(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Constance,

guess what? remember last time I mentioned to you that I bought the Avent Isis Uno? well, i found the pumping suction really not too bad.... and the pump also got manual function also quite good... BUT.. the Avent pump just does not drain my breasts!

i kenna mastitis a week ago, and decided to buy the Ameda pump (highly recommended by my massage lady Mdm Rokiah). So far, its worked wonders and manages to drain out my breasts at every pumping session...

Abit regret that I bot the Avent, cos was debating between Ameda and Avent initially. Sigh!! But wont be selling the Avent, cos can carry the manual one around when I go out etc.

So you were right... Avent Uno not good lor. Will advise my other preggie frends not to invest in it, cos so ex!

botanist,
I'm using Medela pump.. also find that it does not drain my breast...Mdm Rokiah also told me that Ameda pump is good.. May I know which model she recommends? I keep getting engorgment and lumps... and the Medela pump doesn't help much..

phy,
u r not alone.. me too producing 80-90ml every 3-4hr.. and my girl oredi 1mth old..drinking 120ml every 2.5-3hrs... confirm demand > supply.. supplementing wif FM is a muz lor..

higgedly,
my girl oso ve acne on one side of her face leh..but duno wat's the cause of it..the "Mustela Stelatria Demo-repairing care" cream issit safe to use for all kinds of acne be it hormones caused or heat rash?

mongs,

my baby also made alot of noise at night. PD says its due to temperature change and the bb are still adapting to the temp. so we try to keep our room temp not too cold in the night.

higgedly,
my bb got acne on the forehead too. i wanna get the cream too....

can we feed bb water now?

pls add me to msn: [email protected]

Constance, ur bb still wake up after 2hrs? hmmm... mine siao siao one.. he will at times slp for 3-5hr, at times 3hrs average. Drink too much also no gd leh.. my milk supply also running low le. used to pump average bt 120ml. actually v lazy to do pumping.. thinking whether to stop pumping not. But FM always got a got of air, my boy dun like to burp too.. so got big problem

Yesterday, My boy his tummy v round, v scary.. Keeps wanting to drink then suddenly vomitted. Made me nearly cry.. Drink and drink non-stop.. now i m a bit scared to feed him milk..

Phy, urs still engorge? mine no more leh.. onli if i dun pump at nite and will it gng to explode.

Went watch movie ytd and eat mac with hubby. 3rd week into my confinement. V sick of confinement food.

Belle,

Ya lor, sometimes I sleep on my side and both breast pressed together, painful till I woke up! Wonder when engorgement will go away
Now BB is 2 weeks old and I also wonder how much he should be drinking. I expressed milk as want 2 let hb feed bb b4 he goes work at around 6am. I wanna do all night feeds and let hubby sleep a longer period since he works long hours...

happi,
my bb drank water fr 1st wk...
I had asked PD this ques if its necessary to drink water...he said its ok to drink but nt necessary as the milk already contains fluid.

Belle,
think yr bb is bloated...
alot of wind inside...thats y he nt comfortable too. But dun worry, bb wont fee uncomfortable if he vomit milk.
U can either apply Ru Yi You on his tummy or give him some med drops to clear the wind.

Slimz,

Haiz, TBF is out of the question for me already... I kind of like the feeling of feeding my boy
Got time to study him and talk to him when he's so engrossed suckling away...

Thinking if my milk supply will increase or not this week (3rd week) and more stablised.. Maybe I need to change pump..

mongs,

can try my MIL's plumber, Joe Tan @ 97820816. We just asked him to repair our leaking bidets and kitchen sink tap last Mon. Good service, but price wise I'm not sure.

Botanist
oh dear. Seems like not much improvement in the Avent Uno. I also told my preggie friends not to invest in Avent Uno.
Haha. I was also contemplating whether to buy Ameda Lactaline. But got some mummies here say supply dip after using, dunno whether cos it doesn't empty breast completely also. Also got some good feedback also. I will wait for supply to be more established then see.

Belle
I think ur bb may be having his growth spurt at 3rd week, hence keep wanting to drink. Actually 150ml at 3hrs ave is okie. Mine drinks 90ml per 2 hr. If you pro-rate, 90ml/2hr x 3hrs, dat's ard 135ml. Quite close to yours. Dun worry.
If you r really thinking of FM, when you prepare FM, dun shake the milk bottle to mix the FM, cos it will introduce more air in the milk. Use a spoon to stir instead.

Phy/ Slimz
maybe you can try pumping at 2hrs interval instead to increase supply. For the first 1 week, i also could barely keep up with bb's demand. After I changed my pumping interval from 3 to 2hrs, supply increased by a lot. Of cos you have to wait for a few days to see results. And drink more fluid too.

naf, petrina, BBnGG...

The milk bags shd arrive this week. My cousin got her in-laws to bring back to SG (they went over to help look after her kids and now are also coming back). So pai seh. hahaha...2 old folks help me bring back milk bags...heehee...and in-laws some more.

Hopefully they will come for my gal's 1st month celebration this weekend, then I can pass to you all soon. Will keep you mummies posted...

Phy, same here lo.. when i lie my side.. pressed liao also pain pain..

Hazel, ya lo.. i think he is bloated. hmmm.. poor boy.. he not full wont slp though.

Constance, ya hor.. i forgot bt the spoon to stir. will pump until i m drain then change lo.. FM v expensice.. so meanwhile i b a COW first lo..milk until cow is dry then use FM..

Constance,

Actually I'm not 100% sure whether Ameda has affected my supply (i.e., drop lower), cos I had to stop breastfeeding for the past 5 days so I stopped taking my high fish diet. Saw a drop in supply but attributed it to the lack of fish.

Just started back on my 'fish' diet cos can breastfeed from tmr... so will monitor over these 2 days to see if my supply jumps back up. If it doesn't go back up, then I must say that my supply dipped after using the Ameda.

Actually, after my massage lady cleared my blocked ducts, I saw a fantastic increase in supply! (increase by 100%!! Almost unbelievable.. but it didn't last...Abit sad now.

The pump is great to use. I must admit, I was a skeptic at first and even after I bought it... using it the first two times didn't feel that good. I even felt the sucking action was not strong enough. However, after using it more than 10 times now I feel its better than Avent in terms of performance BUT lower in term of comfort (cos no petal massager).

U also thinking to buy one set? Saw a feel mummies here selling 2nd hand... but I fussy la, want a new set so I went to buy last Saturday morning!

mummies who r feeding ebm by bottles, do ur bb still look 4 the nipple even after feeding? how do u deal w such behaviour?

my milk supply seems to drop... how to increase other than increased pumping sessions? was thinking of pumping but scared no milk when bb wants my breast after ebm.

phy,

which pump u using now?

my supply also like yo-yo... first week lousy, second week good, third week not so good.. alamak! No pattern...

am trying to consume lots of fluids and get lots of rest cos I do see an increase in milk when I do both... but sometimes its hard!

so far, i can only pump out 100- 120ml from both breasts every 3 hours. barely keep up with baby's demands! If my supply don't increase soon, got to supplement with formula all the time liao...

My baby is 11 days old and he's already drinking on the average 100ml every 2-3hrs. Sounds like a lot huh?

I was also worried when he started spitting out milk, even through his nose! But after reading that some of your babies also do that, I'm feeling better. At least now I know it's normal.

belle
if u continue to pump or latch, won't dry up one lah. dun worry.

botanist
i heard avent massager fit nicely to ameda. u may wanna try?
how much is ur baby drinking now? 100-120 per 3 hrs sounds ok lah. I am "squeezing out" 90-100 every 2 hrs now.

constance,

hmm i'll try!

my baby is drinking 125 every 2.5 - 3 hours so i'm barely meeting demand.
but hopefully, my supply will increase soon!

My son drinks 120-130ml every 2.5-3 hours too. Now he ballooned to 5.4kg. Went to PD for review, she said normally NB increases 1kg for the 1st month but mine 2kg. Hahaha... now he got breasts liao

this is how my PD calculate for BM intake:

bb wt x 150 and divide by no. of feed.
eg. (4.2 x 150) / 8 feeds = 78ml

For lactation consultant,

bb wt x 20
eg. 4.2kg x 20 = 84ml

My poor bb has got very red rashes on his buttock. Dunno Y? oredi using cloth nappies, suppose to be friendlier on his buttock compared to disposable diapers. Any one has this problem? I am using Desitin Creamy as his nappy cream.

Constance,
He took my BM(partial) for 1st month only leh. Now he is on fully FM liao, S26 Alpha Pro. My niece on Nan, very very chubby 3mths old bb girl. Maybe you can try Desitin in purple tube. That is not as creamy as the blue one, maybe can stay on longer on butt. Every change, do you find the lotion on butt or like lotion all gone liao? My SIL prefers the one in purple cos she said more long lasting. Or your bb sensitive to the brand of detergent, liner etc?

<font size="+1">Acne</font>,
Are you guys talking about small pimples like heat rash? But looks like pimples with pus?

1184215.jpg

If yes, I was using Cherub Rubs' "Skin Soothe". I find the lotion very mild, no medication and smell quite pleasant.
http://www.cherubrubs.com/products-skin-soothe.htm

Missylan
You are refering to Desitin Original rite? It has the cod liver oil smell which i dun like leh. Depends on his frequency of poo and urine. Sometimes the cream still there, sometimes dun have. Dunno whether it's the detergent. Liner shld be quite mild rite? I am using Tollyjoy brand. Everytime he poos, CL already "fast hand fast leg" change his nappy. Still got rash. sigh.

hi CSI,

didn't see ur email leh.. but its okie lah.. at least i know that its on the way liao..

by the way.. how many boxes did u allocate for me? 2 or 4? do also pm me how much to pay u back hor.. then i'll do a transfer via ATM..

someone open a thread on the lasinoh milk bags too.. thinking of getting it as well from that thread.. hehe..

let me know yah?

thanks gal for all your help.. appreciate it..

Sassy,

Me buy order from the one at everton for my son's full month but they are closed on sunday..There's one at Blk 6 hougang ave 7, also not bad..

Constance,

I have that problem before but my bb is on diapers whole day. I realise after I washed his buttocks instaed of using baby wipes only every single time I change him, he no longer has this problem already..

Constance,
I heard of some bb allergic to liners leh. Think you got to give it a try, either detergent or liner liao. Oh yah, maybe wipes. Anything that got contact with bb's butt might be the factor. Hahaha...

Hi Petrina,
hmmm...so strange. Sekali in my lack of sleep state, I forgot to click "send". hahaha

oh, I think I set aside 2 for you...

Okie, will let you know.

No worries!

missycow,

My son drink same amt as yours... I think he will be just as chubby as yours soon!

what is your experience with S26? my son was on partial FM as well (S26) and later when I kenna mastitis, he was fully on S26 for a few days. But his poop became really rubbery hard and when he pass motion, he even screamed in pain.

So in the end, I changed the FM to Mamex Gold and so far, his poop is back to normal (soft yellow mustardy type). So, maybe S26 too rich for him?? How abt for your baby?

My son's poo poo is fine leh. Greenish at first then towards the end is yellowish. I will not say his poo is watery, more on more solid but not like adult's, like what you describe a bit soft texture.

Not all bb suits S26 cos more heaty which cause constipation and hard poo. Think yr bb isn't suitable for S26 FM liao.

Pumping/latching on

Ladies who do both, so when you let baby latch on, roughly how long later you pump?

Constance,

maybe you can share how you pump at intervals of 2 hours... How about sleep? Do you also let your bb latch on?

Missylan,
Ya, those are the milk rash right? Does the Cherub Rubs' "Skin Soothe" help in reducing or getting rid of the rash? Wow, your boy sure is chubby
His cheeks got this inviting look that says "pinch me"
What a darling

Crystal,

Ya, that formula to calculate amt of milk for BB is also found in the TMC books that I have... That's why I'm feeding my boy about 90ml only as I calculate using that formula

calculate for BM intake:

bb wt x 150 and divide by no. of feed.
eg. (4.2 x 150) / 8 feeds = 78ml

Botanist,

I'm using Medela twin pump. My massage lady says Medela is no good.. I think so too.. I pump half way must stop a while, massage a bit then continue...

Constance,

Nappy rash ~ my boy got it last week also.. I was using Drapolene and Johnson since I have both.. Then he started 2 get rashes.. I quickly bought 2 tubes of Desitin (blue tubes) and apply whenever I change his diapers.. On top of that, I air his bottom for a while.. Then before bathing time I also air his buttock for about 5 minutes.. His rashes are gone now.

For airing his bum bum, I took the risk with precaution, placed the sheet (that was placed under our butts after delivery to absorb any leakage) uner his buttock)

constance, phy,
clarene also have a bit of rash at her buttock and thigh. It's small red rashes and I think it's heat rash. I am also using cloth nappies but I am using the covers with vecros instead of safety pins so i suspect the covers are a bit hot for her. I keep applying desitin as well but it's not helping a lot. not sure what next to do.

Constance,
if it's nappy rash, desitin should take care of the problem pretty quickly. maybe try to rub it in and apply a thicker layer.

Phy
Hehe, for this confinement, I am only in charge of pumping. CL will feed bb bottled EBM. I have some EBM stored in the fridge for nite feeds. I only latch once a day to make sure bb won't reject my breast when CL goes back. During daytime, my pumping sessions will be every 2hrly. Nite time, i stretch to 3hrly. So last pump is 12mn, then 3am and 6am.

good idea. maybe i shld air his bottom while i try to find the source of the rash.

mongs
I am also using those nappy covers. But if it is hot, the whole bottom shld be red leh. My bb's redness only concentrated ard the anus hole.
Dunno whether he allergic to poo. ???

Mongs,

I wanted to switch 2 nappy during daytime but since desitin plus airing my BB's bottom help, I didn't switch to nappy.. I think it could be the nappy you're using is too hot for Clarene.. Maybe you'd like to try airing her bottom to clear the rash first?

phy,
Ya, its heat rash aka milk rash. But don't think those are "acne" right? Ok, the skin soothe lotion isn't medicated so will not see the effect fast. I applied for almost 3 days(morning after bath and evening after wipe clean), I see them going down lor. Aiyoh, he like HULK man, alway make the hulk signature sound and action. Your Massage lady is it Mdm Rokiah?

mummies who r feeding ebm by bottles, do ur bb still look 4 the nipple even after feeding? how do u deal w such behaviour?

Regarding this lasinoh milk bags, can i know how different or good is it compared to those in the market now? I only bought the medela... hv yet to use it. Planning to start storing from the 2nd mth onwards. Pls advise.

Hi Petrina,
Where is the spree? Can't seems to find it... or is it i cockeye?

eve,
my boy does that sometimes, I just let him latch on for a while.. he would suckle to sleep..

Missylan,
Yeap, I managed to get Mdm Rokiah a week after my delivery (after reading your comments abt her).. She has a long waiting list but somehow she's able to fit me in due to where I stay haha.. I took up the 7-day package.. She actually wanted me to just do 5 sessions.. Actually I wanted to do 10 sessions after 2 massage coz I find it so soothing! Didn't really like the binding though coz can't BF my boy comfortably.. Tomorrow will be the last session.. think I'm gonna miss her massage skills...

BTW, my boy also makes some grunting sounds at times when I breastfeed him.. normal? Also at times he breathes heavily as if nose blocked... wonder if it's ok..