(2007/11) November MTBs

Heard and read abt the rains and floods in Singapore. haah... MY friend working in PUB, getting super busy. hahaha...

Michviv: Thanks, finally had time to start catching up on my blog posts, even though I m still 2 mths behind haha. For Shannon, I felt bad, cos I act did a lot more for Matt to track his development or even to help to develop him. Now with 2 kids, simply no time. I just let her do what she can do naturally. She started to flip late back and forth late also, cos she was having all these trouble with the runny nose during winter so we seldom let her have a lot of tummy time. But as the weather warmed up, no more runny nose, she picked up really quick. Now we have to keep an eye on her all the time cos she disappears to below the table, gets out of the bumbo to try to push Matt's toy car. But it seems like she is picking up stuff quicker, maybe it's cos there is Matt for her to follow, whether it's a gd example or bad one. hahaa

grace, i know its a tad late, but congrats.
I really super duper busy.... getting ready all the stuff i need to buy during GSS before I feel that we will be adequately prepared.

Hi mummies! Today is my second day at work and I'm already reeling from the length of my to-do list. Aw well, guess I got to take things easy. Anyhow, I miss my boys and my time at home...Mummies who are still on maternity leave or going to pop soon, enjoy your time at home whilst you can...back to meeting now...sigh...

Smilemum: When are u leaving?

Ueno: Thanks for informing but still stuck in office and by the time i go, all the nice ones will be gone. Hope u manage to grab some gd deal.

Michviv: Did u meet up with the mummies for hi-tea last Friday? Hee...guess it'll take some time for u to adjust bk to wk, i'm sure yr kiddos miss yr time with them too. Can only look forward to the bonding time at night and during weekends now.

Ueno, u no good... tempt us! :p Did u buy a lot?

Grace, how is it going for u?

My office just banned SG motherhood forum!

I really respect the secretaries... dunno how they settle the work.. I already peng san trying to settle my boss stuff... Keeping my fingers crossed that I m able to find something related to finance soon!

kaye..
going ok. finally up and running. flu n cough gone..new CL ok lah. and i am counting the days to the end of confinement.. 17 more days...

as for the "mi su", hahah bo pian also have to finish loh. cannot read SMH so often....

Grace, jiayou!! very soon, it will be over!!

Yalor, ever since i started on this job... no time to go SMH but quite sianz to realise tt it is being banned liao when i m free to surf!!!

Ueno, wow.. that's a lot leh!! Must be super good bargains!

mummies, is it normal for our kid to snore during the sleep.. those kind of snore till breathless type.. cannot breath for few secs and snore again.. it worries me.. it is allergy or nose sinus??

Any good air purifier recommend?

my girl has been snoring for few weeks and i tot she is too tired initally.. then its getting more frequent and I changed her pillow so that she can have a better sleeping posture.. but it did not..

HELP!

mambobb,
i bring aslyn to the pd.
Her problem is passed down from daddy la.. then she prescribed Zytec n it works.
u can buy from pharmacy...

grace: The medication needs to take for long or only few days? I am still monitoring her condition.

I hv nose sinus and my hb has snoring problem.. dont know is it the combo of both of us.. haha..

I read on web saying that her bad behaviour in the daytime will lead to the sleeping pattern. If it is really that case, it will pass the phase. If nt need to bring her to see PD liao.

Worst, need to operate to remove the enlarge "tornsil" right?

mambobb: allergies are heredictary, especially if both parents have it. Matt and Shann have such allergies too. Zyrtec works for Shannon but not Matt. So it really depends. You can use zyrtec or claritin. Both quite mild actually. But not advisable for long term. Point is if it is that serious an allergy, then must try to identify the allergy. Whether it's dust, pollen, or etc. At home, my ear specialist told me no carpets, no curtains, use any dust mite bedsheets and change freq etc. Alot of work. Sometimes may not be worth it. But my kids' allergies are better now that winter is over. As for purifier, I think singapore shd be ok. The point is you will go out anyways, so what if the air is clean at home. Check out askdrsears.com for more infor. I think there is a section on allergies.

mambobb: Ethan had that issue as well,especially when he fell sick and he would cough alot too. We have cut down our aircon use (only used to cool down the room) then off. Cutting down aircon has helped him alot. If the nose is really blocked you can try to use nose drops for a few days. But keep in mind that these only can be used for a max of 5 days consecutively.

Jennifer: Yes! TGIF! We are going on a road trip to Malacca this weekend. =))

michviv: Her nose blocked is not due to flu or anything.. it is just snoring till breathless type

Tinkabel: I consider air purifier for nite sleeping. At least not so dusty? hahaha.. Now i am considering to get a part time cleaner.. once every 2wks.. hopefully this will improve our hm condition first.

Michviv, enjoy your trip!

Mambobb, ya.. allergies are inherited. Is possible that C is tired that's y she snored? Claire also has this problem occassionally. Also, u might want to send her to test for any possible allergies that might cause her snore?

wished i can join in for tea too....

K@ye~hummm then how resign n look for another?

tinkabel~hee lucas too is very busy n active :p

smilemum~best of luck ya
another page of ur lives

mambobb,
Cailyn could be having allergies; best to check if you're still worried.

k@ye,
how's the job hunt? i'm also thinking of testing the market as current job is not motivating me anymore.

weishy,
lucas turning ONE soon hor. u must be busy with the Big One Bday prep. Have a good time ya!

re: weighty issues
actually i'm worried about chloe's current wt n ht stats. she doesnt seem to be growing much n her wt has dropped n maintained that way for months! at 32months, she still looked like she's around 18-24months leh. me & hb not petite type but how come she ends up like that ah? *scratch head* and she's picky about her milk - i tried giving her Pediasure and S26 but she rejected both with only 2 tiny sips - saying loudly "I don't want SOUR milk!" sigh... how ah??

Kittybride,

mine too... Jermaine will be 36 mth this coming Nov! She's only 86cm and 11.8kg. Have been giving her Pediasure but it does not help at all! Gosh! She is the shortest in her play group. The rest of the peers are a head taller than her....

Jenn,
Chloe is still smaller size than Jermaine at 85cm & 10.5kg. she's the smallest in her N1 class and also smaller than the newbies in Toddler class! even the newbies' mommies thought she's new coz sometime she will still CRY when we reach the childcare. sigh... so fragile lor.

Weishy, dunno... very tired to look for another one... Will just kept on praying hard that things will improve.. coz i did talk to my boss abt it.. he told me to give him TIME!!!

Kitty, job market is definitely good.. U can go n try it out!

On weight/height issues, Claire also seems to like stop growing... and her best fren who is 6 mths younger than her is the same height as her!!! But, i will think as long as they re healthy its okie.. Dun worry too much, scully, they will give u another growth SPURT!

mambobb: There cld be a few possibilities for C's snoring. I casually chk with my paeds trained nursing friend and she told me it cld be allergy (to the environment) or large tonsill cld be another cause for the snoring problem. Her snoring started recently? If so, did she has stuffy and itchy blocked nose weeks before? She also mentioned to monitor the child behaviour and sleeping pattern. A more detailed investigation, if necessary, is to conduct sleep test. As always, to be very certain, u can bring her to a pd or specialist to check. Dun worry ya.

Kitty & Jen: How are your girls' sleep patterns like? Do they get enough sleep at night? Ethan sleeps at 9pm and wakes up at 7am. He also naps 1.5-2 hours in the afternoon. I have friends who let their kids sleep at 11pm on weekdays and 1am on weeknights. Needless to say, they are 1 head shorter than their peers. Growth hormone is secreted during sleep you see...Just some thoughts.

How is their appetite? Do they eat well?

kittybride~yup yup but here in hkg...friends all flying so may nt hv so many turn ups.....if not much then just a simple luncheon hehheheh.

HAyley also nt big size le...also 11+kg only n of cos petite too......think girls are all smaller in size la.

pediasure sour meh????maybe fresh milk?

Me moving soon... gonna go to Finland in another month's time. And, I'm still unpacked. I am so so upset with having to work and juggle so many things. I dunno if I'll do it well being a SAHM. I totally miss having time with my kids, but i really dunno why i am having very bad withdrawl syndrome but i cant put to words. I am feeling very unsettled, maybe in part I've never ever left comfort zone. worried, anxious, and fear, i keep saying it is ok, only 2 years. but i am still slightly scared... and the flight? Jerome will cry his head off.

Smile, dun be scared... everything will be fine. On the flight, dun think too much lah... U will survive!

Michviv, agree with u... unfortunately, coz of the travelling up & down... Claire also sleeps at 11pm n i m thinking of how to break this bad habit...

kittybride,

where do u bring ur child for checkup? I brought Jermaine to TMC, level 3, Dr Ang Ai Tin

michviv,

Jermaine sleeps around 9pm at night and wakes up around 9am. However, her appetite is not good. Doesn't like veg and meat...

Really worried

smilemum,
dun fret, it's normal to be anxious when venturing to the land of the unknown. but look at the bright side, the kids are still young but they get to be exposed to another different culture & place (plus they have 4 seasons leh, beta than hot & humid Spore!) and you can also enjoy time with them as a SAHM.
and there's our dear fren dreamer in netherland, keep in touch with her - i'm sure she will help you settle your worries with her experience.
jia you!!

michviv, k@ye, jenn,
chloe sleeps slightly later now coz she wants me to read ALL her story books before she agrees to go to bed! luckily for me, i keep only 10 in the bedroom, else it will be never ending!! so now it's between 9-9:30pm and wakes up around 7am to prep for CC.

like most toddlers, she refuses anything and everything GREEN-colored and altho she loves meat, she only eat chicken and fish.

this past wk she has a BIG appetite, eats 2 servings during dinner, half bowl of soup and still request for water. and later on, she'll either ask for biscuits or fruits! hopefully she'll continue this way n gain some weight lor.

but main thing is, so far she's pretty healthy (cross fingers!!!) and apart for her slight cough; she's ok.

weishy,
chloe also doesn't really like fresh milk; she prefers "Hot Milk"... she will remind me every time i asked by saying : "mamii, i want hot milk, i dun wan sour milk, ok?" hahahaa...

re:potty training issue
ladies, just want to know if your tod is diaper-free now? i have BIG prob with chloe on this area - she wants to go diaper free but refuse to go pee in the potty; end up she'd rather not pee or pee in her panties n then tell me. sigh...

even all the pretty training pants n panties i got her is not helping; she still wears them but with diapers! defeat the purpose, right? how ah?

Ya, I guess, i have to try to worry less and be more child like... have to take things as it comes.

My todd sleeps at 9.30pm now and still wakes up at 7 plus religiously.. haha... He's a good eater though, loves greens and now his fav is raw green cucumber... we were laughing and saying how easy to feed just buy cucumber and give rice la...

haha kittybride, chloe is so cute... my boy takes fresh milk, but he still takes 3x of hot milk per day... so he drinks quite a fair bit of milk.. As for toileting... positive reinforcement and experience for the child is most impt. If the first experience is successful and good, she will continue... so, u will have to catch her... initially, J will say he wanna go pee but he's jsut sitting n playing on the toilet bowl. Until one day... but still wearing diapers at night now...

Kittybride, re:potty training.

Hazel is only semi-potty train, so she's diaper free daytime except zzz. We will bring her every 1hr+ to the toliet to pee and she does it. We get her to tell us when she wants to pee but she still doesnt, instead sometimes she'll pee on the floor and she go get tissue to clean up her own mess! As for pooping she's still not doing it in the toliet. :p

Chole's CC doen't train her? My cousin's son in CC was trained by the CC.

mommies,
thanks for sharing on your toddler's potty-training experience.
i know chloe wants to be diaper-free during the day as well as there is only 2 of them (another gal) in her class still wearing diapers! but she just doesn't want to go pee in the potty/toilet!

i tried to bring her every hr but each time, she will scream n run away, saying she dun have pee pee. the next moment i turn around, she tells me "i shee shee edi" and stand there waiting to be cleaned.

as for potty training at the CC, feedback from her teacher is the same - chloe refuse to pee in the toilet; will just sit for awhile n then say she dun hv pee pee.

and she poops standing up - until we force her to sit in the potty n have to accompany her (coz she has bad constipation; end up poop with sweat and tears each time)

anyways, perserverance... i'll keep trying!

kittybride: We potty trained Matt in the last 3 weeks. He's quite good already. My mum bluff him say if he pee in his pants, she will bring him to the dustbin. He got scared. Anyways now we go out, he still wear diapers but will tell us that he want to pee and ask us to bring him to toilet. So far so good.

Smile: Don't worry, you will do fine. As for the flight, if u can take the nite flight, will be better, so that they sleep. Leaving overseas is not that bad after all. But just make sure u bring all the necessary medicines and the soup ingredients etc. Other than that, just enjoy your time there, dont stress.

kittybride, if it's like this. it sounds like the child is not ready. might wanna put it off for a while like a month then prep her then do it again. if she is ready to try, she will communicate to u, or be more willing. 1st time is most impt.

Tinkabel: I'll be taking the night flight. I guess I'll still be breathing when we arrive at Finland and yes, i intend to buy loads of chinese stuff... now, i really realise and feel chinese.

kittybride~tried fresh milk ( japanese~warm up ) n was oki hehehheeh so i can give her now since its nt so heaty as well ma.

Green veges~Hayley's fine with it hehehe,if whole bowl veges also oki ...like no meat :p the best oart is she dun like chicken mcnuggets ,funny for a kid.

Diaperless~Hayley's been diaperless since 2 but......since didi out....these 2 months she wans her diaper...she says "im a baby too" n even pee on her undies
...so abit headache.

Actually a video of how other same aged kids pee or poo will help cos this is experiment on one of my colics DD....she showed her hayley's pooing video n it helped :p

so maybe can try?

Re: Potty Trained
My son start to go diaperless in the daytime recently. I tried bringing him out to shop without diaper too. So far so good but I still let him wear diaper during nap time and at night.

Hmm...occasionally, he will protest against wearing the diaper to sleep but then he will still wet his diaper during sleeping time. *faint* So this bad mummy will force him to wear diaper to sleep.

Oh...did you all bought the toddler's toilet seat to put on our toilet at home to train them?
Mine refuse to sit on it...still prefer his potty. How???

Potty Trained:
My C was trained from CC and so far so good. When they started to train her, over the wkend i let her diaperless and let her pee on the floor and kept telling her that if she wants to pee she has to tell me.. so far so good.

Nw same as Gelyn, she doesnt want to wear diaper in the nite and have to explain to her she needs it coz she will pee in the sleep and still wet herself too..

Kitty: mayb buy pretty panties for her? It works well on Cailyn..

I am new and wish to join in the group discussion. May I??

I have a Nov 07 boy who still cannot express himself well in term of a complete sentence, still blabbler when he talks. very baby-lish.How can i help to improve in his speech??

re:potty trained
My son also refused to be pee n poo poo into the potty. He would rather do the above mentioned onto his diapers. He wont notify us about when he needs to pee or poo...How??

re:Childcare/playgroup/K1
May I check if there is any good school around holland/clementi/west coast areas???

re:dentist
May I check what is the recommended age for bb to visit a dentist??? any children dental clinic for recommendation??

I am sorry for so many questions and inconvenience caused...

Re: Toilet training
ZY also go diaperless in the daytime except nap and night time cos we dun want to take chances since she still co-sleeps with us. Any tip to drop this beside putting mattress protector??

Kittybride,
if u dun want battles, its best to wait for chloe to be ready n enthusiastic.. i waited a few mths tho i intro potty n potty book way ahead but she juz aint interested n i din pursue. As i was heavily pregnant then, so i still let her wear diaper but i will ask if she wanna go toilet wif me since mommy needs a pee. At times she get it and i will reward her wif stickers etc... Then coincide with her going to CC, upon seeing other children go toilet/potty n pee, she seem eager to do so and one day, the principal sees that she can go toilet n take off her pampers herself, lets her go diaperless n fr then on, we juz move on.

For poo, if she still has diaper on, she tend to juz poo on it but i will observe n quickly bring her to toilet/potty for her to continue n remind her thereafter gotta go toilet/potty. Din really scold her even if she did pee/poo accidentally but muz praise when she did in potty/toilet.

I cheated a bit, saying the training pants r underwear n only big girls wear them
so i let her wear those at home. Hvnt find nice n cheap panties guess i will make do wif her diaper cover for the time being.. hee.

I read this thread on and off and I got one big question. I just pop my 2nd child, a daughter and I am wondering if I should let her sleep with us (me, hubby and son who a 07 Nov baby). My son sleeps with us since he was 2 month old and bf him until he was 2.5 years old! So I am wondering if i should let my daughter sleep with my maid, bottle feed more (so that not so clingy) OR.... let her sleep with us which may mean sleepless nights for myself, hubby and son, and definitely more attached to mommy (less travelling/going out at night).

What do you mommies do? If i let her sleep with maid, will she feel rejected?

olie,

my own experience:

my boy 2.5 yrs sleeps with dad in the room intended for my boy ( boy sleeps thru and dad needs to work so we arranged in this way) and I sleep with my daugher in master room cos daughter now only 11 months. Sleepless nights for both dad and me cos on and off they wakes up crying, wanted to be patted back to sleep etc.... or worse when they get sick but I know this phrase will pass soon.

During the day, I let the maid helps with their daily needs but I am the type that will not want my kids to be too close to maid and prefer maid to me. I know sooner or later my kids will grow up and no longer need me so now, I let them cling and cling, very tired but happy, in the future, I might be the one clinging to them :)

I trained them to sleep early so that sometimes me and hubby can go out and have a late dinner, now that both more or less will sleep thru (except some wakes in the middle of the night)I will tell the maid to keep an ear on their cries whenever we go out, so far so good, even they wakes up, they will go back to sleep after few patting. But I am definitely not comfortable with maid sleeping with my kids type.

It is a personal choice and depends on your own work schedule, I prefer maid to sleep well so that they are attentive to them in the day and I dun trust them to take good care of my kids in the night cos even myself sometimes so tired that I ignored them when they wakes up :)

RE: Toilet Training
A few weeks ago, Claire just expressed her wish of not to wear diapers and so far, there is only 3 cases of bed wetting (coz she was too tired to wake up n pee at nite)...

So i guess when they are comfortable without wearing their diapers, they will tell you eventually so no hurries. But on our part, we have to be alert, always bringing her to the toilet to pee... coz sometimes she is so engrossed with playing that she forgets the need to pee!

Hi ladies, me back in sg for next 3 seeks. Damn shack... two kiddos on flight today. But luckily still manageable. I am so proud of Matt today. We put diapers on for him cos we are on the move the whole day. He actually was able to tell us when he wants to pee. When we told them, the plane is landing, cannot go toilet, ask him pee into the diapers, he said no and ren until we touched down at the airport. His diaper was dry at the end of the day.

We can meet up some day for high tea or somethg. Esp those still on maternity leave. hahaha...