(2007/11) November MTBs

grace,
the trick is to MAKE it Look good even though it is not... haha. The top had a hug crack...hence had to make chocolate glaze to "cover" the whole thing. More chocolate never hurt anyone.. and my boys inherited my love for chocolates!

Langlao, I got a Macy gift card of US$10. I just PM you the details of the card. U can use it to purchase the items at macys.com

Let me know once u had used it. So that i can throw away the card!

PS: I got this card from my Amazon.com books order!

No problem... I think u just need one Mummy to buy one piece of branded stuff worth US$50 and u can get ur free shipping liao!

k@ye
i went to see the tree like 6 years ago? prob it was the old tree then. i'm going with my sis and bf this time and we are very keen to go and see the tree... seen so much of it on TVB shows

dreamer
my sis also mentioned the cable car ride to me. ok, think i will visit the big buddha then proceed to the factory outlets.

larryle
thanks for the website, will check it out.

Re: Shipping
seems like a lot are using Borderlinx now and the general feedback is fast and cheap. I have been using CGW and it used to be good and fast. Now it has become slow and expensive.

larryle: we are not going too.. some of my frens were not too eager to go Cameron coz need 9hrs coach ride up.. and 1 mummy 6mths pregnant.. so drop off the idea lor.. if i am going, i would be bringing the rice cereal and the FM.. just need to prepare there can liao.. oh.. of coz buy mineral water and boil it instead using their tap water.. that's my intention lor..

Hi Summer,
Here is the recipe. I find the cake a little dry (could be I over mixed it), so I slice the cake into half (when cooled) and spread blackberry jam and whipped cream

Best Ever Chocolate Cake
Preparation time: 25 mins
Cooking time: 45 mins
Makes one 20cm square cake

Ingredients
125 gms unsalted butter
½ cup caster sugar
½ cup icing sugar
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon imitation vanilla essence
¼ cup blackberry jam
1 ¼ cups self-raising flour
½ cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 cup milk

Rich Chocolate Butter Cream
50 g dark chocolate, finely chopped
25 g unsalted butter
½ cup icing sugar
2 teaspoon cream

Preheat oven to moderate 180 deg C. Brush a deep 20 cm square cake tin with melted butter or oil, line the base and sides with paper, grease the paper.
Using electric beaters, beat butter and sugar and sifted icing sugar in small mixing bowl until light and creamy. Add eggs gradually, beating thoroughly after each addition. Add essence and jam ; beat until combined.
Transfer mixture to large mixing bowl. Using a metal spoon, fold in sifted flour, cocoa and bicarb of soda alternately with milk. Stir until just combined and the mixture is almost smooth.
Pour mixture into prepared tin; smooth surface. Bake 45 mins or until skewer comes out clean when inserted in centre. Leave cake 15 mins before turning onto wire rack to cool.
To make the Rich Chocolate Butter Cream:
Combine the chocolate, butter, icing sugar and cream in a small pan. Stir over low heat until mixture is smooth and glossy. Remove from the heat and spread over cake!

Happy Baking!

wow Yany, looks complicating though it's only 25 mins. Kudos to you! I will try it one day when I bring my kids over to mum's place

dreamer: i just happened to remember one thing, since you have been staying at HK for awhile. I went to HK last July and been to their Disney too. I have been searching Organizer/Diary Book (calendar form) from shops to shops and even Disney too, I cant find any over there.. Is it that HK doesnt sell Organizer??? haha..

Today, the thread is so quiet!!

Mambobb, shd have! My sis always like to go HK to get such stuff coz they have more cutesy patterns!

hi sstarlight,
I went to cold storage and found lots of brands for blackberry jam. I chose the one with the least sugar ;)

Also, they sell dark cooking chocolates from hershey. I took that

oh.. and the recipy is not sweet. Perhaps the jam had something to do with it. Anyway... don't have to cut down on the sugar as I usually do.

wow, the thread so long...
i busy updating my spree til no time to read up!

gelyn,
can confirm if we're meeting up on thu at WD MRT?
PM me your contact if possible.

Gillian: Sorry, no time to check the forum over the wkend. It's ok, will not expect u to absorb since i ordered from u. Let me know the total price and i tt the $ to u. Can PM me yr h/p so we can liase from there in case i miss any of yr post. Thanks

Brought Eagan for a swim for the very first time last Sunday. He enjoyed alot.
1447861.jpg
Bght this from OG for less than $30.

1447862.jpg

He looks funni in the neck float. but think it's gd coz it free his hands and legs so he can "swim" on his own.

Cactusnah,
so nice. I also want to bring Matt to swimming. Just that I am worried abt HFMD in China. Haiz. I got all my swim diaper, swim wear and neck float ready

cactusnah
He look so cute in the swimsuit. Where did you buy the neck float and how much ah? Wanted to get one for my gal.

zzz,
the cream I bought is for whipping cream. Can get in any supermarket

I love to bake... but have been slacking. Only started again... and need the practice

mummies, can i ask how u all time your solid feedings?

immediately after milk feed? or before? or ???

my mum says after milk baby will be too full. but if i wait say 1.5-2 hours after her feed ...to let her try the cereal ... some times she's already sleepy and refuse to eat. and if she's too hungry, also cannot feed her cereal...cos she too hungry liao!

so how to introduce solids??

so far, only managed to feed her successfully 3 times since last wed. dunno if i am doing it rite??

dreamer,
initially i gave L half of his milk feed b4 his solids, when he turned 6mths i gave him solids only. so that he can take more.

Today, I tried to make cream puff. I tried once during my teens and it turned out like cookies. I then told myself, never again.

Mr first try today... cookies again! Then I tried again.... and..... success!!! woo hoo!

The recipy I used said to use whipping cream for the centres. Didn't like it and used custard cream from one of the recipies from one of the other forums. Whoever that is, the custard is good stuff!....and instead of the usual icing sugar toppings, I used caramel!

1448314.jpg
1448315.jpg
1448316.jpg

yany, u very gd leh, i m very impressed!! hmmm, i thought you hv to work?

newmummy, my girl dun like the neck float. If u dun mind pink i can sell u cheap cheap. PM me to discuss.

dreamer@hk,
I also have almost the same problem as you. if i give her cereal during the milk time she's too hungry to eat and wouldn't sit on her high chair. i also tried what ueno does give half the milk, then cereal then milk again. problem is she wouldn't stop at half and by then she would have drank at least 100ml (normal is abt 120-150ml), and after the cereal she wouldn't drink her milk.
eventually i've settled into a win-win thing for bb & mummy. i feed her milk, 1/2 hr later then the cereal. she would be in a better mood to eat and can last 4hrs till the next milk.

swallowing seems like a skill that takes time to master...it's always so messy! i always need to be armed with wet cloth, tissue, bib and everything out of her arms reach. i'm still trying to adjust though, want her to drink more milk at 4hrs intervals but it seems like she can't take more than 160ml at a time.

haven't really tried other food besides brown rice & baby cereal leh...she gave me 'faces' when she tried carrot or apple puree. hope to try it again when the weekend comes.

Yany!
gosh...you always tempt us with yr mouth watering masterpieces! i'm so hungry looking at them :p

thanks ueno & skye for your sharing

ueno -- my mum against the idea of feeding half her normal feed
i actually wanted to do that ... but she says now baby is not really "eating" so shouldn't reduce milk intake...

sometimes staying with elders also a problem ... a bit different frequency ... haizzzz

skye -- my mum always say baby's too full must wait "longer" ... i am like .... but by then...she will be sleepy liao!!!! aiyahzzz... i am trying to manage my mum .... cos everytime i want to feed, she says baby still full??? i am like then when???? i am quite sure baby can take it leh ...

and skye -- me also like u... muz be "full armoured" while feeding ... heehee

cactusnah,
Eagan soo cute in his outfit. Looking very grown up too ;)

langlao3,
yes... working at home! lol
actually, I am currently looking for a job so whilst I'm home, might as well make myself useful.

dreamer@hk,
kyra wakes up and we BF. She would have cereal for breakfast 2 hours later. She still don't like drinking milk from the bottle... so have to mix her milk in the cereal. 3-4 hours later.... try to give milk. When she's good, she takes 120ml. If not... she takes half of that. we alternate food and milk. Now, she takes cereal 3x/day.

eh.. first time suceeding in puffing the cream puff.. so feeling proud

yany....
the puffs so tempting! makes me drool...

re: semi solid
todate my nanny only feed my gal once a day and her timing all haywired; sometimes lunch, sometimes teabreak, sometimes dun know when!! and she still stick to the 3-hrly feeding when i told her my gal doesn't drink like dat anymore... sigh, how to 'teach' nanny who thinks they know more than you about babies...

i gave chloe pumpkin last nite, she also made faces but still open her mouth to taste more. i guess the amt of water is not enough when i did the puree, hence the pumpkin was a little sticky. chloe only took a few spoonful and decided she's had enough. poor me, pureed HALF a pumpkin and end up all in the ice cube tray!

Yany,

Your profitaroles look great, absolutely delicious. Good tip is to use STRONG bread flour. I love baking, but I have to be in the mood to do it.

Solids,
I'm feeding my son solids without milk. I only offer milk if he is still hungry after this feed. PD told me to gradually increase his solids to phase out the milk intake. At the moment he is able to finish half a bowl (normal rice bowl size) of porridge or puree. For dinner, he will even polish off half a bowl of fruits for desserts. I now find that I only need to offer him 2 milk feeds during the day.

Gillian,
Don't worry about the desitin cream, I agree with cactusnah you shouldn't absorb the cost, have to thank you for ordering on my behalf. No worries, just let me know when it gets here ok?

Anyone brought any bargains?? Do share hehe

Yany: U can start taking orders for our babies 1st Y.O birthday cakes and pastry. Let us do food tasting on our next gathering. *drooling*

Tinkabel: There's swimming pool in yr apartmt rght? If it's not too crowded, shldnt be any problem to let Matt try ba. My nephew stepped into the pool for the 1st time when he was 9 months old. My sis said it's a little too late coz he seems to be a little afraid and refused to go near the pool. But we eventually managed to when i used Eagan's colourful whilly float to hoax him. Takes more time and effort.

Newmummy: I got it from one of the mummies at abt $20 including postage.

cactusnah, point taken. I think Matt will like it, cos now he keeps playing with water when we bathe him. He was slapping at the water that my whole floor was wet when I tried to bathe him last Sat. Hmm, I will bring him swimming this wkend... G

Yany,
You make me feel like baking again!
Now i dun hv time to do all these and will only do so for special occasions... haiz, my hb has been nagging me to make cookies :S

Your custard puff looks delicious! Can share the recipe for the puff and custard? Thanks!

re: swimming
cactus, wat timing did u bring Eagan for swim? scared tat water too cold for them if too early.... if late scared too hot!

good morning mummies

yany,
u make us all drool with ur choco cake & puffs! can bring us some at our next gathering? *yummy* maybe by then our babies can take finger food & they can try some of ur non-sweetened masterpieces? hehehe tat would be fun

cactusnah/tinkabel,
yday bought swimwear for Jovan. today on leave coz it's my HB's birthday. intend to bring Jovan for his first swim today
but i din buy swim diaper, swimming cap & neck float leh =P

wOW... My son, Jonas, is still having his milk. We are told by the PD not to start him with cereal or porridge as he is a little too heavy. If not, he will be overweight... (he is close to the scale)

We are yet to try out the brown rice. We have grinded and will try out after he is settled with his stage 2 FM.

dreamer: i intro rice cereal in the evening time arnd 8pm after her feed @6pm+ which her next feed shd be 9pm+ the first time (before she turns 6mths).. so after the cereal, the next feed will delay to 10pm+ which is her last feed of the day. Now i hv intro puree to her, it seem like she doesnt quite like the puree leh.. any mummy encounter this? she tried pears&bananas (totally dislike it), sweet potato w/ pumpkin (still ok but abit relunctant), sweet potato w/ sweet corn (gave a yuck face). I bought from Heinz. Its there any other brand of puree???

Baking:
Yany, u really very good leh.. when saw ur cake and puffs pics really make me craving for dessert.. haha.. just that for the past 2 days were busy with work, no time for commenting..

Swimming:
I also want to bring my girl for a swim but I afraid of the public pool + crowd.. HFMD is still spreading.. how arh? I have not bought any swim wear, diaper nor float yet.. scare buy liao no time bring her for swim then waste it. any suggestions?

cactusnah, you bring your son to swim at what timing? I also tempted to bring mine for a swim but have yet to get him swimsuit and float.

Any one know where to get the float?

yany,
your puffs really look yummilicious! wish i have the time to bake..now only have the time to make purees for my greedy boy..haha.

cactus,
where to get the swimming diaper huh? i can't seem to find them in ntuc.

Good AM ladies!

Wow cream puffs!! I like! I had craving for those jus before I was due...

Re: Solids
Dreamer, SkyeSkye- Actually tried feeding Hazel half feed for the first time according to GF method and it didnt work. Cos its true quite ma fan to feed milk and than sit her up to eat cereals.

Like Skyeskye, wat we do is feed her milk first let her nap wen she wakes up than feed her solids (after 1- 1 1/2hrs) no hard and fast rule, she's happily taking her solids cos enuf zzz. I'm feeding 2 times solid -noon and evening. For the milk feed before the noon solid I cut down the milk amt as thats the milk feed I wan to remove by 6mths. Anyways milk is still impt for them at this stage.

Dreamer mayb u can tell ur mum now bb bigger need to take more food besides milk so after 30mins/1hr she can let her try the cereals start small. My mum also same tots as ur mom la.

I'm using the pigeon soft tip spoons - find it good for my gal cos she like to "chew & suck" on the spoon.