(2007/11) November MTBs

Jules, Natalie is so pretty!!!

K@ye, I use spare pork ribs to cook ABC soup and also big onions cos cheap mah... hahaha... so where to get mei cai? does it come ready made or I have to make it myself? I have only bottled bamboo shoots and olive leaves.

Gemini... is it cos you are a vegetarian? I like the "sweet" taste that comes with meat and seafod in soup... :p

mambo, u referring to the one from my blog right? The supplier sent the wrong ribbon to me. but i hv got others which u might be keen. will email u later.

Gemini, urs is the princess bow bow? should reach me another 1week+. cos its by First class mail, really takes a long long time. but like i offered Dreamer,hehehe i can also lend u any of my bows if need it before July.

for the brush, my gal also jus bite at it , but sometimes her mouth will follow the shape of the brush and looks as though she's brushing...i think still need proper brushing when their teeth are mostly out.

Kittybride, you didnt see my collection of hairbands? those are meant for babies who hv very fine thin or no hair! hahaha....u can jus pick any clips and clip onto the hairbands. then next time her hair grows thicker, u can use the clips by itself!

Jules, no problem.
Wanna ask u abt Bintan, which resort u stayed in? I thinking of bringing my kiddos and parents for a short getaway next month and hubby suggeste Bintan. I kinda lazy to check the rates and all...as long withing budget and comfy then we will go ahead.

jaclyn and mummies who love cooking,
for soup, i usually put a lot of ingredients (a bit kiasu hor).... i will put pork soft bones, dried squid (mo4 yu2), scallops, sometimes red dates and then usually with old cucumber, lotus roots, etc. sometimes will add carrots and onion as well... but still i find that the soup tat comes out although smell flavorful but still a bit bland to the taste leh??? is it like tat one ah? or i need to add salt to bring out the taste?

seems that most knows how to cook delicious soup, but how about dishes leh... Jaclyn, by cooking ur recipe using those combi, no need to add salt or anything? for me, i always hv to add oyster sauce or those chicken cubes (no MSG ones), else i think no one will eat cos it's too bland! haha

btw, why is it called "ABC" soup ah? where the ABC come from? just curious...

ueno, thanks for the info, will go KP to take a look... i do have a pair of training pants but doubt my girl will wear cos she still prefers her diapers!

kittybride, k@ye,
my girl's biscuit also stuck to her lips... haha... and onto her hands too when it was a little wet with her saliva! she din even realised it was stuck on her hands... think she din enjoy the biscuit

NewMummy, it is really a challenge. My husband says the trip was more for me to rest & relax but I wasn't very optimistic about it. The thought about packing and unpacking was already a nightmare. In the end, the trip didn't turn out as bad as I thought it would be. My son had a very good time. In fact, everyone enjoyed and my son says he wants to live there forever!

Thanks Jaclyn!

Hi S@L, we stayed at Nirwana Gardens. The only thing is the rooms are a bit old now. They have a new Korean restaurant. There's Superior (garden facing) & Deluxe (sea facing) rooms. We took the Deluxe and you can request for connecting rooms.

The beach is good, water is pretty clear and can see marine fishes and dead corals. Just be careful of jellyfish. Adults can do jet ski or kayak.

My husband has corporate rates so we paid $170 for room. Ferry is about $59 for adults. Baby got to pay too (about $40 plus). For food, it's pretty expensive to eat there (I feel). They charge in Singapore dollars. You can go to The Kelong (for seafood) or a new Thai restaurant called Baan Arrya. Hotel provide free transport.

Jules

she looks very pretty leh, haiz, my hubby says no water for my gal till she's older.

Jaclyn

Me no vegetarian la. Just that I believe not to eat too much meat, so trying to cut down the portion. I like "bak chou mee", "pork chop" etc, but hor, heard from the doctor, not very good to take too many red meat, so trying to control. I do use pork sometimes for my soup also, the tastes are of course sweeter. Me a FTWM, so when I want to cook, I'll cook my soup in a thermal and when i reach home, just got to cook rice and eat with the soup. For such cases, I put more ingredients...

Plim
ABC soup? I also dun know leh, think its because its of the vitamins in the soup? (with carrots, tomatoes etc,)

S@L
Dun want la, I prefer to wait. My gal very "chor lor" wan, now she likes to pull her hair, I scared she spoilt it. I'll wait for it then

Between, any mummies here keen to send their babies for some trial classes?

plim, yes need to add a pinch of salt and the flavour will be enhanced. I hate salty food, soi only add a bit jus to bring out the taste. Salt tends to hv this effect, making the soup 'sweeter'.

hahha..i also asked my mum abt the ABC...i think its the Vit A, B, C.

jules,

natalie's so sweet looking in her swimsuit!

NewMummy,
you're not alone... i also dun hv confident to bring bb overseas, just thkg abt the packing & feeding, etc... rather stay put till she's older!

K@ye,
wow, claire got character man! even know how to throw the biscuit away! hee hee

Plim,
chloe jus let the biscuit stuck to her mouth and bo chap... it's me that can't tahan and want to pull it away from her... sigh, my little gal's so lazy... and i thk she also doesn't really like the biscuits coz not 'excited' at all when i put it to her mouth; unlike when i bring the cereal over, her arms will be wide open and flip and turn her hands!

poochi,
i yet try butternut leh. maybe next time lor coz now got quite a few ice-cubed vege purees liao.
your gal's very adventurous lor, mine still learning and seems a bit picky...

gemini,
good idea hor, at least the carrot's sweetness and smell can kill off the brocolli's vege smell!

S@L,
aiyoh, kena 'caught' by you! hehehee... i saw your last BP on the clippies, thought it's same items.... :D later will go check it out. my gal dun have fine hair, her's is ARMY BOY crewcut! ahahaa...

jules, oh thats where hubby and me stayed when we celebrated our 1st 'pak-toh' anniversary. Gosh...that was like donkeys yrs ago!thanks for the info. i will ask hubby to do the check la....cos this trip also for me to relax since i got preggy! CAnt go very far trip cos i worry abt my BM ss. so no choice hv the kiddos tag along. but luckily my parents agree to come along too to help out kekekeke.....

Gemini, no worries

S@L,
thanks! tat's wat my MIL tell me, to add a bit of salt :p but sometimes i will forget... so end up the soup very flavorful jus lacking of a little bit of salt :p

oh, Gemini/S@L, i see, so ABC stands for the vitamins... hahaha... now i know

plim, ya salt is good for body actually. but minimal la. alternatively u can use the chicken broth to make soup. i always use tht to make the fish bone soup for increasing ss...even my hubby loves the soup too. but i tell him dun waste my soup! hahaha

S@L,
ya, but the chicken broth quite salty hor... u refering to those from knorr and wat's the other brand right?

i used the same method u taught me lor, for making fish bone soup
tastes good, but has to drink when hot, else very fishy smell, cos i personally dun like to take fish very much and if i take must take either fillet or fish meat without bones! or fishes with big bones so i can SEE them and avoid them when eating! hahaha

yes knorr, but i dilute it otherwise too concentrated. note that the cubes and broth taste differently.

did u fry the fish bones/ fillet with ginger and sesame oil first? usually wont be fishy. but i only buy red snapper bones, cos they are especially sweet. Salmon bones are very very fishy

Thanks Kittybride! Couldn't resist buying the swimsuit although I know she's not going to swim very often. So many things to buy for girls... Sigh...

S@L, you're welcome
The trip was meant to celebrate our wedding anniversary and for me to rest & relax too. But hey, it wasn't that bad. Everyone enjoyed the trip!

Gemini19,
I'm keen in bringing my boy to trial classes! What would you recommend? I think the oct mummies went to gym and music classes liao...we are so slack! Haha..

S@L,
my mum fries the bones with ginger and normal oil (mayb not sesame tat's why fishy?)... hehe, dunno wat bones she buy for me also... kekeke... but dun think it's salmon bones la...

Jules,
good that you enjoyed the trip... Natalie seemed to enjoy it as well

actually bintan can consider hor, cos it's so far but yet so near... keke, no need long car rides nor plane rides!

poissons, not slack la. but i really think that babies are too young to enjoy or benefit from such trials. f i go its jus for fun, more like for mummies to mingle.

Like i went to this 'Tr...' class...hiaz...i feel so tired end of the day and dun think bb learnt much. If nt expensive can consider, but what do u hv in mind?

i think what we need is more gathering. The Oct/Dec mummies seems to hv gatherings every 2-3 weeks? shall we hv another round?

I have 3 BN tins of Promil Gold Step 2 (900g). Expiry 2009/ 2010. Any one interested? My boy is drinking Similac follow on instead so want to sell of the Promil.
PM me.

Poissons/ S@L

My idea is also for fun only, not to stress the babies out. I saw the sept mummies organizing those with Kindermusik. I'm thinking of trying out with Seimpi music. Let me go and find out more.

S@L, which one did you go before? Not good?

Jaclyn, "mei cai" is a preserved veg.

Plim, the soup hor.... The ingredients cannot anyhow put, the taste won't be that nice and no need to put too much salt.. Just a bit of salt can liao... Also, must cook the soup at least for 2hours... Then will be nice.

Also, got some soup no need to cook for so long. Like veggie with fishballs, seaweeds with pork etc etc... Come to think of it, i have quite a fair bit of soup receipes...

Kitty, Claire's character is really a terror... Yesterday, she buey song also throw her pacifier on the floor!

S@L, Gemini
Yeh, me too, just want my boy to be exposed to crowd, interact with other bbs, music, exercise, else all day stay at home or go shopping over the wkends, quite meaningless leh. I've thot of tumble tots, gymboree, kindermusik also can..just try for fun. i went to check out one tumble tots at JE, quite small, the class starts at 4.30pm and only have like 8-9 babies ranging from 6mths onwards, trial class is abt $20+..but the place didn't impress me leh..so I gave up the thot.

gemini, the one i went is suppose to be similar to the Shicida method. well, cant say good or nt cos its jus 3 trial classes prior to signing up. but i dunno if its really beneficial at all cos i hv nt been to the actual shichida class. hubby and i discussed we prob will sign Mischa up for such classes when she's older, like 1yr old or so. Well, but these classes claims that we should start baby while young. so im jus playing by ear, if there is any good and affordable ones i dun mind trying.

same case for my son, back then we also brought him to few trial classes but only see that he enjoys himself when he is older. He was in some Eng reading class when he was 1 yr+, he didnt seem to enjoy at all. so to me is a waste of money.

another thing to add, even for Shichida classes, the teachers did stress that Home coaching is VERY important. it takes alot of patience and TIME to come hm and go thru the programme with our baby to really see results. Knowing myself and hubby are nt the hardcore kind..hahha we rather slack at hm and let kiddos hv free play. so ya, my fault too.

Some mummies commented too that they did nt do home coaching with their babies, in the end abt 1yr + in such classes, no results shown so they feel really demoralised.

Poissons, can bring ur kiddo outdoor ma...hehehe...u hv to enjoy it too. I am thinking of joining Growing up gifted when Mischa turns 8mths or near 1 yr. i believe in the importance of phonics and my fren told me they hv very good technic in teaching them that. maybe can consider?

K@ye, u mean 30 years ago Pigeon already invented this? WOW!!! I'm impressed. LOL

Ya, my gal's eyes big.. but sometimes one big one small, don't know why also... hee

Jules, you packed so many things! Really "peifu" you... I'm intending to "throw" my gal into the pool this sat @ our apartment. So far she only tried swimming in the bathtub with the neck float.

cactusnah, when u make porridge, do you grind the rice?

S@L, i wanted so much to bring my gal to the Shichida classes, but i know i will very very lazy at home to coach her... thus i gave up the idea... sigh. next time she ask me when she grow up, i'll just tell her "gal, u have a very lazy mummy" .kwkakaaka

S@L, thanks for bring the potty to me. I think i transferred $49 instead of $47 but it's ok
The potty is now sitting on my bed

RE: classes
Last weekend we went to sign up for Shichida, the q is all the way till Jan 09. I also heard thr is other shichida equivalent but not sure whr. S@L, can share share whr u took the trial?

I am interested to bring DD for trial class during weekends, do keep me informed hor.

Biscuits:
DD liked the Heinz rusk (eggless) and she ate till whole face very messy, it was quite a sight according to baby sitter & my hubby. Hiaz slacker mummy hv not seen her yet

Jules, glad u had an enjoyable time in Bintan. We thought of bring DD for a holiday in Sept but I think DH has dropped the idea, sob

Kitty, I've PM you.

Photoshoot:

Grace, your photos are nice. Where did you take them? I am also looking for a studio to photoshoot my gal. I think this is the 6 months 'ritual' in every custom. Anyone has any studio to recommend for such shots?

dreamer..thanks heehee

langlao,
tats wat most of the pple say. she looks like me. but really i cant tell. mayb cos i see her everyday.

as for the flashcards class, i finish all 3 sessions already. quite tempted to sign but still thinking. cos we may change car to mpv...so still counting money.

Citine,
mine taken at Foto U. they are having the promo again. $120 for an hour, all photos return on CD. u go check out the business threads under Foto-U.

Plim, that's right! It was a "test trip" for us as we weren't sure how Natalie will react when overseas. I kept to her routine as much as possible. The boat ride to Bintan was alright because we left early morning but the rooms weren't ready for us when we arrive. The boat ride back to Singapore, however, was terrible! We took the evening ferry and it was drizzling on the way so the sea was choppy. I felt so nauseous on board.

langlao, i went to the trial with Grace lo....its actually the Trio ..u can check with them for weekend classes i think its still open. i hv one more lesson to go. as for the payment, sorry i dint realise the amt is more. i will offset from the pompom ok?

Grace, u seriously considering the Trio class? I m having 2nd tots cos u mentioned some concerns which i agreed too.

Gloomy, ya if no time for home coaching (which i know i wont hv time to) then its really prob a waste of money. same goes for studying, its the same logic. actually all enrichments are the same., jus that Shichida OR its equivalent are pretty exp....so will see how as i hv 2 kiddos la. should let my elder hv more enrichment first to be fair to him

Gloomybear, me so "kiasu". I brought her toys, food, toiletries and tried to travel as compact as possible. Managed to stuff all her things & mine into 1 bag. I'm sure your daughter will love swimming in the pool. So different from bathtub. She'll definitely have a fantabulous time!

Langlao, she'll be almost 10 months by September so maybe can consider traveling to nearby countries. I use bottle foods, so pretty convenient

Gloomybear, yup... That is a product very well established and 30 yrs ago, all the parts are made in Japan but now, not all are made in
Japan. That;s my Pigeon Baby Food maker, packaging different but the items are the same!

1452756.jpg

Grace, Ash is so cute!! I like that photo of her sitting in the bucket with a duckie... She looks like she is winking!!!

Jules, i also none the better. Like my last trip to HK, we brought alot of Claire's clothes and stuff. It ended up Claire has to borrow clothes from her cousin in HK and we brought her clothes back to Sg first!

s@l,
me also still thinking thinking lah...
not sure yet if i will sign up still.
my car not mpv lah,but hor with the car seat it is super tight loh. just itchy backside lah.
ash can sit already, can crawl frontwards slowly, but she is better at backwards...

kaye,
yah, she is always making faces. theres one on the fur mat that she gave a cheeky face too.

Grace, the photos are so nice! I showed them to my hubby and he says it's very well taken. Your daughter's photogenic too! I wanna send mine there too
My husband's convinced already after seeing yours.

K@ye, I love Hong Kong. Maybe we'll make a trip there next year. My hubby changed his casual wardrobe, almost entirely on our last trip in 2006. Do you think Hong Kong is baby-friendly?

jules,
glad ash's photos changed yr hubb's mind, wink wink, u can go take now. yap, i think its nicely taken too, no touch up. Foto U just return all the images immediately.anyway they are only small once..which is why i wanted to take before they outgrow their babyness...

jules, k@ye, my DH's sis has booked a trip to HK, my MIL/FIL/BIL all going. They fly SQ & stay Marriotts, we worked out the sums, not worth going and not nice if we stay ano hotel so better opt out lor

Grace, I try to book the weekend slot and seems like it is so popular that no more slots for nx 3 weeks. Did u use David? Whr is the studio?

Jules, HK is not baby frenly. Too much slopes and stairs... On my last trip, my hubby is machiam going on reservist. He carried the baby bag and the stroller. And only in those big shopping malls then we can use the strollers.

Plus the HK ppl very inconsiderate, they won't give up their seats to u even seeing u carrying a baby... Find that Sporeans are much better than them in this aspect.

However, if u talk abt shopping and makan! Wow, its heaven!!!! So much variety!!! :p

For children, can always bring them to Ocean Park or Disneyland. My HK Uncle who worked in the HK Tourism board told me that Ocean PArk is better.

Langlao, if travelling with a baby, better to take SQ. Wow, Marriott very expensive leh...

Now, i m thinking of bringing Claire to Sydney or London for my next trip.

jules, in my opinion, hkg is not that baby friendly....

e.g. in the city, out on the streets, better off with a baby carrier and not a pram/stroller .... and most places toilets difficult to find (except for some of the big malls).

that's my view
but so many people i know have brought their babies to hkg! so maybe its OK lah ... :p

k@ye, that's why we drop the idea, $500 a night plus hv to pay for infant is just too much. Been to HK so many times and really dun wan the hassle of lugging pram and finding a changing area for bb.

huh..HK not bb friendly, hubby still suggested going to HK next yr with the bb. if not then which country is more preferred? I thought of going Aussie, but the flight is long and he seems too young to enjoy the scenery and activities there. maybe like jules, go Bintan..or Batam..haha..