(2007/11) November MTBs

missA: Sure! No worries. I hope Ash enjoys her class. I wasn't very impressed with JG so didn't sign E up in the end. Yup! Will be getting the 25% discount on 3 months fees and $200 off the registration fees. Yah, that was one of the selling points was the outdoor playground. Its rather small but at least they have it as an option so they will alternative with sand play, water play and outdoor (playground) play.

For fusionopolis, do the kids get to explore outside at all?

Tinkabel: Hope Matt gets well soon.

Tinkabel,
hus to Matt too!

MissA,
aiyo, poor A, I guess with so many todds after same toys, hard to share. And some will always be more aggressive than the others, hopefully her new CC teachers are more vigilant.

Weishy, wow u bought it for Hayley too?

So funny, my Mum told me that Claire cried big time when she saw my younger bro this morning but she is ok with him carrying her to the nanny's pl... Strange gal.

Tinkabel: Hugs to Matt, hope he gets well soon. Btw, u'll be flying bk to Spore soon right?

Poissons: The jeans diapers looks cool but too expensive. Will be good if our tods can verbalise they wanna go toilet, then 1 day use 1 pc, $0.80 still ok. Kee kee...

zzz: Hw are u doing? And hw's little girl inside doing?

Cactus,
ZY especially like to poo on a fresh piece of diaper lor..

Kat, i think its a bad habit for them to poo on a fresh piece of diaper... Claire also has this bad habit...

Sometimes, we also look out for her signal to poo.. n if her mood is good, she will tell us that she wants to poo and we put her on the potty!

Ya, will be leaving Shanghai next Wednesday, so I need Matt to be perfectly ok before that, else, we all will be quarantined upon arrival at Singapore. Worst thing is I still have one last week of work in Singapore and I cannot be quarantined. Sigh... Fever's been going up and down. I haven't slept much for the past 2 nights already. Now his fever is back down, hopefully will remain like that.

missA,
Poor A
i agree tat standard not as good. the teachers can describe how the kid got wounded but they cant stop them. tat happended to J too & I gave the teacher a "lecturing" over the phone. Also, J is coughing & they still give him food like peanut butter, biscuits, milo, etc. Haizz. if this continues, i might consider changing cc too. i did look ard CCs near my hse but i still find tat the env of the current cc is still the best. there's even 1 CC tat got a huge layer of dust on the kids' artwork hanged on the walls.

Lazykat/K@ye: I know i know, wear 1 extra diaper underneath the expensive one. In tat way, u discard only the cheaper one and can still wear bk the denim diaper outside and it stays the whole day. Ha...crazy idea.

Tinkabel: Next Wed not too bad, am sure Matt will recover by then. Jia you!

lazykat, A poo in her swim diaper almost everytime we bring her to the pool!

michviv, I don't think there is any outdoor play at Fusionopolis and the indoor playground is quite pathetic
When are you sending E there? Is it open yet? Mine supposed to open 1st July and tillnow I hv yet to hear from MC. Their service sucks big time.

Catherine, The teachers seems to be changing very frequently. Yesterday I dun even get the daily report in the notebook not like it helps. I told the teacher to note down the nap timeand everyday they put 12.30pm to 3pm! I know she does not sleep so long sometimes they feed her meds after nap which is like 1.40pm in the medical record book. You know previously I wrote to feed the meds at 1.30pm and the teacher actually woke her from her nap to feed her the meds. I was like huh can't you be more flexible, wait till she's awake? Her meds went missing yesterday!

I MIA very long. Really busy wit 2 kids. BTW, anyone going to US soon? I tot of getting a bb product which is only available there. It will be great if someone can help to buy it for me. :p

missA and Catherine: seems like gotta look around soon... if turnover is high, then definitely not good news.

CC: J was supposed to start school this week, but due to his school having HFMD cases, we postpone till next week, and since yesterday, he's been sporting a runny nose. Haiz... not fated leh... but now I put him on chinese med, see if it helps.. If after 3 days still runny, then postpone for another week.

Really hope he can start school soon, so my 1 month seperation anxiety limit for him ends when I just return to work...I also worry though I know it will and must happen. hahaha...

MissA: do they change diapers for the kids lying down? Think for tots, they change them standing up, so the chance of using wet wipes is 0. Unless, the child has diaper rash, they will change him lying down. That's the norm practice, i heard..

smilemum, they are changing the diapers standing up. Maybe that's why they also dun bother with the nappy cream

Wish X a speedy recovery!

MissA, Smilemum,
not even wet wipes ah.. hmmm till today i still change ZY lying down and spray water, use wet wipes and apply cream.. super KS.

K@ye, Cactus,
2 layers isnt it hot? Actually cos she tends to poo after drinking milk (like half an hr later), and by then we would hv changed a new piece.. so that partially explains too. Bo pian if she likes to poo at nite after her milk feed and bath!

no wet wipes.... they normally change at 10.30am, then shower at 12.15pm...
in my own personal experience, if the tot washes b4 school and changes at 8am, then 1030 just new diaper, then 12.15pm then shower and change again... normal skin is no issue. But if the kid is hyper sensitive, then prob lah.. but hor, in my line of work, I've taken care of more than 20 tots in the cos of work, only 1 got prob. then we will wash him and pat dry and apply diaper cream at 10.30 too.

So, for my J, I know what to expect liao. hahaha

smilemum, you mean the teacher really wont bother to use the wet wipes? aiyo so dirty leh. I also think they get the tods to drink water too_Once I mix her water with gripe water before cc and when I wash the bottle in the evening, the water still smell of gripe water so I tasted it and still sweet

the teacher just called to inform that A was bitten again! This time the attacker came from the backand bite her shoulder. The teacher said that A din wan to share the mj paper & crayons which was on the floor & pushed the classmate away so end up kena attacked. Told her I am unphappy that this is the 2nd incident this week liao!

Lazykat, Plim, Yoko, zzz and Gelyn - Could you please confirm your attendance for our gathering. Thanks thanks!

Kat, that's Cactus funny thinking lah... And i dun think it works! So, kat u look out for her signs to poo and put her on the potty... Saves $$$...

MissA, wow the attacker so fierce!!!

missA,
nope not J. teacher will call if it's J. there's once J did bite some1. i felt so sorry for the kid. J also v remorseful after tat...

MissA: Depends on centre lah... if the parent specifies to clean with wet wipes, then normally gotta follow. But hor, u think la, if the kid is standing upright to change, then use wet wipe to clean where? Cant really clean the genitals right? However, if the kid poo, they will wash them with water.

But, I've been reading that this CC that u send to seems to have too many accidents. probe and make sure the principal knows u r unhappy. By normal standards, they should have a log of who's biting under whose care and how it happened and they gotta watch the biter. Prevent the biter from striking. Like u mentioned your kid kena again today and the teacher knows the attacker was offended, then what is she doing? How many kiddos to teacher? Cos I also had experience of 1 biter in the class, but very very aggressive. There was once, it was weekly, different targets... we kena left right centre... cos this girl has been in infant care into tots and knows us like the back of her hand. She doesn't bother about us, cos she knows we cant do much... Thank God in the end, we devised a strategy to counter her. We took turns to stand next to her... haha.. teh min she move and look at the 'victim' we scream her name and all go for her. FOr biters, the only way is prevent them from attacking and attacking.And her daddy whacked her big time!! So, whenever she doesnt listen, we'll say, call daddy ok? Cos her parents and us like frens so she knows we can tell her dad. BTW, the log thinggy, the school cant let u see or know, cos it's to protect the biter. Biters are usually innocent, please understand the biter. I will blame the teachers if it happens at this freq...

CC: One thing about CC... think u ladies must know.. it's not gonna be like as clean as PDS or JG cos it's CC. The teachers gotta teach, watch out for accidents, feed, teach them eat, play, a lot of stuff with 8 children. It's a lot of work... even with 1 child at home, we pull hair, so a lot of times at CC, kid is left alone to make decisions for themselves. they fall, they stand up... so long as not gonna go into the canal, teacher will observe only.. cos not possible to be beside... and cleanliness... I will say, it's not GUG, it's a place where 60 - 70 chn stay for 12 hrs and do all their daily businesses. so, sometimes, it's dirty dirty grow up. No matter how good a childcare, bound to have issues. IN Australia, they dun have CC, cos CC teachers/ preschool teachers (same cert) costs AUD50 per hour. IN SG??? A lot of people dun wanna be in this line cos of the low low pay... for me, I was a biz grad, then changed to this, cos I loved chn to bits... I still do.

smilemum, I asked the teacher if A's attacker is the same child but she says no. If we ask A, she'll say it's Yana that because this Yana bit her before while they were at infant care. The teacher will always apologise profusely and promise to be more alert but it's just empty promises.

Call the principal direct... And when things improve and u think the teachers are doing their job, 'bribe' the teachers with treats or thank you cards... they are human, won't be too happy if u go to principal... but in view that they haven been acting too much, just lip service, gotta give some pressure.

Bad hor..
no choice, still gotta bear in mind, if you want the teachers to be main caregivers, u dun want the teachers to think this child got a very troublesome mum.... u understand what I mean..

Ask u all har... I gotta buy new steriliser for my #2. My #1 i bought a pigeon steriliser which died within a year... after that my mum cleverly invented the wok steaming technique. Now I thinking of buying AVENT cos can get some disc. Is it good? Any feedback?

K@ye:no la so ex u think i siao liao ar kakakakkakak

smilemum:hee this time i also use the steamer( 3 tier type) for sterilising bottles liao co si borrowed my old one to a fren and she's still using it :p

Any mummies here can share with mi is ur tot benefit from e programme u arrange for them? Which centre u sent to?? How old is ur child den?
I'm just wondering if i teach him myself will be beta? Currently my is with Wiggle learners which i donno will he learn things from there.

smilemum, I am still using a very old Avent. The pigeon which we bought, I gave it away. Dunno why just prefer the Avent.

Smilemum, steaming = sterilising also.. In fact, i used the boiling method to sterilise Claire's bottles till she is 6mths old.

On CC, i agree with u... I only can't take it when the teachers saw the toddlers fighting & dun break them up. True, biters are innocent... its a phrase that they will outgrow...

Okie, then I'll buy the Avent... My ds still has his bottls sterilised... supposed to transit to cup, hahaha... but still bottle... heee... i lazy, wait for him to go cc first..
Thanks for the i/p

missA: MC@Tanglin commences operations in August. I'm putting E in when he turns 2 so that will be in November. So far my experience has been rather good. Everything has been coordinated by the franchise owner and she is a primary school teacher. But this week onwards, the principal is taking over.

smilemum: My pigeon sterilizer died too and nearly too my fridge with it! May consider Avent in future for #2 but for now, we use the 3 tier wok steamer. Its worked fine for us so far.

Lazykat: No lah, dun take me seriously for the 2 layers diaper thingy. Was just joking. Kee kee...

Smilemum: We used to use Avent too till it died almost 3 months ago. Nw we use the conventional method to boil the bottles and the steriliser serves as bottle holder. Not sure abt Pigeon though.

Wow, it's gd to have a CC teacher like u to share the "insider" news abt CC. Agree with the things u mentioned, but just tat when things happen to our own kid, we flare up:p

michviv, I was told various versions on the discount.

1. First 30 to sign up
2. First 30 to start class
3. must start within 3 mths of the centre's operation

At first i wanted to start Jan 2010 but by then discount not avail. Latest I hv to start is Sept 09 (centre target to open 1 July).

Told them I hv to give current cc 1mth notice, till now have not heard from MC.

Mummies, hope someone can advise me:

i had been experiencing giddiness since monday and hv visited the doc on wednesday. He couldnt diagnose anything except that it could be due to fatigue or probably the beginning of a flu virus that causes this giddiness.
At first we suspected high blood pressure OR pregnancy. but my blood pressure was normal, heart rate was normal too. and tis morning my menses came, so these 2 possibilities hv been ruled out.

I am jus so worried i might hv any 'hidden' illness and this could already be a sign. and the first few days i even felt nauseous n an increased in appetite.
the more i think abt it the more i am worried cos i dunno what is atually happening to me ....

MM: sometimes, it could be due to stress or some virus infection that is going to hit u soon.. I got it when I was working quite unhappily... So, dun tink too much... shouldn't be anything...

MM: I'm no doctor, also cant advise much. But i think low blood/low sugar level can also cause one to feel giddy. Or cld it be fatigue + pre-menstral symptom? Monitor yrself and consult another doc if still not getting better within the next few days. Take gd care.

MM:If you don't feel well, you should definitely get it worked up. That has happened to a number of my husband's patients, 1 just came to his clinic 3 or 4 times a day to say that he felt very anxious and unwell but nothing wrong upon initial examination. Hubby sent him for a few additional tests and found out that he had a thyroid problem. If you're ok, you could see my hubby (Dr Chua)at his clinic at Tampines.

Central 24hr Clinic
Blk 801 Tampines Ave 4 #01-259
Singapore 520801

missA: The discount is quite consistent at Tanglin branch leh. Only for first 25 to sign up. Registration discount ($200 off)extended to end July. No other rules besides that. Maybe you should email them or call them? The staff there respond to my email within 1 day. Today the principal called me to follow-up. I think its better to chase them than wait for them to get back to you. How's the response like so far for the fusionopolis branch?

MM,
Could it be inner ear imbalance? my hubby had this prob and it caused giddiness, so bad that he can't drive at times. He was prescribed to some meds by the GP and then the giddiness went off. Maybe you just monitor first, stay positive

MM, perhaps better to get a 2nd opinion from ano doc?

michviv, congrats! your hubby has his own practice now? previously u mentioned he was at Q'town Poly. I just called MC, they will be opening in abt 2 weeks' time.

michviv, yes i did suspect thyroid, aneamic etc...i am also thinking of seeking 2nd opinion, cos its definately a cause for worry cos i've been feeling this way for a number of days already.

can u roughly describe what kind of tests will be carried out?

smilemum/cactus/poissons/missA, thanks for all ur concerns, hope things are fine i will monitor for another day and see how.

missA: Yes! He now has his own clinic in Tampines. =) Has been opened for about 2 months plus now. I can tell he is much happier as he can do much more for his patients than be restricted like in the public sector. Glad you heard from MC. =)

MM: It will most likely be a blood test to look at the levels of the different hormones and your blood level but as to the exact test, its up to the doctor as he will use it to confirm his diagnosis. But in some instances, the dr may also order some scans.

My hubby is quite meticulous about this and takes on similar cases where many GPs would have already referred them away. I also find that he gives very good explanation to patients so you will definitely know what he is trying to investigate. He'll be around tomorrow from 7am - 1pm and Sunday night from 6 - 10pm so feel free to go down if you don't feel well still. Have a speedy recovery...

michviv, the principal just called me. She says the PG class is full. Ashlee will prob be the last to join, the rest in July & Aug.

MM I also have ear imbalance like Poissons hubby. Giddy untill sometime cannot drive and i found that it's because of fluid in my ears, nose and throat. Doctor ever prescribe medication to reduce the nausea. It helped but what really helped me was to take a LOT of rest so maybe you need to do that too ya? Initially i thought it was because of my Lupus but it turned out not to be the case. But do take Michviv's advise go see a 2nd opinion to get an ease of mind for yourself as well as your family.