(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

hi cookiemz,
Congrats!! Wow, you are brave!! Have a good rest!

cookiemz, CONGRATS!!!

do take good care of yrself!! guess will not incl yr order for the littledreamers liao! hahaha...

waiting to see yr boy boy's pic! :D

Congrats cookiemz! You are the 1st mum to pop in the Dec thread! Ur bb same bday as me. hehe. Waiting for ur birth story n bb pics.

belle,
my gf sends her bb to a PD at St11 or is it St12. near the round market/town council there... let me check the clinic name with her.

Anyone knows any PD in Woodlands? I'm thinking of changing to a nearer one in future leh. If not so mafan. My gynae haven't recommend a PD yet.. maybe too early.

bluelily, i think there is one pd in woodlands, think near admiralty mrt *think so*, clinic name is baby and child's clinic...

coco, i will miss my boi's kicking, but if you are in my situation, u will feel very sian de, cos it like dilated 1cm but dono the cfm date when u will pop, everyday is like a nitemare to me, so scare i will pop at home la, inside the car la, in office la, in toilet la, etc...

was asking my sis who has 2 children bt PD. she mentioned tt no need to find a PD to do normal checkup for the bb.. cos each visit to the PD cost bt $70 as they are specialised.. unless got any prob with the bb (Touchwood) of cos!

Else she advised for those normal jabs, can visit polyclinic will do... she is those v v particular person.. so if she said.. normal poly doc will do, i think shld b much of a prob in seeing them...

belle, yup, but polyclinics waiting time can be very long wor, another alternative is to go to your GP, they are definitely cheaper than PDs. I will prob go to my GP to get get the jab or normal checkup. Unless there is complications, i will go to PD.

Linda: Yup, alternative is to see normal GP. mine GP pretty good.. i seen him since i was little gal...

See poly also got techquie one.. go later lo.. abt 3plus.. when bt to close then u go.. then no need to wait for v long.. heehee....

Linda I can only find Angelins Baby & Child Clinic opp Marsiling mrt. Also dunno gd anot.. woodlands like got quite a few.

Think I'll bring my bb to polyclinics for jabs. My cols say nowadays for bb.. the q is much faster. And just opp my mum's place is woodlands poly liao.. super near. Bb sick then I'll bring to PD ba. GP also do routine checkups for bb? Do we need to bring bb for any routine checkups? I'm v blur also...

oh ya, bluelily, i rem the wrong mrt station, that shld be the one i'm talking abt, heard that pd is nt bad but i nt too sure.

think polyclinic, either i will go woodlands or yishun one..

mummies, i also feel polyclinic can do the routine check and those jabs for bbs, my #1 jabs all done @ polyclinic, yes, they have a separate corner for babies, my normal waiting time is not long, only abt 30mins, dun go on monday or weekends. can be quite fast, i'll go to the Yishun one. and also b'cos all jabs are free if taken @ polyclinic unless u opt for those 5-in-1 or 6-in-1!

i'll take my bb to PD if she's sick, once she pass the 18mth mark, she goes to our GP oredi, so far ok. yes, PD very ex & i find wat they told me is the same as wat our GP told us, so not much difference lor!

bluelily, u can try Baby Bear near Admiralty MRT, the PD is a visiting consultant to KKH as well, his clinic always pack with children too!

as for the PD to check after u deliver, i didn't get one for my #1, cos KKH do have PD to check on our newborns, so no need to specially ask for one to check lor, tat's wat i feel lah.

miorei, linda, bluelily, rach, cookiemz:
i'll order from littledreamers website tml, cos the year end sale only starts tml. pls final cfm yr order wif me by email: [email protected] dun wanna mess up the thread here.

cookiemz, i guess u won't need to order oredi rite?

rach, u still wanna continue with yr order? cos dun think cookiemz can collect for u... how?

mama ash, thanks for the info!! hehee, so it's correct that there is really a baby clinic over at admiralty mrt, hehe!

ya, i don feel it's necessary to bring bb to PD unless it is necessary.

In TMC, we can choose the PD we prefer or the gynae will recommend.

hey mommies...

I asked a question before on how to sterilise the pump if we were to bring it with us to the hospital. Thank you to those who responded (sorry, but I can't remember who responded and the archived threads are missing...).
Just wanted to find out a bit more...one of you mentioned using the Lock & Lock container and sterilizing tablets. How big a container do you normally use? (Some are really big). Where to get those sterilizing tablets?

CSI_Fan, u can get those sterilizing tablets from OG, pharmacies, or any retail shops selling baby stuffs. And look @ the instructions on the box, see how much water they say to place the tablet in, if they say 1.5L of water for 1 tablet, then u get those 1.5L lock & lock container or bigger, so can put yr pump & milk bottles inside lor. but muz remember when u put in the bottles/pump, muz remember to immerse everything in the water, try to remove all the bubbles. :D hope it helps!

hi mama_ash,
oh...ok. Thanks. Hmmm...yah, I forgot about the milk bottles too. Wah, sounds like will need those big lock & lock containers leh, in order to be able to fit the bottles. hehs.

CSI, Mama ash
But usually for the 1st few days, our milk ss shd be minimal? Dun think will haf enuf to fill the milk bottles leh..dun think i will bring the pumps to hosp this time round..will just latch bb on...

congrats cookiemz.....happy for you.
me so buzy clearing my work now. starting my maternity leave on mon....needs to hv ample rest before my c-section on next wed. yesterday juz packed my hospital bag & hope didnt miss out any item

the rest of the mummies here, jia u!!

steffi,
true...ss shd be minimal coz not established yet right? hmmm...coz the nurse suggested bringing, to stimulate supply...

Belle,

i'm using the PD @ St 80+..Baby n child clinic..
u can consider Dr Ho there..she very good with my boy. Was initially recommended Dr Ong frm Aglow via my gynae..then switch to Dr Ho cos nearer frm my place.. i reside in the East. will be using Dr Ho this timefor #2's arrival. U may like to consider..

CSI
Yup, we can bring the pump to simulate ss, but think it will only be in droplet form, thus no need to bring too many bottles...

this time round, my hosp bag will be super light liao, no longer bringing pumps, cardigan, pads and pampers...kk will be providing.....just need to rem to bring bb's home going clothes...

Steffi,
heehee...yah yah...hahaha. I forgot that bit. kekeke.

Oh, what would KK be providing? Pads and pampers right? Anything else? hmmm...I've packed my bag (excluding pumps), but seems super light. hahaha

steffi, true, 1st few days our supply is very pathetic lor! hahaha... i remember latching on my gal for like the 1st 2 weeks, expressing on after tat when i feel engorgement. no, i didn't bring my pump to the hospital, the reason u bring there is for the lactation consultant to show u how to express lor or to stimulate supply only.

And 1st time mum do take note, yr milk initially will be yellow in color, dun panick ok, these are colostrum which are very good for yr baby. i got a shock when i first express milk in my confinement! hahaha... tot it's due to the food i eat, but no it's the initial color of the milk... it'll take some time for yr milk to be pure white color hor! :D

CSI, dun get too big container, else very hard for u to know how much water u had filled up the container with... then the sterilised water will be very diluted liao... u juz bring the bottle/pump accessories tat u need to sterilized when u go buy the container, make sure it fits in can liao...

yes, my bag also super light cos am @ KKH also! hahaha.. tat's y i dunno y some mummies pack so many things in their bag! hahaha... i only bring 1 set of bb clothes & 1 set of my for discharge purpose. we'll be wearing KKH gowns, so no need to bring xtras! i believe they also provide 1 pack of disposable panties for us, so no need to bring also! i find the bag we bring over is used to bring back the things only! hahaha... :p discharge time will have lots of things for us to bring back! haha...

Cookiemz,

Congrats!!! Wow u reali brave yo natural w/o epidural.

Have a good rest & take care. Will wait for your birth story

CSI
kk provides 1 pack of disp panties, 1 pack of kotex adhesive for mummies...for bb, 1 pack of pampers newborn n 1 box of tissue......just bring a few more pads if u r scared that the 10 pieces are not enuf........also, dun forget camera/videocam

Hi Cookiemz,

Congrats!! I hope the labour was fast. You are indeed very brave!! Pics pics show us the pics.

Hi fairylander,

ic. Have a smooth delivery as well.

oh yah, just to add, there will be a toiletry bag as well..inside got toothpaste, toothbrush, comb n face towel...for those intending to 'bath' b4 confinement, got to bring soap , shampoo etc

hi cookiemz,

CONGRATS!!! have a good rest and enjoy ur time with your little one
..u are so brave, natural w/o epi!!... hehe unlike me, keep thinking #3 may be fast, so freak out thinking may hv no time to use epi!

Cookiemz, Congrats! Wow, your threshold of pain must be very high. Do share with us your birth story and baby photo soon.

Linda, I know how you feel. i'm now scared to do too much, like can't go out and shop anymore so I'm stuck at home apart from dinners out w friends and family. But I don't think it'll be so sudden until end up giving birth at home right? I think it'll still be a couple more hours of contractions before we actually go into active labour phase.

yup twiggy, wont suddenly pop out, but then, u'll nvr know, i don want to end up like the lady who give birth near the carpark in our estate! scary!! Hopefully my checkup next week, gynae will be able to advise more...

U do feel that the bb is kicking more intensively nowadays? macham our intestines being entangled like dat....sometimes also dun know whether its real contractions, BH or just bb moving....

Also i am finding it more and more difficult to sleep at nite..even lying down can be tiring.....sigh............

mama_ash, thanks! hehs...oh, the KKH gowns...how many do they provide ah? I mean, if say on Day 1, it is dirty/soiled and we need another set, would that "new" set be charged? then Day 2 leh?

Oh good, they give 1 pack of disposable undies too...but that one not so bad lah. If not enough, just get HB go downstairs pharmacy to buy lorh. hehs.

Steffi, ahh...toiletry bag. that's good...oh, how abt packing the normal big towel, esp for those intending to bathe b4 confinement. heehee...haha.

Wah, 10 pcs of Kotex adhesive not enough ah? haha...I thot it's quite a lot already. wasn't planning on bringing extra...

Hi Linda,
My Cordlife sales person was telling me about someone she had just met who gave birth in the car! I was like "huh???? I thot that only happens in movies!!!" Shucks, a bit worried now coz I stay very very far from the hospital. I was 2cm dilated yesterday. Sekali I continue dilating without knowing.

twiggy, yup, my hub's frd's wife gave birth in their car while rushing to the hospital! The backseat all stained with blood, i oso don want that to happen on me!! Quite gross leh!

steffi, my bb is moving a lot too, i can breath bttr, but legs and back aching easily nowadays, i can sleep well on either left or right side but recently i have been getting out of bed to pee 2-3 times in a night, so quite tiring during the daytime,

mama_ash, Is it
Baby Bear Children'S Clinic
849 Woodlands St 82 #01-209 Opp Woodlands North Plaza Singapore 730849?

Btw, you can go ahead with the orders for mine.

So sianzz.. Just got a call from my clinic. Dunno izzit my strep b test result.

wah, didnt come in here and immed got a mummy pop liao!
congrats Cookiemz! ... post up ur bb pics soon... very brave leh without epi...

mamaash, i oso at KK, so now i know Im not the only one packing so few things.

Belle, update: I went for mi check up yest and Bb is 2.4kg @ 36 wks. mi weight didnt go up so hopefully some of the water retention went off instead. hee...
mi doc again not concern over bb's weight, juz said not too big or small,

steffi,
ya, when baby moves position , it's almost like jerking the whole tummy. but these few days he has been quiet quiet, probably facing my backside. I have some problem sleeping, just refuse to fall asleep sometimes. but i can sleep thruout the nite once i fall asleep. but i'd wake up at 5plus 6 for the loo. at times, my fibroid spasms would wake me up too.. very stinging sharp spasm... so quite leceh la.