(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

twiggy, good idea.. i never tot of it haha...

btw, when can we bath after delivery? like 2-3days after that, like just right before going home from hospital?

jeelomeelo,
I also heard many other mommies mention about using glass bottles for storage. But why ah? The pump itself comes with 2 small bottles right? I was intending to pump into these bottles then transfer to the milk bags for storage.

Before feeding, need to transfer back into normal bottles lor. A bit troublesome lah, but even if you use glass bottles, cannot feed direct from glass bottles right?

And I think 1st month need to pump also leh. I heard after each feed, it is better to pump to totally empty out the breasts. And if you are having Malay massage, better to pump in advance so that during massage if bb needs milk can use ebm. And need to standby also in case you fall sick and need to take medication.

Experienced mommies, please correct me if I am wrong hor. So far I only read about all these tips, dunno whether accurate or not. :p

higgledy, i ordered from nepia, 1 x nb size, 2 x S size and 1 x m size, think bluelily ordered the same sizes as me. Was advised by some mummies from another thread on the diaper size ordering wor...

finally we are so near to seeing our little ones face to face. for myself I cant wait to deliver, my morning sickness has returned few weeks ago, feels like 1st tri kind.. very depressing, so hope can deliver wk 37-38 :p

Hi rachel,

you mentioned your gynae said u may del 37-38 weeks due to irregular contractions.. i really hope it applies to me too! for the past 2 weeks I been having menstral like cramps together with contractions everyday, I certainly hope this is a sign that I can deliver earlier. my 2 gals are delivered 38weeks+.

Cramps
yesterday night felt cramps right below at the uters especially on the right side...want to turn left or right also pain...wonder how does contraction feels like anyone?i thought i gng to deliver..

Higgledy,

Usually mummies use glass bottles is to save $.. cos milk bags are ex. Can direct feed from glass bottle, just need to put on the teats. Try not to freeze ur ebm. As most of the anti bodies and nutrients will be lost. If you are sick, its ok to breastfeed too. As you will also pass the antibodies to the bb.

Etelle,
these 2 nites i oso have cramps on one side. Also thought going to deliver.. haha but after awhile ok ler... haiyo really dunno how's the cramp going to feel like in actual deliver...

crystalz,
at first I also thought milk bags are expensive. Then I joined a spree online to purchase some at only less than $10 for 100. Of coz if can get free bottles from hospital will be good lor. Otherwise I think use bags cheaper than buy bottles. No need to wash and sterilise some more.

hi cookiemz, mama ash,
thanks so much for the info regarding the conversion kit. looks like it is an optional tool cos can also pump into the bottles provided. when need to feed, then transfer into the avent bottles?

would the pharmacy at mt alvernia hospital has it? if yes, i was thinking i can get it fr there when i deliver then? ;)

Linda,
actually I'm quite confused leh. At 1st I also thought 2 packs of NB diapers would be enough.

But I heard from some mommies that:
1) nb bb use 6-8 diapers a day
2) bb upgrade to S size only in 2nd month

If we calculate average 7 diapers x 30 days = 210 diapers.

210/60 diapers in a pack = 3.5 pack

So 2 packs may not be enough...??

(headache...) I returning to China after confinement, so can't stock up lei... gotta estimate well else wasted.

Hi Blessed,

I hope I can deliver in 1 or 2 weeks time instead of soon. As I'm crossing my fingers to carry the bb to full time. I heard from my friend saying that if there are irregular contractions mean that will deliver soon or between 1 to 2 weeks time. Is it true based on your experience?

My gynae asked me to monitor my contractions saying that if there are regular and a fixed interval meaning I will have to go to the hosp.

Anyway did u tell your gynae abt your contractions? Becos mine put me on CTG that's how she found out.

dodo, am not sure if pharmacy do sell, so far i only know First Few Years sell them. maybe u can check out the pharmacy when u go for check up lor.

As for the transfer to bottles, yes, u would trf only to Avent bottles when need to feed then warm it up lor.

Higgledy, from my #1 experience, she used 3 packs of pampers & 1 pack of mamypoker, but the qty is not as much as nepia. & i believe 2 packs of nepia would do the job, cos the hospital would give u 1 pack of newborn diaper too! so in total u would have 3 packs to use lor. & from the 2nd mth onwards, can start to use S size diapers liao. this is normally the case lor.

As for contractions, it's exactly like menses cramp, but for #1 deliver, dun worry too much, cos it'll take some time b4 the interval is very close. for my #1, i had 'show' in the morning around 10am+, but by the time the contractions are close, it's oredi like 3am the next day liao! hahaha... so definitely u would know when it's time to delivery lor.

Ameda Pump

Mummies using the abovw pump, pls DO NOT sterilise or wet the tubes attach from the pump to the funnel.Cos when the water gets into the tubes..high chance of fungus/ mould will grow. The tubes will not have any intact with the milk..therefore it is not necessary to sterilise/ wash. I've got the same pump..serves me throught my 10mths of breastfeeding for my #1! Very good n quite pump, worth the money spent.

I read before that some of you are taking fish oil. Any particular brand to recommend? Is it cheaper to buy from the pharmacy than from gynae?

yup, agreed with mama ash, nepia NB diapers consist of 60 pcs in one pack, that is really more than the normal brand of diapers i have seen. And i don dare to buy a lot of NB diapers cos i not too sure how big my bb will be and plus my sis is giving some NB diapers, :p, that y i got 1 pack of nepia NB size. And I will be using mamapoka NB (nepia for day use) at nite which i have nt bgt yet.

eve, nepia delivery schedule quite fast and yes min order is 4packs.

etlle, i suffering the same fate as u. been feeling crampy too,

Higgledgy, my fish oil is from gynae de, brand Nature Care ( I think), gynae ask me if i want fish oil as i don really like to take fish. There is one brand which u can get from the pharmacy, but cant rem the brand name, think some mtbs here taking that brand.

Hi Higgledy

I believe the one that Linda mentioned can get from Pharmacy is Neurogain Vegecaps Fish Oil.

You can take that after delivery too, if you intend to breastfeed.

Any mtbs know where to get the plastic for the glass bottles to contain the milk? I went to lots of place e.g. pharmacy, kiddy palace and etc. I dun seems to find it. I heard from others can get quite cheap one e.g. a few dollars for a dozen but I dun seems to find it. Wonder anyone of you know about?

Rach,
even the 1st time u never wash the tube ar?
so presumebly it's clean even when you just take out from the package? hhhmm ok.. then may be i shouldn't wash/sterlise it. Another question would, say we pump one time in the morning 9am, then we put the storage bottle in the fridge. Then 2nd time 12pm, can we pump into the same storage bottle when taken out from the fridge? or we need to store in a different bottle?

Higgledy/crystalz
the glass bottles that you'd probably get from hosp are not the regular milk bottle type of glass bottles, right? Alternatively i hear from friends, you can pump direct into milk storage bags (if you do not have glass bottles)

jeelomeelo
can only mix the mixture together when they are of the same temp. so normally what i do is, for the second pump, i will put into another bottle and place in the fridge. after a few hours when the milk is cold, then i will combine it with the first mixture

Rachel,
you mean bottle liners? milk bags? kiddy palace sells milk bags. i haven't seen bottle liners sold in singapore... but they are sold on sprees

jeelo
but when you feed your baby, juz take out the amt bb will drink otherwise must throw away the rest if cannot finish. So if you are freezing your ebm, freeze in feeding amts.

Nepia:
ya.. think I ordered 1 x nb size, 2 x S size and 1 x m size also. Now the 1 big box of diapers is in the store room. haha. Oh, but I shd be using cloth diapers during the day time.. when CL is still ard. :p

Nauseous:
I'm starting to feel nauseous sometimes too. My suan suan are back in action.. now also eating. :p

Cramps:
I also feel crampy yest leh. Whole of yest tummy feels quite weird. Got not much appetite to eat also. Then dunno whether it's cramps or wanna go toilet feeling. A few times also got some hardening. But not very obvious.. I'm not sure also. Is that BH? If contraction at the beginning is like tt.. I also dunno how to time leh. Cos I cant really figure out when it starts or ends?

bluelily, from early preg till now, i don like to take sour plum or other suan suan ones, dono y, my frds were surpries i dislike them, :p cos normally preg ladies will love suan suan ones mah, hehe

Dono y, i still have the crampy feeling, i going to call gynae now...

Some updates:
Went for my checkup on Wed. So happy! Gynae says bb is beginning to head down.. seems like he knows where to go to. :p But gynae say anyway now he still can move and turn ard. Hope that bb guai guai stay this way! bb is ard 2kg now.. at 33 wks. He only put on 500g in a mth leh.. and I only gain ard 500g too. All bb's weight! Yeah! Maybe I shd eat more hor? Gynae est bb's weight to be ard 2.7 to 3.2 kg when deliver.. gd size for me. Cos he says even though I'm tall.. my bone structure small.. so too big I might have a hard time delivering. Oh ya, also did my strep b test. Hope I wont get any calls. Abit pain leh.. but still not too bad.

Then had a little adventure at the clinic. Ran into a fren who's due on 18th Nov. She went for her check up before me. Then when she came out, she say gynae checked and she's already 5cm dilated! No feeling at all! Then gynae broke her water bag at the clinic.. and hb gotta drive her to hosp, cos her hb still at work so ask him to go hosp directly. We were so excited. hahaha. Think we were more excited then her hb! I acc my fren to check in at the hosp... then the nurse got confused.. dunno who to wheelchair into the delivery rm.. cos both preg. So funny. Anyway, it's her 2nd delivery. She took only 3 hrs n bb's out liao. And the best thing is, she dilate till 9 cm also din feel any contraction pain! Super ah. She only took epi cos she's scared bottom will pain. Looks like 2nd time mummies can really have a better time!

Hi Linda, if ur cramps are at the lower abdomen, it's BH. If the cramp is around the WHOLE tummy... erm, then i think it's real contractions - that was what my gynae told me. I think u're with Dr Wong too rite?

I would suggest taking in deep breaths or changing position. It helped for me.

Linda, I love suan suan stuff even b4 I preg. In fact.. now my tastes are exactly the same as b4 preg. No change. But I heard take too much suan suan not gd.. cos got preservatives?

bluelily
wah, that's a great birth story. Hope all the mummies here will have as smooth a delivery too

this weekend got lots of sales...metro, robinsons, JL. have fun!

later tonite gng to see gynae, hope bb is growing well. cant wait for her to be out, all the aches and pains getting worse. thank goodness next wk is last wk of school. Oops, hehe, thot today is mon coz of the holiday yest
was gng to say that this wk is last wk of sch :S

Claire, ya.. too bad that is not my birth story. hahaha! Her bb v cute.. next mth can see mine liao. Now gynae appt is every 2 wks. Looks like time will fly past! I'm on hol today.. even better.. :p Later going to eat n catch a nap. hehe.

Btw, wanna ask. What's the diff btw show and mucus plug loose? How I know which is which? Show is fresh red blood ah? Mucus plug loose can also be brownish?

Hi Rachel,

My last visit was 2 weeks ago and today i will see a stand in gynae coz my gynae on hol this week. I will bring up to her.

Base on my past 2 preg. my #1 i had alot of irregular contractions from 20+ weeks and so ynae put me on CTG very often. they found everytime i m on CTG, i hv contraction like every 10mins. my gynae say that is a sign of pre term labour, so put me on medication (but it gave me very bad heart palpitation)coz bb is just too small to come out. cannot walk also..coz it will cause the uterus to contract. then till my 38weeks, my gynae felt that bb is heavy enough, so say can stop the med n can go shopping liao :d.. so i really did n deliver the nx day hehe.. but for the labour sign, my mucus plug came off and i felt contractions, so i knew had to go hosp

for my #2 i dont hv this prob... n i really cant rem details of my 2nd preg!! only on the night b4 delivery, i had very very regular contraction at 10mins whole night but no pain at all. I went to hospital in the morning coz she wasnt moving much and i freaked out. she came 3 hrs after i admit hosp, 38 weeks too

For this one, past 2 weeks my cramps are quite intense i cant sleep n i can feel contractions too.. irregular ones.. today will tell the gynae
and hope bb is at least 2.7kg liao..so i wont worry if he decided to come earlier then expected.

I also agree bring to full term is definitely better.. i m very bad, i hope he can come 37-38weeks, coz i m just soooo sick of being preg :s

blessed,

how many weeks are you now?
I am 34 weeks now and I have been experiencing contractions everyday for the past 1 months. told my gynae during the visit 2 weeks ago and he asked if I have discharge that is different from the norm. He did a check and I actually have slight infection, he gave me antibiotics, it cleared the infection for 1 week past but it came back these 2 days. Infection can cause early delivery. anyway, the contraction is still there for me. I don't have this problem for my first girl. I actually want my 2nd one to come out at 40 weeks because then she will have the same birthday as my first one but my first one came out at 38 weeks so I think likelihood is that this 2nd baby will come out earlier as well.

See a lot of mummies here are stocking up the nepia diapers...

i have a problem here..

i want to buy nepia diapers too (see so many mummies here giving gd critic) but im worried that bb will be allergic to it...so I dare not order frm the suppliers (coz min order is 4 pax rte)...

so went ntuc to see if i can buy 1 pack of Nepia NB to try..but they dun sell nepia!!!!

so now..im stuck..

i duno wat to buy....

can advise??

mongs
how do u know u experiencing contraction?? how does it feel like?

linda/crystalz
the feeling is quite uncomfortable one le.....is it the same for you guys??

hi agnes,
those bigger ntuc does sell NB sizes one. i saw at tampines mall ntuc b4. so you might want to check those bigger stores

i aso wish bb can come out during 1st wk of december....39th week..jus nice..

my colleague whose edd is 4/12 but gynae did tell her she may deliver early has actualli deliver yesterday!!

Linda
can you ask your gynae about it and then let me know? Cuz i have been getting it for the past 2 nights only...then feeling uncomfy...thanks..was thinking maybe its contraction???

Etelle,

yeah.. very uncomfy... but lucky thing is it goes off after awhile... if not i dun think i can sleep with the cramp as its painful...

crystalz
okay okay thanks so much i thought i am the only one feeling it and yeah it goes off after a while but it do come back too le...or urs gone le never come back?

bluelily,
Your child saw the "light" so heading downwards liao... XD

Contraction felt like tummy tightening... normal ones we should be experiencing is tightening if there is PAIN... like every 15 mins or less, better give gynae a call. Some mama dun experience labour pain(contraction), they have backaches. So got to monitor...

i will be gg for c-sect on 17/11 next sat.hope bb wont have to stay in icu for long.according to gynae bb most likely have to stay in icu coz bb abit small size and under weight.abit stressed.haiz.

Rachel, not necessary that irregular contractions means will deliver soon. It depends on the inidividual. I have been having Braxton Hicks since 25 weeks plus and irregular menstrual like cramps since about week 31 but still nowhere near delivery. Now at 35-36 weeks and contractions 2-3 times a day still.

Rach, thanks for the tip about Ameda pump. Good thing you told us, I still blur blur thought must sterilize whole thing.

Blessed, your #1 preg sounds like my current preg. Been on meds and injections for contractions for months now. Dr says will continue my meds till week 37 and I've just stopped my last injection. What meds were you on, can you remember? I'm wondering if I will pop once I'm off the meds because it seems as if the meds are keeping my contractions under control.

Fairylander, don't worry, everything will be fine ok? Your baby's considered a very good weight to survive without much medical attention already. Keep us posted of how you and baby are doing.