(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

wah slimz,
that daddy very ren xin...

i wun bear to do that do my gals toys...all use hard earned $$ to buy one leh...unless it's a really old toy. haha. but then again, he must be very fed up with his son's antics...

<font color="aa00aa">hi mummies!!!!!

oh how fun to read about all your babies learning to talk and in so many languages some more.
my faiq can understand and point to the correct things but he still doing baby talk.

tullippe,
how is your child?
any better?
zyrtec is avail at gp.

so when is the next gathering?
its been a looooooong time since i last met u gerls.
miss all of u and the babies!</font>

Slimz,
I thot of doing that but she bu de cos all my hard earned $$ ahahaha... anyway tat is not a good way to teach them. must explain and tell them the reason.

mummies!~

i really very stressed out now!
for the past 1 week plus, my girl dun want me to feed her! she only want to eat on her own and taking like 45mins to an hr to finish her food! and 50% of the food is eaten and 50% of the food will be on the floor and high chair! She haven master using her spoon and oso dun allow me to guide her using the spoon! Aiyo!!!! and use her fingers to eat. dun wan porriage anymore. only want rice, vege, meat. Then my in law give me stressed too. Say how can eat till like that... Like a cat blah blah blah. But she just dun want me to feed her leh. even my in law try to feed her she oso dun want. wahhh i really going crazy soon!

crystalz ... same here my gal also dun wan me to fed worst case she only eat few mouthful then dun wan to eat liaoz. lagi best is tat my fil keep saying she s full liaoz. faintz. fyi now my PIL move in with us

crystalz, think it's a passing phrase. Maybe cos she just realise how to eat on her own.. so v excited wanna try herself. Be glad that ur gal can self feed! Jr will throw the whole bowl away if we give it to him! Wat if you dun give ur gal the bowl from the start and feed her instead?

long time no see..
i've not been in here for ages. there's so much to update on.

As for our babies trying to feed themselves.. i was also at my wits end, then i notice the CC is doing something that kinda works. so i tried and it has been working so far! hehe maybe u gals can try also.

I will give dylan his own bowl (the sunction type) and spoon, then I'll put a small small amount of food into the bowl. He usually will play with it, try to feed himself etc or even use fingers to mash it. Then at the same time, I have the bigger bowl of food to feed him with.. usually he will still eat while trying to feed himself/playing with the food.

Because there is only a bit of food in his own bowl, he can't make a big mess... just dirty the highchair table and his hands nia... never throw on the floor.

crystalz &amp; gabby's mum,

what i will do is, on the kids show to distract him while i feed. Sometimes can't work but most of the time its ok. He's willingly to open his mouth &amp; eat while he watch his fav show.

But the pork floss saga is still on.
Sometimes he will go to the table and point and said 'baa baa', meaing he wants pork floss in his porridge. So boh pian, just grab alittle and feed together with his porridge. But most of the time i don't put in if he's not watching. Sometimes manage to bluff through, but sometimes he will see the spoon &amp; whine, saying why don't have. Haha...really cant stand my boy!

For self feeding, most of the time i will only give him cheerios or biscuits to do so...its definitely much easier to tidy even if he's making a mess. As for meals, if he wants to do it himself, he's still willing to let me hold his hand to guide him.

my mum puts pork floss on jr's chair/table and let jr self feed pork floss while eating porridge. Many times, jr will use his 2 fingers to pinch on the pork floss.. and throw on the floor instead.

Bluelily, My boy now 16mthsle. Your boy very cuteleh will auto kiss ah, so sweet. I am trying teach my boy to kiss but can oni make the sound when he is in mood but not action.

Cocoangel, Wow 120words is a lot. Oh dear not sure my boy is having speech delay. My boy can oni say dad dad and baby launguage.

I oso agree that kids have to learn some dialect. Nowadays alot of younger generation dunno dialect.

Lynzi, My boy seems to be ok. Look like the mifong woh is clearing. So far no fever. Only running nose probably catch cold at night. Will get zyrtec from GP if need to. Keep my finger cross. Have been telling my nanny to give him barley or chrysanthymum. But he seems to lose his appetite. Hopefully not that he doesn like milk or the brand. Hve been buying some stocks to keep for the promotion price.

dylan's mum,

i tried that method long ago ler... when my ger ard 9months plus. so that method dun work anymore. now she just want to eat the food that is in her bowl only. ahz think now i just going to bear with it.

Tulippe,
Dun worry.. boy's speech is generally slower then girls and at 16 mths, they are still young

Enjoy the baby language for now hehe..

bluelily,

yours also still taking porkfloss every meal ah..
i scared if take too much will be heaty leh. thats why tell my MIL to cut down. If he didnt ask for it, then dont give him.
Think cause once, he took too much and he got cough &amp; phelgm.

Shryn, heng now jr also sick of pork floss liao. Anyway my mum also give a bit only.. so I'm ok now. And jr throws the pork floss on the floor instead. :p

cocoangel...

probably will but he will be so unwilling to finish up his meal. Think once we did told him that its finished and we'll buy another day, but i cant recall whats his reaction. :p

But think now its much better cause he is reducing the intake. I find having alittle bit is fine, just don't take too much and also not everyday.

Bluelily, good la...better to reduce.

haha...jeelo...
shawn did that ah..

Kayden knows how to kiss and got the 'muack' sound too but your cheek will have his saliva.
If mouth to mouth kiss, its a very perfect kiss! :D

crystalz,

sometimes when my girl 'chut' pattern..i will entice her wif another food in my other hand. when she opens her mouth, i will shove her rice/porr into her mouth b4 she can eat wat's in my other hand..muahahah..i basically need to entice her wif fish/pork or watever that's different fr wat's she eatg. normally it's abt 3 mouthfuls of her food b4 she gets to eat e 'reward'.

soooooo troublesome.

ta
ma
de

steffie,

same here...until my gal got smart. She realised I was trying to "trick" her into opening her mouth so I can shove the food in. Then she refused to open her mouth. She would rather do without her "reward". She will try to use 1 hand, cover her mouth, and the other hand, try to grab the 'reward' from me. I refuse to give her, she will cry. haha. and cover her mouth still.

damn.

So I tried putting the 'reward" (usually it's her "rey-rey" [raisin]) on top of the food. so she'll have to eat the food too if she wants the raisin. So far, it works. But sometimes she will attempt to pick out the raisin instead!

dawn

the cc trick is what i do at home since 1.5 months ago! But still takes 30-45 min to feed. Good thing is Emma's quite happy to wipe the floor of her mess haha.

crystalz,
you could try feeding by hand. Apparently that's what my neighbour's been doing with her Jan '08 daughter since I can't remember when. Thing is, she has to chase after her daughter, and I honestly dunno how her daughter's fed outside of home. BUT, her daughter has been eating rice and adult steamed food minus salt etc, so maybe that's why can feed by hand

feeding our babaies: my mum has no problem feeding sr .. she jux need to coax her at the end of her meals when sr getting abit full and wanna play..
but wkends, i normally wont cook as much coz i alwys would ve problem feeding sr .. have to let her watch her fav dvd to coax her.. when we r outside, she would oni b able finish 3/4 of the food i prepared. At her ah ma's hse is worst, alwys eat less than half den show pattern le..

Talking abt feeding.. nowadays, jr gets choked more easily. Dunno izzit because he's more talkative now, tries to talk while eating.. then choke on porridge, and once choke... he'll vomit ALL his food out. 1 whole bowl back out again. And this usually happens when there's 1 or 2 spoons left! V sad ah. Anyone's bb like that? He dun chew his porridge leh...

cocangel,eNemum, Will just let nature take its coursebah...hehe. Hopefully when he goes childcare after 18mths would be better. Oni at times difficult to communicate like if he is hungry or full oso cannot tell
Just go by timely feeding.

Hearing other mummies feeding problem is a really a challenge...sang nao jing..Just keep my finger cross....

on the topic of speaking... someone i know only started speaking when he was FOUR. and today, he's got a PhD in philosophy and an excellent orator! i guess, just let nature take its course!

tulippe, well, when baby talk, its a consolation to us that our baby is normal.

But i pretty sure mine is as he is really cheeky...from their look we know.

Nothing much we can do but wait wait and wait

mine used to eat only home cooked porridge...but these days he will eat bee hoon and some of my fried rice etc....

think this boy just like to take his own sweet time in whatever he does...he is very different from his brother

jeelo...
for mine, his lovebite giving periods were over and hope its gone for good. There's a season he's into sinking his teeth to me &amp; hub till we both got bruises everywhere. I'm the slower response one, so i get more. hehe

jeelomeelo, my boy also kiss with his mouth open. Kekekeke... and now he can make kissing sound but he cannot put his mouth near you cos later no sound.

So I still prefer getting his mouth open kiss.

bluelily, my boy also cannot chew. Yesterday he vomit out his porridge cos of the minced beef that is not chop finely enough. I share your feeling too cos my boy is not a good eater and all my effort gone liao

oh BBnGG urs also like that ah. But does he vomit out everything? Jr will vomit back the whole bowl of porridge.. still can see the rice grains intact! Wonder if that's normal?

My boy oso dun like/lazy to chew. Very scared he get choked, he will vomit out oso. Sometimes duno whether he dun like the taste or feel something coarse like mince meat he will make the vomit sound but sometimes he din vomit out. I will try to make it as fine as possiblelor.

bluelily, yah mine is also like that
I guess he swallow the porridge thus choking on the ingredients.

Now I also try to make the ingredients as fine as possible like tulippe when I make his porridge.

vomitting feeds: rem when sr passed the 1yr mark PD asked if i'm still giving sr mashed veg.. she said to start sr with real solids.. veg chopped no nid to mashed/puree and every one week that passes, increase the size of the chopped veg.. she even suggested pcs of pork/chick for sr although tat time sr got no teeth at all..
she said it to train her to chew.. would dat help now for ur kiddos?

slimz, we tried less soft porridge.. i.e cooking faster so it doesn't become mashy.

End Result: Choke n vomit all out.

Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. But jr still doesn't chew. Biscuits he can chew.. few grains of rice also ok. I'm thinking of adding milk to gerber stars n feed with spoon 1 by 1 so he can get used of chewing when fed with spoon.. havent tried that yet though. Last weekend he choke n vomit again.. till we v sianz liao.

slimz, cannotleh. Minced meat oso like tatliao.

bluelily, good idea!

By the way, anyone started to brush their teeth? My boy simply dun wan to open his golden mouth..later all gone..my hb commented never mindlah all milk teeth have to changemah..faintz
kao_dizzy.gif

mabbe he doesn't like porridge since he is ok with rice? noodles, kuay teow, bread he chews?
sr tends to swallow her porridge too. I would remind her every now and then to chew/bite and would leave the big pcs of meat/veg/wolfberries to the end so that she will ve more time to chew them...

tulippe, tat was my mummy n my reaction too.. But my HB tot PD was rite coz he feels tat chewing using her gums would help her molars etc to come out faster.. he worried her milk teeth too late come out den no adult teeth. heee.. coz sr's mummy, aka me, still has 4 milk teeth in my mouth which dentist say, if i lose them now, no adult teeth will come out i.e. bo gay!

oh ya, brushing teeth.. i got a small toothbrush for sr. previously was using the first teeth teethbrush. she wont let me do it for her but she is ok to do it herself. Every nite i brush teeth i will ask her into the toilet n we brush tgr.. she seems ok..

Good to know that all the kiddos are progressing well.

Speech
QJ is definitely communicating more effectively now although most times, only I understand him
His vocab has improved and he is also stringing words together - like big book, kick ball, lock key ... I must qualify that alot of his words are not pronounced properly and short cut to single syllable - like nnnna (banana), ..fly (butterfly), mo (elmo) ...

Eating
QJ hasn't been eating cereal and porridge for > a month now. For breakfast, he drinks Meiji milk and eat bread with cheese, sometimes cheese pancake. For lunch, it is usually noodles (mee sua/bee hoon) soup with fish, veg, tofu, etc. His dinner is whatever we eat - rice, fish, meat, soup. Current fav food is fish ball. On weekends, I sometimes don't even bother to cook. I'll feed him whatever we eat outside - yong tou foo, ramen, you name it.

val, is it ok to eat the toothpaste? my HB was asking when we shld start her on toothpaste n i was worried she duno how to rinse her mouth n would swallow it..

My boy loves brushing his teeth for the same reason as QJ. Hahaha... he will brush twice in the morning and once before he goes to bed.

Why twice in the morning? Cos one before we leave my house for my mum's hse then at my mum's place he will ask for it when he sees my dad brushing his. Hahaha... then after brushing, he will let you smell his fresh breath.

Slimz, Pardon me din noe milk teeth can stay till adulthood. Wah like that must make him start on solid foodliao...scaryleh.

Val,gabby's mum, BBnGG, Are there toothpaste that no flavour tasteles kind so that they don swallow it?

Oh no..seems like my boy progress very slowleh he has yet to pose the trait to follow what we doleh. Anyway will try to let him hold the toothbrush himself. Try to clean while he is sleeping, he seem to noe toss and turn keep his lips sealed...sigh.

Brush teeth:
Jr is ok with brushing teeth, every morn he sees us brushing, he'll use his finger to do the brushing action, as say "eee eeee eee", the sound of brushing teeth. :p

I'm using the first teeth toothbrush now. Talking abt it, if anyone got BN first teeth toothbrush, can sell me? Wanna put 1 at my mum's place too.. if not my poor mum will kena bitten by jr when use finger to brush. Havent opended the toothpaste yet.. lazy to try. lol

Val:
QJ is gd at eating! I'm waiting for this day to come, when jr can eat our food. Then I no need to so mafan liao.. go travel also easier!

Oh yest, jr vomit again. My parents say he cry till vomit... Hai... Hope it's just choke n not sick.. he still seems happy n active yest, appetite also gd. Though sleepy, cos he skipped his afternoon naps!