(2007/11) November MTBs

mambobb, kitty, my A the opp dun like to be carried. Everytime say "walk walk" and struggle to get down. Sometimes need to carry her esp when crossing road or rushing for time. Very frustrating...

lazykat, grace, skye, my A dunno why hv no patient when it comes to reading. I hv never succeeded in reading to her
Hiaz, wonder how to cultivate this?

grace, dreamer, u very can leh. We dun dare leave A to zzz on her own in the room. I'll lv her to roll ard and fall asleep on her owm while i watch Tv beside her kekeke. We are thinking of letting her sleep in her room when she turns 2, it'll be a hugh challenge.

skye, is E allergic to dust? she scratch herself or the bedsheet har?

poissons, catherine, i also heard of Shan Dong. My colg went to chk it out one evening and reported that thr's not a single patient in sight so unlike Yu Guo. In the end, none of us dare try.

Hey Mummies: I need a favour. Are there any of you who do not sterilise your milk bottles anymore? I was thinking of borrowing an Avent steriliser cos it's too cumbersome to bring mine back from Shanghai. Can anyone lend theirs to me?

Skye,
ZY sometimes scratch herself till bleeding, not sure if its the fabric or wat? I can only try to prevent by cutting her nails short, and sleeping in aircon.. dunno wat else to do.

MissA,
instead of reading a story, its more like pointing the pics with words on the book. So she will either flip to the page and say it herself, or we say it to the page she flips. Now she has remembered most of those words, then we move on to books with 1,2 sentences. But she will only pick out words or pics she know, so I dun bother to read the whole book. She is learning her A,B,C now and I reinforce it with watching Elmo's Alphabet Jungle. This morning instead of wanting to watch DVD, she prefers to flip her books!

Always place the books accessible to them, start with words/pics that interest them, pick a time when they are in a good mood.. and from there, its quite easy to cultivate but of course takes some time.

Tinkabel,
We r still sterilizing, if not will be passing to my sis-in-law.

missA,
actually Eliza will flip page here and there and find the page she likes. i have to read really fast b4 she turns the page! recently i managed to read the whole book to her (those v.little words one) w/o her stopping me.
maybe can choose books that have animals or stuff that A likes to get her interested, even if it's just see see a page or two. and those identifying objects books are great as a start too.
regarding scratching, don't think it's dust cos she'll only do that for bedtime. naptime no issues even tho it's the same room, same bed. sigh...longtime problem liao...hope she'll outgrow it.

lazykat,
same here..if we forget to cut her nails, her arms and legs so many scratches! hai...no pretty skin liao...i'm quite a loss at this scratching thing and can't find anything off the internet on it either.
wah...yr girl can read the words? i'm so half half teaching reading words like the flashcards stuff i think i'll restart when i'm more ready..heee..

lazykat, skye, based on your description, A does read her sesame st & barney board books. my little touch pad is still a white elephant. Tried that on her, she nearly spoilt it as the pages are soft and she crumble them.

Last night A woke up twice in the night and cry big time. She was a little feverish too. Hope tonight will be eventful for us.

miss A, a baby monitor will put your mind to ease if u r worried abt A. but now, i don't even on the monitor, cos we sleep in the next room and can hear her quite well. and think also cos we are used to it already. =P

missA: We starting reading to E since he was 3 months old as part of his bedtime routine but its not too late to start now! We usually go for our evening walk, then once we are back at home, E will choose his books and we go to our bedroom to read. I usually let him choose if he wants to sit in my lap or between mummy and daddy. They are usually more cooperative if they are given choices. =) Its not easy and they may struggle at first but soon they will know its part of their routine. If we have new books, E can sit down and read with us for half an hour but usually its about 15 minutes.

Now after I read a story, E will say "Ethan read" and then he will describe what happens at each page from memory whilst flipping the pages. hehe.

tinkabel: My sterilizer went kaput some months back and instead of buying a new one, I just sterilise using my steamer pot (which we use sometimes for steaming fish etc.). I only sterilize once a day now. So far, no problems.

mambobb: E also wants me (in particular) to keep on carrying him, especially at night. I try to trick him by saying "Oh, Mummy has got something to show you" then ask him to walk after I point it out. It works most of the time. =)

Hehe... Claire also loves to scratch. Now, no need to rub back.. Its scratching (this bad habit is partly cultivated by my Mum)... So, she will take my hand and scream, "Scratch" in Cantonese.. this part or tat part..

Claire is a Cantonese speaking toddler... Hehe, i think my MIL now no choice but resigned to her fate that Claire speaks cantonese to everyone!!!

Good morning ladies!

Poissons / Kitybride - Ash is taking his MMR jab separately cos I kiasu, i am just afraid of the autism issue although i know it is not proven. But since now they have the option of having the vaccine separately and it is also the same dosage given as the 3-in 1, so thats y i decided to do it over 3 times rather than once.....

Kittybride - PD advise that latest to give our kiddo the MMR jab is by 2 years old.

Reading - We have not started the routine yet! Normally after his wipe and change of pj, he will just toss and turn on his own in his bed and sleep after that, without anyone in the room.... I am thinking of bringing him to the library just to look at books.... and slowly start the routine.

Ash broke his record last night, he drank 10oz (33oml) of milk at 12.30am and woke up at 530am this morning for another 9oz (300ml)....

missA: Let me know if you're coming down to PDS for a trial this weekend. =) Oh, by the way, I went for the open house on Saturday at Mindchamps and I'm quite impressed by the curriculum and teachers. Most likely, we will be signing E up for classes there. =)

Chicken Pox vaccine: Any mummies have given this jab to their babies. Any fever or rashes post-jab? I need to know so that I can plan my leave if I bring E for the jab.

michviv
C had her CP vaccine together with MMR @ 18M, recommended by her PD.

so 2 shots in ONE day - no wonder how she has phobia coz she will CRY when we rch the PD's clinic and not even step into the PD's room!!

so far i'm quite lucky coz C doesnt have any fever after major jabs

Michviv,
G has his chicken pox vaccine 1.5mths back. He had it with his 5 in 1, only slight fever for 2 days and he was fine..no rashes break out. He is scheduled for his MMR this Thur..oh dear oh dear..

missA,
J also same as A! always wanna walk. he will shout "walk walk" & struggle to get down. yday we ran into a fren & he keep shouting 走. so paiseh. nowadays we dun even bring pram when we go out. unless he took v short nap in afternoon & we wan him to nap again.

Skye,
scratching aint a recurring prob for ZY, so long she doesnt scratch, the wound actually heals up very fast. Just gotta keep her cool when she sleeps, cos mine cant withstand heat.

MissA,
ZY cant read the words (Except the letters) cos i know she rely on the pics even tho there r also words on the books. I meant to let her increase her vocab usage before reinforciing the words. One step at a time lor.

ASHM,
library is a good place too, but ZY started by re-arranging the chairs, and now taking each book at 1 time. Sometimes she even sit next to another mommy who is reading to her kids, and i just let her be as long as she is not disturbing them

Michviv,
ZY din react to CP vaccine, and she took it with her 6-in-1 and not MMR as advised by the PD. It really depends on his immunity then and how he reacts ultimately, but i rem the chance is pretty low.

Kat, ZY also skin sensitive and got eczema? We always keep Claire cool... Tat's y always sleep in aircon... I find ways to distract her from scratching.

Poissons, Claire always kena fever for whatever jabs she has... So if G dun hv such reaction, then no worries.

K@ye,
no leh, so far her skin is not dry, and she only scratches the back near the shoulder area a few times (maybe its the label that irks her or she simply itchy fingers i guess) but cos she keeps on scratching the same part, until it bleeds
These few days she is back to "normal" so the wound finally has a chance to heal.

She has been sleeping in aircon since day 1 if not she will go eh eh and wake up if too warm.

michviv,
Eliza had her chicken pox jab with one of the other jabs...which i forgot what already. remembered that she was quite unhappy every time she saw the plaster, cos it reminded her of her jabs. Anyway she didn't have any fever or side effects that was noticable after the jab.

She's due for MMR already last week and i haven't bring her to the PD yet!

K@ye / Lazykat,
Eliza also sleeps in air-con room...at least for these few weeks cos it's so hot. But it is a long recurring problem, so long that i can't remember when it started. still doesn't solve the scratching problem. it continues to be a mystery to me :S

Skye², the scratching is actually a habit... Hehe, Claire also has this bad habit since she was diagnosed with eczema since 3 mths old so we scratched for her... at least we know how to scratch without hurting the skin.

Chicken pox vaccine: Thanks mummies for the feedback. That puts my mind at ease. I have been meaning to give him the jab soon. Maybe this week or next week. See how.

MMR: That was quite a tough episode for E. Like some mummies have already described, the effects only come in about 5 days to a week later. E had some rashes but the most worrying was the unremitting fever. Had to dose him round the clock and sponge. He was also very cranky then. Luckily its all over now. Just be prepared...

lazykat/skye skye:hayey also scratches but her back of her head cos weather too hot n sweaty la.........smetimes bleed too......

ASHM:congrats!!!!!!!hopefully ash can keep it up

Pneumococcal Vaccine
Any mummies let your child take this vaccine yet?

RE: Chicken Pox Vaccine
It is one jab or two jabs? Cos my niece took one jab but still have outbreak of chicken pox and when brought to the PD. He mentioned like one jab only 75% and have to take two jabs. Any advise?

Re: sleeping in aircon
Mine has been sleeping in aircon since day 1. He will get heat rash if it's too warm. So daytime, I normally let him wear those sleeveless top.

Gelyn, Claire took the pneumoccoal vaccine. 4 shots when taken before 1 year old. Very expensive jab but ok for a peace of mine.

Chickenpox vaccine is no gurantee one unlike MMR so I din let Claire took it lor.

Mummies - I have just sent you an email on our gathering - pls revert ok. Thanks!!

zzz - I dont seem to get your email add. Pls PM me ok. Thanks!

weishy - thanks!! Just only happened last night, so hopefully this is the new pattern he has now... But ten oz of milk is quite alot leh, heeheehee....

Gelyn: You're right that its advisable to take 2 jabs for higher protection. Like any vaccine, the more times our body is exposed to the virus particles, the more likely its able to remember and mount a response when it is infected. But I know most pp usually give 1 shot only.

Even if the child gets the infection, it will definitely be milder than the full blown disease both in terms of number of pox marks and duration of disease. Thats the primary reason why I'm keen.

Pneumococcal vaccine: We only gave E this vaccine after he turned 1 year old. 1 less shot required.

Gelyn,
according to my PD, even with 1 shot, the outbreak wont be as bad compared to those w/o any vaccine.. she recommends 1 is suffice. I hv bad scars fr my CP, still visible but luckily at hidden areas like neck, etc.. so i quickly let ZY take

We hv also finished 3 shots of PD vaccine, 1 less also. We tend to believe that having the vaccines are better off than none.. so we also give ZY rota virus when she was much younger.. better play safe..

K@ye: I thought of letting D take the jab. Also for peace of mind.

Michviv: Thanks for answering. Cos I got sort of confused for the chicken pox jab as I had heard some said one jab is enough and some said need to take 2.

Lazykat: I thought of letting him take since he didn't get the chicken pox from my niece.

Now I am thinking which jab to go first. Pheumococcal vaccine or Chickenpox?

gelyn: I have given Pneumococcal vaccine for cailyn before me sending her to cc. she has her last shot end of this month.. eh.. which is today hor.. hahaha.. will bring her this fri in case she is too weak to catch virus from others.

kaye: Chicken pox is not 99.999% huh? which means if we give the shot to our kiddos means they might get it somehow too?

oh, like that then not necessary to bring cailyn for Chicken pox jab lor.. sigh.. me still thinking want to give her that anot..

Weishy:

Have Hayley started at MMI yet? Cos my FIL just informed me that Sparkletots called and they have vacancies from August onwards for you and me. If you are interested, these are the things you need to provide:

1) Passport photo of kid
2) Birth cert of kid duplicate
3) Parents' IC duplicate
4) Health book records
5) Deposit of $900
6) One month payslip of mother

Also I think my FIL mentioned the principal wanted to meet with us. I will do it next week since I will only be back next week. She's going to hold the spaces for us for time being. Let me know if you are still interested. Thanks.

MUmmies:the limited one hor......got competition le at vivocity
can go try try

Tinkabel:tks tks cos they called me today and straight we called MMI to refund looooooo,so hayley will be there in AUGUST too
tomolo submittign doc and cheque
msn me la

the teacher also asked me about u but i told her i dunno cos ...i forgot when u come back kakkakakak :p

weishy: that's great, so much more convenient then and Matt will have company. haha... Are you doing the 1/2 day or full day though?

Sigh, Matt came down with fever for the 2nd time in the last month. Started yesterday morning and kept going up. By the time I got home from work last nite, his fever was like 39.3 deg, scare me. Brought him to the doc immediately, had the pill inserted in his butt to help bring down the fever faster. The whole night he kept waking up, this morning, fever was back down at 38.1 deg. Still need to monitor. Sigh...

good morning hows everyone??
So sianz leh now my office block forums, even this, so cannot even come in and read..
gotta try my luck, if heng heng then can access..hehe

ASHM,
I PMed u liaoz :D

Tinkabel,
Hugs to Matt, hope he is ok now.

Huggies Jeans Pants,
I heard it's abt $8+ for a pack, if it's the XL (10pcs), means per pc cost is abt 80+cents..so exp!

Poissons, the Huggies' limited edition jeans pants is expensive!

Tinkabel, Matt will be fine. just few weeks ago, my son also hit 39.4 deg and it took almost two days for the fever to go down. I also got shocked then. Need to monitor on and off...*pat pat*

Tinkabel - How is Matt today? He will be fine, dont worry too much ya...

Catherine - Thanks! I have not check my emails yet, will do so later....

zzz - Thanks, i will send the email to you shortly...

Poissons - Yes the huggies jeans pants is expensive, but very cute lor... Ash is using mamy pokor, not used Huggies before....

michviv, we'll give PDS a miss. A is starting JG this Sunday. I'm glad you like MC, are you entitled to the 25% discount? We drove past the Tanglin MC, it look nice,on top of the hill. My guess is you'll get an outdoor play area unlike Fusionopolis where it is confine to all indoors.

Catherine, Poor A has a hugh scratch under the eye on Monday. Teacher said she fought over a toy with a classmate and hence got scratched.I find the standard now very low leh. Everyweek she sure kena something and I doubt they even put diaper cream anymore though I gave specific instructions. Come to think of it I forgot to packwet wipes for a weekand nobody reminded me!!
Hiaz!!!

RE:Scratching
Seems like many toddlers do scratch. My A so far dun hv this habit. She loves to put cream and been opening all the tubes she can lay her hands on!

poissons:ya bt very ex le $8;30 for pack of 10 and already promo price...
i hv the pink version for hayley bought in hkg but not so ex le as i can remmeber

Tinkabel:wow high fever le...... take care loooo of matt.