(2007/11) November MTBs

RE: Solid Food
Its so frustrating. Claire is going on a diet again! She refused to eat the porridge and she refused to be fed sitting up but has to be fed lying on her back!

Dreamer & Poochi, my Mum totally opposite of your mothers. She feels that by the time the babies can have solid food, they should be eating more and drinking more (milk feeds cut down).

RE: Swimming
I wish i could bring Claire to swimming... The PD gave me a strict NO coz of her eczema. Hoping that i can bring her soon!

Re Floats:
Depends on wat type of floats. Saw those bb floats where u can sit bb in them at kiddy palace and toysrus selling abt less than $20. Now kiddyp. got 15% discount.

Re: Swim diaper
I saw huggies got swim diaper (green/blue packaging) tink its giant/cold storage. But hor I didnt use swim diapers wen I brought my gal for swim tho ha ha ha cos its only a short while so dun thik she will poo poo/pee pee.

For my #1, I jus used a fresh pc of diaper when i brot her to swim, din buy any swimming diaper...it works ok...except her butt will bulk up cos diaper absorbed water...quite a farnie sight

Wow.....i haven't baked since i had #2....i certainly miss it....i had alot of fun baking with my #1 when she turned 1 plus...she'll stand on a chair and help me....good learning process for her

I still remember when she was 2 plus, i attempted to bake flower shaped cookies....i tasked her to place a raisin on each cookie as deco....a while later, i heard alot of giggling and turned around to see.....to my horror i saw the rascal biting into each raisin before putting the other half onto the cookie....eeeks

K@ye, wa she supper can eat while lie down! But dangerous le may choke rite?

My mum scared she overfeed her and cause indigestion hee...

Maybe u can buy her those kids pool and "swim" at home for the time being.

cactusnah,
ur boy so cute leh, look like a little grown-up in tat suit, make me so tempted to bring my boy too..hehe
but the problem is....i have not bought any swimming gear for him yet..hahaha..
btw, wat is swim diaper huh?? where to get and wat n how is it used??

yany,
ur caramel cream puff is absolutely sinful!!

poochi -- i will try talking to my mum again...she always complain my "pattern" different from the "old" ways .... hahahaha... haizzz ....

k@ye -- ur claire really got "character"

S@L -- wondering if the 4th princess bow spree items got chance to receive next week or not? next sat got birthday party to attend... thot of letting kaira wear the hair band.... heeehee.

Poochi, my Mum propped her head up on a pillow. I think noone can beat Claire in terms of laziness, princess ways... That day, i even said her, "Babies cannot go on diet. Your Mummy will just eat everything up but u...." Then, she gave me a serious look followed by a cheeky smile! *Faints*

The PD also told me not to let her soak in water so long... I also can't get her those kids pool!

ok.. since there are so many mommies who love to cook, I'll post the recipe here. Feel free to try coz these puffs taste good. Even the custard taste a little like beard papa

Oh... I get my boys to help... they mess up the place but have fun at the same time. Since I don't do cleaning up... I let them have their fun... moawhahahaha.

Plumsource,
No need special flour. Just normal plain flour will do for this recipe.

Mini Toffee Puffs

35 g butter
¼ cup water
¼ cup plain flour
1 egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to hot 220 deg C. Line a oven tray with baking paper.
1. Combine the butter and water in a small pan. Stir over low heat until butter is melted and mixture just boils. Remove from heat and add the flour all at once. Using a wooden spoon, beat mixture until smooth. Return to heat and beat until mixture thickens and comes away from the side of the pan. Remove from heat, cool slightly. Transfer to a small bowl. Using electric beater, add egg gradually, beating until mixture is thick and glossy.
2. Drop teaspoonfuls of mixture about 4cm apart on prepared tray. Bake for 10 mins, reduce heat to 180 deg. C and bake for another 5-10 mins or until golden and well puffed. Pierce side of each puff to release steam. Turn off oven, return puffs to oven to dry cool. (this makes the puff so light and it doesn’t soften!)

Toffee
1 cup caster sugar
½ cup water

1. Combine sugar and water in small pan. Stir over low heat until sugar dissolves. Bring to boil, simmer until golden. Quickly spoon over puffs and allow to set.

Custard Cream
Ingredients A:
milk : 75g
egg yolk : 1pcs
corn flour : 25g

Ingredients B:
milk : 180g
butter : 30g
sugar : 60g

Ingredients C:
Vanilla oil : ¼ tsp

Method
1) Mix Ingredients A evenly and strained
2) Bring Ingredients B to a boil till sugar dissolve
3) Add strained Ingredients A gradually, stirring constantly
till mixture is cooked, turn off fire
4) Mixed vanilla oil evenly into slightly cooled cooked mixture

yany

wow, very impressive cream puffs. saw some at bugis yesterday, also wanted to buy, stop myself from buying, (still trying to loss weight la)
i tried baking a couple of days ago, but haiz, its past midnight before my pandan cake came out of the oven. My poor hubby got to wait for me to help me wash up...

dreamer

my gal still takes 6 milk feeds a day. I only give her 2 spoons of cereals, with some vege purees, and fruit purees in between... I gave her the milk feed 1/2 hr to 1 hr after cereal. Most of the time, she can finish also. My mum says cannot feed her too much, wait her,"wei" turns big, no good. I also dun know how much is ok.

I can replace one milk feed with cereal?

sowie,
So cute your DD. Have a sense of humour

My boys love to "kacau" and so I let them. Sometimes, when I make spaghetti sauce, I let them squish the stewed tomatoes ;)

Just have to let them play and them, once they are all dirty and messy... send them to bathe. This way, they are happy and most important, eat more as they helped make the sauce!

Yany, i think that is the joy of being SAHM. For me, i can't fathom myself cooking... :p

Dreamer, yalor.... Claire's character really worried me at times!

My DD enjoyed her swim at about 9plus in the morn. She was in her romper & normal diaper & was happy in the crab float.

The same day, brought her again ard noon & she cried

Last weekend, bought a thermal swimsuit for her & another sit in round float. Will try again this weekend.

RE: Swimming diaper
Besides disposable diapers, can buy reusable ones from swim shops or mothercare. Maybe more economical. I ordered one pc fr spree but still otw to sg....it's been a long wait

RE: Neck Float
My girl hates it. Mine is pink, any mummy wants it pls PM me.

Gemini,
actually, I think kids are smart. They won't eat when they are full... no matter how we may conjole them. My older son loves to eat when baby... but now,at 6 years old... soo skinny! He was an overweight baby as his weight was always above the charts!

If meals are small... its ok. It is better to have more small meals than 3 big meals a day ;)

poissons,
U can find disposable ones from Huggies, i buy them from Cold storage. Or u can buy the reusable ones from Mothersworkz.

wah yany.... good thing I have a savory tooth and dun like sweet stuff or jus reading your posts can make me give up on my diet!!! My very first diet in my life... heh heh... My husband and I are going on a low carb diet (not that I need to since my BIM is ok but then hor... some of fav clothes can't wear oredi... very sad *sob*)

I tried baking before... chocolate cake for my Hubby's birthday and cookies for Christmas... They tasted nice but dun really fancy baking. I love cooking though! Got sense of accomplishment to whip up healthy meals for my and hubby. I like the challenge of using no oil and as little seasoning as possible and yet taste nice. Anyone out there like me?

If you have read my blog, you'll see that I've got a plastic swimming pool for Joash and he "swims" in it with only a pair of shorts made of very unabsorbent material

Re: milk and solids
I follow what is recommended by baby center. Apparently babies still take the main nourishment from milk before 1 yr old so I dun cut down on the milk. I add solids after lunch and dinner milk feed and so far so good... but then, diff babies got diff patterns lah... If they gain weight and seems healthy, who cares?

RE: Sprees and the like
I was wondering if the "sprees" you all mentioned are real ones where you meet up to shop or online shopping.... Can someone kindly explain this culture to me? :p I very the suaku one...

Jaclyn, the sprees that we mentioned are mainly online shopping. Basically, all the shoppers will consolidate their orders to get the items to ship to Sg from other countries mainly US & Japan so as to save on shipping costs.

mambobb,
i also have the problem of introducing purees to Eliza too. she doesn't like the taste of it. but then when we eat, she gets so excited. she likes sucking the juice out of the apples we eat. weird leh...large chuncks she'll like but when it's mashed & on the spoons she doesn't take too well to it.

wah Yany, your superb baking skills at work again... you really make me drool. My hubby would be delighted if i have half your standard. You are so creative to use caramel! Hey, consider a baking crash course for the Nov mummies? heehee.

check with you on how to intro stage 2 milk... do we intro at 6 months or 7 months? for TBF babies, can we just jump straight to stage 2 milk?

dreamer,dun think will arrive by next week.which one u ordered? i see if i hv the same can let u hv it first. if nt i dun mind to lend u anything from my store.

ueno,
can i ask the reusable diapers you mentioned can get from Mothersworkz is for swimming or general?
i'm looking to get those that can reuse and yet are diapers look-alike as i'm having difficulties weaning my elder gal from wearing diapers although she is totally potty trained now!

Jaclyn

i like to cook and bake but dun like to wash up. like to experiment different kinds of food also. but like you, my hubby is also on low carb, though me trying to follow him but abit though as I like to eat, heeeheee, not controlling much though tummy still look pregnant.

i try bringing food to work though, a challenge to prepare in the morning as I normally has only an hour to get everything ready and bring my baby to my mum's place.

Got recipes to share on low carb food? I can try preparing for my hubby also

S@L,

very nice clips you have

Jaclyn,
i share your thoughts in the cooking part, using minimal oil and little seasoning... all thanks to my hb who found my cooking too salty, either that or too bland...
however, i find it hard to use little seasoning and yet taste nice leh... care to share your secrets? hehe, we can 'qie1 cuo1 qie1 cuo1', kekeke

mambobb,
my gal also like tat, dun like all those purees i prepared for her... carrots gimme yucks face... green beans also eat until like wan to vomit... *pengz*

yany,
thanks for recipe! hmm, looks a bit complicating though... hope i can manage it if i decide/have time to bake!

plim,
not complicated at all. Best part is, all the ingredients are simple!

Jaclyn/ Plim,
I am all for less oil ... but seasoning is a must as we love spicy food. I ban ajinomoto at home but my helper is now very good at cooking. I can now officially hang up my pots an pan

I only cook when I feel like having ang moh food at home.

my DD gulp whatever puree i made. I have not try peas tho coz not sure which kind better. Do i deshell the sweet peas or use frozen peas can liao?

langlao, I used frozen peas. But v ma fan. I cook first than blend after dat need to use sieve to seive out the skin. Luckily my gal ate it up! I also started giving broccoli I find it stinky but i mix wif potato and I used abit of unsalted butter ha ha.. v nice!

Re: Biscuits
I bought Hienz Rusks but have not started. Saw other brands got sugar le so abit hesitant to buy those now.

Re: baby biscuits
I itchy butt go and buy the Japanese rice biscuits for Claire, ended up she dun eat and throw it on the floor!

I forgot to run the ingredients, in fact got salt & sugar!! Grr...

poochi, ya i oso scare hv to sieve coz now i only hv those sieve meant for tea leaves.

I also bought the Heinz Rusks, put at baby sitter dunno if DD has started on them. Will find out tonight.

Went on course the whole day, so couldnt post. I brght him for swimming at abt 10am when the weather was just nice. The water wasnt too cold at that time. Also, the place we went to was shelthered by a building. It's only at abt 11am that it got a little hotter. I din let Eagan stay in the water for too long, max abt 20mins.

Oh ya, as we went swimming in a club, bathing for Eagan was a challenge. As there's no bath tub, i gotta use the rain shower. Unavoidable to get myself wet. I carried him in one arm, then use another hand to wipe and clean him with a face towel. Just have to make sure u get everything ready even before u start swimming. Coz u dun want bb to catch a cold. But was def fun, will bring him go swimming again soon.

Poisson: Yup, u can get those diapers from Huggies. Shld be able to find them in NTUC.

aby Arielle is finally half year old today! Took her for her 3rd dose of hepB jab today and she didn't make any noise! I was so surprise cos i was feeling really painful for her... haha
She's only 63cm and 6.3kg. There's 2 4months old baby gal there and both are almost same or bigger than her!

RE: feeding baby with solids
I've already started with organic rice cereals 2 wks ago. Just started pumpkin puree these 2 days. I haven't bought the U-like blender yet, so using the pigeon home food maker to grind it.
So far so good. I just steam it for about 10 mins, and put the pumpkin the collected water into the bowl and grind with a wooden "hammer".

1450687.jpg

1450688.jpg

Gemini & Plim

My staple now is not rice anymore. Mainly soup. I cook diff types of soup. I'm quite sure you two already know how to cook nice soup without seasoning. If not, I can give you some recipes. Jus ask...

For the other dishes, it is how you combine ingredients as some food has already strong flavors or salt in it so no need to add seasoning. Eg steamed egg+minced meat+mushrooms / veg+cod fish+tomatoes+ginger / tofu with bacon bits or other meat
Can also try Yong tou hu with lots of veg.... Fry Prawns+broccoli with a bit of hua tiao jiu and minimal olive oil
These are jus some simple stuff.

Anyone has any ideas to share with me too? *grin*

Swim Diapers

Can try sms the following to 77877 for a free sample: LS<space> MB <space> Your baby's date of birth (DDMMYY) <space> weight(kg) <space> your mailing address <space> your email address

eg: LS MB 080108 9kg 10 Beach Road S123456 [email protected]

Available sizes: Small (7-12kg), Medium (11-15kg) and Large (14+kg)

fanny: which brand is the free sample for the swim diaper?

S@L: I have received the brush
thanks.. have not opened yet tho.. haha.. btw, may I know when is the big bow reach you? Next week my big day is coming and going out to have dinner with frens.. heehee.. want to capture photo with her on that big bow.. if not here yet its ok

Biscuit: yest i just searching for biscuit @NTUC and saw Pigeon have Rusk biscuit too.. but didnt go and check on the ingr. tot of giving my ger when she start teething.. now i dont even see any white thingy.. haha..

Gloomybear, Arielle 's eyes are so big!! As long as Arielle is growing well &amp; healthy can liao..

I also have the same set of Pigeon home food maker as yours but mine is 30yrs old coz its my Mum set!

Jaclyn, i m no cook but i love to eat. You can actually use the "mei cai" to steam with cod fish. Its yummy.

Another soup fav of mine is the ABC soup. Its actually a veggie soup. Basically, u use a whole chicken/pork (chicken taste better) to cook the soup for at least 1hr first, then dump carrots, potatoes, cabbages, onions &amp; tomatoes and then cooked till everything is done.

HEhe, i m a Cantonese so super particularly abt soups!

Jaclyn

I normally boil soup without meat. Lotus with peanuts, ABC soup (like k@ye but I dun put meat in it), celery soup with carrot and corns etc...

k@ye, i like the ABC soup also

re: biscuits.
rusk biscuits? I look through most of them, many got eggs in it leh, the rusk biscuits is fine? I bought the babybites, but saw the sodium like very high, so i dare not gave too much.

re: peas
i bought the watties peas 2 weeks back, up till now, have not make it for her yet, must sieve, i haven't buy a sieve yet...

S@L

can advise me on the big bow also? I might need it in July for my aunt's wedding. Got the brush, thanks. But any mummies can advise how to use huh? My gal just bites in it

plim,
those from mothersworkz r meant for swimming. If u want those reuseable diapers u can try Bumwear. If u want something thinner u can buy training pants, think u can find it at KP. Not sure what ur looking for...

gloomybear,

arielle's got big eyes... next time sure attract lots of 'bees'... hee hee!
i tried chloe on pumpkin too but she doesn't quite like it. mayb i didnt put enough water when i blend it coz it looks a little bit sticky when she tried swallowing the pumpkin and gave me the 'look'. at least she tried a few spoonfuls before rejecting it.

poochi,
yup, i heard the green peas tastes horrible on its own, dats y i have yet to venture there! will be trying brocolli this weekend. will it taste better if i add potatoes to the brocolli? since pure vege puree got those 'vege' smell... :D wat type of unsalted butter did you use? which brand?

S@L,
aiyoh your clippies all so niceeee.... too bad chloe still botak, else will buy for her! hmm, maybe her mommy can wear hor... :D later go office ppl thk i xiao ding dong suddenly wana act like xiao gu niang... hiak hiak hiak...

re: biscuits,
i bot the pigeon biscuits (fish flavour) and let chloe tried it. funny thg is the biscuit seems a little dry. when i try to remove the biscuit from her mouth (she lazy to hold herself!!) her lips got stuck to the biscuit as well! quite a funny sight! :D

kittybride

my gal likes the brocolli leh, on its own tastes quite ok also. mix with carrot also nice. yet to try with potatoes though

Gloomybear: Arielle eyes are BIG &amp; ROUND, pretty.
We made brocolli, carrot and meat porridge for Eagan. He likes it alot. The porridge is tasty.

my boy loves potato + carrot puree, smells and tastes good, no need to add butter or seasonings. but with avocado, gotta mix with cereal cos' avocado alone taste yucky. haven't tried brocolli though I have already bought them..lazy la. he also loves honeydew cos' it's sweet and juicy, but my mum only allows me to feed him once or twice a month cos' she doesn't want him to eat all the sweet purees and reject the bland ones.

S@L will transfer the postage to u later.

Kittyb: ya green veggies on own smells. But actually my gal takes it w/o mixing potato but she'll give a squirmy look so to feed her faster mix wif sweet potato/potato. Did u buy butternut pumpkin I find dats sweeter and nicer? Actually if too dry u can jus add hotH20 on the spot and mix till its less thick. Cos I also trial&amp;error.

Unsalted butter actually no need la but I backside itchy hee... no particular brand tho jus those type for baking.

Hi S@L, I received the Generation Baby pouches last Saturday while I was away in Bintan. Just came back yesterday. Thanks so much!

Hi Mommies, we just came back from Bintan. It was Natalie's first 'overseas' trip and brought her to the pool for her first swimming experience too. She loves the water! But packing her stuff was no joke! We brought the stroller, sterilizer, food warmer and bottles of distilled water along. And we didn't use the stroller at all! Talk about being 'kiasu'!

1451876.jpg
1451877.jpg

Jules, i like Natalie look in the float. Its like she is going to be up to something mischievous.

Kitty, Claire also got the biscuit stuck to her mouth and she got so fed up that she threw the biscuits away!