(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Sowie,
I wish I had those super ultra expensive one... but I only have space (and $) for a hand held mixer, Philips brand. hahaha. I can't remember how much it was but found it on the site. http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sg/consumer/cc/_productid_HR1561_55_SG_CONSUMER/Mixer+HR1561

1561295.jpg

mambobb
I think Lin Mei Jiao prettier lah, Zhang Qing Fang's face like a bit rounfd leh, your face is oval like Mei Jiao ...prettier
..heee...

k@ye
helping my GS loh, now never help liao...so tiring ...wow will flare up eating fish ah?? then Ethan sure flare up....he took parsnip also flare up a little
so stop taking liao.......o.k. will try ikan bilis much later...OIC...o.k. hope air ticket is cheap.....

Yany
ya lor long time no see ...everything's good except that nowadays Ethan has becomes more whinny...have to carry him all the time. the min I put him down hw will cry....
o.k. will try more other greens...he has eczema, I also headache, don't know what to give him also...

gloomybear
yo....paisey lah, mommies here at least 10 years younger and prettier...my photos collect dust liao loh...My hb and I actually didn't want to take any wedding albums cos we already married in US ( no family witnesses, no wedding gown also, no wedding dinner, only 2 good friend be our witnesses in US in front of the judge)..My hb's mother die die also want us to take wedding photos and we didn't even have wedding dinner when we went back Sin after we registered in US....we went back Sin to take studio shots and I left the whole album at my mum's place..never bring back cos' too heavy...say want to bring back every time we visit but never....
..also cannot remember my gown liao

Hi Yany

THank you so so much for sharing......yeah mine is like yours, except i have a stand to put the mixer if i dun wan to use hand.....

Can I ask you what the twisty parts are for...in yr left pic.....i only use the parts on yr right, but never the twisty ones....

There is a difference when it comes to making sponge cakes when using an expensive and a cheap one....difference lies in the beating speed......the expensive one takes 10 mins to get to the right texture....whereas the cheap one (when i place it on stand) takes 30 mins to reach same texture....however by 30 mins, i would have overbeaten the mixture and my sponge cake will turn out like baked Japanese cheesecake texture.....hubby will go "oh we're having huat kueh again"............

Someone shared this tip with me which I would like to share with all the mommies here.......when using a cheap mixer to make sponge cakes......dun place it on the plastic stand....hand hold the mixer and tilt yr mixing bowl at an angle and keep rotating bowl....this will help to incorporate air faster into the mixture and I can get the required results after 10 mins.....it has worked beautifully so far...

Oh yes, I'm using Optima Flour by Bake King when making sponge cakes......super fuss free...but u cannot depend on the recipe behind as the texture is too dry...u have to add more butter and juice/milk......and i'll add orange zest to it...also at times i'll add a tsp of sponge cake stabiliser.....

Hi sowie,
Mine is purely handheld... so no stand at all. The twisty parts are for making bread as the mixture would be too "tough & springy". I've never used it but I am interested in making bread. Perhaps I will try it soon.

Since I have never used an expensive machine, I cannot comment on the speed or timing. With mine, I whisk the egg white for less than 10 mins. I whisk the egg white mixture till it has "soft peaks". Surely, not 30 mins!

You can use very fine flour such as hong kong flour/optima flour. I tend to use normal ones

hi shane! long time to "c" ..... thought US will hv lots of organic variety ..... looks like ethan enjoys his veg!

can't say the same for kaira. she HATES broccoli. yesterday i tried again (mixed with butternut squash in her porridge), she totally reject her feed. din even want to eat. in the end, drank milk the whole day! headache. this gal very stubborn. once no likey ... that's it.

here the organic veg/fruit varieties also quite limited ... quite disappointed. now searching for an organic farm ... mebbe will have better luck there.

so in the meantime i give her a mix of organic and non-organic, otherwise she will end up eating the same stuff everyday .. ;p good thing is organic pork and chicken in abundance so i use the pork to make stock for porridge. will try chicken soon.

and these few days, she seems to be "growth spurt" -- at nite, before she sleeps she can ask for 2x feeds within 2 hours and both feeds abt 180ml! *faints* so scared she overweight .... suddenly looked very chubby ....lololol

dreamer
haven't "seen" you a long time, you went to hor lan liao ah? How's life there? any asian friends so far? or all hor lan friends ..haaa... ya, here have lots of variety but dare not let him try too many also ..his eczema seems bad ....and the organic so much exp than non - organic ... I think I will go bankrupt liao if eat for long run ....today just bought 2 organic avocados (again) and cost US$3 each, and 1 organic zuccuni US$1.10, and 1 organic asian pear US$2.30, and 1 organic califlower US$3.50 ...haiz...Ethan eats better than my hb and I liao
...last time didn't even have organic ...everything so fresh and good ...now all the chemical substances ...haiz...limited organic stuff...can plant yourself or not?? last few years I always planted my own snow peas ...this year I was busy ..and now too late to plant liao ....

gloomybear,
the organic shop at Dempsey road carries organic pork n chicken. I saw organic chicken at Cold Storage too.

sowie,
i think i know which / what type of cake mixer you refering to... cos i have one of those too

i am also doing what you're saying, holding the mixer on one hand and putting the bowl on the rotating stand and using my hand to rotate manually... hehe...

shendiao, u plant your own snow peas ? coool ...

yup yup, me in holland already. actually me also have a back garden ... but EMPTY ... hahaha... dunno if i have time to plant anything leh ... what do u start with to plant the snow peas? so interesting ... i tot of planting tomatoes ...

but think have to wait ... dun tink have time leh.

gloomybear, yeah, even organic beef.

but in the same supermkt, want to find organic butternut squash/pumpkin.corn cannot find! very pek chek....heehee.

Dreamer, ur Kaira so smart can detect Broccoli! I also spoilt Claire, that day let her try another brand rice cereal... Wow, she wailed and refused to eat.... Die liao, everytime must ask my colleague in Australia to send me the Rice cereal once supply gone!

Shane, u so funny! I think u wont lug ur wedding album back also... Come back SG got other things to bring back! How long have u resided in US liao? Ya, saw ur GS organising a Kate Spade spree... Her biz doing very well!

My Mum called me today to complain abt Claire. Dunno for what reason, Claire wailed big time when my Mum refused to let her chew on her hankie! I find it quite funny.... but headache liao, how to break the chew hankie habit!

k@ye -- claire got expensive taste ;p

i also thinking how to break kaira's pacifier sucking habit... but no courage to try now.... think i won't be able to stand her wailing!!!

plus, these 2 days she has become difficult to feed
dunno y.... she was doing quite well .. mebbe i too "gung ho" try to "force" her to accept broccoli ... now she everything dun like...this morning gave her butternut squash + oat for breakfast she also never finish ... last time..finish everything (and wants more!)...

Dreamer, yalor... Sigh, its my fault!

Babies are like that, got mood one... I also got to wean the pacifier & hankie habit!

Hi Yany and Plim

With Optima flour, i beat the flour, eggs (not separated) and milk together.....only add in melted butter and zest last minute so as not to weigh the mixture down.....

If I do normal sponge cake using normal flour, then I have to beat egg white separately from flour.....ya la confirm cannot beat for 30 mins...

with Optima flour, i was trying to get the texture and colour that my pastor's wife got and she was using the expensive Kenwood one and she did it in 10 mins.....she taught me to tilt the bowl sideways and keep rotating when using my plastic Kenwood as this will help maximum air to get into mixture within 10 mins...........

Oh ya, anyone of you use Breadmaker to make bread.....the sales lady gave me her personal recipe to make bread but i still cannot get soft bread like Gardenia's....mine is still the chewy ang mo bread....it becomes so tiring to chew....only my older gal is enjoying chewing them......

sowie,
I think for chiffon or sponge cake, better to beat egg white separately.... coz then, its more springy and light.

Have not use breadmaker before but I think the more you knead, the more gluten is release and therefore, more chewy? Maybe knead less?

Hi Yany

err...problem for breadmaker, cannot control kneading lei....i already used a 2:1 bread to plain flour ratio...if i had used bread flour entirely...i think the loaf of bread can bounce on the floor.....

Hee...tats why optima flour worked for me cos it can take everything chambok together....i lazy to do too many procedures....i was trying to get the sponge recipe to be like a very light butter cake that is not oily.....so far i've gotten good reviews.....it's also a good base for making durian cake....oh my pastor's wife does superb durian cake using this method....

wah, all the photos for the mummies so pretty... I think all look like stars.

My boy still dunno howw to suck from the straw. And I also very troubled over my increase in size. I am thinking of taking pilates class and going jogging but always got problem keeping to it. How?

Sowie,
I was browsing the internet to look for brioche receipe and found this one for bread maker. Wish I had one... so much easier. http://www.recipezaar.com/303879

Try it and let me know how it turns out.

Had to laugh out loud on the bread bouncing on the floor... hehehehe.

Hi Shane,

How have you been? Show lei.. show your pic lei.

Ya, after seeing gloomybear's pic, feel like getting married again..hahaha..

Cactusnah,
I thought you still look the same lei. As slim.

I jus had my detail scan today. Confirmed that it's a minnie.

wow all the wedding pics all so nice. mine so ugly. i dun dare to show.

pig07,
congrats
one little piglet boy & one little minnie girl. so nice!

pig: congrats wor~.. u hv a disney family.. ohohoh.. piglet and minnie..
I also want a boy for 2nd bb then can close shop liao.. i rem someone mentioned eat bananas everyday can conceive boyboy.. heehee.. really huh?

Hi Yany

Thanks....i like brioche too.....yup, the breadmaker can be used as a kneading tool....

U won't believe how chewy the bread is....and it gets worse when you eat it the next day....only Momo likes the bread becos of the raisins....i also made cranberry bread too........

RE: Wedding Photo
Was speed reading though….all the Nov Mummy look so fabulous in their wedding gowns! All look so pretty! Do anyone of you thought of getting wedding shoot again when reach 10th Year Anniversary? I did…not sure if my DH will go along with the idea. Heehee….

RE: Drinking from straw
Any BB here can drink from straw already. I have not tried that with my son. He is still using Pigeon Magmag stage 1 & 2. But I realize with the stage 1 teat, he will drink more but with Stage 2 spout, he will drink abit and start bite on the spout. Any of your BB using the Magmag using has the same problem?

Congrats Pig, you have a prince and now a princess! Can start to think what name you wanna name her already. :)

Mambobb, you wanna a boy for 2nd BB? About the banana consumption to conceive a boy, you can refer to this link: http://edition.cnn.com/2008/HEALTH/04/23/gender.diet/index.html

Hey Sowie,
where you stay? Maybe I can come and chiam siong the next time you bake bread? hehehe.... hint, hint!

pig,
Congrats! So nice to have one each.. I love having a gal.... so gentle compared to my boys. But hor.. she is getting louder by the day... haha.

gelyn,
about taking wedding shot at 10 years anniversary... to late liao for me. Hubby will never agree as 1st time doing it was hard enough... hahaha.

gelyn: thks thks.. haha.. ya.. hoping to get a boyboy.. 1girl 1boy enough liao.. can experience different kind of parenting.. muahaha.. then I have to stock up bananas liao lor.. everyday cereal for bfast and 1 banana for snack. =p

RE: Drinking from straw
I am still waiting for my stage 2 mug from Gemini coz bought a BP from her. But I think her bb still trying to recover, so it will take quite a while to receive it. Still dont know whether my girl likes it anot.

congrats pig. So happy for you. I also want girl next... haha... Although my hubby thinks boy more economical, can pass down Matt's clothes and toys. Haiz... Men...

Pig, congrats!

Tinkabel, as Mothers regardless of boys or girls... We will definitely spend on them! Anyway, i think its alright for a gal to wear boys' clothes... Especially, babies' gender are hard to tell....

Hi Yany

I'm at AMK area....if u wanna try, i can loan u the breadmaker....u better ask your maid or hubby to come along to pick it up as my breadmaker is a little bulky and plus the box...brand is Morphy Richards and i bot at tangs.....on hindsight i shdl have bot the smaller sized cutesy ones tat looks like ricecooker type......

I guarantee your boys will be well behaved after eating the bread.....why? becos their jaws would be so tired after chewing that they wont' wan to tok.....buah hahhaha.......

When it's fresh from the machine, it really taste quite good...but once it's left overnite the texture jus dry up....the lady did warn me the recipes in the book are meant for ang mo type of chewy bread.....sigh......abit regret buying......take 3 hrs to bake somemore, from dumping in the stuff, to kneading, to fermenting to bake.......

Yany, I also doubt my DH would go along with the idea. Wahaha…

Mambobb, if I am to have a 2nd BB, I wanna have a girl. Cos mine is a boy. :)
I guess alots of mummies prefer one gal & one boy then can close factory already. Wahaha…

Any mummies just opt for one kid here?

gelyn: I think its hardter to have a BB boy leh. So when the 1st bb is a girl.. abit stress liao..haha.. coz dont know whether can get a bb boy anot. But on the other hand, as long as the bb is healthy and safe, ok liao.. haha..

Wedding photo:
I would like to take the wedding photos for 10th anniversay too.. but as u mention, i also doubt my DH would go along with the idea unless we have super extra extra $$$.. haha.. with the kids arnd, I doubt have extra too.. muahaha..

2nd bb:
Hee, I hope to get a gal for the 2nd one, anyone got tips huh? So stressed now, cos' my sis got 1 gal and 1 boy, so does my cousin, I hope to follow their footsteps too...but my MIL and her mum keep telling me that my 2nd one will be boy boy boy...urgh..

pig, congrats on your little minnie!

2nd baby:
yup, me oso a little stress... coz hb wan boy for no. 2 and i think my in-law all EXPECT a grandSON... but hor, i told him getting a boy or gal is not up to my EGG, is his Soldiers that has to do the work! ahahhaa...
but yes, i think shane has also confirm on the cereal & banana theory ~ she got her darling son via that method leh.

mambobb,
when you wana start trying ah? =p

kittybride: my DH wants to try next year arnd mar apr coz he wants a beginning year bb coz we have a year end bb piglet liao.. muahaha.. but i doubt it will work coz the 1st bb we tried for 1yr+ then can get.. so doubt the 2nd one will be easy lor. I think I will start to strengthen my body with some baifeng pills, cereal in the morning, bananas in the aftnn and get vitamins for my DH.. muahaha.. hope that his SOLDIERS will be FIT enough to get a boy.

mambobb,
ahaha... agree!
i'm also planning for no 2 but preference is after my gal turns 1. then with the TTC & pregnancy duration, hopefully when no. 2 arrives, my gal is independant enough - can walk/run, talk, etc. at least not so xiong.

but hor, thinking about another round of sleepless nites of feeding, etc... wah, a bit phobia... hahahaa...

kitty: ya, u remind me of that.. sleepless nites is really very siong and quite phobia of it. When bb was just 1-2mths, I was sooooo super eager to want her to grow faster..

haha.. now I think its the best till she turns to "terrible 2".

any mummies have more than 1 kid and experienced "terrible 2" before?

aiyoh, i can't imagine myself a zombie mommy wif a baby in hand and chasing after the "terrible 2" around the house/shopping malls/etc...

my hb say i oredi look like a maid when i go out with the family... i bo eng pan mei mei coz busy prep my gal's stuffs while he just sit there and 'rush' me to "faster a bit can or not??"... sianz... imagine wif 2 kids in tow, i thk i'll be gila maid! ahahaa...

mambob,
since you ask... well, I will share my experiences ;)

I had no. D when R was 2+. You could say he was going through the terrible 2s as he was stubborn, thinks he can do anything he wants...etc. Then came horrible 3s..... hahahaha.

Now R is almost 6, still thinks he can do anything he wants, but now have learnt to argue back! D is 2+ and now been trying to pratice his wings ready for flight. He can be really stubborn and very headstrong. He is already asking "why cannot?" "why?" "Why?" "WHY?". When I ask him to do something he doesn't want... he says "afterwards!" Pengsan!
Now I know why some animals eat their young! hahahaha

So, my new favourite is K but she too getting to be a little stubborn. With brothers like this, bound to learn bad habbits... hahaha.

My normal wear nowadays, T-shirt with bermudas. My skirts are collecting dust and so are my heels ;). That's why.... I wanna go back to work!!!!!

Yany: wow.. with so many kids around you still can find the time to do baking.. *bravo+applause*.. I salute u arh.. haha. i like to bake but i am quite lazy too.. dont like washing up after baking. And moreover I dont have all the barangs at home too.. heehee..

I also heard from my fren when her DD turn 2 and knows how to talk back and very stubborn. So I am worry how to handle "terrible 2" when hving a newborn bb.. haha..

Now I still will try to "da pan" when going out.. envy those ladies who can wear nice nice and hv nice body. Also dont wany my DH hv the excuse to look at other ladies.. muahaha

Hi blessedjoy,
Upon giving stage 2 mug, my boy will drink but most of the time, he prefer to bite the spout. So sometimes, I switch back to stage 1.

Thank you all for all the 'congrats'..

Sounds so nice to have a boy and gal. I thought so too. Then i realise aiyo, my nephews are boys and no hands down gal gal clothes. think i am going to start shopping. I also tinking of chin chye la, wear kiros's tops can liao.. but i tink i will be tempted to buy nice nice dresses. Then hor, we will be moving mah, then now hubby says, one boy and one gal best is to let them have a room each and then would mean we have no study liao. Then he tinking maybe buy a bigger unit with 4 rooms but would mean more $$$$..

Ya.. i love disney characters. I like mickey family best. I jus realised ytday that i have printed out a 2007 calendar for Maidou (pig) and Mickey (rat). And i have both 'characters' in my family now..hahaha.

I have almost 20 mickey jigsaw puzzles at home and kiros seems to have a strong liking for mickey too. (my mil had wanted me to removethe puzzles when i was pregnant with kiros)

Sometimes i think back, i was like wasnt exactly thrilled to have tis 2nd one so soon. But now i seem to tink that it may not be so bad afterall as like what some mummies here are saying about lesser chance of sibling rivalry, can go on family holidays sooner etc etc.. but if i really want to have a 3rd one hor, i will plan for it this time for a bunnie baby liao. must rest liao.. but tat is if we want a 3rd one la.

It may not be so bad afterall to have kids of smaller age gap. Mummies who are ready, jiayou jiayou.

Mambobb, I am fine with BB boy or BB gal as long as they are healthy.

Poissons, I also hope for 1 boy 1 gal. Wow…your MIL & mum like boy better?

RE: 2nd baby
Mambobb & Kittybride, you are already planning for no. 2?

Mambobb, me too so eager to want my son grow faster. So stressed during the 1st two months. The thought of it will make me wonder if I want no. 2.

Yany, I really salute you with 3 kids and yet you still can do your baking. So envy!
I can’t cope with one, let alone 3 somemore!

yany,
wow, no mean feet taking care of 3 kiddos and still got time to bake!
and not forgetting; STUDY!!!
really salute you!

gelyn,
yup, dun wana have too big a gap and also my age is catching up oredi, have to 'rush' out order before machine all go rusty! ahahhaa...

anyway, me n hb wants kids; i want 4 and he wants 2. but after my C-sect, i think 2 is enough liao. even if next one end up another gal, i will close factory liao.

not easy taking care & raising kids; think of their financial needs when they grow older... aiyoh, i thk i have to work till i'm 80 years old!!! =D

Kittybride, your description of "before machine go rusty" nearly make me fall off my chair! Haha... You want 4 kids?! Wow! For me, my min. is 1 and max. is 2 kids. 3 are never in my thought. :)

After giving birth to Claire, i really intend to stop at 1 but i dun want Claire to be lonely so most likely i will stop at 2.

I really salute Mummies like Yany! For hving the courage and time to take care of 3 kids!

HI mummies,

Before i had kiros i wanted 4.
Then the day kiros arrived after 16 hours of labour, i said 1 is enough.
Then now i thought i want 3.

Ha, but my hubby's stand the same all while. 2 is enough.

Ya, its really a lot of money. Considering insurances, classes and classes to attend.. so many things to pay.. and all are $$$$$$$$$$$$. and more $$$$$$.