(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Florence & Dodo,

All the best & have a smooth delivery! Must update us on your delivery process.

Getting excited for both of you cos can see your darling bb soon

Thanks ladies!

So many things to prepare and yet I'm still in the shop...

I'm expecting another 20 something hours labour again, cos baby still high and cervix not soft. Gynae gonna keep me in hospital all these time, she look horrify when I told her that I went home last time. Hopefully I don't have to go thru emergency c-sect. But this time round, me asked for epidural, no point sitting around for nothing...

Florence, all the best for your delivery! Ur bb will have same bday as me!

Dodo, wow.. you are popping v fast too. So excited for all of u. I gotta patiently wait for mine.... hehe

blessed,
How to scold aah? Raise yr voice and with a very stern expression. XD

Same as you, I talked to her like an adult. I can endure her making mistake, first time, second time but no third time. I will tell her nicely but in a strict manner, the correct way of doing things etc. The third time, I will really lose my cool liao. You know don't why Indo maids like glutton. She "steal" food... Once, my MIL sliced the orange ($2 each) and place inside the fridge for us then she go makan. MIL fuming mad, scolding her saying if she wants to eat sliced the orange herself, MIL is not to serve her. 2nd time, she ate my hubby's Thai dessert w/o permission ($3/pack). These 2 incidents, I did tell her off and said she cannot do such things. 3rd time, hahaha... I told her that she can eat my niece's full month cake(a square box) and placed inside the fridge almost 1 week still hanging there. Then rmb I bought cakes from GOBI for testing, GOBI box is in long rectangular shape. She ate the last piece which I wanna to keep for my MIL. She said that I told her she can eat it! What the F*&k, I told her she can eat the one in square box which was hanging in the fridge for almost 1 week, now a completely new box of cake which I NEVER will let her eat, so expensive! That time, I really scolded her and asked her whether want to go back to her maid agency? She kept saying sorry sorry.

I learnt sth, never treat your maid too nice(like tell her she can eat this, can eat that etc), don't let them have a feeling you cannot SURVIVE w/o their help, don't need to treat them as friend. There must be a barrier, employer and staff.

You know my MIL had a maid for 7 years, she is super good I tell you. She got our "heart", do things very "swee", very auto and we treated her like family liao. The things she did made us treat her well, not because we treated her very well in the first place then she somehow pay back. My MIL treated her till the extend that she can dine with us at Thai Village, we can order her a bowl of sharkfin.

Now this maid aah, I will not let her dine with us at restauarnt lor, not worth it. No "heart", do things so unattentive... Everytime got to tell her, "Siti, when you do things, you must THINK cannot do things blindly, ask you buy nasi makan, you will also buy sayur(veggies) or telur(egg) right or you really buy plain nasi makan only?" Really must speak that manner then they can understand.

hi Jean,

yes i will this fri. coz last fri was a stand-in gynae, i already told her, but she felt its no big deal coz from her measurements, even bb come out also ok. if they put me on CTG n found out its contractions but not regular (means not in labour yet), what can they do? i mean is it coz they feel its ok for me to deliver anytime, so they din bother to put me on CTG? i also dont know leh, so waiting for this fri to see my own gynae... coz i hope she will do more chks to let me know when possibly i will deliver

hi missylan,

u are so right!! they are glutton!! mine also eat ALL my things, n when i wanted to eat, no more left, i was very mad.. when she first came, finished my box of rocher (spell? hehe) choco..24 pc one.. wahliao. then hor give her a big pack of coffee, like free one, 1 day dont know drink how many pack.. somemore can at night hor, make a cup then take biscuit n eat inside the room.. wahbiang. also finish my jap green tea... very mad leh.. took alot of reminder to stop her gluttony, till i hv to take back her priviledge of coffee/tea and extras... treat them well, they dont know how to argar, too bad then , no frills liao

i so agree with u, cannot treat them like friends, must hv a barrier, its sad right... we are civilise pp, we like to treat fellow human being the same, but they just cant seem to appreciate. i din use to give her her own set of eating bowl/plate n cutlery.. until she boost to other maids that she even share the plate her sir use and she tell them her sir go n buy food for her... OMG freak me out. so i gave her, her own set n try to stop tabao food for her :p

abt scolding... beinning i din hv experience handling a maid, so i din even raise my voice! i just talk to her like normal... till i preg w #3, very pek chek start to give her very irritated tone n louder voice. so the nx one i will kno how to handle liao

i get wat u mean when u say they do things no "heart"...very strange right??? hahaha i also talk like u... i tell her "u must THINK?".. sometimes i very sacarstic, i say "u wash the bottles closing ur eyes is it?"..but as usual i just get a black face stare w no reaction...sigh!

Hi bbtree
my 1st delivery was an emerg c-section via GA. I was trying for natural, opted for epidural, gynae broke my water bag, waited for long long time, never dilate fully, then bb in distress, so gotta go for c-section lor.

I remembered i also suffered the side effect of shivering uncontrollably.
2nd one was also a c-section with GA. This time round thinking of trying for C with epidural, so that hb can come into the op with me. How long did your gynae take to deliver the bb? Did your hb stay with you after delivery while they r stitching you up, or he followed bb to the nursery room? I am actually abit worried that i will freak out during the process.

Hi blessed, missylan
my new maid of 2 months is the opposite. She always cook instant noodles at home before we go out for meals (she claims she doesn't like outside food), and she eats like a bird during mealtimes at home. But one thing i buay tahan is every time we eat out, hubby will order a drink for her. And she always take half only, then claim she can't finish. Even when we go places like starbucks and she ask for a cup of coffee, also drink half only. Very "xin tong", cos not cheap mah. Now still on very amiable terms, so how to tell her?

blessed,
hahaha.... dare to give you black face and boost to her fellow friends saying sir tabao for her... wah... How you all manage to find out about this?

constance,
She dare to request expensive coffee ahh! You know you can share your coffee with your maid, since now you know she loves to waste YOUR MONEY. Or ask her to bring the rest of the coffee home and drink again later on. Tell her don't waste things. I tried on 1 maid before saying that if she wastes food, next time old she will not have food and no money cos they also believe in retribution. Maybe you can try this method, see it works or not. hahaha... Now she is new, alot of her new pattern hasn't arises. But I do know that my maid eats like a bird but likes to taste lots of things. Usually mine hor, I give her chance, but no non 3rd time for repeated issue! Maybe mine kenna my scolding many times, she don't dare to request anything now. I told her all you can eat at home is your 3in1 coffee,tea,milo,cereal, biscuit(I will buy 3 packs for her only cannot eat ours!), bread and she can cook maggie mee and even nasi. But don't know why all my maids LOVE MAGGIE MEE!

missylan
so aving maid is good or no good...for me ah now be taking care of #1 and #2 on my own and i am thinking of back up plan le...if cannot handle..hire maid or put #1 in childcare le...advise?

Etelle,
You know hor, I hire a helper to assist on the house chores, MIL and I take care of my #1 cos I don't feel secure about letting my maid handle my child. If she was that 7 years experience maid of my MIL's then ok lah, maybe can ask her to look after inthe morning then I can zzz longer. Kekeke... If you can handle your #1 and housechore well then I can say you better try out with #2. Think quite frustrating for me w/o helper if I got 2 kids at home. I am not good at housechores especially the washing part and house will be very messy if without helper and will get damn frustrated when I got to do housechores and look after children at the same time. How old is your #1?
If financially stable, think having a helper is better than none. My #1 is coming to 3 years old in Jan and I have enrolled him in nearby halfday childcare. I need him to be more independent and also allow me and MIL to have some peace... Hahaha...

missylan
my #1 is 21 mths as of 8 Nov....i got one part time cleaner now who comes my house one week once to do housework. I also order dinner delivery those tingkat so....ur advise for me is try out without helper and handling #2 is it?

thanks all for your well wishes... ye.. will definitely post my birth story in my blog and update you gals... ;)

florence,
have a smooth delivery tomorrow!!

wa... so many stories abt maids! mine is coming this thurs... crossing my fingers that everything will work out well!

btw, here's a useful tip for increasing milk supply that one of the nurses shared with me...
- drink lots and lots of fish soup with papaya. For the kind of fish, use nor fish or dory fish (not the frozen kind hor, there are some markets that sell it alive and they will kill it for you on the spot). as for the papaya should be the unripe type, i.e. green colour.

hmm, i have a little query... does anyone know if go by c-section, can eat the fish and papaya soup? err... my mil was saying that papaya not good for healing wounds lei...

wow, I mmissed so many posts. was on MC yesterday and had no access to computer.

Dodo, Florence...all the best!! Have a smooth delivery. Do share with us your birth stories...
This is so exciting...I just realised mine will be 20-odd days more...heehee...

Belle, the papaya with fish is a "proven" recipe. Have heard from those who tried that recipe, that it really increases their supply. Dun think it tastes weird. Probably sweet taste. heehee...

If you have the TMC childbirth book written by Ms Wong BB, she did include the receipes in that book, one of them is the fish and papaya soup, here's the receipe:

200g green(unripe) papaya, fish bones or a white fish (eg carp, snakehead, sea bream, pomfret and kurau or threadfin), slices of ginger. In order not t waste the fish meat, use the bones, head of tail.

1. Scale and clean the fish.
2. Simmer together with pieces of papaya and ginger for 1-2 hrs or until it becomes soft.
3. Remove the bones from the fish before serving it. You supposed to take it consecutively for three days.

Hi belle

For my previous C-sections, my CL and mum only let me drink "sheng yu fish soup" 2 weeks after my op, cos they heard that gotta wait for a while for both internal & external stitch to heal first before drinking. Not sure about papaya with fish increasing milk supply thou, cos i didn't take it, but my supply was okie.

Missylan
It's always my hb who will ask her what drink she wants everytime we go out. I doubt she even knows starbucks is expensive!!! Anyway, i will try your method and talk to her. Too bad i can't stomach coffee now, so can't share with her. But my greedy son always wanna share her cold drinks... haha.

belle, yup that soup everyone says it works.

dodo, maybe like what lind say to wait till wound heal first. i was reading those confinement books and they have certain days to eat certain things. some like those tonic soups muz wait till aft duno how many days like

i know sheng yu soup cannot take too early, cos will make the wound looks ugly. As for ngor hee etc, shd be ok...

Gd Mornin to all...

Florence & Dodo,
Congrats and to a smooth delivery to both of you..!

would like to ask does anyone know if there's a "standard" market rate for giving angbao to confinement nanny? when do we give? is it one before and one after? i oredi paid a $600 deposit... when do i pay e balance?

anyone to share?

cloverluv
i only give a very small one when she came, like $20-$50...then if her service is gd, will give her a bigger one at the end ...

CSI Fan, pierced: Okie, noted. Will increase milk supply.. okie.. no choice got to drink. Dun really like fish, else not gng to drink it..

constance
I would suggest that u tell her that not only the starbucks coffee. All the food and drinks that we buy for her, if she think she cannot finish the whole packet she must say 1st b4 she start to eat. At least can put aside so that the food will not be wasted. Normally I dun really care if she got finish the food, but there was once that I cook lunch & e rest leave 4 her to eat which was quite a lot. After that I was still thinking e food was too much n can keep later for dinner (for her). But I forget to say and she just pour away,I was very angry and told her off. I tell her does she know alot ppl in Indonesia has no food to eat n she is throwing away...
when she 1st came she just finish off my whole jar of Nutella (end up she got alot of pimples breaking out coz too heaty) and never even tell me finishing, I was damn angry...after that I dun buy liao.

cloverluv,

normally is juz a small token for "heng heng" purposes.

heard that need to prepare 2. One on CL's first day at work n another on last day of work.

dodo & florence: have a safe & smooth delivery.

constance: oic, if u hv c-section for the 1st & 2nd time, high % u hv to opt for c-section again this time. i remember my hb was just outside the OT, waiting for my gyane to perform the surgery to bring out my gal for me, once the baby is out, my hb was told to go into OT to see the bb together with me, of course i m lying down...according to my hb, he prefer this option too coz he also can witness the birth of our bundle of joy!

I am planning to buy an Avent manual pump for the time being just as a backup...would you gals please advice, where could i get the cheapest...i saw at kiddy's palace yesterday for 91..is it the standard price...

linda,
thanks for the recipe! that's great! Hmmm... in this case, i shall wait for the wound to heal first then take the fish soup with papaya. meanwhile, probably can take threadfin fish soup first.

Hi Higgledy,
i remembered you asking about dr YY Yip. I just called the nurse to check which doctor did my gynae recommended, she said it's most probably YY Yip oso, but she doesn't have the chit to refer to which my gynae wrote the PD's name on as they has submitted for some pre-admission thingie i think. Don't know if I should change to another PD.

hi fairylander,
How about yourself? have u decided on the PD yet?

some of my friends recommended dr Steven Ng n dr Gong Wei Kin. Not sure which is better... aiya.. how?

hi ankh,
how have u been? you MIA-ed for awhile...
getting excited liao?

Constance,
Will you allow her to share(meaning same spoon, straw) drink or food with your children?

Etelle,
Ya, I suggested you try out first but now knowing your #1 is still kinda young. If yours like mine close to 3 yrs old liao then can try out. Think you better get a helper...

Amy,
I often ask my helper whether she can finish the food etc. She dare not order many food and then throw away. Maybe after few incidents, she dare not request me to buy what tibits for her. She dare towards my MIL which now I told my MIL not to liao. Now w/o my premission, she dare not touch the things I bought for my son or anything else. She used to act, telling my MIL to bring a tibit to my MIL's house saying that my son likes this tibits, in the end, she ate it! MIL told her off also. So far these few weeks, no problem with her glutton behaviour!

Fish - I understand that c-sec should take fish after 1-2 weeks of delivery, heard that some ppl even said that cannot eat chicken.

CL ang bao - I gave $18 when she came, then none when she went back. Cos she sucks! Wanna kicked ehr out of my house after 2 weeks of service...

any idea which brand of girdle i shld buy? i can start wearing right after delivery (natural) right?

thks in adv.

thnks all for ur feedback abt CL services...
r we supposed to pay up their salary only after they complete the whole mth of service... shld be rite?

Belle,
Have to... e PD will check on the bb after birth, supposed to arrange for one when u deliver as wat my gynae told me.. but i got her to recommend one as i'm clueless...

Hi missylan
no way man!
I always pour out her drinks for my son to drink in separate cups before she touches the drink.

Hi belle
yeah, my gynae usually will ask which pd i prefer before the delivery. PD will check on the baby's health after delivery. But i understand that usually gynae will tie up only with those few pds they know.

My kids' pd is Dr Lilian from The Kids' Clinic. Initially wanted her to be pd at point of delivery for my 2nd kid, but my gynae says he is more comfortable working with PDs he know, so chose Dr Terence Tan from Kinderclinic lor. He is very good, but Q is super long. Even with apptm, you have to wait ave half to an hr for your turn. In the end, i went back to Dr Lilian after 1 mth.

missylan
lucky my maid not so glutton, wat my son eat she know is not for her.unless my son cannot finish then if she want to eat then she eat.
She's here for almost 4mths liao, got initative n can work, but whenever she don open her mouth n ask I will be very fed up, then she will kana from me. they sometimes try to act smart but I hate this,,coz my rule is she have to do things according to my way n not I live by her way.

constance
same here normally I pour out some for her then my son will drink. If she dare to share wif my son then I will say bye bye to her n off she goes back to the agency...

belle & dodo
just a thinkle, when ur maid are here, u really have to teach them to save water coz I realise all the new maid they will on the tap 'big big' like dun need $$$.They will just pour away the water if u ask them to hand wash ur clothes. realli have to guide them tell them can use the clothes water to wash toilet floor & toilet bowl.

everyone is so active in this thread now.. just finished reading all the threads i missed out since last friday.. wah.. took me 1/2 an hour.. hahahaha..

bb's are gonna start appearing liao.. so exciting!

went for my gynae check up on sat and she told me that bb is already engaged.. anytime can come out already so got to be prepared.. but still unlikely that she'll be out these 2 weeks..

oh yah.. and my gynae gave the green light for a brazilan wax and i'll be going for one on 26th of nov.. 2 weeks before my due date and just in case if it causes contractions.. i know that my bb is safe to come out already..

oh.. u ladies been toking bt PD .. i was wondering wad is PD.. heehee...now i know is referring to bb's doctor right? Pls correct me if i m still wrong..

yup, i heard from the nurses that our gynae will recommend a PD to us. It's onli during the bb's stay in hospital or after tt, we will still need to go back to the PD for check up? BB usually after birth... how long need to go back for check up??

Amy: Yup.. i will "slaughter" her if she waste any lo.. i jus moved to new hse. paying my electrical bill abt $150 per month even we go home at night lo.. Scary!! i will ensure she does it correctly lo...
Hoping she will come in soon...

Wow, so many pple popping soon.. i still got to wait for another 8 weeks.... piew...

Need help on CL urgently

I'm meeting a CL this few days .. If i confirmed her, what should i do to protect myself ? As in i'm giving her a $300 deposit ..

Normally what infomation will u take down from CL if she is from M'sia ?

Her add, i/c no etc ? Am i suppose to ask for her passort to copy down ?

Any questions to ask CL etc ?

Hi Rachel,
All the best!
18 Nov is a good date...heehee...it's my wedding anniversary. haha. so 1811...good date. kekekeke....

rach, have a smooth delivery! update us ya!! getting excited seeing more and more bbs' popping out.

csi fan, my wedding anniversary is 16 nov, 2 days earlier than u! hahaa, actually i hoping bb will pop on 16 nov, but till now, he still want to stay in my tummy, hehe!