(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

haha mongs
you become walking pacifer liao.
Yeah, i agree not very nice if 3 yr old still with pacifier in mouth. Dats y we are so anxious to make our dd kick the habit by 18th mth. Took us more than 2 weeks before she completely stopped asking for her pacifier.

hi jasmine,

you are solely pumping only? like wat u say, you are doing correct, just that supply not ample kind.. and you need to "chase" demand. in this case latch on is the best solution. n i notice, if u solely pump, u will b very focus on "how much" bb takes in. whereas if latch on, u just keep latching la, haha n wont think "not enough" coz u dont know how much bb taking :p..not sure u get wat i mean.. but i also understand sometimes bb not co-operative difficult to latch on.

my #1 i was chasing demand too, serious my supple is pathetic, even bb wong advise me to supplement w FM, i simply Refused to supplement.. so wat i did was latch on, on demand, regardless of hr.. can be as short as every hr! then after that pump out every single drop left in the breasts.. sometimes dont even hv la :p... after the 1st mth, i succeeded, bb put on 1.5kg the 1st mth, i was sooo happy.. then once the BM established, i always hv enough for her... i TBF her till 16mths..not easy i must say

for those of u interested to buy a bok on BF'g..i reco Womanly Art of Breastfeeding by La Leche League International. In there you will find alot of ans to ur concerns.

mongs, ya, may be he's tanking up plus the growth spurt. after the last feed at 10pm plus, he slept to 3am feed. pray that today everything is back to normal. feel like a zombie today.

bluelily, my pd say no need to let her review wor. the next time i see her would be for baby jab liao. reg BM, my estimate is based on my daily pump. yesterday pump 1/2hr for 2 letdown is about 150ml total. based on that to gauge lor.

bluelily,

yes fish does help
...what i try to do is eat fish everyday and drink soup n lots of liquid...warm milo works for me, i think coz its "energy drink and warm"

hi mongs,

hehe all my bbs love to root... i found in books n website, its just their instinct... they like to suckle actually, even not hungry will root too for comfort. so sometimes i free, i just latch bb on, helps to stimulate more milk too... i think you are doing fine.. for this bb i was concerned at first too... coz he very impattient n latch on i must squeeze my breast for very fast flow, very tiring... but i look at his wet/soiled diapers, he seems ok... n at 1st mth, he put on >1kg..so put my mind at easy. the book i reco says that if bb keep rooting or want to latch on, DONT think he is hungry and u hv not enough milk
...just their nature and sometimes its coz they are trying to stimulate ur breast for more milk to meet their growing needs... nature way of increasing mummy's milk for the bb... n i notice its very true for all my 3 kids... growth spurt at 3,6 weeks and i think 3 mths... something like that

mongs,

sorry kpo again, i read that if offer pacifier, will lesser then time bb suckle at the breast... may reduce supply coz bb suckling is for stimulating the breasts for more milk

Crystalz
my CL will pat / talk to bb or carry him when he cries leh. I think shld be okie if you give pacifier when she wanna sleep.
Dun let ur bb be like my dd. With a pacifier permanently stuck in her mouth last time. Sigh! Initially also started with letting her suck when she slept during the first few weeks. But after my mum took over as her caregiver, every time she cried or made noise, she would stuff the pacifier in her mouth. We quarrelled over this issue so many times.

Good time managed to "cure" her B4 she starts childcare next mth. If not, i faintz man...

hi my baby sleeps beyond 3 hours. won't wake up no matter what. what do i do? do i pump out?

I've delivered my boy on the 17Dec07...Please update for me!

Born: 17 Dec 2007
Weight: 3.15kg
Natural with Epi
Name: Samson

Here's my birth story

16Dec Day-Evening
When buffet with my sister@ Marina Sq

16Dec 6pm
Felt contraction pain when we r driving home

16Dec 7-8pm
Contraction was like 10mins apart.. thot it might b false contractions.

16Dec 8-10pm
contraction was now 6-5mins apart.. Hubby ask wan to go hospital.. I told him the pain still bearable, let's finish the Star Award first.

16Dec 10-11pm
Decided to call my brother in law to come & look aft my no1 since he is asleep now..went to bath & pack my bag. contraction still 5mins apart..pain still bearable

16Dec 1145pm
On my way to hospital.. pain still bearable..

17Dec mid night
Reach hospital, contractions are 5mins apart.

17Dec 1210am
Finish admission, nurse saw that i was hving painful contraction, quickly ask me to get change & she chk my VE.. Aiyo u r already 5-6cm dilated & she kept asking if i wan epi. I was too painful to talk, so hubby decided that i shd go for epi...but was a mistake!!

1230-1245am
Water bag burst & got show..Once finished epidural, I'm all really to pust!!Was ask not to push coz Gynae not here yet..

1250-1am
Gynae finally arrive, I'm already fully dilated.. After a few push, baby was born...

Epidural was a waste of $$... I can still feel the pain of the cut!!

blessed,
m solely on pumping.. has tried 'forcing' bb to my nipple.. but, after a few sucks.. she doze off...

wad's growth spurt? my ger has been crying from 10pm onwards.. usu finally doze off @ 1am.. wakes up @ 3am n doze off @ 4am, wakes up @ 5.30am-6am... anyone can help?

anyone has any idea where to buy dis product called 'more milk plus' hope i get the name correct.. read smewhere that it helps in milk production...
o http://www.ahomeonearth.com/shop/index.php?cPath=42&osCsid=25da63e25297f56cb171678a1703bfe3.. was said that it eill cause an increase in milk production within 48hrs.

also anyone tried fenugreek b4? was given a bttle by my colleague.. say it helps in milk production.. how to consume?

oh ya, the papaya fish soup.. do we hve to put ginger in?

hi jaz, it takes a while for bb to get used to the nipple. if you want her to suckle to increase your milk flow, then must be determined. can be frustrating at first but it does pay off.

my ger also cries in the evening after her last feed and will doze off only at about 11plus. she will want to be carried or be stuck at my breast even after a full feed. i think bb dun know how to fall asleep by themselves so they wake up looking for mummy's comfort. so we become human pacifier lor...

i tried asking my husband to carry her so she won't smell me. hope this will work. trying out again later. :x

and papaya fish soup dun have to put ginger.

hi mummies, need advice! my boy has been very cranky these 3 days. He jus wanna be carry and once we put him down, he will jus cry like nobody business. Even we pat him to sleep and then put him back to he cot, he will jus wake up. Seem like he can feei it lor. I have try to let him cry for 15mins and dun carry him, but he jus couldn't stopped and no choice have to carry him as he always cry till like going out of breathe and face turn red! Is it due to colic? I have try gave him infaco (colic med) but not much use.
anybody facing the same prob?

hv been fully BFg my daughter since she was born n wat i think helped me boost up my supply was by drinkg horlicks. i had soya bean milk too last nite n e milk supply was amazing, tho i'm not too sure if e soya bean milk attributed to e supply.

in e previous weeks, my daughter has been cryg non-stop in e nites too (always abt 10pm+) n she seemed to be rooting all e time, hence i kept offerg her e breast which made her bawl even louder. after many tries in guessg wat she wants, i finally realised she was SLEEPY. gawwd.. so if u believe ur child has enuff milk, try to make him/her sleep. most of e time, that's wat they want. e key is to hv confidence in e amt of milk u're supplyg to e baby esp when ur supply of milk has been established.

e good news now is, i've learnt to understd her feedg n sleepg patterns so my life is more sane. bad thing is she wants to b carried all e time. i give it to her but once she's deep in zzz, i'll put her in her cot.

oh btw, anyone koe how to clear the bb nose..
n my bb seems to have a lot of phlegm.. anything to help her get rid of it??

hi witty,

YES, they can feel it n they know. wat wrked for me was to let my bb sleep on her side instead of flat out on her back w pillow elevatg her head slightly. of cz it wrks sometimes n sometimes not. but when it does, she can zzz quite long. u can add a weighted pillow if u want.

steffietan, tat's wat i do too. let bb sleep on side and add a weighted pillow. my girlfren was telling me let hubby carry her to sleep at night so she won't "smell" me. she suggested i get out of the room.

jaz, hmmm... i confirm wif CL and let u know if need to put ginger or not ok?

witty,

could it be due to he is still hungry.. My boy also like that previously, he will doze off while drinking, once put him on the bed, he will wanna drink again.

steffietan,
same same, my boy wants to be carried ALL the time.

I total breastfeed, and for the past 3 nights, he started the habit of drinking for max 5-10 min, then demand for milk again in less than one hour. And to make him sleep, I need to carry and rock him. Super tiring ok???

Any mommies suffering so much too??

BTW, I tried feeding him FM at night, hoping that it will fill him up more and thus sleep better. But he HATES it and spits it out! Sigh... looks like I will have a tough time weaning him off BM in future.

higgledy,
when my girl couldn't sleep, my CL and mum would always say that she's hungry. i've proven them otherwise cos when she brings bb to me (and if bb's just been fed), i realised all the bb needs is to be cradled to sleep. have confidence in your bm ok? bb is just being sticky to you and not becos he's hungry. if possible, get another person to try cradling him at night.

higgledy,
understand yr issue...
my boy also like tat...
he drinks less than 5mins since I was discharged fr hosp. Its been 3wks.
Its really rare that he will take longer than 5mins to finish his milk.

I ve made many attempts nt to carry him to sleep but failed. He can cry as long as 1hr+ if I jux left him alone. N he sleeps very little...max 1hr after feed. didnt even sleep at night unless I carried him all the way.
As I m doing my own "confinement", I m alone in the hse most of the time. Sometimes, my lunch can be 3hrs long cos he didnt allow me to eat. I just turned abit of my position nt to his liking n he will cry. Even till the extent, I ve to just let him cry while I go to the toilet.

Only diff is I m feeding him with FM most of the time. Then this wk, I Really too tired to pump out my milk...rather let it leaks...
cos really sleepy...N this bb keeps crying..need to attend to him..

my maid and i have been rotating shifts! No matter who carry he will cry lor once put him down.

jean, unlikely hungry lah cos my boy is very demanding oso. Will sure cry for milk on avg 2hrs. Oso he don wan pacifier when i try to use it on him to stop the crying as somex i oso scare tat we overfeed him as he wan to drink milk b4 every sleep! Now daytime i gave him BM at 150ml and nite time FM at 120ml as usually nite he will be too lazy to finish the milk and somemore FM richer. Hiaz...wonder when will he be more stable and stop all the crying games.

jux came bk from gynae..finally can get out of hse for fresh air.. but ultra miss my girl

jasmine,
rdg clearing of nose, i brot my girl 2 PD the other day coz i tot she got running nose..in the end PD says its coz bb nose hole too small 2 clear impurities on her own..so will ve 'pi sai'. he prescribed tis tingy "Otrivin Nasal Drops" 2 help her clear nose.. wat we does is we drip the liquid on cotton bud den dig her nose with the bud...hehe.. and we managed to dig pi sai out a few times..

tub,
wonder the "mummy's smell" will b applicable for me .. coz i do not latch my girl on at all.. will she not b able 2 recog my smell

and sometimes wen i c my MIL carry my girl veri close 2 her body i abit jealous..din wan my girl 2 get the wrong smell

Witty,

Ermm...then maybe u can try burping him when picking him up. Cos sometimes, their tummy dun feel well. When my boy crys and gek till face red, I knew he wanna burp or fart..So me will try to burp him again..And usually he will give a loud burp and after that ok liao...

Thanks. Yeah, bb decided to come Christmas Day. It was a busy Christmas at TMC's labour ward that day. I know that there were at least 14 Christmas TMC babies.

I went in on Christmas Eve at 10 pm with waterbag leaking but no contractions so I know even then baby will come Christmas Day.

Now, busy trying to cope with a new baby and having SAME problems as all of you mums. Baby do not wanna latch on. I am pumping to stimulate the milk to come. It is the 3rd day and no milk yet.

limko,

don't worry too much about milk coming in, some come in later at 5th or 6th day. however, if possible do try to latch on more often or see lactation consultant for latching on problems because it's always more convenient to latch on and can simulate to produce more milk.

limko,

also your baby mouth should be a more efficient pump so although u can't pump out milk, u maybe producing milk already. some people also have prob letting down when pumping so when the milk is not remove from your breast, ur brain may get the signal that you don't need the milk and produce less.

I've delivered my boy on the 20 Dec 07, 1 day after my EDD. Please update for me!

Born: 20 Dec 2007
Weight: 3.765kg
Height: 54cm
Delivery type: E-csec with epi
Name: Ethan

Went for gynae check on my EDD. Was advised to induce as waterlevel has dropped by half. Agreed to it. Was dilated abt 4-5cm the next morning at abt 9am. Thought going to have a fast labour. But who knows... dilation stopped... was only 6cm dilated all the way till 4pm. Took epi then as cannot take the pain anymore. Gynae then suggested to go csec as bb is big, and he is facing upwards. Also dilation is also taking too long. Finally agreed to his suggestion and bb is out at 7.25pm.

Now thinking back, wonder if i wld hv dilated much earlier if took the epi earlier & prob could hv avoided the c-sec

I'm also facing the same problem as u all. My baby doesnt want to sleep in the cot. He wants to be cuddled to sleep. Everytime we put him down to his cot after he falls into deep sleep in our arms, he will wake up, search for milk & cry again. I also realised that everytime i carried him, he will want my nipple and keep drinking milk or simply just suck in his mouth.

How can we get him to sleep on the cot when he's tired?

Will I be overfeeding him if i let him suck my nipple as when he wants even if he had already had his feeds?

Sorry... can anyone help on some questions abt EBM

1) If i express some milk and put into the fridge in the morning, can i mix it with the milk that i express in the evening?

2) For those who feed by EBM, can we warm a bottle and feed at various intervals without rewarming?

3) How much do ur baby normally drink fr the bottle each time?

i have some questions for EBM as well. hope mummies here can help out.

1) How do you store EBM when you bring your EBM out?

2) How fast must it be consume when you bring EBM out?

eve,
1) my bb drinking EBM and i uses avent pump. i read in the instructions booklet dat u can mix the EBM but the expiry of that mixed EBM will b the earlier date i.e. if u ve EBM 10am plus another @ 3pm, den the combined EBM will expire 48hrs from 10am..
2) my girl normally finishes all the EBM i prepare leh .. not sure abt leftovers..
3) qty depends on bb's age bah .. my girl was consuming 30ml @ birth.. but now is 90ml le (3weeks old) .. and zzz abt 3hrs till nxt feed..

gloomybear,
1) u mean how to store EBM? i use the avent bottles and put in fridge..48hrs is the max ..
wen bb wan drink i transfer to norm milk bottles & warm it up..alternatively is warm it and let bb drink frm the avent bottle lor..
2) tink consume b4 it gets too cool bah..i usually heat it up oni wen its bb's feeding time..

I have Gina Ford's Contented Little Baby Book for sale. It's recommended by many mummies who want to establish a daily routine for baby.

Bought it at $28, will let go at $18. Good condition. Anyone interested?
Please email me at [email protected]

Slimz,
Thanks for the reply. I was thinking if i can transfer all the milk fr 1 day into 1 bottle and let bb drink throughout the day based on his feeding demands. In this way, lesser leftovers/wastage. Can we re warm again?

Gloomybear,
Yesterday was the 1st time i bring EBM out. I transfer everything into 1 milk bottle and warm it before going out. Throughout the day, bb drinks twice fr the same bottle. I didn't rewarm again, so it's at room temperature. Not sure if i've done the right way. Any other mummies who can advise?

Hi eve
1) i think you have to make sure both bottles of milk are of same temp before you mix rite?
2) For EBM via bottle, it is better to throw away any leftovers cos once bb's saliva have touched the EBM, milk may be pro to bacteria breeding. Not advisable to reheat also.
3) My 11th day old son taking 80ml every 3 hrly now.

Hi gloomybear
i usu use the fridge-to-go to store EBM. you can use cooler bag too. I think how fast to consume the EBM will depend on how long your cooler bag can keep the milk cold.

Did 2 days earlier for my bb's full month. Didn't celebrate though, just give away cakes. Many good reviews for the Gobi cakes... =P My hubby who is choosy said that Gobi's cake is the best full month cake he has ever tasted. Mountain tortoise but true... Their Opera cake is very very tasty! XD
CL going back tomorrow afternoon... hope that I can handle my NB well...

Er.. eve
I dun think you shld let bb drink from the same one bottle thru-out the day leh. BB's saliva will contaminate the leftover milk.
I also read somewhere that EBM at room temp must be consumed within 2 hrs.

Constance,
Oh.... then i think i better stop feeding fr same bottle even tho it's btw 2 consecutive feeds. so i guess i've to prepare a bit more each time rather than contaminating everything.

missylan,
envy u too... 3 more wks to go 4 me....

wah eve, you awake at that hour ah? actually, me too. I didn't sleep at all...coz me having bad engorgement on right boob!
Milk ducts on that side are blocked (so painful!), then also swollen and engorged. And now, I'm having a fever. So painful that I can't sleep...tried hot compress, massage and then pump out...but the BM from the right side is so pathetic! Only one-thrid of what the left side is yielding...sob sob...

CSI_Fan,
I think you have mastitis. it's the inflammation of the breast tissues. there will be swelling in the breast tissue because the bacteria has invaded into the tissue and causing you the pain. you need to take anti-biotics to remove the swelling so that the milk can flow. probably u have a cracked nipple and a blocked duct. Your baby may not want to help you to suck because the milk is a bit salty. maybe you want to call a lactation consultant for help to massage out the milk but not sure they work on weekends. this will affect your milk supply but dont be discouraged because I have mastitis a couple of times when I breastfeed my elder one but I survived each massage session though I cry like nobody business because of the pain.
What I learnt is to squeeze foward and roll your aerola to ensure the passage way is not blocked, then roll your nipple for the same purpose, finally use hot towel and some strength to massage the breast. ask your hubby to help. u need to take 2 panadol to reduce the pain when massaging. also better see a dr for the anti-biotics to remove the swelling. I still cont to feed my baby when I take the anti-biotics. must inform dr that you are breastfeeding. hope my information helps.

hi mummies, any of you have bb that are shedding skin now? wow mine is shedding on legs and hands...CL says it's normal to shed skins. anything i can do to prevent further shedding or can i put moisturiser or shld i just leave it alone? is it normal for bb (2wks old) now to shed?

blessed,
i've been working hard trying to increase milk flow by pumping every 3hrs for the past 1day since u gave the 3 pointers .. but each 3hr session i ve, the milk seems lesser

issit really coz bb not latching on?
veri depress..like dat how 2 continue BF her till @ least 6mths..mite end up pne day oni one feed of BM the rest FM liaozzz..

hi pretty
my bb also shedding skin around the legs and hands, esp the joint areas. I didn't put any moisturiser on him leh. Just cut down the no of bath to once a day. I think bathing may have dried up their skin.

hi slimz
maybe you wanna try increasing your pumping duration. For me, I realise that i can get 2 let downs each side if i pump longer. Dun think exclusive pumping, if done consistently, shld yield less milk. You have to relax and make yourself comfy too during pumping. Dun be too stressed by the qty.

CSI,
Yah... had fed bb and was pumping milk. Now there's no night n day for me already. Never so active at night before... hehe

Yr condition sound serious. Think u better see a lactation consultant or doctor like what mongs said.

Mummies, when u all mentioned blocked ducts, can i know how it feels? i feel lumps on my breasts. Had to message the lumps and somehow it goes away. This means blocked?

Does anyone of you tried letting yr bb sleep on his stomach w head tilted to one side? Is is safe to do so? Wonder if they can sleep better & longer this way.

I've popped! Thanks for those who asked to go down to hospital after my MJ session on 23 Dec evening.. haha, it turned out that I was in labour

D.O.B ~ 24 Dec 2007, 1505 hours
Weight ~ 3.65 kg
Length ~ 51 cm
Head circumference ~ 36cm
Name : Ryan

Linda, please help me update

Here's my birth story:

Got admitted though only 1 cm dilation as I was bleeding. But hor, after that the dilation was so slow!! When gynae checked me on Xmas eve 9am, found out that dilation was only 1.5cm.. (had painless epidural anyway).. she gave me 2 options

1) speed things up ~ induce birth
2) let nature take its course ~ Chances are that baby will be born on early Xmas (16 hours wait)

Well, after some discussion, decided to take option 1 (though I thought it would be great if my boy could be born the 1st Xmas kid haha

Doc burst my water bag after that and things sped up a bit.

1.15pm ~ dilated to 5cm only..Gynae checked me and decided to stretch open my cervix.. then asked me to push.. She saw BB's head. Then midwives took over..

3p.m. ~ close to 2 hours pushing, exhausted. Gynae checked me and BB, BB's head still high up.. *sigh* gave me options again. I picked assisted birth with vacuum as I was darn tired after 18 hours.

3.05p.m ~ YES! BB thrown on my chest!

Gynae then told me why I had quite a tough delivery.. BB's head is big!! and didn't expect him to turn out to be rather big size.. (last scan was only 3.1kg but at birth 3.65kg). To top it off, I had tight cervix...

In all, I had 4 extra tubes of epidural.. Thank God for that man!! At one stage the drug didn't work on my left and I was in great pain!!

Now BB came down with jaundice and is hospitalised.. going to visit him now..

Thanks for reading my birth story

Will post his pictures soon