(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Linda,
can share what r the tips to slim down the tummy area? me not engaging a message service as had csect & hubby not comfortable w e idea.

hi mongs & jaz
I have not tried more milk plus before leh. But 2 of my friends highly recommend this pdt, so no harm trying. I took fenugreek when bfeeding my no 2. Milk supply was good then.

hen
i also have on and off discharge, sometimes watery red after pumping or latching the bb. I think most probably gotten wear sani pad until end of confinement, to prevent accidents.
On baby sling, yeah, if you think MIM is alot of fabric and more hassle, can try the other sling without the ring. Easier to put bb in also.

Hi mongs
envy leh, can wash hair. My hair stinks like no one biz.

keki
do you experience let down when you pump on your right breast?? If not, maybe can increase the duration so that you achieve let down. With let down, it's like opening the floodgates. Alot of milk will flow out.
btw, clogged ducts hindering milk supply is common even if you have been bfeeding for a few weeks or months.

My show on the 26th was for real...
I bear till interval of 3 mins then got myself admitted....
Quite a smooth delivery overall but in pain now due to the wound : )
Natural Delivery with Epi
1171482.jpg

Dareve,
congrats! your girl looked very demure. noticed that she has a birth mark, it will go away after a while if I am not wrong. my elder girl also have red patches in her eyelids but it lighten as she grow.

hen,
my hubby also very stressed when baby cries. I think he has depression not me after I give birth. babies will definitely cry as that is the only way they expressed themselves so as far as possible, I try to pacify the baby but not get too affected. I remember when we tried to trained my elder gal to sleep on her own when she was 9 mths old, we let her cry to sleep for 1 night. she took 1hr and 45mins, the whole time my hubby was sitting outside her room, looking so heart pain. for me, I watched tv in the room and try to relax. since we already agreed to try out the method, there is nothing we should do so why get so stressed up. but ended we failed in training her because she fell ill the next day. anyway, they will eventually learn how to settle to sleep on their own, just that they will take more time without any training from us.

Constance,
think I will get a bottle to try. thanks for recommending. wonder how long it will take to come.

Thanks mongs, the mark is gone already.
It's due to the assisted forceps delivery i gone through.
I was so worried on the first day and my doc assure me that it will go off soon. True enough, it's gone on the second day.
What a relief : )

hen,
did u oso exclusively EBM for ur previous 2 kids using the avent pump wor?
i find EBM time consuming coz direct latch.. can 'clear milk' and feed bb @ same time.. but wen its EBM, ve to set aside time for expressing ..and sometimes bb wakes/cries in the middle of expression .. faintzzz

hen,
my MIL is bathing my girl during my confinement period lor.. she wont allow my HB to bathe her too coz say we inexperienced.. but anyway my girl seems 2 enjoy her bathtime alot leh.. my MIL says its coz i go swimming alot during preggy =P.. i swam all the way till the last 2 weeks b4 birth..
ya..and MIL sings a hokkien song to her wen bathing .. wonder any moms here heard of it b4.. BB Wong oso sang it during her antenatal class..

Constance,
same like u, not allowed to wash hair..
i wet towel it everyday else i tink houseflies gg to build nest on it sooner or later...keke...

Dareve,
Your dd is so lovely.
congrats..!

Petrina,
dun be depressed... take gd care..
am sure bb will find way to settle down soon...

linda,
u did lose wt aft the massage wor.. i did 10 sessions.. aft the first 3 sessions, tummy got go down.. but thereafter .. no other positive changes le..now sessions end le.. wt no decrease at all .. but tummy did subside compared to immed aft birth.. massage lady says coz womb is being pushed back in le..
she did ask me to cont applying slimming cream and bind myself whole day..but i din coz veri hot esp wen cant bathe..

hi mommies..
my girl jaundice level was at 209 the last checkup. previously was 232 so on downward trend but i still worry soooo much...i hope it goes down further..once downward trend should be ok right??
also this morning got a bit of blood at her umbi cord..i quickly rush to doctor..but she said a little blood is normal..gave antiseptic..now no blood but aiyoh i soooo scared!! 2 weeks already cord haven't fall off?? how?? is everything ok?
experienced mommies can pls share and advice??

hi jasmine
my mum went to ask a salon, they charge $7 for newborn shaving. think you can ask ard, some salon does shaving for newborns. end up,
my mil only use disposable shaver to shave the edge of the hair. just small small meaning onli... din shave... coz a bit heart pain for him to go botak.

jeelomeelo,
thanks... s me wanna shave my ger botak... haha.. was dinking of getting the person to cum to my hse to shave her hair... anyone has any contacts o recommendation?

Hi mummies, I am a Sep07 mummy. Am letting go a full set of lightly used Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump, with a pair of new Lilypadz Breast Pad thrown in at S$200. Interested mummies, pls PM me for more details or e-mail me at [email protected]. thanks

After 2 days of phototherapy, my boy is discharged this morning
So happy 2 have him home.. Now must sun him for the next few days..

Realised that he drinks alot at the hospital, about 80 to 90 mL at intervals of 2 to 3 hours.. He also cries very loudly.. Now have no choice but to supplement him with formula milk as I'm not producing enough for him... *Sigh*

Here are his pictures.

25 minute old ~ Hi so you're my mummy *wink wink*
2 day old ~ Hi, I'm Ryan! *wink wink*

1171608.jpg
1171609.jpg

hi mummies, decided to put pigeon sterilizer (the rapid 6 min model) cleaning instructions here since still got requested for it. there are 2 methods:

a) Lemon juice cleaning for weekly maintenance
Need 1/2 fresh lemon, clean soft cloth, mug
1. extract lemon juice into mug
2. pour into sterilizer without boiling
3. leave the juice to stay for 30min
4. use soft cloth to remove remaining limescale
5. drain and rinse sterilizer with clean water

b) vinegar & water cleaning for occasional maintenance to help remove stubborn stains
Need soft cloth, 40ml vinegar, 80ml water (ratio 1:2)
1. mix 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water
2. pour mixture into empty sterilizer
3. switch ON sterilizer for about 1 min
4. switch OFF main power & leave sterilizer to stand for 15-30min
5. with clean soft cloth, wipe off any remaining stain or limescale
6. drain & wash sterilizer to wash away vinegar
7. pour 120ml clean water & switch ON to run a full cycle with the clean water
8. switch OFF the main power, rinse & wipe clean the sterilizer

IMPORTANT NOTE:
Percentage of vinegar must not be more than 50%
Do not complete a full cycle with vinegar mixture
Do not boil vinegar mixture for MORE than 2 min. High concentration of vinegar will cause corrosion
Pigeon Liquid Cleanser can be used to wash away vinegar after cleaning.

congrats to all the mommies tat already popped!!!

slimz,

im using the medela PIS breast pump and thumbs up!!! its worth the money if u intend to BF for long.

fanny,

it depends on whether you are breastfeeding but it's quite dependable on individual. My sis breastfed till 18 mths and her menses came when baby was 8 mths old. I also breastfed till around 17 mths and my menses came when baby was 11 mths and I was pregnant again with my younger girl when my elder was 15mths.

mummies who r using nepia diapers, hv u all changed to S already? How do u gauge how many more packs of NB to order before changing to S?

eve,
my baby is not yet 2 weeks old, still using nepia newborn. I remember I used about 4 packs + 1 pack of pampers newborn of nepia for my elder one before changing to S. anyway, there are more pcs in NB so I intend to let her use it until really too small then change to S. what you can do is to order NB with 1 or 2 packs of S everytime you order.

phy,
if your baby have FM in the hos and he undergo 2 days of phototherapy, he should be quite ok in terms of jaundice already, so don't worry too much. my girl also drank a lot when she was in the hos for 1 day. she was thirsty because of the light and I realised the nurse will just feed her when she cried, she drank 3 times from 12am to 6am at about 50ml each time when she was only 3 days old. when I bring her back, I also supplement 1 feed in the night time 60ml for the first night. for the rest of the days, I just let her suckle when she root and now I even managed to pump out extra to store. when your milk is in, he will have enough but you must continue to simulate the milk production so keep pumping or let him sucke. rest well and drink a lot of fluids.

mamaarumi,
as a new mother, there is a tendency to worry over slightest things. when my girl has rashes, we also rush her to the clinic. don't worry too much, let her have enough fluids to flush out the bilirubin and sun her a bit from 8am to 9am, she should be fine. 2 weeks is a bit long for the cord to come out but the nurse says that it's possible. are you cleaning it with alcohol swaps because it will help to dry the cord. my girl's cord came off at the 5th day and there is some discharge, have to cont to clean with the alcohol swaps. blood is normal from the cord. don't tug the cord, let it drop naturally. don't worry, it will dry up after awhile.

eve,
i haven change yet... think my bb still able to fit in ba... nepia act allow to change of sizes of unopened diapers on next purchase.

can i ask... my ger is now about 3wks old, gg to 4th wk... wads her intake for milk like? my ger onli drink about 70 mls 8x/day. issit enulf?

Hi pretty
i ordered Choz for my no 2's full month. Yeah, it is quite good, much better than Yiling (for no 1).

Hi fanny
usually menses will come once you stop bfeeding or reduce bfeeding duration/ qty. For me, i stopped bfeeding when bb was 8 mths old. Menses came 2 mths later.

hi cloverluv
How to wet towel your hair?
I got long hair, bundled it up everyday. But these few days, my son complaining that my hair very smelly.

Mongs & Jasmine,
I just used up 1 pack of NB. Thinking of ordering thru the supplier. BB is also not yet 2 wks old. Prob will just order another 2 packs of NB and 2 packs of S first. Thks!

Jasmine
my boy is going to 2 wks this thur. He's now drinking abt 10-15mins every hourly by latching. Tried feeding him EBM. Drank abt 50 - 60ml each time & he still wants to suckle fr the breast before sleeping. Feel that it's a big difference. Not too sure if overfeeding him thru EBM. Also not too sure if he's feeding frequency thru latching is too much.

U feed yr gal thru the bottle? I'm now starting to worry that he will reject bottle when i tried to wean him off the breast. Now when i carry him, he has a tendency to turn his head & mouth to my breast area.

pretty,
m ordering from choz... heard from my gfs who hve ordered from them b4... heard is quite gd...

eve,
i express my milk out n feed her via bttle.. s to facilitate me to monitor her intake 2..i change from latching her to bttle feeding in just a few days s my ger tends to doze off while latching half way n same like u.. hve got prob wif her... she wanna latch on almost every hr.. so, change to bttle feeding.
but, till date i hve yet to bttle feed her s i don't wan her to get confused bet nipple n teat... s smtimes, i still latch her on.

mongs, constance

i never bf my baby. She is on full FM. My lochia ends 3 wks ago. So when will the menses come? And when can we start to exercise?

I intend to take up some aerobics classes while on ML and can I take pork liver (am a c-sect mum)?

hi mrs choy
i think menses shld come 2-3 mths after lochia.
Is it too early to exercise, esp since you just had c-sect? Mayb shld wait another 6-8 weeks, esp for tummy exercise.

hi jaz
yeah, i also noticed that when i latch, bb keep dozing off, and my breast dun really feel emptied after feeding him. So i suspect he is not drinking as much, hence kept crying for milk within the next hr or so. Actually CL is the one who wants me to pump so that she can monitor how much bb drinks. But good also, cos at least bb can have a good sleep between feeds.

eve,

actually not necessary to introduce bottle so early. if you intend to breastfeed for long, pump when you go back to work, u can start introducing bottle after confinement. I introduce 3 bottles in the morning and afternoon when my elder girl was 6 weeks old in preparation of me going back to work when she is 12 weeks. she cried at the first bottle of the day when my MIL feed her but after a few days, she is ok. I latched her when I am back from work and at night. had managed to keep the supply going. my MIL is the one feeding her all the bottles. it's not advisable to bottle feed him yourself if you want to cont to latch on.

He is rooting for your breast and he maybe hungry or he just want to root for comfort.

Hi eve,

U hv supplier contacts for ordering diapers? Can PM me at [email protected]?

DarEve,
Congrats on your lovely NB~ Which hosp did u deliver your girl at? Your hb took those shots?

I have delivered my baby girl on 30 Nov and still experiencing bits of lochia now (ends during the evening then bits coming on the next morn/noon).. is this normal? It has been a month already. How long will it take to be gone completely?

hi BBnGG ,
khatijah played up to me also...i booked her in advance and when i delivered i smsed her and then she told me she has flu so i shud take her sister instead...i knew she was playing up so i said i will wait for her flu to get better and today its been 25 days and she hasnt called back...luckily i knew this was going to happen when she offered her sister so last minute i engaged somebody else ...my massage lady was good and very puntual and came down at a very short notice just one day....thank god i didnt wait for khatija's flu to get better

mongs, what did the doc say when he saw the rashes? cos my girl also has rashes all over her face, so scary.. worried... could it be heat rash? its those pimples like thing.. and red red patches...

im still in confinement so is quite apprehensive to bring her out again to crowded places... the clinics here are always so packed...

slimz, for my #1, I bf directly most of the time, express in betw feeds n top up wz FM. I was using Medela battery operated one to express then. For my current #2, she is being bottle-fed wz EBM most of the time, usually at nite wld be FM. Definitely direct latch on is more convenient but bb just wldn't latch on properly lor. No choice.

I also swam when pregnant. Today got improvement, my hb bathe her n she din cry as much. I notice she likes to sit in the water.

Yvonne,
I ordered thru this website http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/index.html

Hi Jaz & Constance,
Yes... i think my boy also rooting for comfort. He only sucks for 5-10mins and doze off. Hv to rock him to sleep for another 10-15 mins else he will cry if put him to the cot immediately. Then, within the hr, he will cry again for milk again. I tried bottle feeding EBM. But he drinks a lot... 50-60ml at one go, & will still want to suck fr my breast before going to sleep.

Mongs,
So for bottle feeding, it's best to ask someone else to feed him?

i'm back...after resting over the weekend.

mongs, thanks for your advice. i suspected it's mastitis too...coz fever was really high. was delirious and blur...hahaha. took panadol, fever broke. pumped and pumped...now, it's not as hard and painful but can still feel some lumps. hb tried to help...but think he didn't dre press too hard when i started crying out in pain. he must have been worried he did it wrongly. yah, i plan to visit lactation consultant on wednesday...

slimz,

I m on total bf and hv used both avent manual n medela elect. pumps. I prefer medela - my fingers won't feel so sore compared to using the manual pump. However, I still need to do some massaging round my breast and express the milk manually towards the end. My colleague prefers using the avent manual pump though - she claims it can express more and less painful. I guess it is up to individual. =)

Hi eve
i am trying very hard to keep up with my 2 week old bb's demand. He drinks alot too, 90ml per 2hrly. Sweat man. barely can keep up.

yvonne,
me delivered on 10 dec... s like u... lochia came back on n off..guess is normal ba..

haha... just called choz again, she is indeed a nice lady.. manage cum out wif solutions for my delivery... just placed my orders... haha

yvonne,
nepia no is 62262650.

constance,
wah...ur boy drinks so much? my ger gg to 4 wk.. but, onli manage drink 70mls 2hrly-3hrly... refuse to increase her intake...

anyone has any idea y o how to get rid of phlegm? my ger seems to hve a lot of phlegm...

Constance,
Can understand... last wk he was drinking at intervals of 2 hrs... this wk 1hr... siong huh. Now trying to figure out how to make him sleep longer.

jaz
yeah lor. Now i gotta drink lots of fluid and pump every 2 hrly, even during nite time. Very tired, but dun wanna fall back on FM again. So no choice.

eve
dunno whether it's growth spurt, but come abit too early leh. My bb only 13 days old...