(2007/11) November MTBs

been a while since i last logged in. Catherine, hope Baby Jovan goes back to pink of health real soon.

hi gloomybear
you look simply radiant and gorgeous... baby Arielle looks so happy and yes i agree with the mummies, she's as pretty as you.

hi Yany
I haven't been in the chat for while and I can see you at work again, with those fabulous looking cakes and tarts... impressive.!

hi dreamer@hk
want some advice from you... is it suitable to bring my 2.5yo gal to HK with me next week? Hubby suddenly have biz trip and he can't go so i thought of bringing her together with my sis and her bf. How's weather now and any bird flu? Is it ok to let her drink the water there and food as well?

not sure if you mummies still remember me... .keke
i have disappeared for a longggg time.. ;)

I want to join the next gathering leh... let me know .....

my gal's bday same as Grace so will be joining the 1st Nov

Mega Birthday Bash Dates Suggestion!

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
5. Poissons (cos 15 Nov is my boy's exact birthdate, need to celebrate for him with my families)
6. Grace
7. Mandy

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye
3. Queenaire
4. weishy(TBC but really loved 2,hv 2 wait til nov roster out :p )

Catherine,

Take it easy and try not to stress yourself too much. Hope Jovan recovers soon

Mandy,
what have you been up to? Yes you have been missing for a loooong time! Welcome back!

been really long since i last log in.

my gal was hospitalised due to broncholitites from last monday and only discharged yesterday. Like catherine, me super stress out during her stay esp first few days as most babies get discharged after 3 days but my gal took so long. her milk intake was bad, and it was a night mare putting her on the neub.

with stress coming from ils, parents, aunties etc, was almost on the verge of a nervous breakdown i think. luckily she's better now...

hee hee

actually have been reading on postings on and off la... but more on buying things from sprees lor.. keke....

had wanted to join in for a previous gathering but something cropped up....

Gemini, glad to hear that your daughter is well!

ITs always like that one, the moment our baby got sick... MAchiam as if its our fault for making them sick!

Summer, HK s food and drinks are okie one. Its their air is very polluted.

gemini ... sayang both u and ur gal ... glad she's better!! u also take care too

teeth -- kaira still bo gay leh ... wondering when she's gonna sprout her first tooth...

summer -- i think HK is ok lah ... i no longer live there.... the thing abt water is, for young children, i suggest u buy the distilled water from the supermarket and boil that ;p i lived there for 4 years and that's what i drink .. somehow dun trust the tap water... heehee

summer in hkg is usually wet and hot. abit like singapore... but mebbe worse cos so many buildings so it feels even hotter. but hide in shopping centers then dun feel the heat liao.

i have many frens who brought their babies/kids to hkg when they are less than 1 year old so i think no worries yeah...

but bird flu... i dunno abt the situation now.

hi k@ye & dreamer
thanks for your response. dreamer, am surprised that you survived on distilled water for so many years! i still have to boil distilled water?

summer - i boiled the distilled for my gal to drink ... also dunno if need to do or not, juz more comfortable with that. for adults no need

actually, when i eat out, no choice lah ... drink their water...only at home i drink distilled water. but as time goes by, i more laxed ... hahaha...like at home make soup i will use tap water lor.... heehee

k@ye, at least Claire wont wail so good. Ash nowadays prefers daddy to carry and if i carry her she will also cry till daddy takes over

gemini, glad to hear that DD is recovering.

ueno, has L recover from running nose? Did u bring him to the doc?

This thread is moving so fast. Hardly had any time to log on for the past few weeks. I like the idea of a big birthday bash. Let's see if I can be in spore then.

Wedding photos... Seem like such a long time ago. Just had my 5 years anniversary.

langlao,
L has recovered. I bought him to doc n it was just common flu. PD didnt prescribe any medicine, he recovered by himself. Thank God!

all so pretty and young! you know... my ex boss (whom i have not met for 1 year) attended my wedding and says "WOW! you look like a mother now!"
then i told him "that's not exactly a compliment you know"
and he says "i didn't meant it to be one" and started laughing...

Imagine looking like a mum on your wedding day.

Teething: my gal still bo gay.... all your babies got at least one tooth already?

Yes dreamer.. you should get your post-wedding shots done in holland! SO many nice and unique spots

-hope your babies recover soon!! Poor thing..

gloomybear,
mine also still bo gay leh, but i think hers shld "sprout" anytime since she has been drooling excessively these 2 days. Trust yr ex-male boss to make such silly comments, not farnie at all lor.

tinkabel,
start to upload more of Matt's fotos onto yr blog eh.. he is such a darling

gemini19,
oh dear, hope both you n baby doing much beta now. do take care ya!

gloomybear & lazykat,
we can all hi-5 liao coz our gals all miss 'bo-gay'... ahaha...

teeth: my Eliza has 1 lil one coming out at the bottom. forgot abt having to clean bb's teeth until Yany mentioned. when do we have to start cleaning?

some of my wedding photos...sometimes i wish i can do the photoshoots all over again..heehee..mayb 10yrs later..hmm..
1557456.jpg

1557457.jpg

gemini
hope your gal is fine now.

gloomybear
dun worry you still look very pretty and young dun trust your boss comments maybe he is jealous that you are better looking than his wife.
1557491.gif

dreamer
ya how nice to be able to do post-wedding shots in Holland with all the colourful tulips!

Gloomybear, ignore ur boss comments! So idiotic one! Nevermind, u re definitely a pretty bride!

Tinkabel, hehe see ur wedding photos hor. I think ur hubby puts on weight as compared to those photos in ur blog! U still looks the same!

gloomybear, yes, ignore boss.... such a silly comment. I think you look great!

Gemini,
awww..... hugs. Hope she's all better and you get some good rest.

langlao,
wow... ash prefer daddy ah? Must have daddy wrapped around her little finger already. Same like my niece who's 1. When daddy is around, she doesn't have eyes for anyone but him... lol. My case, its the opposite. I have new maid but my kids don't want her to look after them. Headache!

dreamer, not to worry about bo-gay. My niece whom I mention earlier, sprouted her's only recently... I think around 10 months. 4 came out together, poor thing. Grouchy for a while but now, eating everything like crazy... hehehehe. Oh... and I love holland especially in the morning market. Saw the plants they have for sale like flowers and cactus... so cheap compared to here!

skye,
I have been cleaning dd's mouth since she was born. I use a sterile gauze wrapped around my finger with boiled cooled water to wash her gums and tongue. I still do the same except now got teeth to clean too ;)

tinkabel,
you look so pretty. Only 5 years ah? Mine more than 10 years liao.... you all make me feel old! hahahaha

summmer:my dd drinks from the tap(boiled) in hkg.Distilled water is easily access from 7-11s or "OK" .should now be a problem

langlao:my dd also teehing and is very cranky.....lost her toy cry,actually she cried for everything now without tears.

yany:ur marble cake looks good,too bad it doesnt turn out tat tasty,maybe use better butter?

skye:ya me too ,been cleaning her gums since birth,now she's using baby toothbrush and she likes bitting on it too

gemini,
good to hear tat your gal is better now... take care...

langlao,
my gal oppo. of urs... once i put her with daddy, she will start crying! only when he carry her and start walking around (cannot sit down!) and sway her around and sing songs to her then she will stop crying... but once she sees me again, will cry and want me to carry her liao... that's why my hb always 'gave up'... hahaha... i told him bcos he dun carry/play with her enough!

re: tooth/teeth sprouting
i managed to catch a glimpse of her bottom 2 teeth that are sprouting up, juz last week... it was very difficult as she hardly wan to open her mouth... but managed to capture a photo of it... hehehe

yany,
nice zebra cake! i wonder how u make the lines like tat ah? interesting... cannot believe tat it doesn't taste good leh...

teeth:
seems like my boy has the most teeth! we juz spotted his 5th teeth coming up and my mum said there might be more soon! gosh..actually i missed his all-gums grin

poissons,
i used to miss my elder gal all gums grin too! but after we relook at the photos, we tot she looked pretty funny without teeth in fact!
hahaha...
Garreth is fast on his teething milestone!

plim,
aiya..that boy only fast on teething milestone, and nothing else..haha. i wld rather he bo-gay now, worry that he will get cavities or tooth decay early..so must take good care of his teeth now. mummies, rem to let your bbs drink some water after drinking milk (esp night feeds) so as to keep the teeth clean.

have finally decided to bring my gal to HK. Now the tix even for budget airline is so ex! $545 for a child tix to HK only, it's crazy.

Mummies, how to reduce air pressure when flying for kids?

My gal still has no teeth as of now, i find it a bit late. Remembered my elder gal has teeth when she was about 8mos.

summer,
$545 sounds expensive. Is that inclusive of taxes?

There is no true way of reducing air pressure but you can let her suck on something... bottle/pacifier during take-off/landings. This helps to equalize the air in the inner ear as the sucking motion "opens" up. Some babies cry... due to the pain but when they cry, it equalizes as well.

Feel a little bored and made some orange chiffon to make myself feel better... hehehe.
1558750.jpg

weishy/plim,
The texture of the zebra cake is ok but got funny after taste due to peanut oil. I will definitely use butter the next time if I ever make the cake again.

K@ye,
I know I won't flunk... lol but don't want to just pass ;)

Veggie Tales:
Hi mummies, anyone knows is it cheaper to get local or get from Amazon and ship here? Want to get some for my girl.

i lazy mummie never clean kaira's gums and tongue diligently ... only as and when i remember.... heee. ;p

summer - kaira also still bo gay leh

yany - ur cakes ah!!! fedex some over please! especially the chiffon! i love chiffon cakes. and where do u find the time to do your baking?? ;p

Yany
yes, $545 is all inclusive. was told that child don't have to pay tax at HK or something like that. I think the fuel increasing is really a killer now! and with so many byproducts of petroleum, seems like everything is getting more ex... I hope my gal can manage the air pressure well.

Oh, Yany @ work again to tempt all of us

Mummies, what are the medicine that I should prepare when travelling with a 2yo?

Dreamer
me too lah, never clean her gums and tongue. My mum will clean her tongue daily (weekdays) when she bathe her.

mambobb
What is veggie tales?

Any mummies giving their babies colustrum?

Gymboree Gymbucks:
dear mummies, I have gymbucks to redeem but have to purchase $40.82 then can redeem. But I only need to buy one dress $29.50. Remain $11.32, any mummies need to get anything from there? need to redeem by tmr. Pls PM me if interested. thanks

summer: veggie tales are cd/vcd/dvd for kids. All the casts are from different type of vegetables. so far I heard its quite good for kids, so thinking of getting some for my girl.

don't envy lar. Baking very fast... takes more or less than 1/2 hour to prepare... then pop into oven

while in the oven... can do other things mah

yany, wow u bake almost everyday, i so envy. I like to cook but hardly have time.

plim, my hubby is opp of urs. HE takes care of Ash more than me. In fact he wash her, play with her & put her to sleep most of the time. He's the one to wake up in the middle of the night. He also takes care of milk feed while I do solids

weishy, when Ash cry big tears will fall. My hubby brought her back this evening and he said he put her in the crib and she cried for half hr non stop til he carry her out! This is the 1st time, DH heartlessly try to see if she'll get it & stop. It din work on her

yo...mommies, haven't been logging in for months liao ..... threads are growing like crazy .....managed to browse through the last two archive threads ....yoooo...woowooo...our NOV mommies so pretty ah....some look like Mediacorp Artistes wor....

I was scanning all wedding pictures, and gloomybear - congrats, I thot you look like one of the Channel 8 or U channel host - Quan Yi Feng in your gown
, and mambobb, you look a little like one of my favourite actresses, don't know if she is still acting or not, her name is Lin Mei Jiao... I love her acting ...superb!!! ...Finally get to see Pig ...heeee.... Kiros looks like you leh ...so cute and pretty ....
k@ye, mammbob, plumsource, plim, annietoh, rast, skye skye, tinkabel, and cactusnah ---- ALL sooooooooooo pretty
How I wish I am 10 years younger ...haaaa.....

wow!!! Yany, you are tempting the mommies with your goodies again ...... I saw k@ye organizing a mega birthday for Nov babies??? If I can get cheap ticket back to Sin by mid Nov, count me in o.k. ....would love to see all NOV cutie pie and cutie hon, and also our pretty Nov mommies

teething
Read that some Nov babies are already teething. Ethan had fever last mon, and drooled a lot and loves to bite things, I guess he is teething but when I check, still bo gay leh .....anyway hope that he won't have teeth so fast cos, now he loves to bite my nipple and so painful even though bo gay......

Organic
have been giving Ethan only avocado, banana, parsnip, carrot, yam and pear ...doesn't seem to have a lot of varieties
...realized that he doesn't like really sweet stuff like yam, banana or pear ...the rest he loves it ....by the way, can babies take ikan bilis soup? my mum asked me to cook ikan bilis soup and use the soup to cook porridge for Ethan...don't know babies can eat or not so never try ...anybody???

shaneDiao: haha.. u are not the 1st one who comment that.. when I was in poly times, ppl started to comment that liao.. but I dont think I look like her leh.. some even comment that I look like one singer Zhang Qin Fan wor~.. her voice is supber one de lor.. how can look like her when I dont even can sing.. haha..

my girl still bo gay too.. yest just turn 8mths too

Cactus, wow! U still as slim as before pregnancy leh! *Jealous*

Me, the spare tire really getting me down.. That day, my Mum & bro were laughing at it, my bro even worse, used a stick to poke it and demo to Claire! *Faints*

Shane, long time no see u post! How re u doing? If Ethan is sensitive hor, u can try ikan bilis soup on him and see his reaction. Claire s eczema flared up a bit when we gave her fish (ard 7 mths). So, we only let her ate fish when she is 8mths old. Now, she is ok. Everything must trial & error to see the reaction.

Aiya, i din organise the mega birthday lah... Just helped out to coordinate. :p Coz now still seeing which date got more ppl to go!

mambo,

i oso tink u look like lin mei jiao leh..
now u say zhang qin fang, i tink so too..hehe
not bad leh we have a few celebrity mummies here...hehe

Hey Shane.... long time no "see"! How are you? You can given Ethan a lot more stuffs to try like veg - most root veg, some greens and other colours
. I haven't started DD on meats yet... so you can say she's still vegetarian... lol. When she reaches 8 months, I'll start making porridge and slowly introduce meat. With seafood, I'll intro later.... maybe 10 months with fishes first. Those with shells, she can wait till she's 1...

I know lots of mom giving ikan bilis already. It has a lot of calcium but I find it a little high in salt. Call me kiasu but I think they will be having all the high salt snacks when they are toddlers. With my boys who loves to snack... she will be joining in soon!

Cactus,
Sooo pretty!

Hey Yany

Ask you ah......is your cake mixer those heavy duty ones, like Kenwood or Food Aid that cost near to $1k, or smaller plastic ones.......

I'm using a cheapo plasticky Kenwood one and I've been thinking of buying a high end one......but hesitating cos I'm not sure how spare much time I have to bake now that I have a young bb.....I've been baking when I work from home recently...........

I know the beating process using the expensive one is more even and much faster.....using the smaller mixer, i run into overbeating problems in order to get the same light fluffy texture....

Appreciate if you can share some pointers here...thanks!