(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

tuilppe,

no lah. I leave the pump in office. Only bring the funnels, bottles up and down. And I dun have a fridge in office. I use those mini cooler that can put on my desk type. I stopped pumping in office when she's abt 14 mths. But my gal rather not drink FM when I'm not at home...ok lah, since she's on solids already anyway. When I get home, it's latch on time lorh. Haha...

Crystalz,
congrats!!

<font color="aa00aa">to all the preggy mummies,
congrats!!!!!!

harlow ladies!!!!!!!!

pardon me...i really feel like ranting today cos i have spent the whole day yesterday going playgroup/cc shopping with my hubby and i'm literally having a HUGEASS headache.
let me describe to u my ordeal.

first stop, little skoolhouse at occ.
have actually paid registration fees here for the jan 2010 playgroup but was still undecided.
saw the kids at the indoor playground with 2 teachers from china and another very young chinese teacher who looks like she just got out of school.
ok the teachers let the kids play independantly and when they see kids arguing..not taking turns and stuffs, they will intervene and get the kid to take time out at the sides.

second stop, eager beaver.
heard so many gd reviews abt this place so was looking forward to view it.
alas, it falls way way below my expectations.
its a non aircon centre which is supposed to be good but the ceiling is so high up thet no wind can even be felt.
the place felt stuffy and looked filthy.
even my hubby commented afterwards that his feet felt that the flooring was sticky sticky..so icky!
when i came it was water play time for the toddlers.
the teacher placed water in an inflatable pool..then she on the water hose and sprayed at the kids with the kids stripped down to their shorts.
meanwhile the nursery kids were right in front of them having a bath.
its a case of i see u and u see me.
wasnt comfortable for me.
most of the staff there are chinese aunty2..1 teacher even said "chilren"...gosh!

third stop, back to little skoolhouse.
playgroup's kids just finished their lessons and going back.
cc kids having their bath and lunch.
managed to talk to the p and of cos all of us here know that, p will only say the good things for us to hear.
she did not let us in to walk around as she said the kids were having their bath and its private.

fourth stop, went to learning vision at rp.
me and hubby were impressed with the place.
very clean, has a dance studio for music n movement, very spacious and overall very inviting.
however, the ctr was having a food fiesta on that day so the parents were streaming in while the kids were busy preparing.
was told by a teacher to call for an appointment and come back another day.

fifth stop, kinderland at civic ctr.
this one i took a long time to even enter.
from outside, it looks dark.
place is fully carpeted, the cupboards and cabinets are dusty as i used my finger to lightly swiped them.
looks cramp and feels stuffy.
staff not friendly..told me to just take brochure and read it on my own.

sixth stop, phyllis riccia at woodgrove.
since its in those tudor-like ang moh house...its very majestic.
minus point is there's lots of staircase as is the case with any ctr in a landed property.
and the curriculum is like intl school standard where its quite laidback..lots of play.
heard reviews from parents..local ones..that even when the kid is supposed to be in K1, kid still dont know their abcs and 123s..

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...now i'm really having a headache on which one to choose to enrol faiq in.</font>

tuilppe, i wish i'm sahm .. or rather higher class sahm aka Tai Tai .. haa.. but i'm a poor FTWM lar.. jux dat my girl has grown so accustomed to comfort sucking .. n i stil nurse her to zz .. even on wkdends aftnoons.. she see me ard will wan to nurse to zz de..
wkdays aftnon when she's with my mum she is auto mode, tired go lie down n zzzz in 5mins
=(

steffi, tanks for that link..but i'm not ttc-ing leh .. HB dun wan he say tiring .. wonder how tired can he get coz his only duty is play with sr and at times bath her .. =P

lynzi
heard from my jun06 thread that LV at RP is very good...in terms of teacher and curriculum. too bad i dun live in the area..long waitlist though

Lynzi, heard from my friend that the LV at RP is good. Feedback on LV at CBP, my colg n I dun like the principal. Too fake to be true. Anyway, Shawn is very happy there. Teachers are nice though. No complaints about hygiene n food.

phy, yday at GUG din get to chat much.. i was alone lar coz HB had some exam coming up so he applied exam leave from me =P
btw, the classes in preious term was oso that teacher? sr din seems like her, i suspect coz her eys big big vocie loud loud .. sr oni managed to settle down near to the water break..

CSI, But no pumping in the day, then latch at night still can sustain milk supply? But good thing is your girl still want to latch. My boy after 2nd month dun want to latchliao prefer bottle feed cos faster flow. Really miss those days when he latch on, feel closer to him..

Slimz, wow...dunno whether is it girls like to get close to mummy and can still latch till 1 yr+...very envy..hopefully if I have the next..will be a girl..hehe.

Lyzi, Where is RP? You intend to send your girl to cc? Min 18 mths, right?
I also did take pm off to recky, very tiring running about
but I think oso wrong timing cos kids having nap
oni get to see their activity last 1-2hr.

I'm putting my gal in LV @ RP. I also dun live in that area. hahaha...just that hb is staff there so got staff rates. So it will be his responsibility to send her there and fetch her back. heeheehee...

<font color="aa00aa">wow...u gerls got such good reviews about lv @ rp.
i guessed i'm putting him there.
however, lv @ rp only got full day cc.
think have to do half day for the 2 weeks trial period.
oh and the teacher said there is no waiting list for toddler class for jan 2010 entry.
she assured me still got lots of space.

tulippe,
rp is republic poly at woodlands.
not putting him in this year.
will be entering school in jan next year.</font>

lynzi,

What I understand from the teachers there is that they are opening a new toddler class in Jan 2010. Maybe that's why there's still space lorh...for now. hehs.

csi, din know u putting ur gal at LV @ RP. I stay in woodlands leh.. but RP abit far for my mum to go fetch her. So ur hb will be fetching her to n fro?

We are sort of decided to put jr in NTUC cc aka My First Skool at Marsiling next yr, which is walking distance from my mum's place. Anyone heard any comments from there? We went to see, it's non airconditioned, place is clean.. got the sanitized smell.. teacher seems nice also.

Slimz,

So nice to run into you

Ya, same teachers
Wei is the Chinese one. The main one looks quite fierce? I didn't really pay attention leh.. Last few sessions Ryan was able to sit and pay attention. Then he started to get naughty last session by walking around the classroom. He doesn't like Art n Craft stuff. More into music and story telling.

How's SR after that? Maybe she needs a few more sessions to warm up?

My hubby also had some work commitment last Saturday. I spent my whole day with my little one
We went Botanic gardens early in the morning, sat at the pond and looked at the swans
Haha, sometimes it's nice to just spend quality time with our little ones without the HBs.

tulippe, not sure if she closer to me coz of my boobs.. haa.. but i'm pretty sure she is closest to me .. haaa .. compared to anyone else ..

lynzi,
I'm putting her in at 18M. So, in mid-June lah. Her name is Louisa.

bluelily,
oh yah...u stay in woodlands horh. heehee...

yup, hb will be fetching her to and fro. Only thing is, if he has reservist next time, i'll have to figure out something. haha.

phy,
yah, it's nice to chill out with our kids without the HBs...I'm with my gal alone on most weekends coz HB has to work on weekends (he always say it's to support us more...hahaha. wateva.)

slimz,
actually, it's hb who wanted to put her at his workplace. He says then he can spend more time with her. I'm ok with that. hahaa...coz when it's time for milk milk or zzzz, she will look for me anyway. wahahaha...think he feels left out.

<font color="aa00aa">bluelily,
lv @ rp only has fullday cc..no playgroup.
since its going to be fullday cc, hubby will send him in the morning and both of us will fetch him in the evening.

btw, have u been in my first skool?
i heard quite unfavourable reviews from some wdlds mummies.
maybe u should go peep in at diff timings and diff days.</font>

CSI
i like RP, attended a conference there earlier this year, lots of space and looks clean (not the LV, didn't know there was one there). Also good, daddy can spend some quality time sending louisa to school

hb sent #1 to school once so far, and he's happy with the place which is a relief. We did discuss about sending her to LV@biopolis, but coz of his work, he didnt have the chance to see the palce until i couldnt go and pick her up. Now headache is what to do when i take npl next year. dunno whether the subsidy will still apply.

phy,
yah lorh. that's what I told him. Then he said "in your dreams..." bleh....&amp;@#^$@^#$. hahaha...

claire,
RP is nice right? I also find RP very unique. Not like a poly at all. haha. Yah, LV is like far from everything.....all the way in...right at the end beyond the sports complex. Hmmm, NPL....you're still employed full time mah, just taking leave only...but yah, it's kinda tricky huh...

CSI,
Ask you hor, how you store your EBM in office har? A mini fridge that stores soda can work as well? How long can it last?

Trying to encourage my SIL to continue to BF her boy... She doesn't have a big fridge at her shop... Only the small one that she stores drinks.

phy,

Yah, I use those mini cooler that can store max 6 cans of coke, kind of fridge/cooler. It's actually quite cool...the EBM gets chilled quite fast. According to manufacturer, the mini fridge can only be turned on for max 10hrs. So, I only turn in on after I express lah. hehs...and the EBM gets chilled quite quickly. Then when time to go back home, I put in the cooler bag (Avent thermal bag) without ice packs (coz no freezer mah, how to keep ice packs frozen?) and chiong all the way back home. Then it's into the fridge immediately/milk bags immediately.

Hmmm, ur SIL may not be able to store her drinks in there if she uses it to keep her EBM...coz cans and milk bottles are different sizes mah...

<font color="aa00aa">morng mummies!!!!!!!!!

after hearing all your feedback and discussing with my hubby, finally we decided to put faiq at lv @ rp.
will drop there one of these days to see the p.</font>

Oh when using cooler bag can actually get ice cubes from drinks stall put in plastic bag and tie a knot and put in the cooler bag. This can keep it cool on the way home. Thats what I did previously..thats why veri heavy.
CSI, where to get the mini cooler? Brand? Need to have electricity?

lynzi, yup I've been to the one opp Marsiling mrt. From what we saw, I was quite satisfied leh. Which outlet are those wdls mummies talking abt? What kind of unfavourable reviews?

lynzi
saw that u hv went to a few cc to check out. can i know what's the average teacher:child ratio for those centres u went? i was told mcys guidelines is 1:10. I thought that was too many. i'm considering lv@cecil. they told me is 1:6. wonder if this is a reasonable number.

tulippe,
yah...that's an idea. But i didn't lah. Like you said lorh. Heavy mah. It takes me 30mins to get to my parent's place from work...so 30min, the temp wun change that much also since in thermal bag...so once I reach my parent's place I transfer to fridge/milk bags (and then freezer) liaoz. hehs....

My mini fridge/cooler was a gift from someone. But I've seen Akira brand one before. It can work on electricity and batteries too. But I think if use batteries, will probably need to change the batt quite often? Plus dunno when the batt is actually running low and may not be as cool??

eve,
LV @ RP told me their ratio is 1:6, even though MCYS guideline is 1:8. But I think they may also move it up to 1:8, but never publicly say it lah. I mean, on some days, some kids will be on MC at home etc...so even if they have a class of 8 kids, effectively, on average, it may be 1:6 kinda thing. I dun think any cc will be telling the absolute truth here...coz more kids = more revenue leh...as long as they don't breech the threshold, i'm ok lah. hehs. I quite like LV @ Cecil. Plus got $50 discount if working ard the area. The only thing I'm a bit concerned is, they say they do bring the kids to the park nearby. To me, I'm wondering how they do that, coz CBD is full of traffic and many buildings under going revamp and construction works around... But other than that, LV @ Cecil is quite clean, bright and nice...

oh... so the guideline is 1:8? cos 1 center (not lv) told me it's 1:10 and she also doesn't want to commit what's the ratio like.

CSI,
u went to visit the centre already? i haven't made a trip down. but hb told me the place looks good n conducive. Thks for highlighting the park issue. Din expect that cos thought since CBD area, din know that there r still parks around for them to bring to. Cos I know for LV @ Revenue House, they have their own playground in the building.

Btw, how much does LV @ RP charge for full day? Find $700+ a bit on the high side. But was told it's due to the rent there n they r a premium center.

bluelily
the one i asked at cecil street is $770 after subsidy. some centers r cheaper, some r more ex. depends on location.

seems like that's the average rate for town area n there r so limited places.

eve,

Yah, I visited LV @ Cecil. I quite like the place. Was debating between RP and Cecil...but since HB is at RP, hehs...he'll fetch her to and fro mah...hahaha. Yah, when they told me they bring to the park, I was trying to think....where's the park? Here got park meh? Seriously, I have no idea where the park is. Then again, CBD area, the landscape is always changing. One day got park, suddenly coz of change in road etc, the park also can disappear...so I didn't think too much about that. haha. The only little park I can think of is nearer Amoy side...mini park in between Capital Tower and dunno what bldg.

LV @ RP after subsidy is $450 leh...for full day cc. Think $700+ is for Infant Care. That's what I'm seeing on my little brochure...am I looking at the wrong line? Heehee...the fees I'm paying is different coz it's staff rates.

<font color="aa00aa">ladies,
the fees for lv @ rp before subsidy is $903.
csi get more subsidy cos her hubby is staff there.

eve,
yup the rest are rite.
mcys guideline is 1:8</font>

<font color="aa00aa">bluelily,
if i'm not wrong they were referring to the ntuc cc near marsiling mrt.
heard that only 1 teacher there can speak english..that's the p or snr teacher..other than that therest of the teachers there are from china and cannot speak proper english.
that's why i said u should go and see not only at the env but also observe the teachers.</font>

claire, congrats! Just came in to take a peek and saw that you have got a boy. Sooo happy for you - I know u have been praying its a boy.
Yr grannie will be overjoyed also!

Dylan has been sick, pretty much the whole month. A result of starting cc so ladies who wanna put their kids in cc, i think gotta be prepared lor.
After his hfmd, he came down with flu, cough and cold.

He has been having watery poop for last 2 weeks, and poop up to even 12-13 times a day. Backside all swollen and always crying and screaming when I try to clean him bum. Brought him to the doctor and last week, the PD said that it will run its course and go away... One week later, we went back and thankfully this time, he took us seriously and sent dylan's poop for culture test and started dylan on a course of anti-biotics.

Gotta go back to the clinic everyday to get a jab. Yesterday was the first day, and after the jab, he screamed all the way home. Must have been very painful... sigh. very heart pain to see him suffering. Really hope he will get better.

The only bright side in this whole mess? Because he's been skipping cc due to this problem, he is the only one in his class that didn't kenna hfmd!!! hah

oh one more thing... because of this pooping problem, doctor said NO MORE BREASTMILK for dylan. So I gotta cut him off latching on 100%!!

Csi-fan, Steffie - jia lat leh!! Dylan cried non stop for damn long in the afternoon and in the night time cos cannot latch on! Its a weaning nightmare... *faint*

<font color="aa00aa">dylan's mum,
aiyoh...so poor thing!
yup i know kids who are in cc will tend to fall sick easily.
that's why must prep up with lots of vits.
hope dylan get well soon.
and u take care of yourself too!
i know it can be very hard for the parents when a child is sick.</font>

dylan's mom,

Oh dear!! poor dylan....how come no more breastmilk? I thot BM shd be ok even if pooping? cannot ah? Thot BM would help them recover faster coz got the right nutrients etc...

Poor dylan...I read your post I also feel xin tong for him...

But I guess there will be a bright side to all these...like you said, he's the only one who didn't kenna HFMD (wah, seems serious over at his CC? whole class kenna?), and after this, you probably don't have to worry abt trying to wean him off lorh. Kill 2 birds with 1 stone - help his pooping problem recover and wean him off.

Botanist,

Poor Dylan
Hope he will get well soon. Do you let him wear diapers at home too? In this heat, it may not help his backside to heal faster...

You're one strong mummy
If I were you, guess I would have broken down with my boy and cried all the way home too

yup yup, it's before GST and after FT working mother's subsidy. Not sure abt PT or non- working mother's subsidy...

lynzi,

when will ur son be starting at LV?

Lynzi, thanks.. Yah dylan is already taking supplements and vitamins but no use lor. PD said that we need to be prepared that he will be in and out of the clinic every 2 weeks for abt 6 months *fainted*

CSI-fan,

Dunno leh, PD said that our BM still got lactose and he is 100% lactose intolerant right now. Can't eat anything except plain porridge... he is so unhappy and keep pointing to the biscuit container cos he wants his cereals and biscuits.

PD advised that if we want him to recover quickly, gotta keep to simple diet, no BM, no formula cow's milk, only can take soy milk, plain porridge (no meat) and perhaps plain bread.

So he getting double trauma lor, no food, backside pain, and worse.. no milk! Been pulling my shirt and grabbing my nehs whenever he has the chance but I keep telling him no more milk liao. He is very upset lah. But you're right, guess if I can survive this and stop latching on after this, then I've effectively weaned him off. But its sooo sudden and I'm suddenly sad that I'll be losing those bonding sessions with him.

Yah you wont believe lor, his class got abt 9 students, split into 2 groups. out of 9, already 7-8 got hrfd, guess they all spread to each other.