BF cus they no chance to feed him... MIL will starts to nag and nag whenever she sees me BF...says my milk not enuf... making my bb hungry... as if i wld delibrately starve my boy...
haiz... thk gdness she's workin day time and i hav my CL... i dunno how else i can go thru my confinement...

hazel,
no change in my diet... but recently we supplement 1 FM a day. could that b a cause?

naf,
i didn't get yr pm.

Joanne,
I also started to have piles during my first pregnancy. The piles became bigger during the pushing stage during my first delivery. my gynae gave me a cream to shrink the piles. it's called Procetosedyl. Maybe you can go to guardian to see if they sell it. I am also quite depressed because of the piles after my first delivery. I think it's more uncomfortable than the stitches. During my 2nd pregnancy, I ate a lot of fruits and vegetables to prevent the piles from coming back but it still come out during the pushing stage during the 2nd delivery, my gynae pushed it back after he sew the cut. then I also ate a lot of vegetables, drink a lot of fluid. I ate like 3 portions of vege every meal now. I passed motion everyday twice or thrice a day. my poo float on the water so you can see that there is actually a lot of fibre in them. my gynae told me yesterday during the check up that my piles had shrunk and he won't give me any cream to apply. You can also push it back yourself but pushing it back doesn't help if you keep having very hard stools. If you have bleeding from your piles, maybe you can sit on salt water for 10mins so that the wound can heal faster. just use table salt but the salt water have to be salter than seawater. my gynae asked me to sit on salt bath to fasten the healing of the stitches, I think it helps in the piles as well.

Phy,
my CL is also trying to train my girl to pass motion at her cue which is same as what fanny's mother is doing. However, my MIL told me during my first confinement that it's not too good to train them this way because they actually can't control their bowels. Now, my elder girl who is 2 year old is still not toilet trained. sort of regreted listening to her. am going to train her after my confinement.

Phy, Joanne,
I am totally ok for my baby to be carried by anyone. in fact, it will be better if they take care of the baby or my elder girl for me. The only concern that i have is that my baby must drink my breastmilk when it's time for her feed and no one else should try to feed her EBM or FM. My CL always try to feed her water when I am resting and she is crying because of hunger, I am alright if it's a few small mouthful but I don't actually like the idea a lot. I agree to let her drink water because I insisted that my elder girl should not drink water till she starts on her solids and she dislikes water till now and because of that, she has constipation almost everyday and cries when she passes motion. It sort of my fault that we introduce water to her so late.

eve,
regarding the change in colour of the stools. my pd said it can be due to a change in the digestive system of the baby or like what hazel shared, FM and diet of the mother.

Jeelomeelo, Kat,
My elder girl drinks 120ml 3hrly from her 2nd month till 12months. she started on solids from her 6th months onwards but no change in the consumption of her milk intake. I sort of remember there is a formula to cal the consumption of the milk, something related to the baby's weight. think PD should be able to advice. but every baby is diff so maybe if your baby cry 2 hrly, it's time to top up the quantity of the milk.

cloverluv

I understand that enganging a nanny needs to spend $$$. My mum helps me to take care of my gal, i also have to pay her salary, provide clothings, milk powder and diapers.

mongs,

My baby also make alot of noise when sleeping at night and only at night. He is fine in the day time, no noise. So I also wonder what's wrong with baby at night. I usually pat him back to sleep when he make noise at night.

eve, my pd says yellow stools are more for baby who are on breastmilk. The colour of stools for baby on breastmilk and FM are of different colour.

fanny,
ya lor.. din cross my mind for some items... anyway... bo-bian lor... as long as bb is being looked after in a different place from home... gotta prepare 2 sets of everyting... thanks ya.

This is the calculation I posted last month on the milk consumption

<font color="0000ff">BB Milk Consumption</font>
1st day
60ml/kg of bb's wt divide the no. of feeds
3rd day
100ml per kg of of bb's wt

4~7th day
Increase the supply by 20ml per kg of bb's body wt per day

mongs,

Thanks for sharing about baby drinking water and toilet training.. Think I'll start him young..
I remembered when I was young I hated the taste of water.. literally survived on milo, coffee and soft drinks... don't wish my boy 2 follow my footsteps..

Constance and cloverluv,

funny thing for me is, anyone can carry my boy but I just don't like the idea of my MIL carrying him...Although I'll still try 2 let her carry him after I've fed him... I guess I want 2 establish to her that I'm his mother, not her. She'll call him "her little darling"... my goodness, I gave birth to him and thus he is my little darling and not hers..Also don't like her singing voice to him...sounds awful.. haha, think my hormones erratic.. I don't feel this way towards anybody else except my MIL...

Looking forward to the end of confinement when MIL returns to her own place
Of course I appreciate her help around the house but when it comes to baby.. I'm rather possessive when MIL is concerned.

Joanne,

Maybe you should ask your hubby 2 talk to his mother.. see if she can be "automatic" or not and return BB 2 you... Haiz, just now I fed bb in room and then let him sleep.. hubby also slept.. we just left MIL in living room as I told my hubby I wanted quality time for 3 of us... so for today till now, MIL has not seen nor carry my boy.. Me bad hor?

As for piles, me too.. I got one during delivery.. then I got constipation due to the confinement food which my mother insists I take... I asked my gynae for help so she gave me Daphalac (tools softener). If yours is the same problem, you can get the Duphalac in pharmacies..

phy,
u best ah... if i behave tis way towards my PIL, sure war... haahaha... it will make my hb in a awkward situation.. doesnt help dat my boy is e ONLY grandson they hav been longing for many yrs.. and e first great-grandson... anyway... i try not to get hb involved.. sometimes it makes matter worse...

maybe its e hormones.. been tellin myself to stay happy..

hi hazel, sorry i dont understand how u calculate the milk consumption...my bb is now 3.1kg...so how much milk shld it be? she's on FM.

Hi Mongs &amp; Phys,

thanks for the advices. My stools are hard so wonder is it due to drinking of red date &amp; longan drink. My confinment foods do consists of papaya so dun think shld be hard but yet it is. In the end it results in painful pooing. I think will get my hubby to buy the necessary medication.

As for MIL, i reali cant stand as she keep forcing my bb to drink water. She keep complaining i onli give milk &amp; no water &amp; bb lip is dried becos of not enough of water. But when she fed bb water, bb will either spit out &amp; wet the bib or cried. But she dun care &amp; insist pushing the bottle into her mouth.

I'm so angry when seeing that but wat to do i cant say muz cos dun wan to make my hubby in difficult position. Tomolo my hubby going back to work wonder how to survive alone wif my MIL.

hi joanne, same here...i am so fedup when i see CL gives water to bb...bb cries, she pushes water down her throat...i already put it very nicely to her that there's no need to give water...but still she insists that bb must drink water...i give up on telling her...1 more week to "tahan"...

Need help fm u gals. My due date is 3rd April 2008. My confinement lady informed me on Sat dat she can't do confinement for me due to family matters. Cld any1 who finds dat your confinement lady is gd pm me. My main emphasis is non-smoker, pro breast feeding n willing to do simple hse work like mop flr, clean after cooking, wash toilet

Thx for your help in advance

Long time din post here. Every since CL gone.. I've been taking care of bb till siao liao. Almost got depression. Cry dunno how many times. So tiring! No longer can have a peaceful zzz liao. My bb also like to be cradled to zzz nowadays. Once put down he'll cry. Unless it's just after a a feed. Then.. he drink milk every 3 hrs.. But take 1 hr to finish his feed of 100ml! How long does ur bbs take to finish 1 feed? Mine always fall asleep halfway. Then gotta wait for him to wake up to finish his feed. Hai... Got any gd remedies? :p

Oh ya, tub.. U still interested in the milk bags? If not, anyone wanna buy Lasinoh milk bags? I bought 4 packets (100 bags) from the BP.. now the bags have finally arrived. But my milk supply is diminishing. Anyone interested can email me at [email protected]

Bluelily,

Don't be depressed ok? Happy mother = Happy Baby

My boy gulps down his milk very quickly.. he can finish his meal of 80ml in like 5 to 10 minutes.. did you check the teat size? maybe it is too small a hole thus he sucked till tired then fall asleep..

If I breast feed him, he will suckle for about 40 to 1 hour.. depending how much he wants.. sometimes I got to stop him.. BTW, my boy is 3.75kg and doc comments he drinks alot.. I have to supplement his diet with FM at night..

Joanne,

For red date drinks, try to remove the seeds from red dates before boiling.. apparent the seeds cause "heatiness"... I'm still suffering from hard stools but duphalac helps.... no matter how many apples I take a day, I still can't pass motion smoothly...

cloverluv,

haha, I thought I'm rather mean..but only recently then I developed this resentment towards MIL... hormones.. My boy is also the first grand child and grandson of both side of family... His aunts from my side really dote on him whereas from his father's side...haiz..

Counting down to end confinement.. today finally washed my hair after 2 weeks
Feel so shiok!!

phy, wow so envy. Ur boy drinks so fast! But how often do you need to feed him? I'm using Avent teats.. the smallest size. What are you using? Is in time to upgrade the teat size? But I scared he'll choke. 80ml is alot meh? Mine feeds 100ml.. bm n formula alternate.

Bluelily,

If my boy drinks EBM, I only give him 80 to 90 ml at intervals of 2 to 2.5 hours... My hubby will at times supplement it with FM if my boy 'asks' for more... for night feeds at around 12am, hubby would give my boy 90ml of FM.. Then I will feed him when he wakes up about 2.5 or 3 hours later... I guess the doc commented that as then my boy was only 5 days old and he was already drinking like 90 ml of FM when he was hospitalised for Jaundice..

Btw, I'm using glass bottles with NUK teats to feed my boy.. When his appetite increases further, will switch to pigeon.. For the NUK teats, we use medium size...

how old is your bb now? my boy will be 2 weeks old tomorrow

phy,
my boy had acne covering his entire forehead and most of his nose and cheeks. Very terrible. After applying the cream for a week, it was almost gone completely. The cream is not a restricted drug, so should be able to get at pharmacy/places selling Mustela product.

readin all ur posts, seem tt we are all having prob with our PIL. glad i m nt staying w them, each time they pop over i already cannt stand it..

Phy,
how old is ur bb now? my boy bt 3 weeks this tue can drink up to 150ml each time. he also drink v fast.. 125ML is norm but there is once he drinks up to 200ml breastmilk.

anyway to increase our milk supply? i can onli pump bt 150ml each time... lazy to feed the bb directly.. it takin too long.

bluelily, when ur bb slp. wake him up n drink.. so tt he can finish them. once he is fuller, he can also slp longer..

my boy can slp prob 3-5hrs if he is full.. once he finish drinking, he auto slp.. my mum dun like me feedin him so much.. so she cum n tk care of him since she wans him to b awake lo

phy, red dates seeds can cause heatliness? then joanne, can buy those red dates without seeds.. else get ur maid to remove them one by one..

<font color="0000ff">BB Milk Consumption </font>
1st day
60ml/kg of bb's wt divide the no. of feeds
3rd day
100ml per kg of of bb's wt

4~7th day
Increase the supply by 20ml per kg of bb's body wt per day

This is my own interpretation based on what's written on the book
Example:
3.4Kg at 4th day
3rd day = 100ml x 3.4Kg = 340ml
4th day = 20ml 3.4kg= 68ml + 340ml = 408ml
Per Feed (based on 8 feeds per day)
= 51ml per feed

I have 3 tins of 900g Friso (0-6months) for sale..
Selling at $22 ea and $20 ea if get all 3.

Let me know if anyone interested =>

Bluelily,
if you are using avent teats, it's time to change to number 2 after 1 month. there is only 1 hole in the no. 1 teats and 2 holes in the no. 2 teats. think it may help your baby to drink faster.

yeah, i m lucky dat i m not staying w inlaws too. But one gd thing abt my MIL is dat she is pro-bfing too cos she bfed all her kids last time. It is my own mum who will make comment dat b milk nt filling if bb still fuss after feed. sigh

Belle,

Wow, your boy can really drink har...is it ok to feed bb so much at 3 weeks?

My boy is 2 weeks old today...This morning he gave him abt 110ml of BM after 2hours from last session...

I'm so envious of you, you can pump so much at one time!! I can only pump like 80 to 90ml per session.. only want to know how else to increase supply.. somemore breasts keep getting engorged every 2 hourly... painful

Abt red date seeds, that's what I read somewhere... so now I'm drinking those without seeds ones..

Higgedly,
Thanks for the info
I'm thinking of buying the cream coz both my boy's cheeks kena quite a bit of rash already..

anyone has a good plumber to recommend?
Called this plumber named Jack and the quotation that I got for clearning the basin chokage is $150. so expensive.