(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Dylan's mom, Sorry to hear what Dylan is going thru. Good to hear that he is on his way to recovery.

Oh dear mimeole, thats painful. Ouch... do take care

<font color="aa00aa">mimiole,
i do have some family members who ever had gall stones and kidney stones before.
the key is to eat foods high in fibre..must drink lots of plain water to flush out toxins..avoid fatty/ spicy food..and must not hold your pee</font>

lynzi,
oooh. ya i think the part of refraining frm fatty/spicy food is key. thanks for the info. may i ask for those who had gallstones, did they opt to go surgery or did they jus do herbal stuff?

steffi,
hmmm... well i dunno why the doc immediately say nd go op. maybe like reallie chialat case. well ya i heard this prob usually happen when much older. i'm still so young..
well it is a big wakeup call to relook into my diet n eating habits. well as said... e op's been postphoned am trying out herbal stuff. may not go for the op aft all.. c hw it goes la.

was jus wondering.... r u mummies taking lesser photos of ur bbs. i jus realised tt i'm not as pic crazy as b4. i used to take many pics of arvin almost everyday. charting out his growth bla bla.. but now it's only if thr's sm occasion. hmmmm.... they'r growing so fast n no longer our little bbs...

<font color="aa00aa">mimeole,
if the stones are small and can dissolve by itself after taking medication then dont need surgery.
but if big aand a lot then have to do surgery.</font>

deerdeer,
by language u mean? e only logical word arvin says wif proper enunciation is "UP".
he's yet to call us mummy/mama/ma/daddy/dad/dada/pa
at times he jus babbles things... maybe it's jus us who dun get wat he's actually saying with reference to specific things. heehee.

Lynzi, Tat is a good info. We mummies really have to take care of ourselves.
Mimeole, Drink lots of water...wish you a speedy recovery as still need to take care of your little one.
Yah nowaday seldom take pix oredi...tired.

Deerdeer, My boy lor...slow dunno whether is it on purpose..last time can call mama now not heard from him..sigh

Hi Anyone here experience 17 mth old bb throwing tantrum all of a sudden? My boy suddenly scream and yell when he is not given the laundry pail he want. He just can't stop screaming for about 30min. Trying to calm him down by offering him alternative or carry him, he juz don want and keep screaming. Then after tat merlion. Heart pain...but I dun think I should give in and let him have what he want. Anyone have idea of how to deal with this?

hi starz,
arvin has started throwing tantrums.. he's getting more n more diff. very insistant on wat he wans. but has not done a full blown tantrum fiasco yet. wat we do for now is to jus distract him. pull him away frm the source of agitation n distract him wif smthing else. smthing which wld interest them immediately. i beleive tt at this age u can't reason wif them so no point talking sense to them. gd luck... i'm sure sm of the othr mummies here wld hav gd suggestions too.

tulippe,
ya.. i jus smtimes imagine arvin's blabbering is actually him talking to me... as in whenever he says anything close to ma/mummy, i show off tt he's actually calling me.
but actually hubby wins more in this aspect. i think e "da" sounds easier for them to say la.

deerdeer, my sr oso not too fast at picking up our language.. she is still toking in her language to us to her toys. when we say something and make her repeat her us, sometimes she is able to say it, sometimes its totally out.
like last nite, she was able to say clock but hve difficulty with moon (though she is able to make the mooooooo sound when she sees a cow)

so far, my boi can say papa, jie jie and she me (what) clearly...heard that they will pick up speech faster if they are exposed to kids with close age gaps...easier to learn baby talk then adult language...

YR is saying/mimicking quite a lot of words, but the only word she refuses to say is "mummy"
Everything else, daddy, papa, ah ma, ma ma, gong gong, ye ye, yi yi, gu gu, gu po, all can say. only mummy. Why??? But I love their baby voices, now when we ask her to say "please", she must yun4 qi4 first, then expel in one burst

Claire, YR is so cute.

I also loves hearing my boy talk. My boy is talkative, he will call ah tai(his great-grandmother), gonggong, popo, pa, mami, go, want, mine, this is, that etc.

starz, my girl is oso into tantrums but she dun goes into one when she's with my mum.. she noes who not to mess with =P
when she does her tantrums at me, i will let her finish her screams then talk to her softly, aft which she will want me to hug hug, duno she understands anot

steffi,
yah, but her grandmas have already 'booked' that name. sigh. just a bit jealous lah, she can say words like taxi, and i'm pretty sure she can say mummy, just dun want only.

I am still waiting for jr to say mummy.. haha. Think he dunno how to pronounce ma.. he'll say ba instead.. then ba ba will become pa pa pa.. hb happy loh. Or ask him say mummy.. he'll pronounced as Ah yi.. same as what he calls my sis. He learnt a new word: hug hug.. pronounced v accurately. :p

Throwing tantrums:
Jr is getting from bad to worse. Will pull ur hair and specs when he got angry while u are carrying him. Or bang his head on anything, even the floor.. or bite his own arms! V bad hor? Usually.. we'll ignore him for a while.. unless he startes to hurt himself.

dylan also cannot call mama yet. when I ask him to call mama, he will reply "ah ba ba!" Haha so cute. But he can definitely call "da da" very clearly.

He is finally learning to speak a few words, like "yah", "car", "two". He is suddenly in love with numbers so always point and want to say numbers when we go out and walk past any signs or lift lobbies.

As for throwing tantrum, err terrible lor. He really can throw tantrum. He is going thru a new phase again, now he will slap himself in the face/head continuously when he is frustrated and scream at the top of his lungs. If I am carrying him, he will bang his head on our head. I usually will try to distract him from abusing himself or if he refuse to stop, will have to ignore him and let him cry on the floor by himself. Usually when he realise we are ignoring him, he will give up. :p

Botanist, hi 5! Our boys actions sound alike!

coco, no leh. Seems like he dun feel the self-inflicted pain. He can bite himself till got 1 round of teeth marks also din show pain.

steffi,
i think tt's true.. abt them better at language if arnd kids their age.. well arvin def doesn't hav any. another reason why we nd to put him to sch soon. wkend classes r jus not enuff. but till then we'l try to encourage him more by talking to him.

dylan's mum,
gosh tt sounds terrible. how do u manage when he's hitting himself? fingers crossed tt arvin doesn't develop such tendencies. but ya.. i find tt jus distracting them is smthing we can do.

bluelily..
totally understand hw e mama becms baba n hw tt becms dada for hubby. so annoying... but i noe arvin's secretly calling me n not HIM. hahah

bluelily, hi5!! haha...yes dylan never flinch from pain that is self inflicted

mimeole,
i jus tell him not to do it but i think its only a phase n will pass eventually.

Mimeole, Good idea, will try to distract him. Agree with you they may not be able to understand when I try to reason with him, he juz look away and do his stuff.

Bluelily, Botanist, Woe your boyz did tat! Thanks for sharing I din noe they can resort to that extreme to threat. Very smart. Will they cry like for half hr and then vomit? Worst case I think I will leave my boy crying..once give in I think no end. Do you bring them out often? Do they throw tantrum? If they do, if distraction does not work, will you leave them crying publicly?

My boy oso very slow in talking. Only know how to point and baby language.

hai.. abt this self-inflicted injury thing, i read that they will outgrow it. Just dunno when. -_-"

and yes starz, my bb did cry till vomit b4. In fact, recently he keep vomitting. Like twice a week.. not sick. Most of the time is choke till vomit.. or recently.. think he eat full full n run ard too much.. then vomit. Becoming a skeleton liao. hai...

starz,

usually he throws mega tantrums at home... can cry for one hour, no problem. when we go out, he usually doesn't throw tantrums, just figety and active but so far, no tantrums. Also because when he is outside, there are alot of things to distract him so he usually get distracted easily. In future, if he throw tantrum in public, yes i will let him scream and cry by himself, cos if you give in... then he will keep doing it to get his way.

tonite i made alexis try some FM. she cringed, made a face after taking a sip and walked off, saying, "i don't want".

That's all.

<font color="aa00aa">good morning ladies!!!!!!!!!!

steffietan,
aiyoh..alexis so clever now..
can still say dont want.
looks like u will bf-ing her for a few more years then..hehehe...

aniwei to those mums who are experiencing tantrums now..coming to the terrible twos..
i have sth to share with u..

Why your child has temper tantrums
A temper tantrum is the emotional equivalent of a summer storm — sudden and sometimes fierce. One minute you and your child are in a restaurant enjoying your dinner, the next minute he's whimpering, whining, and then screaming at the top of his lungs because his straw is bent. Children between the ages of 1 and 3 are especially prone to such episodes.

Though you may worry that you're raising a tyrant, take heart — at this age, it's unlikely that your child is throwing a fit to be manipulative. More likely, he's having a meltdown in response to frustration. Claire B. Kopp, professor of applied developmental psychology at California's Claremont Graduate University, attributes much of the problem to uneven language skills. "Toddlers are beginning to understand a lot more of the words they hear, yet their ability to produce language is so limited," she says. When your child can't express how he feels or what he wants, frustration mounts.

How to handle a tantrum
Don't lose your cool. A tantrum is not a pretty sight. In addition to kicking, screaming, or pounding the floor, your toddler's repertoire may include throwing things, hitting, and even holding his breath to the point of turning blue. When your child is swept up in a tantrum, he's unlikely to listen to reason, though he will respond — negatively — to your yelling or threatening. "I found the more I shouted at Brandon to stop, the wilder he would get," says one mother of a 2-year-old. What worked instead, she discovered, was to just sit down and be with him while he raged.

Staying with your child during a tantrum is a good idea. Stomping out of the room — alluring as that may be — can make him feel abandoned. The storm of emotion he's going through can be frightening to him, and he'll appreciate knowing you're nearby. Some experts recommend picking up your child and holding him if it's feasible (i.e., he's not flailing too much), saying he'll find your embrace comforting. But others say it's better to ignore the tantrum until your child calms down, rather than rewarding negative behavior. Through trial and error, you'll learn which approach is right for your child.

Remember that you're the adult. No matter how long the tantrum continues, don't give in to unreasonable demands or negotiate with your screaming toddler. It's especially tempting in public to cave in as a way of ending the episode. Try not to worry about what others think — anyone who's a parent has been there before. By conceding, you'll only be teaching your child that throwing a fit is a good way to get what he wants, and setting the stage for future behavior problems. Besides, your child is already frightened by being out of control. The last thing he needs is to feel that you're not in control either.

If your child's outburst escalates to the point where he's hitting people or pets, throwing things, or screaming nonstop, pick him up and carry him to a safe place, such as his bedroom. Tell him why he's there ("because you hit Aunt Sally"), and let him know that you'll stay with him until his negative behavior stops. If you're in a public place — a common breeding ground for tantrums — be prepared to leave with your child until he calms down.

"When my daughter was 2, she had an absolute fit at a restaurant because the plain spaghetti she ordered arrived with chopped parsley on it," recalls one mother. "Although I realized why she was upset, I wasn't about to let her disrupt everyone's dinner. I took her outside until she calmed down."

Talk it over afterward. When the storm subsides, hold your child close and talk about what happened. Acknowledge his frustration, and help him put his feelings into words, saying something like, "You were very angry because your food wasn't the way you wanted it." Let him see that once he expresses himself in words, he'll get better results. Say with a smile, "I'm sorry I didn't understand you. Now that you're not screaming, I can find out what you want."

Try to head off tantrum-inducing situations. Pay attention to what situations push your child's buttons and plan accordingly. If he falls apart when he's hungry, carry snacks with you. If he has trouble making a transition from one activity to the next, give him a gentle heads-up before a change. Alerting him to the fact that you're about to leave the playground or sit down to dinner ("We're going to eat when you and Daddy are done with your story") gives him a chance to adjust instead of react.

Your toddler is grappling with independence, so offer him choices whenever possible. No one likes being told what to do all the time. Saying, "Would you like corn or carrots?" rather than "Eat your corn!" will give him a sense of control. Monitor how often you're saying "no." If you find you're rattling it off routinely, you're probably putting unnecessary stress on both of you. Try to ease up and choose your battles. Would it really wreck your schedule to spend an extra five minutes at the playground? And does anybody really care if your tike wears mismatched mittens?

Watch for signs of overstress. Although daily tantrums are a perfectly normal part of the mid-toddler years, you do need to keep an eye out for possible problems. Has there been upheaval in the family? An extremely busy or harried period? Tension between Mom and Dad? All of these can provoke tantrums. If after the age of 30 months your child is still having major tantrums every day, talk to your doctor. If your child is younger than 30 months and has three or four tantrums a day and isn't cooperating with any routines, such as getting dressed or picking up toys, you also may want to seek help. Your doctor can make sure your child has no serious physical or psychological problems and suggest ways to deal with the outbursts. Also, talk to your doctor if your child has frightening breath-holding spells when he gets upset. There's some evidence that this behavior is linked to an iron deficiency.</font>

steffie,

tell you something interesting regarding weaning...
as you know, i have managed to wean dylan. I come to realise that it was not the breastmilk that he preferred but the close contact with me. Previously, he would not drink BM even if it was in a bottle.

Now, he always wants to cuddle with me, particularly when he is sleepy and when he drinks his FM from the bottle. Even at night, he likes to crawl over to snuggle next to me and sleep... of course hand must put on my neh!! So its really quite interesting lor.. cos I always thought he preferred BM, turns out it was me he preferred, not the BM.

which FM did you offer to alexis? She is so smart, can still say "i dont want". Actually if she doesn't want FM, its ok right? Since PDs say that they dont need so much milk now.

botantist, for me i tink sr wan to suckle for comfort n zzz when i'm ard .. during the day when i am not ard, she can zzz auto mode at my mum's .. jux dat when she sees me, she would wan me carry and keeps pointing/digging into my nehs.. and if i only cuddle her in bed coz she would flip open my top and help herself wor...

slimz,

yah last time dylan also like sr, always pull up my shirwt etc, but now he knows dont have liao so settle for next best thing lor

thanks lynzi for the info... i've been getting sm info frm e super nanny bks i bought sm time back... but really depends on our control when it actually happens. coz we can get soo exasperated by their actions tt we nd to think b4 we act too. get wat i mean?

claire,

i tried pediasure (original).

dylan's mom,

ya, i totally agree wif u. i can let her drink expressed BM n she will not swallow it as well. it's e skin-to-skin contact that they want.. dylan is really so sweet to want to cuddle wif u.. n like dylan, alexis needs to hv her other hand on my neh as well, while she's drinkg. that's like so bloody uncomfortable! haah.. ya, i'm honestly not tat hung up abt her not drinkg milk..i'm jus afraid tat she's hungry.. but u seriously hv no more milk already?? i wonder if i'll feel liberated when the day comes for me.

last nite was hilarious, she was playg wif my hb n then pointed to his nips n said, 'milk'...n becz she said it rather suddenly, she even had e chance to tweak his nips. I WAS LAFFING MY A** OFF..i told my hb, now, u know how it feels huh..

lynzi,

looks like i got to keep goin at it for a while longer. =)

steffie,

hehe so alexis &amp; dylan are similar. nowadays, he always wants to put his hand on his 'security breast'. haha even when he is watching tv or playing toys or reading books... he still wants to put his hand on my neh. I'm already trying to think of how to 'wean' this off!

wah, alexis knows how to tweak yr hubby's nipples? hahah dylan knows the difference, he refuse to touch daddy's neh.. hahah

I don't really feel liberated although not BF anymore. honestly, i dunno if still got milk or not. I stopped quite abruptly but didn't suffer any engorgement etc. I think the main difference now is that I get alittle more sleep at night than I used to.
Praise god!

btw, i emailed u to make payment for the raw honey yah. you got it?

steffie/botanist, sr oso plays with her 'food' .. one for drinking one for playing .. she dun take daddy's neh .. thou we 'tried' bluffing her a few times =P