(2007/11) November MTBs

One burning question... I've seen so many of you gotten the neckfloat for baby to swim in but i can't find it anywhere. Where do you get those?

mambobb,
thats the one i am feeding my boy. Initially, i break up the puff into smaller pcs, now i just give the whole thing, he takes it well n no problem. i tried it myself n it melts easily.

Hi Jaclyn,

there's a BP now for neck floats.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1495121.html?1213628475

Hope tis is what u r referring to.

Long time no see!! I have not been posting since I started work two months ago. Weekends are so precious nowadays I try not to surf internet anymore and spend quality time w Joseph, coz on weekdays by the time I get home, i only get half an hour with him before he goes to bed.
very sad initially coz I felt like I was missing out on his development. Wanted to quit my job. But now slowly getting better.

Gemini, my boy got my cough and it developed into bronchitis too. I broguht him to his PD just as it started but it didnt get better. Last Sunday I had to take him to KK because he as coughing so much he couldnt keep any food down. Everything we fed him he threw up. Was horrible. Hubby and I were so worried. Fortunately he's much better now. Still coughing but at least his appetite has recovered.

Anyone following the GF Weaning book quite closely? The recipes are quite interesting. So far we've made beef stew, lentils, and chicken casserole for him. He's also had apples, pears, bananas, peaches, mango, pumpkin, butternut squash, carrot, broccoli, sweet peas. Trying to increase his repertoire of food once his appetite has recovered. Will made fish and spinach stew for him this weekend.

Any of you making ice cubes of food and freezing as opposed to making fresh everyday? My mum keeps telling me not to make food and freeze coz not nutritious. But I think it's ok right?

rast, lazykat,
i'll be placing the drugstore orders tomorrow afternoon already... so let me know if you're still interested in getting desitin cream/toothpaste ok?

hi plim,
ok, but i think i need 3 tubes instead of 2. let me know if u know the price then i trf $$$ to u.

Queenaire,
thks for the offer. i think i get it from plim cos i need 3 tubes.

Hi Twiggy!

Generally, the elders in the family will discourage feeding our child cold stuff (even if we reheat those frozen stuff). I do agree serve fresh will be the best.

But for working mothers like us, sometimes its out of no choice.

k@ye, twiggy,

actually i dun mind making the food fresh and serve them... but i always have a headache cos they eat so small qty, so if i want to give them variety in a single meal, i will have a lot of leftovers! how?? hahha... so, my easy way out is, batch-make them, and then i can mix-and-match and give variety to them... :D

morning mummies, hope u had a good weekend...

may I ask which type of brown rice do u all buy for ur bb?? the red type or light brown type??
last weekend i bought a pack of red brown rice but after cooking i realise that the grains seem to have husk on them, dunno if can feed my boy not..

have any of the babies started to try egg yolk?
i was told by the polyclinic nurse that i can start to give egg yolk and by 1 yr try egg white.

mambobb,

my boy only 7 mth, the nurse already ask me to start.
think start at 9 mth better.
anyway have not really give him lots of food to try yet.

nestle brown rice cereal,
i find it quite hard to mix well, the texure kind of not smooth compare with heniz rice cereal. very lumpy. .
anyone got this prob?

morn, just got back from bbk, super exhausted, walked till leg pain.

i will call the swimming school when i have time to see what kind of arrangement we can get. will update once i hv the info.

aiyo i missed the pampers active promo twice

thanks dokie,

can i use the red rice alone??
how shld i cook it??
the red rice seems to have some "skin" when cooked...is that right??
can bb take the skin??
do i have to grind the rice first??

sorry so many qns..:p

JWTkids Trial Class:
Dear mummies, here is Cailyn enjoying her trial class last sat at JWTkids. May I know is there any bb likes to stick out the tougne? She likes to stick out hers nowadays leh. Any idea y?

In the Ball pool:
1539731.jpg

Cheeky girl:
1539732.jpg

zzz: thanks for the compliment.
actually hor.. i have to put on the big bow on her to indicate she is a Baby Girl leh.. if not everyone say boy boy to me.. my boss even worst.. after seeing her and said "A boy lah, how can it be a girl leh.." even I put on the big bow on her

Mambobb, ur boss is a man or woman? My hubby concluded that men cant recognise gender. That time, Claire has this headband on her, got an Uncle asked me she boy or gal!

Faints!

k@ye,
i think commentor's gender doesn't matter in recognizing bb gender... there's an aunty (who lives below our unit) asking me the same question THREE times! if Bevis is a gal/boy... i told her no and she was pretty insistent that i'm joking with her! haha... can u imagine that...

ueno,
sorry, won't be able to join u ladies at fidgets cos' garreth boy still coughing..sigh..he's still phlegmy after finishing the PD's meds, juz brought him to the sinseh instead, hopefully he recovers this time.

Plim, serious ah! Ok.... then i also no comments. Now, i simply gave up liao.. Ppl ask me, i will say gal, if they dun believe me.. I will just smile smile lor!

Reminds me of my bro, he looks like a gal when he was a baby, got one afternoon, one elderly couple was arguing abt his gender. Then my bro pee in the grass patch, the elder couple stopped arguing and concluded that he is a boy!

K@ye: Thats funny! About the elder couple arguing about gender. Why can't they believe when we told them its a boy/ gal? I don't think parents would joke about their child's gender right. Weird!

k@ye: ya my boss is a guy.. anyway, my nanny also commented that there are many ppl tot that cailyn is a boy when she brought out to market. then nanny said that the 2nd bb must be a boy liao. pengz~.. I dont believe lor. My SIL 1st bb girl also looked like ah boy when young age, and the 2nd bb still a bb girl.. muahaha..

I cant join the gathering @ Fidgets but i'm sure it'll be great fun. We brought A thr this afternoon, she had a good time tho the crawl area was the smallest. We prob will go again this weekend. It's better to keep an eye on your babies esp thr's a panal of wood and one baby knocked against it and her eyelid was swollen.

re: frozen bb food

twiggy,
agree wif k@ye & plim, difficult to make fresh puree everyday for just 2 servings esp when we're all working. so batch puree still more convenient. i think i made a little too much till now part of my freezer are filled my bb cubes of pumpkin, potato, carrot and brocolli! :D

and i still have 1 packet of green peas yet to be pureed... going to be new taste for my gal next week!

but i dun give my gal frozen puree daily, maybe on alternate days. the rest will be freshly slow-cooked items like minced silverfish, froglegs, pork, cod fish and additional 1 vege; either carrot or finely chopped 'heng chai' (red leaf spinach).

i slow-cook her porridge/congee every night lor, quite tiring but bo pian, coz my nanny unwilling to cook for her... even if we suggest to pay her more, she got lots of excuses lor.

queenaire,
colostrum?? hmm, don't think so... coz i'm up to my nostrils with my babymall sprees now... hee hee hee... dats y seldom come here n post liao. :p

blessedjoy,
i think by 7mths should be ok to try egg yolk.
actually i let my gal tried it when she's around 5months but just a tiny bit. and it was ok. and last wkend, i even let her try fried egg yolk, those in the fried rice type lor...
bad mommy hor... but she kept staring at me & hb eating, so poor thing so let her have a tiny bit to taste lor. :D and so far *touchwood*, nothing major happen lah...

as for nestle brown rice, i just gave my gal that for breakfast on sat and yes, the texture is a little lumpy so i add more water than the recommended portion; till it's smoother. my gal likes it, mainly coz it's sweet lor...
her usual organic cereal is super bland! coz i tried it before... haha

Mambobb, same here... Most ppl will comment that my 2nd child will be a boy most likely coz Claire resembles a boy especially my in laws. Frankly speaking, i m sick of hearing that!

Kitty, Chloe's nanny machiam like very dao. Dun want to cook, guess she just wants to play with Chloe to pass time bah. Nvm lah, when Chloe is 18 mths, u might want to send her to a childcare centre.

I intend to do that so that Claire dun get too spoilt by my family & her nanny and family!

My Mum just came back from her Japan trip and Claire pouted & cried big time when she saw her. We all guess that she must have missed my Mum too much and like blaming my Mum for leaving her alone! Babies are so funny!

Langlao, as promised a pic of Claire in that Target dress that i got from Kitty's spree!

1540754.jpg

My Mum commented that she can sew a similar dress to that. I m holding her words on that... Conned my Mum another dress for Claire!

mambobb, k@ye -- cailyn and claire are so sweet!
the headbands really cute.

todae my first time making brown rice porridge for kaira. she quite liked it. i used carrot, potatoe and apple to make the stock.

paiseh, i know some mummies have share their porridge recipes before ... can share some recipes again?? i need some "inspiration"

thanks in advance!

kittybride,
my boy always gave those vomit face if i feed him the lumpy brown rice. i find it quite hard to make it smooth. .

ya, was thinking to prepare frozen puree for him.
where did u get those bb cubes?
how long can we keep the frozen puree?

guess what? the other 2 shoes i brought from the babymall spree oso can't wear, really too small for him. so now got 3 shoes all can't wear at all.

it must be real tired for u to slow cook her porridge everyday. . .when chloe grow up, she will love mama more : )

Dreamer, my current new receipe is broccoli & carrot porridge ( i mixed the normal & brown rice together cooked with pork.)

Blessedjoy, babies grow very fast... especially shoes, i KS always buy big big size one.

hi ueno actually what tat about?
think i cant join u all. i am working.. my bb is 7 mths so i got to pay already?what they do over there?

sorry mummies,

need some advise abt cooking porridge.
do u all grind the grains b4 cooking??
i cooked brown rice porridge over the weekend but even after cooking for quite some time the grains still look pretty big, the brown rice oso seem to have some skin...
dunno if bb can digest leh...