(2007/11) November MTBs

poochi, your hubby must be very happy. My hubby is so proud when my gal calls him papa too

will try her method of changing diaper for her.

so upset, my gal started coughing since yesterday. My maid caught a flu never inform me until i ask her whether she's not feeling well.

have not brought her to see a doctor yet, thinking whether she can recover herself.

Any remedies from mummies here?

I heard cherry balm is good? or hou ning?
or should i bring her to see a doctor?

newmummy,poochi,
i've checked with SQ n that was confirmed by them. think there is no such thing as flying for free. hehe..

Gemini,
For my case, if the maid is sick, I send her to see the doctor straight away. I don't want her to spread the germs to my kids... end up kids fussing at night and need to spend more to take them to pedi!

NewMummy,
Usually, the airline would not permit pregnant woman from 8 months onwards to fly.... perhaps the baby flies free still stand? lol

Kyra is also very vocal nowadays. She's been saying papa (which happens to be the way they call their grandfather) and mama (grandma). We are usually called Daddy & Mummy. So, since she is always saying "mummm mmmm mum mmm" I will take it that it will progress to mummy anyday now... hahaha (wishful thinking)!

newmummy wah 1st time I hear if give birth bb gets to fly for free rest of life! Sounds too good to be true la.

k@ye, Gemini, ya lor we were preparing to go work she suddenly started saying papa papa happily. My hubby heart melt liao ha ha...

Gemini mayb u monitor for next few days, let her take some H20 and barley.If no fever and not affecting her zz, makan and play shd be ok.

Newmummy, the "jungle song" is actually, "The lion sleeps tonight." I just remembered the song title coz my hubby always, "In the jungle, the mighty jungle..."

My hubby sung this song to her when she was 2-4mths old to make her sleep!

Poochi, the best part is when i sing this song to her, she no expression... But my hubby sings, she will stare and smile at him!

ha ha.. Kids! Sound same as my gal I have a lullaby tune 4 her but wen her daddy sings it she no reaction and wont zzz. My husband will give me the duh look!

Gemini19,
my boy is down with cough too, i brought him to see pd liao, else persistent coughing might developed into brochitis.

Newmummy, my hubby is patient but i dun think he is 24 siao to my daughter!

Poochi, same lor.. I also have a lullaby tune for Claire... She will only zzz when i sing it to her. Now, she has this habit that either one of us must be ard to accompany her to sleep. But thank god, the person is not just me!

Poissons, oh dear.... Coughing is quite an irritating illness to have. It can last long even for adults. Is he better now?

poisson, Hope your Gareth's cough doesn't develope into brochitis.

Plim,
I have craving for your cheesecake! Can u give me the recipe!!

My son has been experimenting with speech lately. He has been randomly throwing 'ba ba' around, which makes my hubby's head grow very big! He only ever spurts 'ma ma' when he is frustrated...like when he wants out of the high chair! But I have notice that he has been trying to say 'good'...every time we say to him 'good boy' he would be concentrating soo hard and trying to get the word out. Right now its more 'GGGGer' sound! haha, very funny to watch.

K@ye
Your hubby is really good to make her sleep. When my hb tries to make her sleep she will cry and make a big ho ha. She only wants me at night aiyo big headache lah.

poissons
Hope your Gareth gets well soon. Give him lots of water. I was told Fish Oil helps strengthen the lungs maybe can give it to him after he recover.

poissons,
garreth sick ah.. poor boy. mine also sick. alot of phelgm too. so she is on neub. reviewed yesterday but doc say to continue. hope they get well soon..

Staying in west area,
any one looking for part time cleaner for your house? my cleaning lady has a vacant slot now since the family she worked for is going back to HKG. She holds a singapore red ic and stays at depot rd.. $50 for 4 hours. If u only need 3 hours, can negotiate. (haahaa, my house needs 4 hours.) message me if you keen.

Hey Yany

Remember the cheddar cheese cookie recipe that you shared earlier? I tried making them today but without much success....

Mine turned out like cheese crackers....thin crispy biscuits..and it's not exactly biscuit like too..i think my slices were more than 5mm per pc and i definitely didn't get 80 cookies, maybe 55-60 thereabouts.....the cookie is light brown in colour with the cheddar bits in dark orange...yrs the same?

Is your texture like that too? I think i prefer abit of sweetness to my biscuits, maybe i add some sugar next round? hehehe

Do give me some pointers here on where i could have gone wrong.....they do smell heavenly when baking......

poissons

ya, my gal just got the cough yesterday. If not better by tomorrow, will have to bring him to see PD already.

on course for these 3 days, long time never have lesson, so abit sleepy during class.

oops so many bbs coughing...
i tink my bb coughing too...
has been quite some time oledi, dunno if shld bring him to gp again...

he recovered initially but i tink he got it again perhaps from me cos im down with cough after he and hubby recovered...

monitoring these few days see how..haiz

thanks for the well wishes, garreth boy is better now, going to bring him to the pd this evening for a review, hopefully no need to neub him. his virus is very lethal, first my hubby got it, then me, now my mum also down..sigh..

Newmummy,
where to get fish oil? is it fluid form? thanks..

my hubby has been down for cough for 3weeks and I was so afraid that my girl will kana from him too. when my hubby got the cough, he was not sleeping with us and he didnt carry her too to prevent spreading to her. even tho she has cough here cough there abit.. quickly gave her more water. that is my method lor.

Fish oil:
may i know is fish oil can improve memory too? =p.. heehee

NewMummy,
fish oil can give to young babies at their age?

mambobb,
yes, i think fish oil can improve memory, in the long run. actually was told it has a lot of beneficial impact... haha... like retaining youthful look, losing weight, etc... so many that i can't remember... haha... that's what the person told me la...

Hi Gemini,
Sorry.... I "missed" the part where you said your daughter is coughing too. Since they are still so young, I'd bring them to the pedi. My boys are coughing too... but I'm self medicating them since they are much older. I'm giving my younger son antibiotics since his phlem has turned green.... meaning its gone viral.

I hope all the babies get better soon!

sowie,
Hi... glad you tried the cheese biscuit. The texture sounds like the ones I make.... I would describe it crispy but not those that has crumbs all over.... lol. The orange bits are the parmesan cheese.
Its a savoury biscuit... hence, the receipe doesn't have any sugar but feel free to experiment. My boys loves cheese so both would eat the biscuits as it is

dreamer@hk (dreamerhk)
my boy is using friso 2(gold)now. last time he used to drink dumex gold, but i found it very difficult to get it at NTUC near my house cos alway out of stock so i swifted to friso (gold) which much more easy to get.

ueno, poochi
I attended AATA UFTAA course b4 so know some of the airline secrets usually they will not announce reg the baby flies for free but its a known thingy but most probably applies to those who gives birth in 28 weeks and below prematurely.

poissons
Fish Oil can be bought in any supermarket. Dunno abt improving memory but my cousin who got bronchitis when he was young has been taking it after he recover from Bronchitis and his condition has improved and no cough since then. He is in his thirties now and still taking the fish oil.

no problem Yany, think she might have caught a flu. Might need to bring her to see PD if it worsen tomorrow. fingers crossed....

rast (rastcuties)
I was told Friso 2 having promotion this month. Buy 5 get 1 free can call them to deliver to your house.

Hi mummies, wow been reading posts in lightning speed recently and not able to post anything cos super super busy with work - started helping hubby full time now....no more TAI TAI-to-be life for me ...hiaz.....also been super busy with my little tyrant Mischa. she's getting more active now...so tiring looking after her!

Plim/Jaydyn, hmmm I dun think I will be joining u gals for the swimming lessons cos i think they are really too young to be seriously swimming..hehehe...cos i sent my son for such lessons when he was a few months old back then 4yrs ago....kinda pointless la. and now weekends all burnt with appointments with clients too! dun think will hv the luxury too.hiaz.....but i will soon enrol my son for proper swimming lessons.

Was sms-sing GRace earlier that now i deprieve Mischa of 'ECAs' cos bo bian...Gor Gor needs more enrichment...dun hv so much $$ to go ard...hahaa....Mei Mei will hv to wait a few more yrs...You gals enjoy urselves!

Newmummy, really I guess they wont publically annonce such info. Ha ha ha..

Re:Fish Oil - yes it helps with brain development. If u catch the discovery channel they had this programme on babies sometime back - tink its called child of our time, they featured the topic on improving children's memory/use of the brain etc... and they tested on this child who was deprived of nutrients and after consisitently taking it, his memeory/learning skills improved (but it takes time la).
Wen preggie I was given omega fish oil by my gynae too! But I not sure if under 1 can take, if u BF mayb u can take it and it will transfer to ur child.

good morning mummies

my baby is sick. so upsetting. hubby bringing her to see gp now.

S@L

you still intending to bring your gal for the Growing up gifted course? I've just sign up for a trial class...

Hi Yany

I found the biscuits a little on the salty side...hehe maybe i shld have used unsalted butter or don't add salt if i was using normal butter......dumbo me....

The pics u posted were nice and brown looking...whereas mine were lighter brown with obvious orange bits showing......

Oh ya.. the biscuits are dreadfully sinful...i felt guilty after eating 4 pcs......but if i were to add sugar, tat is adding more calories...haaaa....

keep the recipes coming, and of cos food pics...

zzz,
i tried banana already. just mash & serve. i agree it does look abit disgusting & it also turns brown after sometime. GF book say banana may coz constipation for some babies, i dunno true or not. i just make sure Jovan drinks more water.

plumsource,
Jovan likes to cross his legs (even in his sleep), din notice abt his fingers though

agree with plumsource, soft fruits can just mash & serve. actually now our babies are at least 7 months old (Jovan is already 7.5m), can stop sieving their purees. they can try more textured food. of course still must make sure there's no big chunks inside the purees. yday i cooked pumpkin for Jovan. i also use spoon to mash. din use the blender. for harder food like vegs, i'll still puree but i wun seive.

So far, Jovan has tried the below:
brown rice with Si Shen, oat cereal, instant organic baby oat, rice cereal, apple, banana - raw, papaya - raw, pear, prunes (comes with rice cereal), pumpkin, broccoli, carrots, corn, parsnips (comes in bottle with sweet potato & corn), peas, sweet potato, barley water, pear juice, apple juice

Newmummy,
we can give fish oil to our babies now? where to get them?

Just something to check with the mummies here, does your baby shake their head when sleeping?

Claire has this funny action of shaking her head during bedtime. My hubby was so worried abt it! But i think its nothing to be alarmed.

Healthy Times Biscuits:
dear mummies, I saw quite a few packaging for the HT biscuits. Which one shd I get for my girl huh??? -___-"

gemini: ahiyo.. how arh like that? need any special medication or anything for your girl? so poor thing.. parent also heartache arh..

Gemini, don't worry give her time to recover. My son was on neubiliser when he was 5 wks and again when he was 3mths. Doctor even told me that if his cough wasn't getting better have to hospitalise I was damn worried and scared. Hang in there ya?

mambobb,
i bought the originial Ht teddy bear puffs, it has the least amt of sugar, think 2g only.

dokie,
i make my veg dip using avocado n a little cream cheese, L loves it! sometimes i give him Fromage Frais too.

gemini,
L had it last mth but he recovered very fast. it seems pretty common these days. dont worry..

zzz,
si shen powder helps the appetite " kai wei"

Just came home from the pedi. Took all 3 kids since they are down with coughs and runny nose. If you notice baby is not feeling well, take them to pedi straight away. The germs nowadays are super strong. Bronchitis so young... poor thing. Quite hard on the parents... with sleepless nights.

Regards to dip... hmm... never made any since I am the only one who eats veg and usually, buy salad cream off the shelf!
However, I love cheese and the combination given by ueno sounds delish. I would add a little blue cheese as my kids like them stinky! hahaha

Catherine,
I actually make parsnip puree for all my kids. You can get them from cold storage but kinda expensive since we don't get them locally. Its one of the first food that is safe... ie can feed from 4 months onwards ;)

sowie,
Err... usually, its recommended to use unsalted butter for all baking needs
. Also, depends on what kind of cheddar you use. Some cheddar a whole lot saltier than others. The last time I used a matured cheddar... and it turned out 2x as saltier than the normal ones!

Ueno, can i check how you booked L's and your confirm ticket? I can't book online right? Your waitlist ticket confirmed already?
As expected, 30Aug I'm on waitlist but this is coming form the travel agent, but when i go online i can still book the ticket.

Yany, ok , trying to experiment with dip. need to have healthy snacks for the toddler child.

what is parsnip in chinese? it is ang moh . saw it in the receipe book. but donno what is it.

suzanne,
i booked my ticket online,direct from SQ website, one is confirmed n the other still on waitlist. L's ticket i booked through SQ reservations by phone.