(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

sandra,
how old is your baby now? I assume she is less than a month since you are still doing confinement. I brought my elder girl to see the PD when she had rashes breakout just before her full mth celebration. I think it's due to heat and that she is heaty plus her skin is sensitive to the environment. her face clear up quite fast, maybe 2 weeks but it actually took about 2 mths for her skin (on her body esp joint areas) and cradle cap to heal completely. up till now (24mths already) she still has very dry and scaly skin at some parts of her body. her father skin is not good. the PD gave her steroid cream (hydrocortisone 1%) which you can buy from pharmacy. her rashes are pimple like and red and it spread to her head and she has cradle cap and her hair all drop after a while. quite ugly and scary. PD said that it's itchy for them, that's why they can be more fussy. I decided to use the cream although I don't like the idea of apply steroid cream on her when she is so young. Now, I just keep applying moisturer many times a day on her body and give 1 bath a day. PD said that they will out grow it one day.
My younger gal has small pimples here and there and my confinement lady says it's because they are heaty and it will clear up after 1 or 2 days. true enough, the pimples here and there disappear but some appear at other places. confinement lady says must let them drink a bit of water. my girl doesn't like water but we try to make her suck 1 or 2 mouth a day to let her get used to the taste of the water.
If your baby's rashes is bad, better bring her to see a PD because I truely believe that it will affect their mood and they may be more difficult to handle. if the rash is mild, maybe keep your baby cool and let her drink water and apply moisturer such as calendula cream or sebamed lotion. don't use johnson & johnson liquid bath for her bath which is very dry according to my PD. use sebamed bubble bath or lactayd (not sure if it's spelt like that)- recommended by my PD.

eve,
ya, better to ask someone else to bottle feed to avoid confusion. baby recognise people thru smell and voice.

I have delivered my bb princess rachel in KKH on 28/12/07.
Weight: 3.325kg
Natural with Epi

Wow still trying to adopt the new life with my bb. She now having slight janudice & need to followup for checkup on this coming Wed.

So heartpain to see her kanna poke by needles.

slimz,
yup, i bought this pump... but i bought it $500+.. think mayb they hve increase their price liaoz... m not sure y is cheaper though. i quite like this pump.

constance,
thanks but does the medicne cums in a form of powder o liquid? where to buy?

joanne,
me 2... intially when my ger gotto b poke by e dr..i nearly cry... but, i keep telling myself is for their own gd.

constance,
thanks.. will chk it out. aiya, the spree which u posted e other day on the more the_milk_plus.. alreadi closed... 2 late to place my order le... wasted

jaz23
if you r still interested, i can let go one bottle to you, since i bot 2 bottles.

naf
I ordered ameda lactaline from mumsfairy already. BB's appetite increase, so i nid to pump every 2 hrs. Nite time only got 1.5hr sleep between each pumping session. Buay tahan liao. Hope ameda can reduce pumping time by half.

Mrs Choy,

Ya, my doctor also advise me to start exercising only after 3 months cos the internal healing will only heal ard that time..Can't even jog or do sit ups..

For All mummies, just read this article in the latest Motherhood Magazine and wanna share w all of u.

Sleep to lost weight

We all know how sleep os literally non-existent for the new mother, who's on call 24/7 to nurse and attend to her baby. The lack of sleep may also hold valuable clues as to why that pregnancy weight is refusing to budge. A recent study by Harvard Medical School, published in the American Journal of Epidemiology, revealed a significant relationship between the lack of sleep and stuborn pregnancy weight. Researchers noted that a good night sleep of rest is just as important as a balanced diet and exercise for a healthy lufestyle. Mothers who clock five hours of sleep a day or less are more likely to carry around the extra pregnancy weight, as compared to mothers who get adequate rest. Interestingly, most women who slept at least seven hours a night or most lost more weight. Solution? We propose it's time to wake the husband up.

jean,

oic, i thot i can do exercise now. Seem that can't shred off my pregnancy weight, till now havent continue my massage (have a phobia that she broke my blood vessel again and the unbearable pain)

fanny,

My wound also still hurts, now i dun even dare to put binder..will go see my gynae and ask him why like that this friday..

As I only gain 13kg during my pregnancy, I have so far lost almost all of it, but wanna go down somemore as they say its the perfect time to lose weight during this period..somemore wanna tone my tummy, so ugly with all the loose skin..

But I really dare not take the risk of rapturing the wound inside..so no choice but to bear with it lor...

fanny, i like the last sentence of the article!! envy my hubby can get as much sleep as he wants.

how does everyone prevent themselves from having flu/cold/cold from so little sleep?

deerdeer, my areola areas aching bad cos my bb latching on wrongly i think. she likes to bite on me when breastfeeding

HAPPY NEW YEAR! MAY OUR BABIES GROW HEALTHY & WISE! AND SLEEP THRU' THE NITE ASAP!

Happy New Year mummies.

May all our babies grow healthier and sleep thru the nite.

May all mummies slim back to their pre-pregnancy ( or more) weight asap and be a glowing chio mummies.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MUMMIES HERE! MAY GOOD HEALTH, MORE WEALTH AND MORE HAPPINESS BE WITH YOU AND FAMILY IN 2008!!!

Mongs,

Thanks for the advice
I'm trying to drink more water (well, argued my way through with my family and got my way). Now I think my milk supply is not sufficient for my boy coz he really drinks a lot.. supplementing with FM at home too. Meanwhile I will either pump or let him latch on.

Check with you ladies, do both breast produce about the same amount of milk? Release my left boob doesn't produce as much as right one...

Wow, initially got block ducts under armpit...so painful that I almost broke down in tears.. Now ok already..

Jean,

Wow, how did you lose it all? I also gained about 13kg but till now (1 week later) think I only lost 5 to 6 kg...

My weight chart :
Pre-pregnacy: 54kg
B4 delivery : 67kg
1 week post delivery : 61kg
Gained : 13kg

how much more 2 lose : 7kg

Haha, I want 2 squeeze into my old clothings b4 1st month...hmm

Anyone got any tips to that?

phy,
hehee.. dun worry.. u are not alone .. me too put on 13kg.. and oni lost wt upon bb's birth .. i.e. her weight and the waterbag..
looking @ the amt i'm eating during this confinement period..dun tink will lose any more wt during this mth..
if on exclusively EBM..will still b able lost wt?
anyway .. intending to exercise my way thru ..

Hi ankh
my bb also "bite" on my nipples sometimes when i latch. Gotta Ren and wait for the pain to subside while he continues to nurse.

yeah phy
me too. I still have 5 more kg to go. C-sect, so cannot go for massage or exercise yet. Just hoping that BFeeding will burn up more fats.

I've given birth to my baby boy. Details below.
Date: 28 Dec 2007
Time: 2215hrs
Mode of delivery: Natural (assisted) with epi

Linda - appreciate it if you can update for me.

Baby's on TBF. It's tough but I'm getting the hang of it.

Here's to all mummies - Happy New Year and may everyone busk in your new bundle of joy in 2008!

Linda,

WOW, how har? Share your secret leh... I'm very vain one..Die die must look good for the 1st month...

slimz,
I'm not breastfeeding exclusively... intend to but baby came down with jaundice.. now priority is that he gets enough. After review this Thursday will see how. If everything goes well will wean him off formula...

Constance,
Hmm, I also felt a bit sad looking at my flabby tummy... Also have not started massage yet... waiting for mdm rokiah to call to see if she has free slots this week..if not got 2 wait for next week..worse come 2 worse will get another one..

Check with you ladies another issue, my boy got up for night feed at 2am last night, I let him latch on for 1 hour.. Then he pooped. After changing him, he refused to sleep. Stared at me wide-eye.. Hubby got up to coax him to sleep.. once place in cot, he started crying... After 1 hour of coaxing, he wanted to be fed again.. I fed him till he fell asleep.. but once placed in cot he started crying again... He fussed till about 4 plus... Eventually he fell asleep...

This morning hubby told me baby woke up around 5am and cried.. in the end my hubby fed him 70ml of formula..

I'm just puzzled why my baby is so wide awake after feeding at night.. also, is it normal for him to drink so much during night?

Any advice is appreciated
Thanks yah

ankh, constance, phy, i dont know leh, nvr do exercise, just eat normal, n busy taking care of bb. Just need to tone up my tummy nia.
Vaieriet, congrats!

been MIA for a few days liao. Since my CL leaving in 3days time, i'm rushing to learn how to handle the baby. piang.. yesterday 31/12 learned how to bath. like 1st day go to work everything sou mang jiao luan, kelam kabut! during my 1st attempt to bath him, (well, he's hungry at the time we got him up to bath him), he peed on me in the bathroom while i was washing his face. With his siren and everything else had to quickly went on. Then as we're completing the bath, he pooped in the bath! last nite my hubby try to wipe dry him, oso all messed up! poor baby suffer for both bath and wipe dry yesterday.

yesterday went to see PD coz he had this thick crusty looking thing on his brow but can be wiped aways with wet cotton wool. PD said it's serbadermatitis (i think that's what i heard) and it come & goes away on its on and does not spread. Anyway i am so happy that he has gained healthily now at 4kg. last nite we co-sleep with baby. well, his nepia S size got leak 2times (me no skill putting it on), i had to change his clothes twice (and he happily stayed awake eyes big big for 1hr not sleeping with his wet clothes on - n i tot he's just playing while we're sleeping), lucky never wet the bed coz got put the undersheet.

linda, good eh, you lose all liao! congrats! i'm waiting for my weight to go down once the CL leaves hahaa

phy, my left breast produces almost double the right one.

CSI, try to massage in hot shower, you might find it as piercing sharp tingling pain but after that the blocked ducts would feel less lumpy/painful

happy new year to everyone...

constance,
thanks.. but, where do u stay?

phy,
my right breast producing more milk then left breast n left breast don't koe for sme reason.. keep getting engorgement...
my ger sirens starts at 10pm, drink 70mls EBM at 11pm, gotto carry her till about 1am o if not, siren continues. wakes up say about 3am, drink another 70mls EBM. doze off about an hr later. wakes up either 5plus o 6plusam, drinks another 70mls.... mine is pratically round the clock.. damn tired.

linda, share ur secret leh... i still hve got say about 4kg to lose....

jeelomeelo,
u will get e hang of it lah... me has start bathing my ger from mon onwards.. but, lucky thing is my ger likes to play wif water... so, not much of a prob in bathing her... s for changing of pampers.. is ur pamper too small for her? o if u r using nepia... if the strip turns green.. it means u gotto change them le.

ya linda .. how did u manage to lose wor..
my MIL makes me eat double the amt of rice dat i usually eat lor..
and my tummy .. aiyoh..its not flabby leh..its rounded .. like ve another bb inside..
wonder issit coz i secretly drink lotsa water .. =P

Happy new year to all!!!

my bb gal is now ard 2 weeks old(born premmie, 34 weeks) and im doing tbf. at times in the middle of the night when fed with ebm by my DH, she only drinks ard 20-30ml. but thereafter, she will cry and wants more. she just refused to drink from the bottle and prefers to be latched on. im not sure if its the teats problem, using avent bottle teats. anyone can advise me how to deal with this problem?

Happy new Year!

Constance - you din get the ameda offer set from Robinsons ah? Btw, did u get the handsfree shield too?

1st time pump - from my right breast only, went up to 120ml (probably becuz din latch or pump for 4 to 5hrs)

2nd time pump - from both breast, abt 140ml nia

3rd time pump (a while ago) - left only 30ml n right 50ml...

my supply kinda of droppin instead of going up leh!

haiz...today is my chinese bd and tmr is my actual bd...wondering whether can go out to celebrate...hehe

And also I'm having GNC bd discount this month and also Body Shop.

Anyone wan to get anything? I can help to buy if you staying East side...

Hi Sassy

it happened to my boy too. Prefer to latch on instead of drinking from bottle. Think it is nipple confusion or got wind in her stomach. Have to burp her before and in between the feed.

Am still tryin to feed FM fr avent bottle as need to lower my son jaundice...suppose to alternate bm with fm but as no one available to help to feed...sometimes only once a day then drink FM.

anyone can help????? my ger has been crying continuously throughout the day.. slept onli maximum 1/2 hr in bet... not sure wad she wants... has tried giving her colic wind medicine, feed her which is now like less den 2 hr feeding, change her pampers... wad gg on?

Phy,
My boy also wakes up almost every hr & cry for milk. He gets more cranky at night. Sometimes will refuse to sleep when put back to his cot although he had dozed on in my arms while feeding. He'll just cry & cry & insist on my nipple. Think my hubby & I are going nuts over this already. We finally agreed that tonight we'll feed him formula milk instead. Hope he will have a longer sleep then. Can i know how much longer will the FM last per feed as compared to BM?

And now my supply seems to drop... wonder how i can increase it. Boy getting frustrated each time i latch him on cos tap trickles slowly.

I still got 7kg to lose from my pre-pregnancy weight.... really got no guts to try putting on my old clothes. Partly also becos i feel sweaty all the time at home... hehe.. And i'm not engaging any message & can't exercise due to c-sect. really hope i can squeeze into some by full mth. If not, got to wear my preg clothes

jasmine,
my boy is also like that. he'll wake up at 2pm, feed for 15mins, rock him to sleep in my arms for 5-10mins, put him back to cot to sleep. Then wake up at 3pm & crying for milk again. This has happened for the past few days. really tired already.

hi jaz
I stay at punggol 21. Is it convenient for you? Esle you can arrange to pick up from mrspiggy's collection place also.

Naf
Nope, i missed the Robinsons Sale. No excuse to go out that day.

What's the frequency of your pumping session?
Is it cos Ameda can't empty out the breast completely??

eve
I am already mentally prepared to continue wearing my preg clothes during full month.

jeelomeelo,
u delivered at GlenE right? Did u go for their parentcraft class during the stay there? If so, is it useful. I've got no chance to go cos 1st night was already fri & discharged on sun. Wonder if it's worthwhile making a trip down to attend.

constance - my fren told me she saw the set yest too but not sure when this offer ends.

i dun pump often as i latch baby on most of the time. unless breast still full then will pump out. not sure whether this is the reason.

with this ameda, my manual avent is kept aside liaoz. hehe

Hi Jasmine,

My gal during 1st nite also very cranky totally driving me nuts. She been crying whole nite & refuse to sleep.

Next day went to PD to chk for jaundice & he advised that due to my milk not yet delvelop so flow is slow & little. As such, bb get hungry cum frustrated hence will keep crying & cant get to sleep. So he advised to latch whenever she cry till she latch off herself (every 15mins or so) if reali wan total BF. This will stimulate milkflow to come faster & let her practice her sucking skill.

So bascially the whole nite cant sleep & have to latch & latch. So true enough now day 4, my flow getting better & bb tend to sleep longer in the nite & more soiled & wet diapers. On the contrast of cos nipples getting sore but onli @ the intially stage when she latch on the pain is there once she start sucking, the pain will reduce so have to tahan the 1st suck she take.

Here my bb gal rachel during birth:
1174371.jpg

1174372.jpg

Naf
I think the offer only on last Friday, as stated in the newspapers. Anyway, going for Gynae apptm on Thursday. Will drop by Robinsons next door to c if still have. Did you try fitting the avent petal massager on your Ameda? I was told that it fits. Mayb can pump more comfy also.

slimz,
my confinement lady also give me twice amt of rice than I normally eat. but I finish all the food because my mother says must eat enough then have milk. my confinement lady told me that it's true that drinking water will have tummy, she says can either drink the red date logan water or milo without sugar. drinking water will cause sagging tummy. I am not sure how true but I try to drink everything hot except water.

eve,
I attended the parentcraft when I had my first girl. think you can learn the same thing from the johnson and johnson pamplet that was given with the gleneagles bag for bathing baby. other than that if you need help for breastfeeding, can make appt with the lactation consultant and bring your baby there.

eve,
my girl is also like that, sleep in the daytime and wake up at night to drink milk. think we have to keep waking our babies during the daytime to feed them so that they will wake up to drink less at night. but I read from Marc Weissbluth book "Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child" that the first 2 weeks, babies have no knowledge of day and night and so they may do the opp to adults. we also have to respect their need for sleep when they want. after a while, they will realise that when it's quiet and dark, it's time to sleep, so it's good to keep the room dark and quiet when they are napping in the daytime if it's their proper naptime.

Jasmine, I think your baby maybe going thru growth spurt. now is her 3rd week right?