(2007/11) November MTBs

Thanks mummies! Just had lunch with my mum and she was saying maybe i should go for a second opinion or another round of detailed scan. Let's see how things go.... The fact is that the white dot will not affect the growth of the baby so i guess i will just take it easy....

Tinkabel - Our gathering on July 26 will have durians puffs.... But if you would like to have the durains earlier, then got to organise another session.... Now that I have put on 8kg, i am watching my weight and hence no durains for me till the gathering

kittybride - i am doing a phone interview with 2 phil maids on wed. am paying $498 for the agent fee, the levy, test, loan, etc not inclusive. I am gettting someone experienced so thats y the agent's fee is higher......

Michviv, Kittybride,
i realise the best way to handle my gal is to let her scream it out first, while i just stand where i am ignoring her. Thereafter, will calm her by holding her then explaining to her what she does wrong. Now also trying to sign and teach her say I'm sorry, and once she did sign it to me w/o me prompting. But it needs to take lotsa patience!!

Mambobb, u good ah.. i also just teach the basic parts, added elbow yesterday only.

Kittybride,
did C pick up any dialect? I rem she is a Hainanese rite.. ZY's first audible Hainanese is sleep.. i dunno how to type the equivalent..

kittybride: I use the Sandra Boyton's book on body parts ("Horns to toes") to teach Matt. He knows all the parts now in both English and Mandarin (cos I also do Chinese flashcards with him). I realise Matt can recognise and match a lot more things that he can say, so have to keep reinforcing on the pronouciation so that he will learn. I guess slowly but surely... Hahaha... It is strange what words he pick up. Like he can now say words like earth, water, owl, grapes but still can't say dog, pig yet (but can recognise how they look like).

ASHM: Oh ok. Sure then, maybe I can ask my brother to drive me to geylang or ang mo kio then haha. I am ok on weight gain. But just worried that will put on more when I come back to Singapore cos of the food. Dr Chan will surely give me a hard time for that.

Lazykat: Yes, we'll tell him nicely to repeat wat he is saying but we cldnt fig it out still. So my style is to look at his direction of sight and go "ohh...wow":p

Tinkabel: Haha...seems like we're gog thru the same. Yes, pray hard tat they'll get sick of all this mischief and move on.

Kitty: No worries, these are just some of the things to factor in when u engage a maid. And yes, their air ticket aft their contract ends. But, it certainly helps when i dun have to worry abt chores, washing of dishes, laundry, ironing at the end of a long exhausted wkday. At least i can spend my time with E.

cactus,
understand what ur sis meant... i cld do it with my elder one last time thru reasoning but this younger gal, really very stubborn, the more u say to her, the louder she cry... *lol* so no choice, hv to be harsh!

poissons, lazykat, kittybride
hokkaido 7 days was group tour, so not too bad... remaining 3 days was in tokyo F&E, that is the 'xiong' part... but it was a good experience anyway

kittybride,
C SAME pattern as B! haha...

hey, there's a gathering at ASHM place sometime is it? i think i sort of saw the posting... may b able to join if it's on 14 or 28 Jul weekend...
someone pls add me in the email at [email protected] ok? Thanks!

kitty/lazykat: I think its more effective to handle them 1 on 1. So that's why I bring E to my room and close the door. When his grandparents try to interfere, I tell them to butt out too. haha. so fierce ah...but its necessary. Then when he's crying, I put him on my lap facing me and tell him to stop crying and talk to mummy. He usually calms down after a minute or so. Then the reasoning begins. I don't want to let him get carried away cos it will be harder for them to calm down later. Worse still if they learn to cry and cry as a tactic!

Kitty: Something hilarious to share with you. We were in Church yesterday for mass and during the homily, E suddenly decided to shout out his favourite rhyme "Hot Cross Buns". So funny when he shouted "1 penny, 2 penny, hot cross buns!" And Father stopped midway of his sermon to look around.

tinkabel: hi-5! I have that Sandra Boyton book too! I bought the set of 4 books (Horn to toes/ But not the hippopotamus/Opposite/The going to bed book). Its my best investment to date. They are really worn out now and E feels that he has outgrown them & meant for babies cos we started reading them to him when he was a few months old so we've moved on to ladybird books now. But nevertheless, I love the content and I will keep them for my 2nd one when he/she comes along. =)

Since 2 weeks ago, E began to say "Hi-ppo-po-ta-mus". haha. so cute! But his "L" and "S" needs more improvement. Keeps on asking for his favourite "Elmo Dong" (i.e. Elmo Song). =P

ASHM
wat kind of questions shd we ask ah?
paiseh ah, i 1st time employ maid, not sure what to look out or ask lor.

lazykat,
ya, chloe's hainanese+teochew n i speak to her in teochew. her dad not good in hainanese lah, so speak to her in chinese.
she can say 'ai, mai, orr orr (sleep)' only.

tinkabel
matt is good leh. learn very fast.

i oso tried to teach C the correct pronounciation but she have no attention span to READ MY LIPS and will start her own blabbering n walk off...

Plim - Our gathering is on July 26, Sun. Are you able to make it?

Kittybride - If you are looking for experienced ones, you can ask how many people were there in the ex-employer house? What did she has to do? Can she cook? What kind of food? Experience in taking care of young children? Some basic questions like that can roughly gauge how good is the maid. Never believe 100 per cent in their bio datas or the agent. You have to ask the agent what is the replacement procedures like if you dont like the maid or if the maid gives you problems when she comes over. Remember their age and marital status may not be true too. So is's best if you can speak to the maid directly (in the agent's office), you can tell if the maid is ok or not. You may not understand her english although most of them state that they can speak english.

Kittybride - My current phil maid is introduced by my ex part time maid whom we know for more than 6 years, so i can trust her as she knows i am pretty strict when come to maids. As for Ash's nanny, i saw her photo + her working history, i shortlisted her and spoke to her on the phone. When she came over from Myanmar, i have to understand her english as i were not used to her accent. But after one month, things are ok.

She is leaving in Nov, so got to look for a replacement for Ash....headache!

kittybride: Haha I meant Matt knows the body parts in Mandarin and English. Not that he can say them. haha... That's what he could find and match 3 sets of my baby einstein flashcards correctly, but still not know how to say most of it. Hopefully he will learn soon.

Michviv: Yah, my investment in Sandra Boyton's books were one of the best. All worn out too. But he likes it. Me also moving on to some other books. E is so smart, can say 4 syllabus words already. Matt loves the Madagascar 2 Cartoon, esp when they dance to the song : you got to move it... Keeps asking us to play the dvd for him nowadays.

Michviv,
Ethan is good! 5 syllabus, phowa! ZY still managing 2 at most 3, like bicycle. W sounds like ba-u, haha.. T seems harder for ZY to read, been saying Tigger for months and still no reaction fr her to date!

Tinkabel,
ZY was swaying and dancing with his 2 cousins yesterday to the song "You got to move it too" via youtube.. Matt is another "talker", all yr efforts paid off isn it. I give up on my flashcards already cos ZY prefers her books too. Every nite and morning has to go thru all her pet books. At least the money spent on books isnt wasted..

wow.. all ur kiddos are so clever and power.. *applause*.. cailyn doesnt know how to say 2 syllabus except mummy and daddy.. haha.. Salute to all the hardworking mummies and clever kiddos here..

ASHM,
oops, realized the dates i put in were wrong! was looking at june calendar as i typed :p
yes, if it's 26-jul i shld b able to make it, count me in!

re: speech
most kids making good progress in their speech hor... mine still refuse to say a word!

plim,
it's ok lah, i'm sure your B will talk soon, just continue to talk and teach her. G also surprised us a few days ago when he shouted "train" at an oncoming mrt train. We have been telling him that is train for the longest time but he will only point and point. this morning he just said "pillow" when i told him to tidy his own bed..haha..

ASHM
thanks for the rough guide.
at least now i have slightly better idea what to do. just got a return call from the agent, she will email me the bios later on.

and yes, the replacement procedure - my colig also did mention abt it coz we never know if the maid we get can click with us/family or not and the financial side of things as well.

mambobb,
our gals in CC now, slowly but surely will pick up more words soon. my gal likes to 'sing' now, well, more like humming lah coz i can't make out what she is saying. ahaaa... at least can see more hand action when she sings now instead of just shaking her butt.

Hee, all u mummies very hardworking.. Me lazy mummy, will sometimes just plonk a book in front of claire and read to her.

Claire loves to sing & dance. The other day, i caught her trying to sing, "Twinkle Twinkle Little Stars" in Chinese.

Plim, Kittybride,
the time spent watching DVD and reading books ain't for nothing.. now i become her music player where she says a word and i gotta sing and do the actions together.. imagine saying and singing the same old songs/words for dunno umpteen times!

lazykat: hahaha...hi-5 babe! I'm a mobile singing and dancing song machine too. =P Sometimes, I feel like a bollywood movie - the way I spontaneously break into song and dance. Actually, its all abt challenging them. I just told E one day "ok, mummy is going to teach you a really challenging word" and he just blew me away. Try it on ZY. =)

tinkabel: Thanks! Matt is doing so great too! And he knows so many chinese words. All E knows is centered around food and some animals. But its improving with more exposure during class. My E is addicted to youtube. Will let him view the "Move it" video tonight and let you know what happens. haha.

High Tea cum Gathering at ASHM's Place - Laguna Park, Multi Purpose Hall

July 26 - 3pm onwards

ASHM,Michviv,Cactus,Grace,Poissons,kaye,tinkabel, MissA, Weishy, zzz, Gelyn (KIV), Catherine, smilemum, Lazykat, Yoko, Plim

Michviv,
let me try the word hippopotamus too.. ha! But now we are into A,B,C tho she prefers to learn her W,X,Y,Z first! We just jump to any alphabet she likes.

Well, most of the kids can talk now. Mine only AUNTI and BOB (the Builder).. Not even mummy n daddy.

ASHM, Don't worry la ... everything will be fine. Congrats on BB gal. D&G shoes can wear liao. Just eat la. No point controlling u will feel very terrible. I lun cos I only hv 1 more mth to go. My hb ban me fr durians. I put on 15kg (I tin so la..conservatively la) I don't even dare to weigh myself. If not i will faint. Now durians are so cheap.

Tinkerbel, Envy u lei. can put on more weight. U very hardworking. Still can do flashcards. I am so lazzzyyyy.

Kitty, Very important read the contract carefully. If u pay upfront loan, is the loan refundable after u stop taking maid from the agency.

Cactus, who are the teachers in GUG?

ASHM, doesn't mean u getting a more exp maid u pay more agt fees. Can nego one la. Unless u use the agt long time liao. If not u can always call other agts up.

Gd morning mummies!

remember me? =P it has been a while since I visited the forum. I'm very impressed tt so many of yr tods can say so many words and string simple phrases.
Jaydyn can say simple words and a few 2syllabic words. She doesnt even wanna call me at all!

lately she's not eating much for all her meals. I tried many things, even table food. But she's jus not eating. any1 of u experience this? wat do u do? Cos she's hungry, jus doesnt wanna eat.

J is drinking alot less milk these 2 weeks. morning 80ml, noon 120ml, nite 160ml. at first i tot it's b/c he's having sore throat from cough but he has fully recovered. is it a cause for concern? he used to drink so much milk. rem i used to call him the 1L milk baby? should i try to change the bottles or teats or milk?

missA:sure sure keep forgetting la sorry :p

nt cheap for the bike le.........

jay:ya most of out kiddos at times refuses their food....hayley almost daily

catherine:hummmm solids alos will cause himt o reduce his milk feeds but hor........1L 's bit too much le......think they can do without FM now too

drink fresh milk can liao

missA: I heard aout this. It's supposed to be better cos then our kiddos dun hv to rely on the smaller 2 wheels to learn cycling. But I did hear it is pricey. Anyways, hubby banned me from getting more things for Matt until we go back to Shanghai since even if I buy the stuff now, it will be collecting dust in SH for the next 3 mths. Will think abt it haha.

Gals, it was funny. Yesterday I was asking Matt what should we call Mei Mei. I have a few suggestions, like Isabella, Emma and Hannah etc. Then guess what. Matt can actually call out the name "Emma" haha, it was so funny. He keep repeating it. So I told him, u tell it to Daddy when he comes back from his biz trip and convince him to use it. My hubby thinks that name is too English. I personally like Isabella but just find it to be too long.

Yoko: haha dun envy me la. It's prob the food in Shanghai that I don't fancy as much, that's y. I am saving for the 6 weeks that I am back in Singapore before delivery. I think I will prob put on more then. Cos the last time I did and my gynae gave me a really hard time.

weishy/MM: Yeah, I prefer these 2 too. Cannot make up my mind. Now only need to convince my hubby. He's not very into both names. Haiz, men...

tinkabel - my hubby also like the name Isabella! Just that I find it too long...in short we can call Issy or Bella or Belle....So am looking for another name...heehee....

Yoko - Ok thanks, this is the first time I am trying out this agent, am meeting her tomorrow and will neg with her on the spot....

Yes both the D&G and the DirkBirkemburg shoes can wear liao!! Heehee.... Have you chosen the date for your c-section?

Durians - Gals, have you heard of this Four Seasons Durains that is in Eunos / Joo Chiat? Apparently they have another outlet at upper east coast road...which is one street away from my place.....

ASHM,
Yes, I've tried the four seasons durians, they sell durians and puffs/cakes..the joo chiat outlet even got a small cafe, but the svc staff there sucks. The durians are not bad, but I think the uncle sells at my place one is better
They sell the puffs at taka (basement)too.

poissons - ok, i think i will get both the goodwood park and puteri mas durian puffs for our gathering and also to get durians from four seasons.... heeheehee....

tinkabel: I like Isabella. Maybe its because I'm a Twilight addict and the main character is called Isabella or Bella for short. Its a very romantic and girly name. What is your hubby's surname again? Need to see how it sounds together. =)I hear its rather popular now.

Another sweet name is Chloe.

michviv: haha, u made the same comment my colleague did. Surname is Chan, so will be Isabella Chan. Yeah, this name is quite popular now apparently.

Haha looks like more votes to support me on Isabella, I will tell my hubby that. Haha...

hello mums,
haven't been here for quite a while too, would like to join in for the gathering on 26th jul
thought it was jun

jay,
my Eliza last week was also not wanting to eat, even those really nice food we eat, and she'll be choosy on what she wants to eat, ie one day she'll be wanting bread the whole day..chanting 'bread bread bread bread' everywhere we go and these few days it's 'cracker cracker cracker..'
I think they go through a sudden picky eating period. Eliza's back on her normal eating volume these few days. Then again, we suspected it was either teething or her mild diarrhea.

Funnily she's also cutting her milk intake a lot. She only drinks about 80ml in the morning and aftnn and at night only 20ml. Super waste the milk powder! Then in the middle of the night when she wakes up she'll want milk at least twice! :S

skye skye - long time no hear! Great you are joining us on the 26th.... pls PM me your email address. Thanks!

Hello hello...What happened to the thread today? So quiet.

Ok, let me share something wrt H1N1 here. My sis's boss niece tested +ve for H1N1 today! She was at Butter Factory Disco last Wed where the cluster took place. My sis's boss and other family members shared the same bus to Batam last wkend for a short holiday. Coz her boss had direct contact with the niece, he opted to quarantine his staff. So now, half of the co staff are working from home. Aiyoh....dunno when all this will end.